DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed April 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, 21, and 29 have been amended.
Claims 1-10, 13, 19, 20, 23, and 27 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claim 34 has been newly added.
Claims 11, 12, 14-18, 21, 22, 24-26, and 28-34 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 15-18, 21, 22, 25, 26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0094447 A1) in view of O-RAN Alliance (hereinafter O-RAN) (Non-Patent Literature – “O-RAN Fronthaul Working Group – Control, User and Synchronization Plane Specification” – ORAN-WG4.CUS.0-v01.00), and further in view of RAJAGOPAL et al. (hereinafter Rajagopal) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0235788 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a method performed by an intermediate node (routing device, figure 1) connected between an open radio access network (O-RAN) Distributed Unit (O-DU) (DU, figure 1) and at least one of O-RAN Radio Units (O-RUs) (RU, figure 1), the method comprising:
communicating on a Control/User Plane (C/U Plane) interface ([0079]; interface; figure 1) with a network configuration protocol (NETCONF) client (DU, figure 1) and at least one of open radio access network (O-RAN) Radio Units (O-RUs) (RU, figure 1) in a shared cell operated by the O-RUs (RUs, figure 1) ([0079]; teaches the routing device communicates control/user data along an interface with the DU and at least one of the plurality of RUs in the shared cell; figure 1); and
sending first information to the NETCONF client, the first information indicating a correspondence relationship of a first address (identity) of the intermediate node and a second address (identity) of one of the O-RUs ([0090]; [0092]; “…the routing device sends the routed CPRI data to a DU corresponding to the CPRI interface through different CPRI interfaces. In fact, the standard identity corresponds to a CPRI interface identity/serial number in the first mapping relationship table, and the routing device routes different CPRI data to each CPRI interface, and then sends the CPRI data through each CPRI interface…”; [0097]; [0134]; teaches the routing device exchanges mapping relationship information with the DU via the intermediate node; figure 1).
However, Wang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is sent using a NETCONF based Management Plane (M-Plane), wherein the first information sent using the NETCONF is used by the NETCONF client to perform a configuration of a flow for the C/U Plane, wherein the flow is defined by a combination of a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the intermediate node, a MAC address of the at least one O-RU, and a virtual local area network (VLAN) ID, and wherein the VLAN ID is used for the C/U Plane.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, O-RAN teaches and suggests wherein the first information is sent using a NETCONF based Management Plane (M-Plane) (page 34, section 3.1.3.1.6; “…RU_Port_ID: designates logical flows such as data layers or spatial streams, and logical flows…assignment of RU_Port_ID…is done by the O-DU via the M-plane…”; page 39, section 3.4; “…Data flow separation based on VLAN (applicable when layer 2 or layer 3 is used for the C/U-plane transport)…The mechanism for assigning VLAN ID to U-Plane and C-Plane is assumed to be via the M-Plane…Data flow separation based on usage of different MAC addresses (applicable when Layer 2 is used for C/U plane transport)…separate MAC address used for M-Plane…”; teaches communicating configuration information, such as first information, using NETCONF based M-plane), wherein the first information sent using the NETCONF is used by the NETCONF client to perform a configuration of a flow for the C/U Plane, wherein the flow is defined by a combination of a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the intermediate node, a MAC address of the at least one O-RU, and a virtual local area network (VLAN) ID, and wherein the VLAN ID is used for the C/U Plane (page 31, Figures 3-1, 3-2, 3-3; page 39, section 3.4; “…Data flow separation based on VLAN (applicable when layer 2 or layer 3 is used for the C/U-plane transport)…The mechanism for assigning VLAN ID to U-Plane and C-Plane is assumed to be via the M-Plane…Data flow separation based on usage of different MAC addresses (applicable when Layer 2 is used for C/U plane transport)…separate MAC address used for M-Plane…The U-plane application also needs to uniquely associate different data flows (e.g. spatial streams) each with a unique U/C plane endpoint address. This can be achieved un an O-RU using the eAxC identifier, and in the O-DU using the eAxC identifier in combination with transport-based endpoint identifiers to differentiate O-RUs. Different transport identifiers (e.g. UDP/IP, VLAN, MAC) can be used based on whether layer 2 or layer 3 transport is used for the U/C plane…”; teaches configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate communicating configuration information, such as first information, using NETCONF based M-plane and configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane as taught by O-RAN with the method for communicating information at an intermediate, routing device between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang for the purpose of providing management information according the control plane, user plane and synchronization plane protocols used over the fronthaul interface linking the O-DU (O-RAN Distributed Unit) with the O-RU (O-RAN Radio Unit), as suggested by O-RAN.
