DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments and remarks filed on January 6, 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 12, 17, 19-20, and 23-35 have been canceled. Claims 1, 13, and 14 were amended. Claims 1-11, 13-16, 18, 21, and 22 are pending. Claims 16, 18, 21, and 22 are withdrawn. Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are examined on the merits herein.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application claims priority to PCT/US20/28535 filed on April 16, 2020 which claims priority to U.S. provisional application 62/972,831, filed on February 11, 2020 and U.S. provisional application 62/835,861 filed on April 18, 2019.
Withdrawn Objections
In view of Applicant’s amendments and response, the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerr et al. (WO 2020/154645; reference previously cited by the Examiner) in view of Bhanot et al. (WO 2011/156673; reference previously cited by the Examiner) and Hassler et al. (Nucleic Acids Research 2018; reference cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11, Kerr et al. teaches that despite the advances made in the development of nucleic acid therapeutics that are evident in recent clinical achievements, the field of gene therapy is still severely limited by unwanted adverse events in recipients triggered by the therapeutic nucleic acids, themselves [0014]. Accordingly, there is a need in the field for a new technology that inhibits (e.g., reduces, ameliorates, mitigates, prevents) the immune response on administration of vectors or nucleic acid to a subject that permits expression of a therapeutic protein in a cell, tissue or subject capable of treatment of a wide variety of diseases [0015]. Further, Kerr et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising an inhibitor of the AIM2 inflammasome pathway for inhibiting (i.e., reducing or suppressing) an immune response in a subject suffering from a genetic disorder [0016]. Kerr et al. teaches that the human AIM2 protein is encoded by the AIM2 gene comprising nucleic acid sequence NM_004833.2 (SEQ ID NO: 600). Further, a gene silencing siRNA oligonucleotide duplexes targeted specifically to human AIM2 (NM_004833.2) can readily be used to knockdown AIM2 expression [00449]. Kerr et al. teaches nucleic acids containing known nucleotide analogs or modified backbone residues or linkages which include phosphorothioate and 2’-O-methyl ribonucleotides [0077]. Kerr et al. also teaches that oligonucleotides are chemically modified to alter and improve in vivo properties such as delivery, stability, life-time, folding, target specificity, as well as biological function and mechanism that directly correlates with therapeutic application [00173].
Kerr et al. SEQ ID NO: 600 (designated as Db) at positions 136 through 1529 has a 100% match to instant SEQ ID NO: 46 (designated as Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1394; DB 1; Length 1558;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1394; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AGAAGTGTCAGAGTCTTTGTAGCTTTGAAAGTCACCTAGGTTATTTGGGCATGCTCTCCT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 136 AGAAGTGTCAGAGTCTTTGTAGCTTTGAAAGTCACCTAGGTTATTTGGGCATGCTCTCCT 195
Qy 61 GAGTCCTCTGCTAGTTAAGCTCTCTGAAAAGAAGGTGGCAGACCCGGTTTGCTGATCGCC 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 196 GAGTCCTCTGCTAGTTAAGCTCTCTGAAAAGAAGGTGGCAGACCCGGTTTGCTGATCGCC 255
