DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/26/2024.
Response to Amendment
The amendments under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 07/14/2025 is sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 103 rejection of independent claims 21, 30, and 38 based upon Woloszko (US 7824398 B2) in view of Horner (US 9168092 B2) failing to teach all aspects of the amended claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/14/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-26, 30-35, and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woloszko (US 7824398 B2) in view of Horner (US 9168092 B2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ochiai (US 8776382 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26, 30-35, and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woloszko (US 7824398 B2) in view of Horner (US 9168092 B2), further in view of Ochiai (US 8776382 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Woloszko teaches an electrosurgical blade configured to couple to an RF electrosurgical instrument (Fig 16; blade electrode 58), the electrosurgical blade comprising: a proximal portion configured to couple to a blade receptacle of an RF electrosurgical instrument (Fig 16; support structure 102); a coagulation section extending distally from the proximal portion (Fig 16; [127] probe 20' can further include one or more coagulation electrode(s)) (Fig 31B; coagulating tissue engaged by first blade side 714a and/or second blade side 714b); a blade edge defined around a periphery of the electrosurgical blade (Fig 31B; active edge 713), the blade edge including a right-angled tip blade (Fig 30; active electrode 712 [170] Blade electrode 712 is substantially rectangular in shape as seen from the side); and a ramped surface extending between the coagulation section and the blade edge (Fig 33B; the thickness of sections 702, 710, and 712 are tapered and ramped or a perpendicular surface formed therebetween).
Woloszko fails to fully teach the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade; the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section, and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge.
However, Horner teaches the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section (Fig 2-7; [27] working end 114 has two opposing major surface 116A, 116B that taper closer together to form two generally parallel, shaped or sharpened working surfaces 118A, 118B. The end of electrode tip 108 can also be formed into a working surface 118C) and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge (Fig 3 and 4; [36] Between first and second ends 130, 132, leading edge 128 is generally arcuate and includes peaks 134A, 134B. As can be seen, peak 134A is disposed next to major surface 116A and peak 134B is disposed next to major surface 116B. Peaks 134A, 134B are disposed axially along axis A closer to working surface 118C than first and second ends 130, 132). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section, and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge. Doing so allows the leading edge of the blade and coagulation section to pass through tissue with minimal friction (Horner [38]).
Further, Ochiai teaches the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade ([52] FIG. 6 is a schematic illustration in section of configuration of a knife 1d according to a third modification of the knife 1a. The knife 1d has a blade edge tip 11 disposed on a line L1 that is offset toward a first blade side 19 from a centerline L in section of a blade core 5 perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the knife 1d, and is configured to have an angle .theta..sub.R defined by and between the line L1 and a cutting blade portion 24 on the first blade side 19 (as a half bevel angle at the first blade side 19) different from an angle .theta..sub.L defined by and between the line L1 and a cutting blade portion 23 on a second blade side 21 (as a half bevel angle at the second blade side 21)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade. Doing so creates a more precise and sharp fit of the blade edge to the target tissue.
Regarding claim 22, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 21, wherein the blade edge is defined by a first side extending longitudinally, a second side extending longitudinally ([174] Active electrode 712 is in the form a substantially flat, metal blade having first and second blade sides 714a, 714b, substantially parallel to each other) and having a curved portion (Fig 31B; curved edges of 714a/b connecting with 713), and a distal side extending laterally (Fig 31A; active side 713).
Regarding claim 23, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 22, wherein the right-angled tip of the blade edge is defined at a point where the first side and the distal side meet ([168] Active electrode 712 is shown as being substantially rectangular as seen from the side (FIG. 32A). However, various other shapes for active electrode 712 are within the scope of the invention (e.g., FIGS. 33C-E)).
Regarding claim 24, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 21, wherein the right-angled tip of the blade edge is configured to transmit a higher RF concentration than the coagulation section to transect tissue ([127] By contacting the sides of the blade electrode 58 directly with the tissue or body structure, the electrical power supplied to electrode 58 by power supply 28 can provide hemostasis to the body structure during the cutting process. Optionally, probe 20' can further include one or more coagulation electrode(s) (not shown) configured to seal a severed vessel, bone, or other tissue that is being incised. Such coagulation electrode(s) may be configured such that a single voltage can be applied to coagulate with the coagulation electrode(s) while ablating tissue with the active electrode(s)) ([166] Active electrode 712 includes an active edge 713 which is adapted for generating high current densities thereat upon application of a high frequency voltage from the power supply between active electrode 712 and return electrode 718. In this way, active edge 713 can efficiently affect localized ablation of tissues via molecular dissociation of tissue components which contact, or are in close proximity to, active edge 713).