However, Wang, as modified by O-RAN, may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is information of Yet Another Next Generation (YANG) module, wherein the intermediate node copies a downlink signal and performs wireless communication for the downlink signal, and wherein after the sending of the first information, the copying and the wireless communication are performed.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Rajagopal teaches and suggests wherein the first information is information of Yet Another Next Generation (YANG) module ([0088]; “…the fronthaul interface 30 used for data communication…the YANG language can be used for defining the data model used for configuration of the RRU…”; teaches first information such as data modeling is of YANG), wherein the intermediate node copies a downlink signal and performs wireless communication for the downlink signal, and wherein after the sending of the first information, the copying and the wireless communication are performed ([0095]; [0215]; [0216]; [0217]; teaches the node copies a discovery signal or reference signal and performs downlink signaling after sending the first information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first information such as data modeling is of YANG and the node copies a discovery signal or reference signal and performs downlink signaling after sending the first information as taught by Rajagopal with the method for communicating information at an intermediate, routing device between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang, as modified by O-RAN, for the purpose of optimizing the fronthaul functional split in order to minimize the impact on transport interface while maximizing the amount of processing in the BBU for virtualization, as suggested by Rajagopal.
Regarding claims 12, 22, and 30, Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, further teaches and suggests wherein the NETCONF client is the O-DU (DU, figure 1; [0004]).
Regarding claims 15 and 25, Wang discloses an intermediate node for communicating with a DU and RU in a shared cell and exchanging information to the DU and RU from the intermediate node, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: based on the second information, configuration of flows for the second interface are defined by a combination of a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the NETCONF client, a MAC address of the intermediate node, and a virtual local area network (VLAN) ID.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, O-RAN further teaches and suggests wherein: based on the second information, configuration of flows for the second interface are defined by a combination of a Medium Access Control (MAC) address (MAC address) of the NETCONF client, a MAC address of the intermediate node, and a virtual local area network (VLAN) ID (page 31, Figures 3-1, 3-2, 3-3; page 39, section 3.4; “…Data flow separation based on VLAN (applicable when layer 2 or layer 3 is used for the C/U-plane transport)…The mechanism for assigning VLAN ID to U-Plane and C-Plane is assumed to be via the M-Plane…Data flow separation based on usage of different MAC addresses (applicable when Layer 2 is used for C/U plane transport)…separate MAC address used for M-Plane…The U-plane application also needs to uniquely associate different data flows (e.g. spatial streams) each with a unique U/C plane endpoint address. This can be achieved un an O-RU using the eAxC identifier, and in the O-DU using the eAxC identifier in combination with transport-based endpoint identifiers to differentiate O-RUs. Different transport identifiers (e.g. UDP/IP, VLAN, MAC) can be used based on whether layer 2 or layer 3 transport is used for the U/C plane…”; teaches configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate communicating configuration information, such as first information, using NETCONF based M-plane and configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane as taught by O-RAN with the method for communicating information at an intermediate, routing device between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, for the purpose of providing management information according the control plane, user plane and synchronization plane protocols used over the fronthaul interface linking the O-DU (O-RAN Distributed Unit) with the O-RU (O-RAN Radio Unit), as suggested by O-RAN.
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, further teaches and suggests wherein the first address is a port number of the intermediate node (routing device, figure 1) ([0019]; [0171]; teaches the identification information is a port number associated with the routing device and the RU).
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses an intermediate node for communicating with a DU and RU in a shared cell and exchanging information to the DU and RU from the intermediate node, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second address is a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the one of the O-RU(s).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, O-RAN further teaches and suggests wherein the second address (MAC address) is a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the one of the O-RU(s) (page 31, Figures 3-1, 3-2, 3-3; page 39, section 3.4; “…Data flow separation based on VLAN (applicable when layer 2 or layer 3 is used for the C/U-plane transport)…The mechanism for assigning VLAN ID to U-Plane and C-Plane is assumed to be via the M-Plane…Data flow separation based on usage of different MAC addresses (applicable when Layer 2 is used for C/U plane transport)…separate MAC address used for M-Plane…The U-plane application also needs to uniquely associate different data flows (e.g. spatial streams) each with a unique U/C plane endpoint address. This can be achieved un an O-RU using the eAxC identifier, and in the O-DU using the eAxC identifier in combination with transport-based endpoint identifiers to differentiate O-RUs. Different transport identifiers (e.g. UDP/IP, VLAN, MAC) can be used based on whether layer 2 or layer 3 transport is used for the U/C plane…”; teaches configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate communicating configuration information, such as first information, using NETCONF based M-plane and configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane as taught by O-RAN with the method for communicating information at an intermediate, routing device between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, for the purpose of providing management information according the control plane, user plane and synchronization plane protocols used over the fronthaul interface linking the O-DU (O-RAN Distributed Unit) with the O-RU (O-RAN Radio Unit), as suggested by O-RAN.