Qy 121 CCAGGGATCAGGAGGCTGATCCCAAAGTTGTCAGATGGAGAGTAAATACAAGGAGATACT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 256 CCAGGGATCAGGAGGCTGATCCCAAAGTTGTCAGATGGAGAGTAAATACAAGGAGATACT 315
Qy 181 CTTGCTAACAGGCCTGGATAACATCACTGATGAGGAACTGGATAGGTTTAAGTTCTTTCT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 316 CTTGCTAACAGGCCTGGATAACATCACTGATGAGGAACTGGATAGGTTTAAGTTCTTTCT 375
Qy 241 TTCAGACGAGTTTAATATTGCCACAGGCAAACTACATACTGCAAACAGAATACAAGTAGC 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 376 TTCAGACGAGTTTAATATTGCCACAGGCAAACTACATACTGCAAACAGAATACAAGTAGC 435
Qy 301 TACCTTGATGATTCAAAATGCTGGGGCGGTGTCTGCAGTGATGAAGACCATTCGTATTTT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 436 TACCTTGATGATTCAAAATGCTGGGGCGGTGTCTGCAGTGATGAAGACCATTCGTATTTT 495
Qy 361 TCAGAAGTTGAATTATATGCTTTTGGCAAAACGTCTTCAGGAGGAGAAGGAGAAAGTTGA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 496 TCAGAAGTTGAATTATATGCTTTTGGCAAAACGTCTTCAGGAGGAGAAGGAGAAAGTTGA 555
Qy 421 TAAGCAATACAAATCGGTAACAAAACCAAAGCCACTAAGTCAAGCTGAAATGAGTCCTGC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 556 TAAGCAATACAAATCGGTAACAAAACCAAAGCCACTAAGTCAAGCTGAAATGAGTCCTGC 615
Qy 481 TGCATCTGCAGCCATCAGAAATGATGTCGCAAAGCAACGTGCTGCACCAAAAGTCTCTCC 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 616 TGCATCTGCAGCCATCAGAAATGATGTCGCAAAGCAACGTGCTGCACCAAAAGTCTCTCC 675
Qy 541 TCATGTTAAGCCTGAACAGAAACAGATGGTGGCCCAGCAGGAATCTATCAGAGAAGGGTT 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 676 TCATGTTAAGCCTGAACAGAAACAGATGGTGGCCCAGCAGGAATCTATCAGAGAAGGGTT 735
Qy 601 TCAGAAGCGCTGTTTGCCAGTTATGGTACTGAAAGCAAAGAAGCCCTTCACGTTTGAGAC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 736 TCAGAAGCGCTGTTTGCCAGTTATGGTACTGAAAGCAAAGAAGCCCTTCACGTTTGAGAC 795
Qy 661 CCAAGAAGGCAAGCAGGAGATGTTTCATGCTACAGTGGCTACAGAAAAGGAATTCTTCTT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 796 CCAAGAAGGCAAGCAGGAGATGTTTCATGCTACAGTGGCTACAGAAAAGGAATTCTTCTT 855
Qy 721 TGTAAAAGTTTTTAATACACTGCTGAAAGATAAATTCATTCCAAAGAGAATAATTATAAT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 856 TGTAAAAGTTTTTAATACACTGCTGAAAGATAAATTCATTCCAAAGAGAATAATTATAAT 915
Qy 781 AGCAAGATATTATCGGCACAGTGGTTTCTTAGAGGTAAATAGCGCCTCACGTGTGTTAGA 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 916 AGCAAGATATTATCGGCACAGTGGTTTCTTAGAGGTAAATAGCGCCTCACGTGTGTTAGA 975
Qy 841 TGCTGAATCTGACCAAAAGGTTAATGTCCCGCTGAACATTATCAGAAAAGCTGGTGAAAC 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 976 TGCTGAATCTGACCAAAAGGTTAATGTCCCGCTGAACATTATCAGAAAAGCTGGTGAAAC 1035
Qy 901 CCCGAAGATCAACACGCTTCAAACTCAGCCCCTTGGAACAATTGTGAATGGTTTGTTTGT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1036 CCCGAAGATCAACACGCTTCAAACTCAGCCCCTTGGAACAATTGTGAATGGTTTGTTTGT 1095
Qy 961 AGTCCAGAAGGTAACAGAAAAGAAGAAAAACATATTATTTGACCTAAGTGACAACACTGG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1096 AGTCCAGAAGGTAACAGAAAAGAAGAAAAACATATTATTTGACCTAAGTGACAACACTGG 1155
Qy 1021 GAAAATGGAAGTACTGGGGGTTAGAAACGAGGACACAATGAAATGTAAGGAAGGAGATAA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1156 GAAAATGGAAGTACTGGGGGTTAGAAACGAGGACACAATGAAATGTAAGGAAGGAGATAA 1215
Qy 1081 GGTTCGACTTACATTCTTCACACTGTCAAAAAATGGAGAAAAACTACAGCTGACATCTGG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1216 GGTTCGACTTACATTCTTCACACTGTCAAAAAATGGAGAAAAACTACAGCTGACATCTGG 1275
