DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (2019/0189049) in view of Cok et al. (2007/0109327).
Regarding claim 1, An teaches a method of repairing at least one defective micro device in an array of micro devices (Fig 1; para [0040] the micro LED display panel 100 includes a plurality of pixels P) comprising: identifying the at least one defective micro device (para [0052] a defect occurs in the first micro LED 140 of a specific pixel. S109; Fig 9); determining a color type of the at least one defective micro device (para [0141] Alternatively, the driving of the micro LED in which the defect is generated (for example, R of the first micro LED 140R) among the three of the first micro LEDs 140R, 140G, 140B of the pixel area may be stopped); mapping at least one other micro device in the array of the micro devices to reduce an effect of the color type to generate remapped information (para [0141] and only the second micro LED of the corresponding color (for example, R of the second micro LED 142R) may be driven. In this case, because the first micro LED 140R, in which the defect is generated, is not luminescent, the corresponding second micro LED 142R can be driven without stopping the separate driving.); and addressing a pixel circuit at each of the micro devices (para [0141] Alternatively, the driving of the micro LED in which the defect is generated (for example, R of the first micro LED 140R) among the three of the first micro LEDs 140R, 140G, 140B of the pixel area may be stopped, and only the second micro LED of the corresponding color (for example, R of the second micro LED 142R) may be driven. In this case, because the first micro LED 140R, in which the defect is generated, is not luminescent, the corresponding second micro LED 142R can be driven without stopping the separate driving) (Note: claimed “addressing” is interpreted in light of specification in para [0113] which states the following: “a timing controller synchronizing the addressing of micro devices in the array with the input or output data, driver units to set the data lines in the array with values representing the input data, and address driver for enabling micro devices in the array for different operation phases (e.g. programming, driving or calibration).”. Thus given this description, it is interpreted under BRI to be interaction with the micro device with input or output data); and programming the pixel circuit (Note: claimed “programming” is interpreted in light of specification in para [0112], [0114], [0115]. Thus given this description, it is interpreted under BRI to be applying data signal) at each of the micro devices with the remapped information to rearrange a connection between the pixel circuit and the micro device (para [0052] Although not shown in the drawings, a gate line, a data line, and a thin film transistor for realizing the first micro LED 140 are formed in the pixel area of each micro LED display panel 100, as well as a separate redundancy gate line, a redundancy data line, and a redundancy thin film transistor for driving the second micro LED 142. In other words, the first micro LED 140 and the second micro LED 142 operate separately by a different thin film transistor from each other driven by a signal input through a different path from each other. Para [0124] According to the gate control signal GCS, the gate driving unit 170 drives the redundancy thin film transistor TFT disposed in the pixel area P of the DR extended area through the redundancy gate line corresponding to the DR extended area, and the data driving unit 174 supplies the image data modulated in the pixel area P of the DR extended area through the redundancy data line corresponding to the DR extended area to drive the second micro LED 142. Para [0087] The gate driving unit 170 applies the gate signal to the redundancy gate line, instead of the main gate line, with regard to the corresponding pixel area P according to the gate control signal to drive the second micro LED 142 of the corresponding pixel area P) (Note: claim recites “rearrange a connection between the pixel circuit and the micro device” which is very broad in scope because claim does not recite in which particular manner such rearrangement occurs. Specifically, when claim is read in light of specification in para [0112](… The remapping can happen through sending the data to the data line corresponding to the newly mapped micro LED. In another case, the connections between each micro device and corresponding pixel circuits is rearranged based on remapped information.…) and [0116], it is broader in scope and is construed under BRI to be the change in how the signal is applied to the pixel).
An fails to teach, mapping at least one other micro device in the array of the micro devices to a different color to reduce an effect of the color type to generate remapped information; as claimed.
Cok teaches a method of repairing at least one defective pixel in an array of pixels comprising: mapping at least one other micro device in the array of the micro devices (para [0018] each pixel including at least three color sub-pixels (e.g.