Regarding claim 25, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 21, further comprising an insulative guard disposed around at least a portion of the proximal portion ([163] An electrically insulating electrode support 710 is disposed at shaft distal end 702a) ([164] An electrically insulating sleeve 716 covers a portion of shaft 702, and terminates at sleeve distal end 716a to define an exposed portion of shaft 702 extending between electrode support proximal end 710b and sleeve distal end 716a).
Regarding claim 26, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 21, further comprising a coating disposed around at least an exterior surface of the coagulation section or an exterior surface of the ramped surface ([77] the resistance and/or capacitance may occur on the surface of the active electrode(s) due to oxide layers which form selected active electrodes (e.g., titanium or a resistive coating on the surface of metal, such as platinum)).
Regarding claim 30, Woloszko teaches an RF electrosurgical instrument comprising: a blade receptacle disposed at a distal portion thereof (Fig 16; blade electrode 58); and an electrosurgical blade removably couplable to the blade receptacle ([Fig 30; [163] An electrically insulating electrode support 710 is disposed at shaft distal end 702a. An active electrode 712 is disposed on electrode support 710. Active electrode 712 comprises a blade electrode) ([168] electrode support 710 is disposed at the terminus of shaft 702, and active electrode 712 is affixed to support distal end 710a (e.g., FIG. 33A)), the electrosurgical blade including: a proximal portion configured to couple to the blade receptacle of the RF electrosurgical instrument (Fig 16; support structure 102); a coagulation section extending distally from the proximal portion (Fig 16; [127] probe 20' can further include one or more coagulation electrode(s)) (Fig 31B; coagulating tissue engaged by first blade side 714a and/or second blade side 714b); a blade edge defined around a periphery of the electrosurgical blade (Fig 31B; active edge 713), the blade edge including a right-angled tip (Fig 30; active electrode 712 [170] Blade electrode 712 is substantially rectangular in shape as seen from the side); and a ramped surface extending between the coagulation section and the blade edge (Fig 33B; the thickness of sections 702, 710, and 712 are tapered and ramped or a perpendicular surface formed therebetween).
Woloszko fails to fully teach the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade; the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section, and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge.
However, Horner teaches the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section (Fig 2-7; [27] working end 114 has two opposing major surface 116A, 116B that taper closer together to form two generally parallel, shaped or sharpened working surfaces 118A, 118B. The end of electrode tip 108 can also be formed into a working surface 118C) and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge (Fig 3 and 4; [36] Between first and second ends 130, 132, leading edge 128 is generally arcuate and includes peaks 134A, 134B. As can be seen, peak 134A is disposed next to major surface 116A and peak 134B is disposed next to major surface 116B. Peaks 134A, 134B are disposed axially along axis A closer to working surface 118C than first and second ends 130, 132). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section, and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge. Doing so allows the leading edge of the blade and coagulation section to pass through tissue with minimal friction (Horner [38]).
Further, Ochiai teaches the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade ([52] FIG. 6 is a schematic illustration in section of configuration of a knife 1d according to a third modification of the knife 1a. The knife 1d has a blade edge tip 11 disposed on a line L1 that is offset toward a first blade side 19 from a centerline L in section of a blade core 5 perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the knife 1d, and is configured to have an angle .theta..sub.R defined by and between the line L1 and a cutting blade portion 24 on the first blade side 19 (as a half bevel angle at the first blade side 19) different from an angle .theta..sub.L defined by and between the line L1 and a cutting blade portion 23 on a second blade side 21 (as a half bevel angle at the second blade side 21)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade. Doing so creates a more precise and sharp fit of the blade edge to the target tissue.
Regarding claim 31, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 30, wherein the blade edge is defined by a first side extending longitudinally, a second side extending longitudinally ([174] Active electrode 712 is in the form a substantially flat, metal blade having first and second blade sides 714a, 714b, substantially parallel to each other) and having a curved portion (Fig 31B; curved edges of 714a/b connecting with 713), and a distal side extending laterally (Fig 31A; active side 713).
Regarding claim 32, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 31, wherein the right-angled tip of the blade edge is defined at a point where the first side and the distal side meet ([168] Active electrode 712 is shown as being substantially rectangular as seen from the side (FIG. 32A). However, various other shapes for active electrode 712 are within the scope of the invention (e.g., FIGS. 33C-E)).
Regarding claim 33, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 30, wherein the right-angled tip of the blade edge is configured to transmit a higher RF concentration than the coagulation section to transect tissue ([127] By contacting the sides of the blade electrode 58 directly with the tissue or body structure, the electrical power supplied to electrode 58 by power supply 28 can provide hemostasis to the body structure during the cutting process. Optionally, probe 20' can further include one or more coagulation electrode(s) (not shown) configured to seal a severed vessel, bone, or other tissue that is being incised. Such coagulation electrode(s) may be configured such that a single voltage can be applied to coagulate with the coagulation electrode(s) while ablating tissue with the active electrode(s)) ([166] Active electrode 712 includes an active edge 713 which is adapted for generating high current densities thereat upon application of a high frequency voltage from the power supply between active electrode 712 and return electrode 718. In this way, active edge 713 can efficiently affect localized ablation of tissues via molecular dissociation of tissue components which contact, or are in close proximity to, active edge 713).
