DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
No amendments to the claims have been filed. Claims 1-4 are pending and currently considered in this office action.
Declaration
The Declaration of Katsuya Nakano, recognized inventor of the instant invention, under 37 CFR 1.132 filed October 7, 2025, is insufficient to overcome the rejection of Claim 1 based upon Hasegawa, as set forth in the last Office action because:
Regarding Hasegawa:
Declarant argues that the multi-step heat treatment of the instant invention is critical to obtaining the claimed macro-hardness and claimed micro-hardness features through the dissolution of coarse carbides and reduced segregation of the carbides (Pg. 3).
Declarant argues that example no. 28 is within the compositional limits of Hasegawa, and does not achieve the claimed features unless treated to the instant invention and multi-step heat treatment process. Declarant similarly argues the same for a composition (no. 151) which overlaps with that of Kawamura (Pg. 3-4).
Specifically, Declarant argues that example no. 28, which is the same example no. 28 in the instant specification, reads on the composition of Hasegawa, and when produced according to production processes BX and bx, rather than the multistep heat treatment of AB, does not comprise the claimed hardness features (Pg. 4).
This argument is respectfully not found persuasive.
The instant example no. 28, while comprising a composition within the ranges of Hasegawa, does not appear produced according to the process of Hasegawa, and is not representative of the invention of Hasegawa. Hasegawa requires specific heating rates for annealing (para. [0087]), and requires galvanization with specific cooling regime thereafter to a temperature of Ms or higher (Hasegawa, para. [0093]-[0099]; see Table 2, MS temperatures of example embodiments range from 358-409 C), and requires tempering ([0105]-[0108]).
The processes of ‘BX’ and ‘bx’, applied to composition no. 28, does not appear to have these process features required by Hasegawa. Example no. 28 does not show the heating rate for annealing, which Hasegawa attributes to obtaining the inventive microstructure, and appears to exclude both the alloying treatment and the cooling conditions required before and after the alloying treatment. Processes ‘BX’ and ‘bx’ further excludes the tempering disclosed by Hasegawa.
Additionally, it appears that example no. 28 does not comprise the standard deviation for hardness values required by Hasegawa of 20 or less (see Abstract of Hasegawa; see macrohardness in table 3 of Declaration). In an interview held on November 7, 2025, it was confirmed that the macrohardness referred to in the Declaration (Table 3) is equivalent to the Vicker’s hardness recited in the claims, and similarly that the microhardness (Declaration, Table 3) is equivalent to the nano hardness recited in the claims.
Regarding example no. 151, the composition overlaps that of Kawamura, but falls outside the compositional ranges required by the primary reference Hasegawa. Kawamura is not applied to teach the composition and is rather relied upon for the formation of the soft layer. Further, Hasegawa requires Ti which is not present in example no. 151, and the process of 'BY' and 'by' do not appear to comprise the processing features required by the primary reference Hasegawa (heating rate for annealing; galvanization; cooling regimes; tempering).
Thus, the presented data and additional examples 1-4 provided do not appear to be representative of the invention of Hasegawa, and the declaration is therefore insufficient to show that the invention of Hasegawa, and the invention of Hasegawa in view of Kawamura, would not have possessed the claimed hardness features.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa (previously cited, US 20180023154 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hasegawa discloses a steel sheet having a tensile strength of 1100 MPa or more (para. [0055]; para. [0113]; see Table 3, examples 9, 19 and 20 – examples 9, 19 and 20 read on compositions C, H and I in Table 1, respectively),