red 30, 64, green 32, 60, and blue 34, 62) forming a color gamut and at least one
additional sub-pixel (e.g. 36, 40, 42, 44) having a color within the gamut and an
efficiency higher than at least one of the color sub-pixels wherein at least one
pixel (e.g., 38) is defective) to a different color to reduce an effect of the color type to generate remapped information (para [0018] Referring to FIG. 2, a controller 12 for driving the display 10 pixels and for transforming an input signal 14 into a compensated signal 16 for selectively modifying the output of at least one color sub-pixel in the defective pixel 38, at least one other, but not all, of the color sub-pixels in a neighboring pixel (e.g. 37, 39) in the first dimension, and additional in-gamut sub-pixels in neighboring pixels (e.g. 31, 33) in a second dimension, the at least one other color sub-pixel including the sub-pixel (64 in FIG. 1a) in the neighboring pixel 39 that is closest to the defective sub-pixel 40, to compensate for the output of the defective sub-pixel. Para [0019] In operation, the defective sub-pixel 40 does not respond appropriately to the input signal 14, so that the input signal 14 must be processed by the controller 12 to provide a compensated signal 16 so that, in order to provide the desired luminance and/or chrominance of the display device 10 in the local area surrounding the defective sub-pixel 40, the output of color sub-pixels 64 and 66 in neighboring pixel 39 is modified to compensate for the output of the defective pixel 40. In order to minimize spatial non-uniformity and to provide the desired luminance and chrominance, the output of at least one color sub-pixel in the defective pixel, at least one other, but not all, of the color sub-pixels in a neighboring pixel in the first dimension, are selectively modified, together with additional in-gamut sub-pixels in neighboring pixels in the second dimension, where the at least one other color sub-pixel in the neighboring pixel is closest to the defective sub-pixel….The output of sub-pixels 60 and 62 within the defective pixel are also selectively modified to maintain the overall luminance and chrominance of the local area around the defective in-gamut sub-pixel 40. Para [0027] In this embodiment, the defective in-gamut sub-pixel 40 may be compensated by selectively modifying the light output from the green and blue color sub-pixels 60 and 62 in pixel 38 and the green and blue color sub-pixels 64 and 66 in neighboring pixel 39 to provide the amount of red, green, and blue light that is missing because of the defective in-gamut sub-pixel 40.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of An with the compensation method as taught by Cok, because this provides an advantage in masking the effects of defective sub-pixels by minimizing the spatial extent of the compensation while maintaining the luminance and chrominance of a display device have in-gamut pixels with sub-pixels formed in a row or column (Cok: para [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, An teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: storing the remapped information before programming the pixel circuit at each of the micro devices (para [0087]; para [0131] Meanwhile, the micro LED display device according to the present disclosure includes a memory 182 in which a lookup table (LU) including pixel defect information is stored. The timing controlling unit 180 refers to information of a lookup table (LU) and generates the gate control signal GCS and the data signal DCS. That is, in the defective pixel area, a signal is not applied to the first micro LED 140. Instead, a signal is applied to only the second micro LED 142 to drive the second micro LED 142 instead of the first micro LED 140.).
Regarding claim 5, An teaches a method of repairing at least one defective micro device in an array of micro devices (Fig 1; para [0040] the micro LED display panel 100 includes a plurality of pixels P) comprising: identifying the at least one defective micro device (para [0052] a defect occurs in the first micro LED 140 of a specific pixel. S109; Fig 9); determining a color type of the at least one defective micro device (para [0141] Alternatively, the driving of the micro LED in which the defect is generated (for example, R of the first micro LED 140R) among the three of the first micro LEDs 140R, 140G, 140B of the pixel area may be stopped); mapping at least one other micro device in the array of the micro devices to reduce an effect of the color type to generate remapped information (para [0141] and only the second micro LED of the corresponding color (for example, R of the second micro LED 142R) may be driven. In this case, because the first micro LED 140R, in which the defect is generated, is not luminescent, the corresponding second micro LED 142R can be driven without stopping the separate driving.); and programming a pixel circuit (Note: claimed “programming” is interpreted in light of specification in para [0112], [0114], [0115]. Thus given this description, it is interpreted under BRI to be applying data signal) at each of the micro devices with the remapped information to rearrange at least one connection between the pixel circuits and the micro devices (para [0052] Although not shown in the drawings, a gate line, a data line, and a thin film transistor for realizing the first micro LED 140 are formed in the pixel area of each micro LED display panel 100, as well as a separate redundancy gate line, a redundancy data line, and a redundancy thin film transistor for driving the second micro LED 142. In other words, the first micro LED 140 and the second micro LED 142 operate separately by a different thin film transistor from each other driven by a signal input through a different path from each other. Para [0124] According to the gate control signal GCS, the gate driving unit 170 drives the redundancy thin film transistor TFT disposed in the pixel area P of the DR extended area through the redundancy gate line corresponding to the DR extended area, and the data driving unit 174 supplies the image data modulated in the pixel area P of the DR extended area through the redundancy data line corresponding to the DR extended area to drive the second micro LED 142. Para [0087] The gate driving unit 170 applies the gate signal to the redundancy gate line, instead of the main gate line, with regard to the corresponding pixel area P according to the gate control signal to drive the second micro LED 142 of the corresponding pixel area P) (Note: claim recites “rearrange at least one connection between the pixel circuits and the micro devices” which is very broad in scope because claim does not recite in which particular manner such rearrangement occurs. Specifically, when claim is read in light of specification in para [0112](… The remapping can happen through sending the data to the data line corresponding to the newly mapped micro LED. In another case, the connections between each micro device and corresponding pixel circuits is rearranged based on remapped information.…) and [0116], it is broader in scope and is construed under BRI to be the change in how the signal is applied to the pixel.).