Regarding claim 34, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 30, further comprising an insulative guard disposed around at least a portion of the proximal portion ([163] An electrically insulating electrode support 710 is disposed at shaft distal end 702a) ([164] An electrically insulating sleeve 716 covers a portion of shaft 702, and terminates at sleeve distal end 716a to define an exposed portion of shaft 702 extending between electrode support proximal end 710b and sleeve distal end 716a).
Regarding claim 35, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 30, further comprising a coating disposed around at least an exterior surface of the coagulation section or an exterior surface of the ramped surface ([77] the resistance and/or capacitance may occur on the surface of the active electrode(s) due to oxide layers which form selected active electrodes (e.g., titanium or a resistive coating on the surface of metal, such as platinum)).
Regarding claim 38, Woloszko teaches an electrosurgical system comprising: an electrosurgical generator configured to generate RF electrosurgical energy ([83] he proximal end of the probe typically includes the appropriate electrical connections for coupling the return electrode(s) and the active electrode(s) to a high frequency power supply, such as an electrosurgical generator); and an RF electrosurgical instrument configured to couple to the electrosurgical generator and transmit RF electrosurgical energy to tissue ([15] High frequency voltage is then applied between the active electrode(s) and one or more return electrode(s) and the active electrode(s) are moved, translated, reciprocated, or otherwise manipulated to cut through a portion of the tissue), the RF electrosurgical instrument including a blade receptacle and an electrosurgical blade ([Fig 30; [163] An electrically insulating electrode support 710 is disposed at shaft distal end 702a. An active electrode 712 is disposed on electrode support 710. Active electrode 712 comprises a blade electrode) ([168] electrode support 710 is disposed at the terminus of shaft 702, and active electrode 712 is affixed to support distal end 710a (e.g., FIG. 33A)), the electrosurgical blade including: a proximal portion configured to couple to the blade receptacle of the RF electrosurgical instrument (Fig 16; support structure 102); a coagulation section extending distally from the proximal portion (Fig 16; [127] probe 20' can further include one or more coagulation electrode(s)) (Fig 31B; coagulating tissue engaged by first blade side 714a and/or second blade side 714b); a blade edge defined around a periphery of the electrosurgical blade (Fig 31B; active edge 713), the blade edge including a right-angled tip (Fig 30; active electrode 712 [170] Blade electrode 712 is substantially rectangular in shape as seen from the side); and a ramped surface extending between the coagulation section and the blade edge (Fig 33B; the thickness of sections 702, 710, and 712 are tapered and ramped or a perpendicular surface formed therebetween).
Woloszko fails to fully teach the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade; the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section, and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge.
However, Horner teaches the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section (Fig 2-7; [27] working end 114 has two opposing major surface 116A, 116B that taper closer together to form two generally parallel, shaped or sharpened working surfaces 118A, 118B. The end of electrode tip 108 can also be formed into a working surface 118C) and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge (Fig 3 and 4; [36] Between first and second ends 130, 132, leading edge 128 is generally arcuate and includes peaks 134A, 134B. As can be seen, peak 134A is disposed next to major surface 116A and peak 134B is disposed next to major surface 116B. Peaks 134A, 134B are disposed axially along axis A closer to working surface 118C than first and second ends 130, 132). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include the blade edge surrounding a peripheral edge of the coagulation section in spaced relation relative to the peripheral edge of the coagulation section, and a ramped surface extending between the peripheral edge of the coagulation section and the blade edge. Doing so allows the leading edge of the blade and coagulation section to pass through tissue with minimal friction (Horner [38]).
Further, Ochiai teaches the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade ([52] FIG. 6 is a schematic illustration in section of configuration of a knife 1d according to a third modification of the knife 1a. The knife 1d has a blade edge tip 11 disposed on a line L1 that is offset toward a first blade side 19 from a centerline L in section of a blade core 5 perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the knife 1d, and is configured to have an angle .theta..sub.R defined by and between the line L1 and a cutting blade portion 24 on the first blade side 19 (as a half bevel angle at the first blade side 19) different from an angle .theta..sub.L defined by and between the line L1 and a cutting blade portion 23 on a second blade side 21 (as a half bevel angle at the second blade side 21)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include the blade edge defining an asymmetric configuration relative to a centerline of the electrosurgical blade. Doing so creates a more precise and sharp fit of the blade edge to the target tissue.
Regarding claim 39, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 38, wherein the blade edge is defined by a first side extending longitudinally, a second side extending longitudinally ([174] Active electrode 712 is in the form a substantially flat, metal blade having first and second blade sides 714a, 714b, substantially parallel to each other) and having a curved portion (Fig 31B; curved edges of 714a/b connecting with 713), and a distal side extending laterally (Fig 31A; active side 713).
