DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 remain pending in the application. Claims 14-21 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a retrieval mechanism that allows for the stent being able to be fully released from a delivery cable, but maintained on a wire, which allows the stent to be reattached to the cable and removed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since Bosma teaches multiple embodiments with retrieval mechanisms, one being in Figure 1 below, the other being in Figure 11 below (see also column 4, lines 50-59), the rejection is sustained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “retrieval mechanisms" in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses that the “retrieval mechanisms” can include a hook and/or one half of a threaded fastener (see paragraphs [0014], [0034], and [0036] of the Instant Application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6241746 B1 (hereafter –Bosma--), in view of US 10390982 B1 (hereafter --Raychev--).
Regarding Claim 1, Bosma discloses a retrievable stent configured to be positioned across the ductus arteriosus in a pediatric human patient to keep the ductus arteriosus open and ensure adequate blood flow, the stent comprising: a proximal end connector and a distal end tip disposed about a longitudinal axis (see annotated proximal end connector and distal end tip in Figure 1 below), a proximal end connector lumen that runs the length of the proximal end connector and, and the distal end tip having a distal end tip lumen that runs the length of the distal end tip (see annotated retrieval mechanism in Figure 1 below), each of the struts having a curved proximal strut end and a curved distal strut end wherein the curved proximal strut end and the curved distal strut end extend radially outward from the longitudinal axis and toward one another (see annotated curved proximal strut end, curved distal strut end, and longitudinal axis in Figures 1-3 below), each of the struts further having an elongated strut body portion that extends from the curved proximal strut end to the curved distal strut end, the elongated strut body portions extending parallel to each other (see annotated elongated strut body portion in Figures 1-3 below); wherein, when the stent is positioned in the ductus arteriosus, the curved proximal strut ends and the curved distal strut ends engage the ductus arteriosus to provide the radial force to keep the ductus arteriosus open and provide unobstructed blood flow (see Abstract). The term “curved” is being given its broadest reasonable interpretation, interpreted to mean “to have or take a turn, change, or deviation from a straight line or plane surface without sharp breaks,” (see Merriam Webster Online definition 2), “sharp” meaning “having an edge or point that is able to cut or pierce something” (see Google/Oxford Languages definition 1 online), in which the turn is not able to cut or pierce something, and hence the turn is without a sharp break.
Bosma fails to disclose a plurality of 4 to 8 struts extending from the proximal end connector to the distal end tip, the proximal end connector including one or more retrieval mechanisms, and the elongated strut body portions of each of the 4 to 8 struts engage the ductus arteriosus to prevent invagination into the vascular wall of the ductus arteriosus and thus allow for subsequent retrieval.
A different embodiment of Bosma discloses a proximal end connector and a distal end tip disposed about a longitudinal axis (see annotated proximal end connector and distal end tip in Figure 11 below), each of the struts having a curved proximal strut end and a curved distal strut end wherein the curved proximal strut end and the curved distal strut end extend radially outward from the longitudinal axis and toward one another (see annotated curved proximal strut end, curved distal strut end, and longitudinal axis in Figures 11 below), each of the struts further having an elongated strut body portion that extends from the curved proximal strut end to the curved distal strut end, the elongated strut body portions extending parallel to each other (see annotated elongated strut body portion in Figures 11 below); and a space encompassed by the struts which is completely unobstructed (see annotated unobstructed space in Figure 11). This embodiment of Bosma teaches the proximal end connector including one or more retrieval mechanisms (see annotated retrieval mechanism in Figure 11 below) while the elongated strut body portions of each of the 4 to 8 struts engage the vessel to prevent invagination into the vascular wall of the ductus arteriosus and thus allow for subsequent retrieval (see column 4, lines 50-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stent of Bosma be removable via a hook and snare mechanism using hook 18, as taught by the embodiment of Bosma with retrievable hook 60, and therefore not invaginate into the vascular wall to allow for retrieval, as it is disclosed that combinations and modifications of the of the embodiments of Bosma would not depart from the scope of the invention (see column 5, lines 3-11).