An fails to teach, mapping at least one other micro device in the array of the micro devices to a different color to reduce an effect of the color type to generate remapped information; as claimed.
Cok teaches a method of repairing at least one defective pixel in an array of pixels comprising: mapping at least one other micro device in the array of the micro devices (para [0018] each pixel including at least three color sub-pixels (e.g.
red 30, 64, green 32, 60, and blue 34, 62) forming a color gamut and at least one
additional sub-pixel (e.g. 36, 40, 42, 44) having a color within the gamut and an
efficiency higher than at least one of the color sub-pixels wherein at least one
pixel (e.g., 38) is defective) to a different color to reduce an effect of the color type to generate remapped information (para [0018] Referring to FIG. 2, a controller 12 for driving the display 10 pixels and for transforming an input signal 14 into a compensated signal 16 for selectively modifying the output of at least one color sub-pixel in the defective pixel 38, at least one other, but not all, of the color sub-pixels in a neighboring pixel (e.g. 37, 39) in the first dimension, and additional in-gamut sub-pixels in neighboring pixels (e.g. 31, 33) in a second dimension, the at least one other color sub-pixel including the sub-pixel (64 in FIG. 1a) in the neighboring pixel 39 that is closest to the defective sub-pixel 40, to compensate for the output of the defective sub-pixel. Para [0019] In operation, the defective sub-pixel 40 does not respond appropriately to the input signal 14, so that the input signal 14 must be processed by the controller 12 to provide a compensated signal 16 so that, in order to provide the desired luminance and/or chrominance of the display device 10 in the local area surrounding the defective sub-pixel 40, the output of color sub-pixels 64 and 66 in neighboring pixel 39 is modified to compensate for the output of the defective pixel 40. In order to minimize spatial non-uniformity and to provide the desired luminance and chrominance, the output of at least one color sub-pixel in the defective pixel, at least one other, but not all, of the color sub-pixels in a neighboring pixel in the first dimension, are selectively modified, together with additional in-gamut sub-pixels in neighboring pixels in the second dimension, where the at least one other color sub-pixel in the neighboring pixel is closest to the defective sub-pixel….The output of sub-pixels 60 and 62 within the defective pixel are also selectively modified to maintain the overall luminance and chrominance of the local area around the defective in-gamut sub-pixel 40. Para [0027] In this embodiment, the defective in-gamut sub-pixel 40 may be compensated by selectively modifying the light output from the green and blue color sub-pixels 60 and 62 in pixel 38 and the green and blue color sub-pixels 64 and 66 in neighboring pixel 39 to provide the amount of red, green, and blue light that is missing because of the defective in-gamut sub-pixel 40.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of An with the compensation method as taught by Cok, because this provides an advantage in masking the effects of defective sub-pixels by minimizing the spatial extent of the compensation while maintaining the luminance and chrominance of a display device have in-gamut pixels with sub-pixels formed in a row or column (Cok: para [0030]).
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (2019/0189049) in view of Cok et al. (2007/0109327) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (2019/0237449).
Regarding claim 3, An and Cok teaches the method as explained for claim 1 above.
An and Cok fails to teach, providing a plurality of bonding areas to the at least one defective micro device based on a type of the micro devices; as claimed.
Shin teaches a LED panel comprising: providing a plurality of bonding areas to the at least one defective micro device based on a type of the micro devices (para [0076] In FIG. 4B, when it is assumed that the heights of the LED bonding areas 400-1, 400-2, and 400-3 are represented as A, B, and C, respectively, the TFT backplane 400 is formed such that A<B<C as illustrated in FIG. 4A, but is not limited thereto. For example, even in a case of a TFT backplane in which the heights of the LED bonding areas 400-1 to 400-3 have a relationship of A<B=C, as illustrated in FIG. 4B, the R, G, and B LEDs 10, 20, and 30 may be sequentially bonded to the corresponding LED bonding area.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of An and Cok with the teachings of Shin, because this will eliminate the possibility of interference by the stamper in the LED bonding process.