Regarding claims 18 and 28, Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, further teaches and suggests wherein the third address is a port number of the intermediate node (routing device, figure 1) ([0019]; [0171]; teaches the identification information is a port number associated with the routing device and the RU).
Regarding claims 21 and 29, Wang teaches a method and a network configuration protocol (NETCONF) client (DU, figure 1) comprising: a transceiver (inherent component of the DU; figure 1); and a processor (inherent component of the DU; figure 1) configured to control the transceiver to:
communicate on a Control/User Plane (C/U Plane) interface ([0079]; interface; figure 1) with at least one of open radio access network (O-RAN) Radio Units (O-RUs) (RUs, figure 1) in a shared cell via an intermediate node (routing device, figure 1) connected between an O-RAN Distributed Unit (O-DU) (DU, figure 1) and at least one of the O-RUs (RU, figure 1) ([0079]; teaches the routing device communicates control/user data along an interface with the DU and at least one of the plurality of RUs in the shared cell; figure 1); and
receive first information from the intermediate node, the first information indicating a correspondence relationship of a first address (identity) of the intermediate node and a second address (identity) of one of the O-RUs, wherein the shared cell is operated by the O-RUs ([0090]; [0092]; “…the routing device sends the routed CPRI data to a DU corresponding to the CPRI interface through different CPRI interfaces. In fact, the standard identity corresponds to a CPRI interface identity/serial number in the first mapping relationship table, and the routing device routes different CPRI data to each CPRI interface, and then sends the CPRI data through each CPRI interface…”; [0097]; [0134]; teaches the routing device exchanges mapping relationship information with the DU via the intermediate node; figure 1).
However, Wang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is received using a NETCONF based Management Plane (M-Plane), wherein the first information is received using the NETCONF is used by the NETCONF client to perform a configuration of a flow for the C/U Plane, wherein the flow is defined by a combination of a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the intermediate node, a MAC address of the at least one O-RU, and a virtual local area network (VLAN) ID, and wherein the VLAN ID is used for the C/U Plane.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, O-RAN teaches and suggests wherein the first information is received using a NETCONF based Management Plane (M-Plane) (page 34, section 3.1.3.1.6; “…RU_Port_ID: designates logical flows such as data layers or spatial streams, and logical flows…assignment of RU_Port_ID…is done by the O-DU via the M-plane…”; page 39, section 3.4; “…Data flow separation based on VLAN (applicable when layer 2 or layer 3 is used for the C/U-plane transport)…The mechanism for assigning VLAN ID to U-Plane and C-Plane is assumed to be via the M-Plane…Data flow separation based on usage of different MAC addresses (applicable when Layer 2 is used for C/U plane transport)…separate MAC address used for M-Plane…”; teaches communicating configuration information, such as first information, using NETCONF based M-plane), wherein the first information is received using the NETCONF is used by the NETCONF client to perform a configuration of a flow for the C/U Plane, wherein the flow is defined by a combination of a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the intermediate node, a MAC address of the at least one O-RU, and a virtual local area network (VLAN) ID, and wherein the VLAN ID is used for the C/U Plane (page 31, Figures 3-1, 3-2, 3-3; page 39, section 3.4; “…Data flow separation based on VLAN (applicable when layer 2 or layer 3 is used for the C/U-plane transport)…The mechanism for assigning VLAN ID to U-Plane and C-Plane is assumed to be via the M-Plane…Data flow separation based on usage of different MAC addresses (applicable when Layer 2 is used for C/U plane transport)…separate MAC address used for M-Plane…The U-plane application also needs to uniquely associate different data flows (e.g. spatial streams) each with a unique U/C plane endpoint address. This can be achieved un an O-RU using the eAxC identifier, and in the O-DU using the eAxC identifier in combination with transport-based endpoint identifiers to differentiate O-RUs. Different transport identifiers (e.g. UDP/IP, VLAN, MAC) can be used based on whether layer 2 or layer 3 transport is used for the U/C plane…”; teaches configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate communicating configuration information, such as first information, using NETCONF based M-plane and configuration of data flows for C/U-plane, wherein the flow is defined by a MAC address of the nodes and VLAN ID for the C/U-plane as taught by O-RAN with the method for communicating information at an intermediate, routing device between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang for the purpose of providing management information according the control plane, user plane and synchronization plane protocols used over the fronthaul interface linking the O-DU (O-RAN Distributed Unit) with the O-RU (O-RAN Radio Unit), as suggested by O-RAN.
