DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 8, 14, 18, 21-28, and 30 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 25-28 and 30 are withdrawn. Claims 2-3 and 6 have been cancelled. Claim 1 has been amended.
Examiner’s Comment
The Examiner would like to note that the Remarks consistently refer to claim 1 as having defined diffusivity and permeability ranges “over at least 80% of the surface area of the wrapper”, but the claim recites “over at least 90% of the surface area of the wrapper”. The claims have been treated for what they recite, that being the defined diffusivity and permeability over at least 90% of the surface area of the wrapper.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 2/6/2026 containing
amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 7-8, the Applicant argues that Kaljura’s diffusivity value of 0.140 cm/s does not fall within the scope of amended claim 1, requiring the paper wrapper to have a diffusivity of between 0.15 cm/s and 0.5 cm/s. The Examiner does not find this to be persuasive because the paper wrapper having a diffusivity value of 0.140 cm/s is merely close to the claimed range of 0.15 cm/s and 0.5 cm/s, and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Next, Kaljura teaches the paper wrapper 320 comprises an area of the wrapper that is embossed 321 and the remaining area of the wrapper 322 (page 11, third paragraph) and Paper A is the base paper wrapper 320 (page 12, lines 21-32). As such it is evident that Paper A is the same as wrapper 322. As Kaljura further teaches the diffusivity of 322 may be any value below 0.50 cm/s (page 18, lines 12-14), it is evident that the diffusivity of Paper A may be any value below 0.50 cm/s. The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range and is therefore prima facie obvious.
In specific regard to the Applicant’s arguments on page 8, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 112(b), they have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, 8, 14, 18, and 21-24 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaljura (WO2011/117106).
Regarding claim 1, Kaljura teaches:
A smoking article (100) comprising tobacco material (310) wrapped in a paper wrapper (320) to form a tobacco rod (300) (figure 1, pages 6-7, last paragraph).
Other types of cigarette wrappers are shown in Table 1, and Paper A is a non-embossed, non-perforated sheet of the same low permeability base paper 320 used for the wrapper 320 (page 12, lines 21-32). As such, Kaljura teaches other known types of paper wrappers used in a smoking article to wrap a tobacco material.
The paper wrapper has a diffusivity of 0.140 cm/s (Table 1, page 13: Paper A C02 diffusivity) which is merely close to the claimed diffusivity of 0.150 cm/s and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Alternatively, as Kaljura teaches that Paper A is the same base paper wrapper 320 (page 12, lines 21-32) and the diffusivity of section 322 which is a remaining area of a wrapper that is not embossed may be any value below 0.50 cm/s (page 18, lines 12-14), it is evident that the diffusivity of Paper A may be any value below 0.50 cm/s. The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range and is therefore prima facie obvious.
The paper wrapper has a permeability of 7.2 CU (Table 1, page 13: Paper A Air permeability), which falls within the claimed range of between 4 and 12 CU.
As Table 1 shows one value for air permeability for paper A, it is evident that the permeability is that value over 100% of a surface area of the paper wrapper, which falls within the claimed range of at least 90%.
As Table 1 shows one value for diffusivity for paper A, it is evident that the diffusivity of the paper wrapper is one constant value, and therefore uniform along the length of the tobacco rod.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaljura (WO2011/117106) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schneider (US 6,089,238, cited previously).
Regarding claim 8, Kaljura discloses the smoking article further comprising a filter (200, figure 1, page 7, first paragraph).
Kaljura does not appear to disclose the filter comprising at least one of: a pressure drop across the filter is between about 40 mm water gauge (WG) and 180 mm WG; a ventilation area; a ventilation area which provides ventilation of between about 40% and 90%;filter material having a denier per element of between about 2.5 and 9; and filter material having a total denier of between 10,000 and 32,000.
Schneider, directed to a cigarette filter, teaches:
A smoking article comprising tobacco material wrapped in a paper wrapper to form a tobacco rod (Col. 1, lines 5-10).
The smoking article further comprises a filter (filter 10, Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 65-67, Col. 4, lines 1-10).
A pressure drop across the filter is between about 40 mm water gauge (WG) and 180 mm WG (Col. 4, lines 4-10, wherein a pressure drop across segment 10 of the filter is 50 mm WC).
The filter has a ventilation area (ventilation perforations 18, Fig. 1, Col. 4, lines 10-20).