Regarding claim 4, An and Cok teaches the method as explained for claim 3 above.
An and Cok fails to teach, wherein the bonding areas comprises a metallization through at least one via and at least one bond bump between the micro devices and a backplane; as claimed.
Shin teaches the LED panel, wherein the bonding areas comprises a metallization through at least one via and at least one bond bump between the micro devices and a backplane (Fig 6B; para [0106] In this case, as illustrated in FIG. 6B, even in a case that the LEDs 10, 20 and 30 are respectively bonded to the pixel electrodes 612/613, 622/623, and 632/633 through a metal bump 60 which is a conductively melting material, a short-circuit between the pixel electrodes 612/613, 622/623, and 632/633 can be prevented. 600; Fig 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of An and Cok with the teachings of Shin, because this will prevent short-circuit between pixel electrodes.
Regarding claim 6, An teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising preparing the at least one connection between the at least one defective micro device and a corresponding pixel circuit and a data line based on the remapped information (para [0124] According to the gate control signal GCS, the gate driving unit 170 drives (= preparing the at least one connection) the redundancy thin film transistor TFT disposed in the pixel area P of the DR extended area through the redundancy gate line corresponding to the DR extended area, and the data driving unit 174 supplies the image data modulated in the pixel area P of the DR extended area through the redundancy data line corresponding to the DR extended area to drive the second micro LED 142.; para [0126] In this case, the modulated image data is applied to the entire redundancy data line, but only the redundancy thin film transistor TFT of the DR extended area is turned on, so that only the second micro LED 142 of this area is driven.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Remarks on page 4, lines 17-28 and page 5, lines 1-15 have been considered and are not persuasive. Examiner considers the disclosure as whole and interprets the terms in the manner/context they are used in the disclosure. Term “Addressing” is interpreted in light of specification in para [0113] which states the following: “a timing controller synchronizing the addressing of micro devices in the array with the input or output data, driver units to set the data lines in the array with values representing the input data, and address driver for enabling micro devices in the array for different operation phases (e.g. programming, driving or calibration).”. Thus given this description, it is interpreted under BRI to be interaction with the micro device with input or output data. Claimed “programming” is interpreted in light of specification in para [0112], [0114], [0115]. Thus given this description, it is interpreted under BRI to be applying data signal. Other portions of the specification are taken into consideration, however, the manner in which term “programming” is used, at best describes applying data signal. Further remarks on page 5, lines 15-27 with respect to “rearrange a connection between the pixel circuit and the micro device” have been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, claim recites “rearrange a connection between the pixel circuit and the micro device” which is very broad in scope because claim does not recite in which in what particular manner such rearrangement occurs. Specifically, when claim is read in light of specification in para [0112](… The remapping can happen through sending the data to the data line corresponding to the newly mapped micro LED…) and [0116], it is broader in scope and is construed under BRI to be the change in how the signal is applied to the pixel. Furthermore, Fig 16, 17 and 18 and its corresponding description has also been considered. However, the manner in which connection between the pixel circuit and micro device is rearranged is not described in detail. Description states the connection is rearranged, but does not describe and illustrate in details how such rearrangement is made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang et al. (2014/0347401) teaches a display device and a driving method thereof are disclosed. In one aspect, the display device includes a plurality of pixels, each including a driver which generates a driving current according to an input image data signal and a light emission portion formed of an organic light-emitting diode which emits light according to the driving current and at least one dummy pixel connected to a repair line that is connected to a light emission portion of at least one first pixel among the plurality of pixels. The dummy pixel includes a dummy pixel driver having the same structure as the drivers of each of the plurality of pixels, a dummy pixel light emission portion formed of an organic light-emitting diode, and a repair driver which transmits a driving current generated in the dummy pixel driver through the repair line when a driver of the first pixel fails.
Tani et al. (2015/0187249) teaches A method for repairing an organic light emitting display having a plurality of unit pixels each including a white subpixel is provided. The method includes detecting a defective white subpixel by checking circuit units of the white subpixels, connecting a circuit unit of a neighboring subpixel positioned adjacent to the defective white subpixel in the unit pixel with a light emitting unit of the defective white subpixel using a repair conductive pattern, storing a repair position to which the repair conductive pattern is connected, and compensating for digital video data that will be input to the repair position.
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624