Qy 1141 AGTTCATAGCACCATAAAGGTTATTAAGGCCAAAAAAAAAACATAGAGAAGTAAAAAGGA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1276 AGTTCATAGCACCATAAAGGTTATTAAGGCCAAAAAAAAAACATAGAGAAGTAAAAAGGA 1335
Qy 1201 CCAATTCAAGCCAACTGGTCTAAGCAGCATTTAATTGAAGAATATGTGATACAGCCTCTT 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1336 CCAATTCAAGCCAACTGGTCTAAGCAGCATTTAATTGAAGAATATGTGATACAGCCTCTT 1395
Qy 1261 CAATCAGATTGTAAGTTACCTGAAAGCTGCAGTTCACAGGCTCCTCTCTCCACCAAATTA 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1396 CAATCAGATTGTAAGTTACCTGAAAGCTGCAGTTCACAGGCTCCTCTCTCCACCAAATTA 1455
Qy 1321 GGATAGAATAATTGCTGGATAAACAAATTCAGAATATCAACAGATGATCACAATAAACAT 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1456 GGATAGAATAATTGCTGGATAAACAAATTCAGAATATCAACAGATGATCACAATAAACAT 1515
Qy 1381 CTGTTTCTCATTCA 1394
||||||||||||||
Db 1516 CTGTTTCTCATTCA 1529
Kerr et al. SEQ ID NO: 600 (designated as Db) at positions 497 through 515 has a match to positions 662 through 680 of instant SEQ ID NO: 48 (designated Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 95.0%; Score 19; DB 1; Length 1558;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 19; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CAGAAGTTGAATTATATGC 19
|||||||||||||||||||
Db 497 CAGAAGTTGAATTATATGC 515
Kerr et al. SEQ ID NO: 600 (designated as Db) at positions 851 through 867 has a match to positions 1034 through 1050 of instant SEQ ID NO: 48 (designated Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 94.4%; Score 17; DB 1; Length 1558;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 17; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 TTCTTTGTAAAAGTTTT 17
|||||||||||||||||
Db 851 TTCTTTGTAAAAGTTTT 867
Regarding claim 2, Kerr et al. SEQ ID NO: 600 (designated as Db) has a match to positions 1 through 14 of instant SEQ ID NO: 29 (designated as Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 93.3%; Score 14; DB 1; Length 1558;
Best Local Similarity 42.9%;
Matches 6; Conservative 8; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 UUUGUAAAAGUUUU 14
:::|:|||||::::
Db 854 TTTGTAAAAGTTTT 867
Kerr et al. SEQ ID NO: 600 (designated as Db) has a match to positions 1 through 14 of instant SEQ ID NO: 27 (designated as Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 93.3%; Score 14; DB 1; Length 1558;
Best Local Similarity 57.1%;
Matches 8; Conservative 6; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GUUGAAUUAUAUGC 14
|::|||::|:|:||
Db 502 GTTGAATTATATGC 515
Regarding claim 3, Kerr et al. SEQ ID NO: 600 (designated as Db) is complementary to positions 2 through 20 of instant SEQ ID NO: 30 (designated as Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 95.0%; Score 19; DB 1; Length 1558;
Best Local Similarity 78.9%;
Matches 15; Conservative 4; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 AAAACUUUUACAAAGAAGA 20
|||||::::||||||||||
Db 867 AAAACTTTTACAAAGAAGA 849
Kerr et al. SEQ ID NO: 600 (designated as Db) is complementary to positions 2 through 20 of instant SEQ ID NO: 28 (designated as Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 95.0%; Score 19; DB 1; Length 1558;
Best Local Similarity 63.2%;
Matches 12; Conservative 7; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 GCAUAUAAUUCAACUUCUG 20
|||:|:||::||||::|:|
Db 515 GCATATAATTCAACTTCTG 497
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Kerr et al. teaches dendritic cells used in the production of a ceDNA vector for expression of an inhibitor of the immune response [00254].