The filter has a ventilation area which provides ventilation of between about 40% and 90% (ventilation perforations 18, Fig. 1, Col. 4, lines 10-20, wherein the ventilation rate is between 50 to 85%).
The filter material having a denier per element of between about 2.5 and 9 (Col. 2, lines 23-34, wherein the material of the jacket element portion of the filter has a single denier of 2.5 to 5 denier per filament).
The filter is able to be part of a coaxial cigarette and may be configured as an ultralight cigarette (Col. 1, lines 53-55).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter of Kaljura to have the ventilation area, pressure drop, ventilation, and denier per element as taught by Schneider, because both Kaljura and Schneider are directed to smoking articles with filters, Schneider teaches the filter may be configured as part of a coaxial ultralight cigarette, and this merely involves incorporating known filter properties to a similar filter of a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 14 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaljura (WO2011/117106) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sebastian (US2011/0030709, cited previously).
Regarding claim 14, Kaljura is silent to the basis weight of the paper wrapper.
Sebastian, directed to cigarettes, teaches:
Preferred paper wrapping material base sheets have basis weights between about 20 g/m2 and about 30 g/m2 [0181].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the paper wrapper of Kaljura to have a basis weight between 20 and 30 g/m2 as taught by Sebastian, because both Kaljura and Sebastian are directed to smoking articles with paper wrappers, Kaljura is silent in regards to suitable basis weights for use and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to a similar reference to find suitable basis weight for a similar paper wrapper of a smoking article, Sebastian teaches known basis weights for a similar paper wrapper, and this merely involves applying suitable characteristics to a similar product with a reasonable expectation of success. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of between 24 and 36 g/m2 and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 22 and 24, Kaljura further teaches that the wrapper may comprise a burn additive material to increase the burn rate of the wrapper (page 9, third paragraph).
Kaljura is silent to the amount and type of burn additive of the paper wrapper.
Sebastian further teaches:
Additives can be incorporated into the wrapping material for a variety of reasons, for examples burn control additives such as potassium citrate…for certain wrapping materials, the amount of certain additive salts, such as burn chemicals such as potassium citrate and monoammonium phosphate, preferably are in the range of about 0.5 to about 0.8 percent, based on the dry weight of the wrapping material to which those additive salts are applied [0187].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the burn additive of the paper wrapper of Kaljura to be potassium citrate in the range of about 0.5 to about 0.8 percent as taught by Sebastian, because both Kaljura and Sebastian are directed to smoking articles with paper wrappers comprising burn additives, Kaljura is silent in regards to the amount and type of burn additive and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to a similar reference to find suitable burn additive for a similar paper wrapper of a smoking article, Sebastian teaches known burn additives and amounts for a similar paper wrapper, and this merely involves applying a known burn additive amount and type to a similar product with a reasonable expectation of success. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
The range taught by the prior art falls within the claimed range of less that 4% burn additive by weight of the paper wrapper and is therefore prima facie obvious.
The burn additive being potassium citrate reads on claim 24.
Regarding claim 23, Sebastian further teaches:
Wherein the paper wrapper comprises about 1% burn additive by weight ([0187] – wherein the chemical additive does not exceed about 1%, and certain additives can act as burn control additives). The claimed amount of about 1% falls within the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaljura (WO2011/117106) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakurai (US2020/0323258)
Regarding claims 18 and 21, Kaljura is silent to the filler content of the paper wrapper.
Sakurai, directed to a smoking article, teaches:
The tipping paper 13 may be paper further containing calcium carbonate or titanium oxide as a filler and having opacity of greater than or equal to 76%. The tipping paper 13 having opacity of greater than or equal to 76% is obtained by containing, for example, calcium carbonate of greater than or equal to 20% by weight. The tipping paper 13 having opacity of greater than or equal to 76% is preferable because characters or figures printed on the front surface are not likely to be seen through on the back surface [0036].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wrapper paper of Kaljura to have calcium carbonate as filler to make the opacity greater than or equal to 76% as taught by Sakurai, because both Kaljura and Sakurai are directed to smoking articles with paper wrapper, Sakurai teaches this allows characters or figures printed on the front surface to not likely be seen through on the back surface, and this merely involves incorporating a known paper wrapper filler and opacity to a similar paper wrapper of a smoking article to yield predictable results.
The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claim 21 range of an opacity between 60% and 80% and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/N.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755