However, Wang, as modified by O-RAN, may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is information of Yet Another Next Generation (YANG) module, wherein the intermediate node copies a downlink signal and performs wireless communication for the downlink signal, and wherein after the sending of the first information, the copying and the wireless communication are performed.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Rajagopal teaches and suggests wherein the first information is information of Yet Another Next Generation (YANG) module ([0088]; “…the fronthaul interface 30 used for data communication…the YANG language can be used for defining the data model used for configuration of the RRU…”; teaches first information such as data modeling is of YANG), wherein the intermediate node copies a downlink signal and performs wireless communication for the downlink signal, and wherein after the sending of the first information, the copying and the wireless communication are performed ([0095]; [0215]; [0216]; [0217]; teaches the node copies a discovery signal or reference signal and performs downlink signaling after sending the first information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first information such as data modeling is of YANG and the node copies a discovery signal or reference signal and performs downlink signaling after sending the first information as taught by Rajagopal with the method for communicating information at an intermediate, routing device between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang, as modified by O-RAN, for the purpose of optimizing the fronthaul functional split in order to minimize the impact on transport interface while maximizing the amount of processing in the BBU for virtualization, as suggested by Rajagopal.
Claims 14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0094447 A1) in view of O-RAN Alliance (hereinafter O-RAN) (Non-Patent Literature – “O-RAN Fronthaul Working Group – Control, User and Synchronization Plane Specification” – ORAN-WG4.CUS.0-v01.00) and RAJAGOPAL et al. (hereinafter Rajagopal) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0235788 A1), and further in view of JANAATHTHANAN et al. (hereinafter Janaaththanan) (WIPO International Publication # WO 2011/0158966 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 24, Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, discloses an intermediate node for communicating with a DU and RU in a shared cell and exchanging information to the DU and RU from the intermediate node, but does not explicitly disclose the second information indicating a third address of the intermediate node for the intermediate node to communicate with the NETCONF client.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Janaaththanan further teaches and suggests the second information indicating a third address (MAC address) of the intermediate node for the intermediate (relay, figure 4) node to communicate with the NETCONF client (D-eNB, figure 4) (page 14, lines 23-25; page 15, lines 1-11; page 16, lines 15-20; page 17, liens 1-12; teaches communication information indicating a correspondence between a MAC address/entity associated with the relay node and the MAC address/entity associated with one of the UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate communication information indicating a correspondence between a MAC address/entity associated with the relay node and the MAC address/entity associated with one of the UEs as taught by Janaaththanan with the method for communicating information at an intermediate node between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, for the purpose of efficiently configuring a relay for communicating information between network nodes by varying the number of MAC entities, as suggested by Janaaththanan.
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0094447 A1) in view of O-RAN Alliance (hereinafter O-RAN) (Non-Patent Literature – “O-RAN Fronthaul Working Group – Control, User and Synchronization Plane Specification” – ORAN-WG4.CUS.0-v01.00) and RAJAGOPAL et al. (hereinafter Rajagopal) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0235788 A1), and further in view of SOHN et al. (hereinafter Sohn) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0287655 A1).
Regarding claims 31, 32, and 33, Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, discloses an intermediate node for communicating with a DU and RU in a shared cell and exchanging information to the DU and RU from the intermediate node, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the intermediate node is a first cascaded O-RU, wherein the O-RUs comprise a second cascaded O-RU connected to the first cascaded O-RU, and wherein the first information sent to the NETCONF client is information indicating a correspondence relationship of a first address of the first cascaded O-RU and a second address of the second cascaded O-RU.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Sohn teaches and suggests wherein the intermediate node is a first cascaded O-RU (RU, 100(1), figure 3), wherein the O-RUs comprise a second cascaded O-RU (RU, 100(2), figure 3) connected to the first cascaded O-RU, and wherein the first information sent to the NETCONF client (DU, 200, figure 3) is information indicating a correspondence relationship of a first address of the first cascaded O-RU and a second address of the second cascaded O-RU ([0024]; [0034]; [0038]; teaches a first RU is the intermediate node between the DU and the second RU and identification information of the RUs is communicated with the DU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a first RU is the intermediate node between the DU and the second RU and identification information of the RUs is communicated with the DU as taught by Sohn with the method for communicating information at an intermediate node between the DU and RU as disclosed by Wang, as modified by O-RAN and Rajagopal, for the purpose of efficiently configuring a relay for communicating information between network nodes by varying the number of nodes to decrease distortion, as suggested by Sohn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11, 12, 14-18, 21, 22, 24-26, and 28-34 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of RAJAGOPAL et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0235788 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
June 17, 2026