Raychev discloses a retrievable stent configured to be positioned across a blood vessel patient to keep the vessel open and ensure adequate blood flow (see column 2, lines 37-39), the stent comprising: a proximal end connector and a distal end tip disposed about a longitudinal axis (see annotated proximal end connector, distal end tip, and axis in Figure 8 below, see also column 6, lines 34-63 denoting that like features are designated with like reference numerals with apostrophes added), the proximal end connector including a proximal end connector lumen that runs the length of the proximal end connector (see column 2, lines 59-65 denoting that proximal end connector 406 encompasses shaft 300), and the distal end tip having a distal end tip lumen that runs the length of the distal end tip (see Figure 2 showing that the shaft 300 distal end 302 is within the lumen of the distal end tip 402, as it extends out the distal end tip 402, see also 302” in Figure 8 below showing that the distal end of 402” must have a lumen to accommodate 302” for 302” to be positioned as shown), and a plurality of 4 to 8 struts extending from the proximal end connector to the distal end tip (see column 4, lines 17-31) each of the struts having a curved proximal strut end and a curved distal strut end wherein the curved proximal strut end and the curved distal strut end extend radially outward from the longitudinal axis and toward one another (see annotated Fig. 8 below). Raychev teaches a plurality of 4 to 8 struts extending from the proximal end connector to the distal end tip (see column 4, lines 17-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stent of Bosma have 4-6 struts, as taught by Raychev, as the modification merely involves a combination of known stent/filter structures according to known methods that obtains a predictable result of an expandable cylindrical stent.
The limitation “wherein, when the stent is positioned in the ductus arteriosus, the curved proximal strut ends and the curved distal strut ends engage the ductus arteriosus to provide the radial force to keep the ductus arteriosus open and provide unobstructed blood flow while the elongated strut body portions of each of the 4 to 8 struts engage the ductus arteriosus to prevent invagination into the vascular wall of the ductus arteriosus and thus allow for subsequent retrieval” is a functional limitation that is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose keeping a ductus arteriosus open to provide unobstructed blood flow, while preventing invagination to allow for retrieval, but merely have the capability of being used in the recited manner. In this case, Bosma as modified discloses the vascular device placed in a blood vessel and includes all of the structural requirements. The Bosma as modified device has dimensions material makeup (see column 3, lines 49-52) suitable for the purpose of being positioned in the ductus arteriosus and is therefore considered to be capable of keeping the ductus arteriosus open for adequate blood flow (see Abstract denoting that the stent holds the vessel open) and to engage the ductus arteriosus to prevent invagination into the vascular wall of the ductus arteriosus and thus allow for subsequent retrieval (see column 4, lines 50-59 denoting that the device is able to be safety removed, and therefore does not invaginate into the vascular wall of the vessel it’s in).
The intended use recited in the preamble “configured to be positioned across the ductus arteriosus in a pediatric human patient to keep the ductus arteriosus open and ensure adequate blood flow” has been considered but deemed not to impose any structural difference between the claimed invention and Bosma as modified’s device. Bosma as modified’s device is structured as claimed and is therefore capable of being used for being positioned across the ductus arteriosus in a pediatric human patient to keep the ductus arteriosus open and ensure adequate blood flow.
Regarding Claim 2, Bosma as modified discloses the stent of claim 1.
Bosma fails to disclose wherein the curved proximal strut end and the curved distal strut end comprise a sigmoidal curve
Raychev teaches wherein the curved proximal strut end and the curved distal strut end comprise a sigmoidal curve (see curve of curved proximal and distal strut ends in Figure 8 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the curved strut ends of Bosma comprise a sigmoidal curve, as taught by Raychev, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component as desired for the intended application.
Regarding Claim 3, Bosma as modified discloses the stent of claim 1, wherein the one or more retrieval mechanisms comprises a hook structure for receiving a snare (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 6, Raychev as modified discloses the stent of claim 1, wherein the lumen of the proximal end connector and the lumen of the distal end tip each have a diameter (see annotated lumens in Figures 1-3 above).
The limitation “the lumens have a diameter large enough such that a guidewire is able to run through their respective lumens” is a functional limitation that is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose a guidewire going into the lumens, but merely have the capability of being used in the recited manner. In this case, Bosma as modified discloses the proximal and distal ends of the device having lumens throughout the tip, and therefore the lumens would be able to receive in a guidewire.
Regarding Claim 7, Raychev as modified discloses the stent of claim 1, comprising 5 struts (see claim 1 rejection above, see also column 4, lines 17-31 of Raychev).
Regarding Claim 8, Raychev as modified discloses the stent of claim 1, comprising 6 struts (see claim 1 rejection above, see also column 4, lines 17-31 of Raychev).
Regarding Claim 9, Bosma as modified discloses the stent of claim 1.
Bosma as modified fails to disclose comprising a length from 15 mm to 30 mm.
Raychev further discloses that the stent comprises a length from 5 mm to 30 mm (see column 4, lines 44-46), a range that overlaps with the claimed range of 15 mm to 30 mm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to have modified the length of Raychev’s stent from between 5 mm to 30 mm to 15 mm to 30 mm as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see [0018] of the Instant Application indicating the length can be within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 10, Bosma as modified discloses the stent of claim 1.