Regarding claim 15, Kerr et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising one or more inhibitors of the immune response and a carrier [0022]. Further, the compositions wherein the inhibitor of AIM2 is an RNA inhibitor of AIM2 such as an siRNA specific for AIM2 or is encoded by the ceDNA [00449].
However, Kerr et al. does not teach a hydrophobically modified double stranded RNA molecule as recited in instant claim 1 wherein the sense strand comprises the sequence as recited in claim 2 and wherein the antisense strand comprises the sequence as recited in claim 3. Kerr et al. also does not teach the exact pattern of modifications of the sense strand and antisense strands of claims 4, 5, 7, 9, and 11.
Bhanot et al. teaches antisense compounds useful for modulating gene expression and associated pathways via antisense mechanisms of action such as RNaseH, RNAi and dsRNA enzymes as well as other antisense mechanisms based on target degradation or target occupancy [page 4, second paragraph]. Bhanot et al. teaches that antisense technology is emerging as an effective means for reducing the expression of certain gene products and may therefore prove to be uniquely useful in a number of therapeutic, diagnostic, and research applications for the modulation of the transcript [page 3, second full paragraph]. Bhanot et al. teaches modified oligonucleotides consisting of 10 to 30 linked nucleobases [page 25, first paragraph]. Further, the antisense compound has a nucleobase sequence at least 90% complementarity as measured over the entirety of said antisense compound [claim 6]. Bhanot et al. also designed many modified oligonucleotides using the principles described throughout the disclosure (see for example Tables 2-7). Specifically, Bhanot et al. teaches antisense compounds comprising one or more nucleosides wherein the sugar group has been modified to impart enhanced nuclease stability, increased binding affinity, or other beneficial biological property to the antisense compound [page 33, second full paragraph]. Further, examples of nucleosides having modified sugar moieties include 2’-F [page 33, third full paragraph]. Bhanot et al. also teaches modified oligonucleotides in which one or more internucleoside linkages are modified wherein a modified linkage is a substitution of a naturally-occurring phosphodiester linkage [page 32, fifth full paragraph]. Because Bhanot et al. teaches that modified internucleoside linkages substitute a naturally-occurring phosphodiester linkage, and Bhanot et al. teaches modified oligonucleotides comprising one modified internucleoside linkage, Bhanot et al. inherently teaches modified oligonucleotides with at least one naturally-occurring phosphodiester linkage. Bhanot et al. also teaches modified antisense compounds comprising one or more stabilizing groups attached to one or both termini to enhance properties such as nuclease stability. Specifically, terminal modifications such as cap structures protect the antisense compound from exonuclease degradation and can help in delivery and/or localization within a cell [page 43, third paragraph]. Bhanot et al. demonstrated that modified oligonucleotides designed to many different locations in a target nucleic acid achieve target nucleic acid inhibition (see Tables 2-7). Further, Bhanot et al. demonstrated in Example 4 that modified oligonucleotides also function in vivo including in the relief of symptoms of a disease associated with the target molecule [pages 62-64].
Hassler et al. teaches that an asymmetric, cholesterol-modified siRNA was used to compare the impact of partially or fully modified scaffolds on conjugate-mediated distribution and silencing in vivo. The asymmetric design, termed hsiRNAs (15-nucleotide passenger strand with a 3’-conjugate and 20-nucleotide guide strand) lowers the melting temperature of the double-strand region, to facilitate the dissociation of the non-cleavable modified guide strand from the RISC during loading [page 2188, right column, last paragraph]. Figure 1A (reproduced below) is the chemical structure, modification pattern, and molecular model of partially (hsiRNA) and fully modified (FM-hsiRNA) hydrophobic siRNA [page 2187]. Hassler et al. also teaches that cholesterol conjugation to partially modified hsiRNAs results in robust cellular uptake in vitro and potent local silencing in vivo [page 2189, left column, first full paragraph] and chol-FM-hsiRNA showed significantly enhanced efficacy following passive uptake [page 2189, right column, first paragraph].