Regarding claim 40, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 38, wherein the right-angled tip of the blade edge is configured to transmit a higher RF concentration than the coagulation section to transect tissue ([127] By contacting the sides of the blade electrode 58 directly with the tissue or body structure, the electrical power supplied to electrode 58 by power supply 28 can provide hemostasis to the body structure during the cutting process. Optionally, probe 20' can further include one or more coagulation electrode(s) (not shown) configured to seal a severed vessel, bone, or other tissue that is being incised. Such coagulation electrode(s) may be configured such that a single voltage can be applied to coagulate with the coagulation electrode(s) while ablating tissue with the active electrode(s)) ([166] Active electrode 712 includes an active edge 713 which is adapted for generating high current densities thereat upon application of a high frequency voltage from the power supply between active electrode 712 and return electrode 718. In this way, active edge 713 can efficiently affect localized ablation of tissues via molecular dissociation of tissue components which contact, or are in close proximity to, active edge 713).
Claim(s) 28 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woloszko (US 7824398 B2) in view of Horner (US 9168092 B2), further in view of Ochiai (US 8776382 B2), in view of Palanker (US 20080027428 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 26, but fails to teach wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is uniform. However, Palanker teaches wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is uniform ([0103] The dimensions of the active electrode and the surrounding insulator may also be matched to help achieve uniform erosion of the cutting electrode profile. For example, the thickness of the insulation layer may be matched to the thickness of the exposed active electrode edge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is uniform. Doing so would achieve uniform erosion of the cutting electrode profile so that the energy would be applied evenly throughout the blade.
Regarding claim 36, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 35, but fails to teach wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is uniform. However, Palanker teaches wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is uniform ([0103] The dimensions of the active electrode and the surrounding insulator may also be matched to help achieve uniform erosion of the cutting electrode profile. For example, the thickness of the insulation layer may be matched to the thickness of the exposed active electrode edge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is uniform. Doing so would achieve uniform erosion of the cutting electrode profile so that the energy would be applied evenly throughout the blade.
Claim(s) 27, 29 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woloszko (US 7824398 B2) in view of Horner (US 9168092 B2), further in view of Ochiai (US 8776382 B2), in view of Heim (US 20060241587 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 26, but fails to fully teach wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is non-uniform. However, Heim teaches wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is non-uniform ([0146] the thickest insulation needs to be near the conductor edge 35, allowing the shape of the insulation 32 to have a tapered region 4 that needs to be no thicker than it is near the conductor edge 35. The thickness of the insulation at the conductor edge can be at least one half of the thickness of the conductor edge and more preferably at least equal to about the thickness of the conductor edge. For example, if the conductor edge has a thickness of 0.001 inches, then the insulation surrounding the conductor edge can have a thickness of about 0.0005 inches and preferably has a thickness of about 0.001 inches). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the coagulation section is non-uniform. Doing so would enhance the tip of the blade with more energy by applying less insulation around the active blade portion.
Regarding claim 29, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 26, but fails to teach wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the ramped surface is non-uniform. However, Heim teaches wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the ramped surface is non-uniform ([0146] the thickest insulation needs to be near the conductor edge 35, allowing the shape of the insulation 32 to have a tapered region 4 that needs to be no thicker than it is near the conductor edge 35. The thickness of the insulation at the conductor edge can be at least one half of the thickness of the conductor edge and more preferably at least equal to about the thickness of the conductor edge. For example, if the conductor edge has a thickness of 0.001 inches, then the insulation surrounding the conductor edge can have a thickness of about 0.0005 inches and preferably has a thickness of about 0.001 inches). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the ramped surface is non-uniform. Doing so would enhance the tip of the blade with more energy by applying less insulation around the active blade portion.
Regarding claim 37, Woloszko teaches the electrosurgical blade of claim 36, but fails to teach wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the ramped surface is non-uniform. However, Heim teaches wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the ramped surface is non-uniform ([0146] the thickest insulation needs to be near the conductor edge 35, allowing the shape of the insulation 32 to have a tapered region 4 that needs to be no thicker than it is near the conductor edge 35. The thickness of the insulation at the conductor edge can be at least one half of the thickness of the conductor edge and more preferably at least equal to about the thickness of the conductor edge. For example, if the conductor edge has a thickness of 0.001 inches, then the insulation surrounding the conductor edge can have a thickness of about 0.0005 inches and preferably has a thickness of about 0.001 inches). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified the invention of Woloszko to include wherein a thickness of the coating disposed around the exterior surface of the ramped surface is non-uniform. Doing so would enhance the tip of the blade with more energy by applying less insulation around the active blade portion.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEIGH LAUREN KERN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794