Bosma as modified fails to disclose comprising a length from 18 mm to 24 mm.
Raychev further teaches that the stent comprises a length from 5 mm to 30 mm (see column 4, lines 44-46), a range that overlaps with the claimed range of 18 mm to 24 mm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of Raychev’s stent from between 5 mm to 30 mm to 18 mm to 24 mm as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see [0018] of the Instant Application indicating the length can be within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 11, Raychev as modified discloses the stent of claim 1.
Bosma as modified fails to disclose comprising an outer diameter of from 4 mm to 20 mm.
Raychev further teaches that the stent may be deployed in blood vessels with a diameter between 1.5 mm and 7mm (see column 5, lines 1-3), meaning that the diameter is around this range as well as the stent is meant to press upon the inside of the vessel, a range that overlaps with the claimed range of 4 mm to 20 mm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer diameter of Raychev’s stent from between 1.5 mm to 7 mm to 4 mm to 20 mm as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see [0019] of the Instant Application indicating the outer diameter can be within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 12, Bosma as modified discloses the stent of claim 1.
Bosma as modified fails to disclose comprising an outer diameter of from 6 mm to 10 mm.
Raychev teaches that the stent may be deployed in blood vessels with a diameter between 1.5 mm and 7mm (see column 5, lines 1-3), meaning that the diameter is around this range as well as the stent is meant to press upon the inside of the vessel, a range that overlaps with the claimed range of 6 mm to 10 mm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer diameter of Raychev’s stent from between 1.5 mm to 7 mm to 6 mm to 10 mm as claimed, since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see [0019] of the Instant Application indicating the outer diameter can be within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 13, Raychev as modified discloses the stent of claim 1, wherein the struts are formed of nitinol (see column 3, lines 49-52).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6241746 B1 (hereafter –Bosma--), in view of US 10390982 B1 (hereafter --Raychev--), in further in view of US 20190069903 A1 (hereafter –Deshmukh--).
Regarding Claim 4, Bosma as modified discloses the stent of claim 1.
Bosma as modified fails to disclose wherein the one or more retrieval mechanisms comprises a one half of a threaded fastener.
Deshmukh discloses a stent (12) with a proximal end connector (16a) and a distal end (see annotated distal end in Figure 2a below) about a longitudinal axis (see annotated axis in Figure 2a below). Deshmukh teaches the proximal end connector includes one or more retrieval mechanisms in the form of a one half of a threaded fastener (see paragraph [0073]; the other half being a female threaded retrieval catheter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the proximal end connector of Bosma with a threaded fastener as the retrieval mechanism, as the modification would merely involve the substitution of one known retrieval mechanism (hook as disclosed in Bosma) for another (threaded fastener as disclosed in Deshmukh), as well as by doing so would facilitate handling and retrieval of the device (see paragraph [0073]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6241746 B1 (hereafter –Bosma--) in view of US 10390982 B1 (hereafter --Raychev--), in further in view of US 20070186933 A1 (hereafter –Domingo--).
Regarding Claim 5, Bosma as modified discloses the stent of claim 1.
Bosma as modified fails to disclose the one or more retrieval mechanisms comprising a hook retrieval mechanism and one half of a threaded fastener retrieval mechanism.
Domingo discloses a stent (14) with a proximal end connector (see annotated proximal end connectors in Figures 26A-B and Figure 36 below) and a distal end (see annotated distal end in Figures 26B and 36 below) about a longitudinal axis (see annotated axis in Figures 26A-B and Figure 36 below). A first embodiment of Domingo teaches the proximal end connector includes one or more retrieval mechanisms (a hook retrieval mechanism, see annotated Fig. 26B below) for receiving a snare (102) (see annotated Figure 25B below).
The embodiment of Figs. 26A-26B of Domingo fails to teach the one or more retrieval mechanisms comprising of a one half of a threaded fastener retrieval mechanism.
A second embodiment of Domingo teaches the one or more retrieval mechanisms comprises one half of a threaded fastener retrieval mechanism (130 in Figure 36, see also paragraph [0089]; the other half being a female threaded 132 retrieval catheter).
Domingo further teaches that there are many combinations of the disclosed embodiments that can be combined in different ways for a host of applications (see paragraph [0091]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the hook retrieval mechanism of Figs. 26A-26B and the one half of a threaded fastener retrieval mechanism of Fig. 35 onto one proximal end connector, as suggested by Domingo, as by doing so would facilitate allowing the operator the options of repositioning, re-sheathing then repositioning, re-sheathing then removing, or just completely the removing the stent as stated previously through multiple modalities (see paragraphs [0077-0080] and [0087]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774