Although Kerr et al. does not teach a double stranded RNA molecule, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a hydrophobically modified dsRNA according to claim 1 and arrive at the instantly recited SEQ ID NOS. using the design principles taught by Bhanot et al. and Hassler et al. because it would have amounted to applying known design principles for preparing antisense compounds, to a human AIM2 sequence, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing the modified oligonucleotides because as evidenced by Bhanot et al. it was well within the purview of the skilled artisan, and routine in the art, to design, test, and identify modified oligonucleotides that effectively inhibit the target nucleic acid wherein the modified oligonucleotides consist of 10 to 30 linked nucleobases and the antisense compound has a nucleobase sequence at least 90% complementarity over the entirety of the antisense compound and as evidenced by Hassler et al. a fully modified hydrophobic siRNA lowers the melting temperature of the double-strand region, to facilitate the dissociation of the non-cleavable modified guide strand from the RISC during loading. One would have been motivated to modify the oligonucleotide of Kerr et al. using the design principles of Bhanot et al. and Hassler et al. to provide the oligonucleotide for the purposes of knocking down AIM2 expression because Kerr et al. taught that there is a need in the field for a new technology that inhibits (e.g., reduces, ameliorates, mitigates, prevents) the immune response on administration of vectors or nucleic acid to a subject that permits expression of a therapeutic protein in a cell, tissue or subject capable of treatment of a wide variety of diseases and also taught pharmaceutical compositions comprising an inhibitor of the AIM2 inflammasome pathway for inhibiting (i.e., reducing or suppressing) an immune response in a subject suffering from a genetic disorder.
Although Kerr et al. does not teach a double stranded RNA molecule or the specific modification pattern as recited in claims 4, 5, 7, 9, and 11, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a hydrophobically modified dsRNA and arrive at the instantly recited SEQ ID NOS. with the specific modification pattern using the design principles taught by Kerr et al., Bhanot et al., and Hassler et al. because it would have amounted to applying known design principles for preparing antisense compounds, to a human AIM2 sequence, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing the modified oligonucleotides because as evidenced by Bhanot et al. it was well within the purview of the skilled artisan, and routine in the art, to design, test, and identify modified oligonucleotides that effectively inhibit the target nucleic acid wherein the modified oligonucleotides consist of 10 to 30 linked nucleobases and the antisense compound has a nucleobase sequence at least 90% complementarity over the entirety of the antisense compound and as evidenced by Hassler et al. a fully modified hydrophobic siRNA lowers the melting temperature of the double-strand region, to facilitate the dissociation of the non-cleavable modified guide strand from the RISC during loading and cholesterol conjugation of fully modified hydrophobic siRNA results in significantly enhanced efficacy. One would have been motivated to modify the oligonucleotide of Kerr et al. using the