DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-11, 15, 20-22, 24, 28, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 108936812, cited on IDS) in view of Reevell (US 11,337,459).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an aerosol generation device comprising: a heating chamber (240) into which an aerosol substrate is insertable for being heated to generate an aerosol; a casing (100, 600) in which the heating chamber is housed, the casing having a first end (top in Fig. 2) and a second end (bottom in a longitudinal direction of the casing; an aperture (232) through which the aerosol substrate is insertable into the heating chamber; insulation (220/space and various elements) disposed at least partially between the heating chamber and the casing; and a thermal bridge (230) arranged to dissipate heat from the heating chamber to the casing (intended use); wherein the heating chamber (240) comprises a first end (top) proximal to the aperture and a second end (bottom) opposite the first end of the heating chamber, so as to accommodate at least a portion of a substrate carrier (20); and wherein the thermal bridge (230) is substantially accommodated in the casing (100, 600) during use of the aerosol generating device (Figs. 2 and 3).
Reevell teaches a second end of the heating chamber disposed substantially at a midpoint between the first and second ends of the casing (14, Fig. 1), so as to accommodate at least a portion of the substrate carrier (40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the second end of the chamber at a midpoint of the casing, in order to provide the desired relative dimensions and control the profile of the casing, and since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
To the extent that Chen do not disclose the material of the thermal bridge consisting of metal, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use metal as the prefer material, in order to provide the desired head transfer and dissipation, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the thermal bridge (230) arranged at least partly between the heating chamber and the aperture
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the thermal bridge (230) comprising a heat dissipation surface (outer surface of 230) facing outward from the aerosol generation device.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the thermal bridge comprises a heat dissipation surface (outer surface of 230) facing a heat dissipating wall (150) of the casing.
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the heat dissipation surface in direct contact with the heat dissipating wall (150) of the casing.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the thermal bridge in contact with the heating chamber (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the thermal bridge (230) comprising a first material and the insulation (220) comprises a second material. Chen discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the specific materials/thermal conductivities. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the first material having a higher thermal conductivity than the second material in order to distribute thermal dissipation as desired, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the thermal bridge (230) comprising a first material and the casing (100) comprising a second material. Chen discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the specific materials/thermal conductivities. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the first material having a higher thermal conductivity than the second material in order to distribute thermal dissipation as desired, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a chassis (220); both the thermal bridge and the chassis complementarily surrounding the heating chamber. Chen discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the specific materials/thermal conductivities. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the chassis made of a material having a lower thermal conductivity than the thermal bridge in order to distribute thermal dissipation as desired, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses a mounting element (250) which extends between the heating chamber and the insulation.
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses the mounting element cooperates with the chassis (220) and the insulation to secure the insulation and the heating chamber in position in the aerosol generation device.
Regarding claim 22, Chen discloses the heating chamber has a flange (250) and the thermal bridge (230) located against a surface of the flange.
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses the thermal bridge (230) comprises a first material and the aerosol generation device has an outer trim (150) at least partially defining the aperture, the outer trim comprising a third material. Chen discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the specific materials/thermal conductivities. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the third material having a lower thermal conductivity than the first material in order to distribute thermal dissipation as desired, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference.
Regarding claim 28, Chen discloses the thermal bridge comprising an aperture part (inside) and a casing part (outside); the aperture part being located proximate to the aperture and the casing part being located between a portion of a length of the insulation and the casing (in a radial direction).
Regarding claim 30, Chen discloses a spacing component (250, Fig. 7) between the heating chamber and the thermal bridge.
Regarding claim 32, Chen discloses a mounting element (250 in Fig. 6) spacing the heat chamber (240) a distance from (at least part of) the insulation.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 108936812, cited on IDS) in view of Lee et al. (US 11,252,999).
Regarding claim 33, Chen discloses an aerosol generation device comprising: a heating chamber (240) into which an aerosol substrate (20) is insertable for being heated to generate an aerosol; a casing (100) in which the heating chamber is housed; an aperture (232) through which the aerosol substrate is insertable into the heating chamber; insulation (220/space and various elements) disposed at least partially between the heating chamber and the casing; and a thermal bridge (230) arranged to dissipate heat from the heating chamber to the casing, the thermal bridge substantially accommodating the heating chamber (see Fig. 7).
Lee teaches a thermal bridge (10s, Fig. 2)), including an aperture part (top) and a casing part (bottom extension), the thermal bridge arranged to dissipate heat from the heating chamber to the casing (intended use), wherein the aperture part of the thermal bridge is proximate to the aperture (10i), and wherein the casing part of the thermal bridge extends from the aperture part along at least substantially half of the heating chamber along a longitudinal direction of the heating chamber (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to determine the length of the thermal bridge to the desired length, as taught by Lee, in order to provide an appropriate buffer to protect the user.
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorsen (US 11,937,629) in view of Reevell (US 11,337,459).
Regarding claim 34, Thorsen discloses an aerosol generation device comprising: a heating chamber (30) into which an aerosol substrate (21) is insertable for being heated to generate an aerosol; a casing (11, 17) in which the heating chamber is housed, the casing having a first end and a second end along a longitudinal direction of the casing; an aperture (20) through which the aerosol substrate is insertable into the heating chamber; insulation (31, 37) disposed at least partially between the heating chamber and the casing; and a heat sink (35, 35f) arranged to dissipate heat from the heating chamber to the casing, and wherein the heat sink is internal to the casing whereby a user is prevented from contacting the heat sink during any use of the aerosol generation device; and wherein the heat sink comprises a heat dissipation surface (ends of 35f), substantially all of the heat dissipation surface facing a heat dissipating wall (labeled 13 in Figs. 2 and 3) of the casing, such that the heat dissipation surface and the heat dissipating wall are substantially parallel (to each other).
Reevell teaches a second end of the heating chamber disposed substantially at a midpoint between the first and second ends of the casing (14, Fig. 1), so as to accommodate at least a portion of the substrate carrier (40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the second end of the chamber at a midpoint of the casing, in order to provide the desired relative dimensions and control the profile of the casing, and since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
To the extent that Thorsen does not disclose the material of the thermal bridge consisting of metal, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use metal as the prefer material, in order to provide the desired head transfer and dissipation, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design preference.
Regarding claims 35 Thorsen a heat conductive medium (i.e. air) disposed between the heat dissipation surface (35f) and a surface of the heat dissipating wall of the casing (13, Fig. 2 and 3).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorsen and Reevell, and further in view of Kunz (EP-0849026).
Regarding claim 36, Kunz teaches the use of paste between a heat sink (1, 4) and a casing (14) in order to improve thermal conductivity and reduce electrical breakdown. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use thermal paste, as taught by Kunz, in order to improve/spread thermal conductivity and reduce electrical breakdown.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorsen and Reevell, and further in view of Portinga (US 10,955,112).
Regarding claim 37, Portinga teaches the heat dissipation surface of the heat sink (108/808) in direct contact with a surface of the heat dissipating wall of the casing (col. 14, lines 16-20) along the longitudinal direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to select between the heat sink directly contacting the casing, as taught by Portinga, in order to control/improve the amount of heat dissipation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833