CTFR 17/602,720 CTFR 98716 DETAILED ACTION 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 72, 82-99, 108-110, 118, 122, 124, 143, and 144 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Final Rejection is in response to the amendment submitted on 2/10/2026. 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/10/2026 and 5/7/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Response to Arguments and Amendments Applicant’s arguments, filed on 2/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 72, 82-99, 108-110, 118, 122, 124, 130, and 133 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive . The rejection has been maintained. Regarding 103: Issue No. 1: Applicant asserts that the proposed Jetter/Aoki/Naderer combination fails to render obvious the combination of features recited in claim 72. Applicant states that the wrist of Aoki is not a connecting apparatus that is “different” from the robot. Applicant Remarks: “…Thus, Aoki's wrist part (28) cannot correspond to a "connecting apparatus [that] is an apparatus different from the robot," as recited in claim 72. Moreover, while Aoki's motors (29) are operable to change position and orientation of a robot (2), these motors are part of the robot and do not correspond to "a driving member that moves at least one of the movable member" that is part of a connecting apparatus that is different from the robot as recited in claim 72.” Examiner Reply: The applicant asserts that the “connecting apparatus” of the instant application is “different” from the robot and that Aoki does not read on this claim. However a review of the previous office action will show that Naderer (US 20140005831 A1) (and not Aoki) was cited for containing a “connecting apparatus” that is “different” from the robot. It should also be noted that, in the previous office action , the examiner stated the following : “Providing Claim 72 as a representative example, claim 72 was amended to include the following limitation: “wherein the movable member is a robot, and the connecting apparatus is an apparatus different from the robot.” For the purpose of examination, the above limitation is being interpreted as a “connecting apparatus” mounted between the manipulator and the irradiation device using a flange or similar attachment device. With reference to instant figures 1 and 5, it can be seen that the “connecting apparatus” is clearly a part of the kinematic chain between the manipulator and the irradiation apparatus thus limiting the interpretation of the term “different from the robot”. The examiner has further cited Naderer (US 20140005831 A1) to teach the above limitation. A review of Naderer, figures 1 and 2, in combination with paragraphs [0007] and [0022], show that Naderer employs a connecting device, called a handling apparatus, that joins the manipulator to the end effector and further provides vibration control in a manner similar to the “connecting apparatus” of the instant application.” Therefore, with reference to the previous office action, the limitation, “the connecting apparatus is an apparatus different from the robot.”, is being interpreted as an intermediate element that connects the end effector to the robot and is a part of the kinematic chain. In the examiner’s opinion, the instant specification and drawings do not provide any details that would contradict this interpretation. Therefore, under BRI, both Naderer and Aoki contain sufficiently described elements that connect the end effector to the robot and are part of the kinematic chain, but for clarity Naderer was previously cited for this limitation. Issue No. 2: Applicant asserts that there is no motivation to combine Naderer with Jetter and Aoki. Applicant Remarks: “… Naderer's handling apparatus (30) (see Naderer FIGS. 1-2) is provided to regulate contact force upon contact with a workpiece, provide a gentle contact with a workpiece, or detect contact with a workpiece. [See Naderer, FIG. 6, 1 0042, 0046-0047 ]. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Naderer with Jetter and Aoki as both Jetter and Aoki are operable to project optical beams onto a workpiece without any workpiece contact” Examiner Reply: The Examiner cited the “handling apparatus” of Naderer to address the limitation “an elastic member” in claim 72. The understood purpose of the elastic member is to control vibrations (or disturbances) in the connecting apparatus. This is true for both Naderer and the instant application. A review of figure 2 in Naderer and figure 6 of the instant application will reveal a similar physical configuration for the elastic member, both are attached to a connecting apparatus, and a review of the respective specifications will show a similar purpose for the cited devices. In the examiner’s opinion, Applicant’s concerns regarding the motivation to combine Naderer with Aoki and Jetter is based solely on the intended application and does not regard the device’s similar physical configuration and fundamental purpose of controlling vibrations in a connecting member. Further the claim language of claim 72 of the instant application does not discuss contact forces and merely claims “an elastic member”. Under BRI the “handling apparatus” (30) of figure 2 in Naderer is clearly an elastic member and therefore the rejection is maintained. Issue No. 3: Applicant asserts that newly introduced claims 143 and 144 overcome Aoki. Applicant Remarks: “While Aoki discloses a measurement device (49) that can be used to adjust a distance between the workpieces (71a, 71b) and the laser irradiation device (4), Aoki does not disclose that a "driving member of the connecting apparatus is operable to adjust a displacement of the object with respect to the processing light" as recited in claim 143 and 144 ”. Applicant further states, .. ”Aoki's wrist part is rotatable, not translatable and thus does not "adjust a displacement of the object with respect to the processing light" as claimed .” Examiner Reply: The examiner notes wherein