design principles of Bhanot et al. and Hassler et al. to provide the oligonucleotide for the purposes of knocking down AIM2 expression because Kerr et al. taught that there is a need in the field for a new technology that inhibits (e.g., reduces, ameliorates, mitigates, prevents) the immune response on administration of vectors or nucleic acid to a subject that permits expression of a therapeutic protein in a cell, tissue or subject capable of treatment of a wide variety of diseases and also taught pharmaceutical compositions comprising an inhibitor of the AIM2 inflammasome pathway for inhibiting (i.e., reducing or suppressing) an immune response in a subject suffering from a genetic disorder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 6, 2026 have been fully considered to the extent that they might apply to the new ground of rejection set forth above but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the following:
These arguments are not found persuasive. Kerr et al. teaches that inhibition of the AIM2 mRNA can be by gene silencing RNAi molecules according to methods commonly known by a skilled artisan. For example, a gene silencing siRNA oligonucleotide duplex targeted specifically to human AIM2 (NM_004833.2) can readily be used to knockdown AIM2 expression. Further, AIM2 mRNA can be successfully targeted using siRNAs and other siRNA molecules may be readily prepared by those of skill in the art based on the known sequence of the target mRNA. Accordingly, in avoidance of any doubt, one of ordinary skill in the art can design nucleic acid inhibitors such as RNAi agents to the nucleic acid sequence of NM_004833.2 which is SEQ ID NO: 600 [00449]. Applicant's amendment necessitated the incorporation of the Hassler et al. reference presented in this Office action because Kerr et al. and Bhanot et al. did not teach a hydrophobically modified dsRNA molecule. Although Kerr et al. does not teach a double stranded RNA molecule, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a hydrophobically modified dsRNA according to claim 1 and arrive at the instantly recited SEQ ID NOS. using the design principles taught by Bhanot et al. and Hassler et al. because it would have amounted to applying known design principles for preparing antisense compounds, to a human AIM2 sequence, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing the modified oligonucleotides because as evidenced by Bhanot et al. it was well within the purview of the skilled artisan, and routine in the art, to design, test, and identify modified oligonucleotides that effectively inhibit the target nucleic acid wherein the modified oligonucleotides consist of 10 to 30 linked nucleobases and the antisense compound has a nucleobase sequence at least 90% complementarity over the entirety of the antisense compound and as evidenced by Hassler et al. a fully modified hydrophobic siRNA lowers the melting temperature of the double-strand region, to facilitate the dissociation of the non-cleavable modified guide strand from the RISC during loading. One would have been motivated to modify the oligonucleotide of Kerr et al. using the design principles of Bhanot et al. and Hassler et al. to provide the oligonucleotide for the purposes of knocking down AIM2 expression because Kerr et al. taught that there is a need in the field for a new technology that inhibits (e.g., reduces, ameliorates, mitigates, prevents) the immune response on administration of vectors or nucleic acid to a subject that permits expression of a therapeutic protein in a cell, tissue or subject capable of treatment of a wide variety of diseases and also taught pharmaceutical compositions comprising an inhibitor of the AIM2 inflammasome pathway for inhibiting (i.e., reducing or suppressing) an immune response in a subject suffering from a genetic disorder.