wherein the steel sheet has a microstructure containing, in volume fraction, tempered martensite: 95% or more, and one or more kinds of ferrite, pearlite, bainite, as-quenched martensite, and retained austenite: less than 5% in total (Abstract; para. [0055]; Table 3, examples 9, 19 and 20; see also para. [0051]-[0057] wherein remaining phases are ferrite, bainite and retained austenite),
wherein the steel sheet has a chemical composition comprising, in mass%:
Hasegawa, Table 1
Element
Claim 1
Hasegawa
Citation
Steel C
Steel H
Steel I
C
0.18-0.40%
0.07-0.25%
[0022]
0.22%
0.21%
0.18%
Si
0.01-2.50%
0.01-3.00%
[0024]
0.04%
0.15%
0.02%
Mn
0.60%-5.00%
1.5-4.0%
[0026]
2.3%
2.5%
2.7%
P
0-0.0200%
0-0.100%
[0028]
0.011%
0.006%
0.012%
S
0-0.0200%
0-0.02%
[0030]
0.005%
0.003%
0.002%
N
0-0.0200%
0.001-0.008%
[0034]
0.003%
0.004%
0.005%
O
0-0.0200%
silent, 0%
**
Al
0-1.00%
0.01-1.50%
[0032]
Cr
0-2.00%
0.01-2.00%
[0043]
Mo
0-0.50%
0.01-2.00%
[0043]
Ti
0-0.10%
0.003-0.200%
[0036]
0.014%
0.019%
0.021%
Nb
0-0.100%
0.003-0.200%
[0045]
B
0-0.0100%
0.0003-0.005%
[0038]
0.001%
0.0010%
0.0015%
V
0-0.50%
0.01-2.00%
[0043]
Cu
0-0.500%
0.01-2.00%
[0043]
0.11%
W
0-0.100%
silent, 0%
**
Ta
0-0.100%
silent, 0%
**
Ni
0-1.00%
0.01-2.00%
[0043]
Co
0-1.00%
silent, 0%
**
Sn
0-0.050%
0-0.002%
[0042]
Sb
0-0.050%
0-0.002%
[0042]
As
0-0.050%
silent, 0%
**
Mg
0-0.050%
0-0.002%
[0042]
Ca
0-0.050%
0.001-0.005%
[0047]
0.001%
Y
0-0.050%
0.01-2.00%
[0043]*
Zr
0-0.050%
0-0.002%
[0042]
La
0-0.050%
0-0.002%
[0042]
Ce
0-0.050%
0-0.002%
[0042]
Balance
Fe, impurities
Fe, impurities
[0042]
Fe
Fe
Fe
*One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Y reads on the REM (rare earth elements) disclosed by Hasegawa (see para. [0043] and table above).
**Hasegawa is silent regarding the elements O, W, Ta and As, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate these elements to be absent from the composition of Hasegawa and therefore 0%.
Hasegawa further discloses wherein the Vickers hardness of the martensite phase has a standard deviation of 20 or less, which overlaps with the claimed range of 30 or less (para. [0061]). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that for a steel with preferably 90% or more tempered martensite (see para. [0055] of Hasegawa, see also Table 3, inventive steel 20, which comprises 100% tempered martensite), the standard deviation of the Vickers hardness of the tempered martensite phase, as measured from an interior portion of the steel (see para. [0069]), would be representative of the standard deviation of the Vickers hardness of the steel sheet.
Thus, while Hasegawa does not disclose the claimed method of measuring the standard deviation of the Vickers hardness, and is silent towards the nanohardness of the steel, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the steel of Hasegawa comprises the claimed hardness properties because Hasegawa discloses the same composition and microstructure as claimed, and discloses the claimed standard deviation for the Vickers hardness in an interior portion of the steel sheet.
When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 3, Hasegawa discloses wherein the steel sheet includes a galvanized layer, a galvannealed layer, or an electrogalvanized layer on its surface (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (previously cited, US 20180023154 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Kawamura (previously cited, US 20130048151 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Hasegawa discloses the substrate layer of Claim 1 (see above), but is silent towards a soft layer formed on at least one of the surfaces of the substrate layer.
Kawamura discloses a soft layer formed on the surface of a tempered martensite substrate layer (para. [0017]), wherein the thickness of the soft layer is 10-30% the thickness of the steel sheet, and a Vickers hardness of the soft layer is 80% or less the Vickers hardness at a t/2 point of the substrate layer (Abstract, see equation 1 and equation 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciation that 10-30% of the thickness of the steel sheet (i.e., 0.10t to 0.30t), reads on the claimed range of up to 0.15t, and a Vickers hardness of the soft layer which is 80% or less than the Vickers hardness of the substrate layer reads on the claimed Vickers hardness of the soft layer which is 0.9 times or less (90% or less) than the Vickers hardness of the steel sheet.