Applicant asserts the following:
These arguments are not found persuasive. Contrary to Applicant’s assertions that Kerr et al. is silent regarding a mouse AIM2 sequence, the mouse AIM2 sequence (instant SEQ ID NO: 48; designated as Db) and human AIM2 sequence (instant SEQ ID NO: 46; designated as Qy) are conserved and thus share levels of identity as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 35.5%; Score 494.2; DB 1; Length 2541;
Best Local Similarity 65.9%;
Matches 822; Conservative 0; Mismatches 393; Indels 32; Gaps 6;
Qy 133 AGGCTGATCCCAAAGTTGTCAGATGGAGAGTAAATACAAGGAGATACTCTTGCTAACAGG 192
|||||||||| ||| ||||||||||| | ||| ||| || || ||| | || ||
Db 433 AGGCTGATCCTGGGACTGTGAGATGGAGAGTGAGTACCGGGAAATGCTGTTGTTGACCGG 492
Qy 193 CCTGGATAACATCACTGATGAGGAACTGGATAGGTTTAAGTTCTTTCTTTCAGACGAGTT 252
|||||| ||||||| || || |||||| | |||| |||| |||| || |||||
Db 493 CCTGGACCACATCACGGAGGAAGAACTGAAACGGTTCAAGTACTTTGCTTTGACTGAGTT 552
Qy 253 TAATATTGCCACAGGCAAACTACATACTGCAAACAGAATACAAGTAGCTACCTTGATGAT 312
| | ||||||| ||| ||| | ||| | || | | | ||||| | ||||
Db 553 TCAGATTGCCAGGAGCACACTCGACGTGGCAGATAGGACAGAGTTAGCTGACCACCTGAT 612
Qy 313 TCAAAATGCTGGGGCGGTGTCTGCAGTGATGAAGACCATTCGTATTTTTCAGAAGTTGAA 372
||||| ||| || |||| ||||||||||| ||| ||||| |||||| |||||||||||
Db 613 TCAAAGTGCAGGTGCGGCGTCTGCAGTGACCAAGGCCATTAATATTTTCCAGAAGTTGAA 672
Qy 373 TTATATGCTTTTGGCAAAACGTCTTCAGGAGGAGAAGGAGAAAGTTGATAAGCAATACAA 432
|||||||| | | ||||| |||| | ||| | ||| | ||| ||| || ||
Db 673 TTATATGCATATTGCAAATGCTCTTGAAGAGAAAAAGAAAGAAGCTGAACGTAAACTCAT 732
Qy 433 ATCGGTAACAAAACCAAAGCCA------------------CTAAGTCAAGCTGAAATGAG 474
| ||||| | | |||||||||||||| |
Db 733 GACCAATACAAAGAAGAGAGGAACACAGAAGGTAGAAAATAGAAGTCAAGCTGAAAACTG 792
Qy 475 TCCTGCTGCATCTGCAGCCATCAGAAATGATGTCGCAAAGCAACGTGCTGCACCAAAAGT 534
||||||| ||||| || ||| | ||| | ||| ||| ||||| || ||||
Db 793 CTCTGCTGCCTCTGCCACCCGCAGTGACAATGACTTTAAGGAACAGGCTGCTACAGAAGT 852
Qy 535 CTCTCCTCATGTTAAGCCTGAACAGAAACAGATGGTGGCCCAGCAGGAATCTATCAGAGA 594
|| |||||| | ||||||| | |||||||||||||||| | |||||| | ||||||||
Db 853 CTGTCCTCAAGCTAAGCCTCAGAAGAAACAGATGGTGGCAGAACAGGAAGCCATCAGAGA 912
Qy 595 AGGGTTTCAGAAGCGCTGTTTGCCAGTTATGGTACTGAAAGCAAAGAAGCCCTTCACGTT 654
|| || ||||| | || | ||| |||||||| | || ||||| ||
Db 913 AGATTTACAGAAAGATCCACTTGTTGTCACGGTGCTGAAAGCTATAAATCCCTTTGAGTG 972
Qy 655 TGAGACCCAAGAAGGCAAGCAGGAGATGTTTCATGCTACAGTGGCTACAGAAAAGGAATT 714
|||||| || ||||| | || ||||| |||||||| |||||||| || || | || ||
Db 973 TGAGACTCAGGAAGGAAGACAAGAGATATTTCATGCAACAGTGGCCACGGAGACAGATTT 1032
Qy 715 CTTCTTTGTAAAAGTTTTTAATACACTGCTGAAAGATAAATTCATTCCAAAGAGAATAAT 774
||||||||||||||||| || ||| | | ||||||||||| || |||||||| | |||
Db 1033 TTTCTTTGTAAAAGTTTTAAACGCACAGTTTAAAGATAAATTTATCCCAAAGAGGACAAT 1092
Qy 775 TATAATAGCAAGATATTATCGGCACAGTGGTTTCTTAGAGGTAAATAGCGCCTCACGTGT 834
|| |||| ||| || | |||||||| ||| | ||||| | || ||||| |||
Db 1093 TAAAATATCAAACTACCTTTGGCACAGTAACTTCATGGAGGTCACCAGTTCCTCAGTTGT 1152
Qy 835 GTTAGATGCTGAATCTGACCAAAAGGTTAATGTCCCGCTGAACATTATCAGAAAAGCTGG 894
| | |||| ||||||| |||| | ||||| ||| || | | | ||| |
Db 1153 GGTTGATGTTGAATCTAACCA------CGAAGTCCCAAATAACGTTGTTAAGAGAGCCAG 1206
Qy 895 TGAAACCCCGAAGATCAACACGCTTCAAACTCAGCCCCTTGGAACAATTGTGAATGGTTT 954
||||| || | ||| | | || | | |||||| |||||||||||||||||| |
Db 1207 GGAAACTCCCAGGATTAGTAAACTGAAGATTCAGCCATGTGGAACAATTGTGAATGGGCT 1266
Qy 955 GTTTGTAGTCCAGAAGGTAACAGAAAAGAAGAAAAACATATTATTTGACCTAAGTGACAA 1014
|||| |||||||||| ||||||| | || | | || | | || || ||| ||
Db 1267 GTTTAAAGTCCAGAAGATAACAGAGGAAAAAGATAGAGTACTGTATGGTATACATGATAA 1326
Qy 1015 CACTGGGAAAATGGAAGTACTGGGGGTTAGAAACGAGGACACAATGAAATGTAAGGAAGG 1074
|| |||| |||||| || ||| | | ||||| || || || || |||||||
Db 1327 AACAGGGACAATGGAGGTGTTGGTGCTGGGAAACCCAAGCAAAACAAAGTGCGAGGAAGG 1386
Qy 1075 AGATAAGGTTCGACTTACATTCTTCACACTGTCAAAAAATGGAGAAAAACTACAGCTGAC 1134
||| ||| || |||| || ||||| ||||||||||||||| ||| | ||| |||
Db 1387 AGACAAGATTAGACTCACGTTCTTTGAGGTGTCAAAAAATGGAGTGAAAATTCAGTTGAA 1446
Qy 1135 ATCTGGAGTTCATAGCACCATAAAGGTTATTAAGGCCAAAAAAAAAACATAGAGAAGTAA 1194
||||||| | |||| | |||||||||||||| ||| || | | || | |
Db 1447 ATCTGGACCTTGTAGCTTTTTTAAGGTTATTAAGGCTGCAAAGCCAA-AAACTGACATGA 1505
Qy 1195 AAAGGACCAATTCAAGCCAACTGGTCTAAGCAGCATTTAATTGAAGAATATGTGATACAG 1254
|||| | | ||| || || | | | | | ||| |||||||| |||| | |
Db 1506 AAAGTGTGGAGTGAAGTCACCTCATTTGAAAAACCTTTTCCTGAAGAAT-CCTGATGCTG 1564
Qy 1255 CCTCTTCAATCAGATTGTAAGTTACCTGAAAGCTGCAGTTCACAGGCTCCTC----TCTC 1310
| ||| || ||| || | ||||||| ||| || ||| ||| || | |
Db 1565 CTCCTTGAACTAGACTG--AACTACCTGAGGATAGCATTTTACAACCTCATCATCATATT 1622
Qy 1311 CACCAAATTAGGATAGAATAATTGCTGGATAAACAAATTCAGAATAT 1357
| |||| | || | || | || | ||||| | | |||||
Db 1623 GTATTACTTAGAAAAGGACAAATACTCAAAAAACATCTGAAAAATAT 1669
In addition, for example, nucleotides 362-380 of SEQ ID NO: 46 (designated as Qy) has a match to nucleotides 662-681 of SEQ ID NO: 48 (designated as Db) as shown in the alignment below.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 19; DB 1; Length 20;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 19; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CAGAAGTTGAATTATATGC 19
|||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CAGAAGTTGAATTATATGC 19
Kerr et al. teaches that inhibition of the AIM2 mRNA can be by gene silencing RNAi molecules according to methods commonly known by a skilled artisan. For example, a gene silencing siRNA oligonucleotide duplex targeted specifically to human AIM2 (NM_004833.2) can readily be used to knockdown AIM2 expression. Further, AIM2 mRNA can be successfully targeted using siRNAs and other siRNA molecules may be readily prepared by those of skill in the art based on the known sequence of the target mRNA. Accordingly, in avoidance of any doubt, one of ordinary skill in the art can design nucleic acid inhibitors such as RNAi agents to the nucleic acid sequence of NM_004833.2 which is SEQ ID NO: 600 [00449].
Applicant further asserts:
These arguments are not found persuasive. Kerr et al. teaches that an inhibitor of AIM2 is for example an antibody or antigen-binding fragment that binds AIM2 [00445], an anti-human ASC monoclonal antibody [00446], P202 [00447], a small molecule compound [00448], or a RNA inhibitor [00449]. Thus, Kerr et al. provides a suggestion to use an RNAi inhibitor of AIM2 and does not teach away nor disparage the use of an RNAi as an inhibitor of AIM2.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/C.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637