Kawamura teaches wherein the soft layer with these characteristics provides a steel sheet with improved bendability and delayed fracture resistance, while improving the fatigue properties of the steel sheet (para. [0043] and para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a soft layer formed on at least one of the surfaces of the substrate layer, wherein the thickness of the soft layer is up to 0.15t or less per side, such as at least 0.10t, and wherein the average Vickers hardness of the soft layer is 80% or less of (0.8 times or less than) the average Vickers hardness at a t/2 point of the substrate layer, as taught by Kawamura, for the invention disclosed by Hasegawa. One would be motivated to include a soft layer in order to improve bendability, improve delayed fracture resistance, and improve fatigue properties (see teachings by Kawamura above).
Kawamura is silent towards the standard deviation of the Vickers hardness of the soft layer; However, the microstructure, composition and tensile strength of the steel sheet layer of Hasegawa and Kawamura overlap each other and are the same claimed (see Kawamura, para. [0014] and para. [0017]-[0018]), and the structure of soft layer and method of Kawamura to produce the soft layer by decarburization is the same as claimed (see para. [0051]-[0052] of Kawamura; see para. [0074] of instant invention wherein “decarburization progresses in an outer layer of the steel sheet, as a result of which a soft layer is formed”).
Therefore, the soft layer taught by Kawamura anticipates/renders obvious the claimed standard deviation of Vickers hardnesses as claimed, as the microstructure, composition, and tensile strength of the steel sheet (substrate) layer, and the soft layer formation method (decarburization of the steel sheet) and soft layer structure (thickness, average Vickers hardness) of Hasegawa and Kawamura are the same as claimed. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 4, Hasegawa discloses wherein the steel sheet includes a galvanized layer, a galvannealed layer, or an electrogalvanized layer on its surface (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are respectfully not found persuasive.
Regarding Hasegawa and Kawamura:
Applicant argues that a steel must be subjected to the above multi-step heat treatment in order to reduce coarse carbides and segregation, and therefore in order to obtain a steel sheet satisfying the claimed macro-hardness and the claimed micro-hardness (Remarks, Pg. 3-4).
Applicant argues the hardness disclosed by Hasegawa is measured at t/4, and is a different hardness than that which is measured by the claims, as t/2 (Remarks, Pg. 4).
Applicant argues that Hasegawa is silent towards a multi-step heat treatment, only performing annealing, cooling, galvanizing, cooling and tempering. (Remarks, Pg. 4). Applicant further argues that Kawamura is also silent towards a multiple-step heat treatment (Remarks, Pg. 5).
These arguments are respectfully not found persuasive.
No data is provided to show the difference in hardnesses at t/2 versus at t/4, or that a steel with the standard deviation of hardnesses at t/4 required by Hasegawa would not possess the claimed standard deviation of hardnesses at t/2. While Applicant argues Hasegawa does not comprise a multi-step heat treatment, Hasegawa requires annealing, galvanizing (which reads on a heat treatment), and tempering (which is also a heat treatment). Thus, Hasegawa does comprise multiple heat treatments.
Applicant argues that the most recently filed Declaration (see response above) demonstrates that steels according to Hasegawa and Kawamura, which are heat treated once, do not meet the claimed micro and nano hardness requirements. Applicant further argues that the data provided for steel no. 28 and 151 are representative of the invention of Hasegawa and Kawamura (Remarks, Pg. 5-6).
This argument is respectfully not found persuasive.
As discussed above, the declaration has not sufficiently shown that the invention of Hasegawa does not possess the claimed hardness features because the processes of examples no. 28 and no. 151 are not manufactured according to the method of Hasegawa, and the composition of example no. 151 lies outside the ranges required by Hasegawa. Additionally, the hardness values in the table of the Declaration (see macro-hardness standard deviation in Table III) do not meet the requirements of Hasegawa, who requires a Vicker's hardness standard deviation of 20 or less (see Abstract of Hasegawa). Therefore, the declaration and arguments are insufficient to overcome the previous grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takashima (previously cited, US 20200131596 A1): discloses a hot-pressed steel sheet having a tensile strength of 1100 MPa or more, comprising 95% or more martensite (Abstract), an overlapping composition (see para. [0018]-[0019]), and a standard deviation of Vickers hardness of 40 or less (para. [0039]).
CATHERINE P. SMITH
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/CATHERINE P SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735