that claims 143 and 144 are newly added claims and therefore were not previously examined. Therefore claims 143 and 144 will be fully addressed as new claims in the 35 USC 103 Rejection below. However, in the interest of clarity, it should be noted that the wrist of Aoki has an axis of rotation that is perpendicular to the axis of its rotating arm. (see figure 1) Therefore, based on the given geometry of Aoki figure 1 and the BRI definition of a displacement as a straight line distance between two points of interest, a simple rotation of the wrist would change the displacement between the object (workpiece) and the processing light (laser) as described in newly added claims 143 and 144 of the instant application. (see 103 rejection below) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim(s) 72, 8 2-89, 91-94, 99, 108-110, 118, 122, 143, and 144 are reject ed under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jetter (US 20200139488 A1) as modified by Aoki (US 20180221990 A1) and Naderer (US 20140005831 A1) Claim 7 2: Jetter teaches the following limitations : A processing system that processes an object by processing light, the processing system comprising: a movable member, a relative positional relationship between the movable member and a part of the object being changeable; (Jetter - [0029] In an embodiment, the riblets are applied into an already painted surface which is suitable for being exposed to a flow during operation, subsequently by means of laser interference patterning...); [0069] A movement unit of the type of a five axis robot 14 is provided which is adapted such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16 an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3, preferably motorized by means of a driving mechanism and/or automatically by means of a control for the driving mechanism. A large area laser patterning or DLIP with particularly high area rate can be realized in this way. The movement unit 14 includes a focusing device 20 and/or a beam splitting device 21, preferably as a compact constructional unit so that a defined spot diameter can be set on the surface 3 which remains constant in particular also during the relative movement. ... ; [195] The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) an irradiation apparatus that irradiates the object with the processing light; and (Jetter - [0019] DLIP is the abbreviation for Direct Laser Interference Patterning and is a well-known multi-beam laser interference technique in which interference is used specifically for micro-structuring of surface. ...) the connecting apparatus comprising: a driving member that moves at least one of the movable member and the irradiation apparatus; and (Jetter - [0029] In an embodiment, the riblets are applied into an already painted surface which is suitable for being exposed to a flow during operation, subsequently by means of laser interference patterning...); [0069] A movement unit of the type of a five axis robot 14 is provided which is adapted such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16 an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3, preferably motorized by means of a driving mechanism and/or automatically by means of a control for the driving mechanism. A large area laser patterning or DLIP with particularly high area rate can be realized in this way. The movement unit 14 includes a focusing device 20 and/or a beam splitting device 21, preferably as a compact constructional unit so that a defined spot diameter can be set on the surface 3 which remains constant in particular also during the relative movement. ... ; [195] The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) ; [0168] A further aspect of the invention relates to a device for applying riblets 1 by means of laser interference patterning or DLIP—Direct Laser Interference Patterning—in a surface 3 of a component, in particular in a painted and cured surface 3, comprising a laser, a processing head with a beam splitting device 21 and a focusing device 20 as well as a movement unit 14, wherein the movement unit 14 is configured such that the processing head—in particular controlled by a control and/or driven by a drive mechanism—can be moved over a surface 3 to be processed, …) that couples the movable member with the irradiation apparatus, (Jetter -[0195] … The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) Examiner Note: Optic Head or Processing Head or Laser corresponds to Irradiation Apparatus Multi-Axes Robot corresponds to Moveable Member Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: a connecting apparatus that connects the movable member and the irradiation apparatus so that a relative positional relationship between the movable member and the irradiation apparatus is changeable, (Aoki – See [Fig. 1] ; [0024] The robot 2 includes a robot drive motors 29 that drives the swivel base 22, the lower arm 24, the upper arm 26, and the wrist part 28. The robot drive motors 29 is driven so as to change the position and orientation of the robot 2. The robot is not limited to this configuration. Any robot is usable as long as the position and orientation of the laser irradiation device can be changed.; [0038] The robot 2 includes a robot position detector 30 for detecting the position and orientation of the robot 2. The robot position detector 30 of the present embodiment includes an encoder attached to the robot drive motor 29. The robot control unit 12 receives a signal of a rotational position that is outputted from the robot position detector 30. The robot control device 11 can detect the position and orientation of the laser irradiation device 4 based on the position and orientation of the robot 2.) Examiner Note: Fig. 1 illustrates a motor 29 that drives a wrist 28, which would rotate the laser irradiation device relative to the connecting robot arm. Jetter in combination with Aoki does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Naderer teaches: an elastic member (Naderer - See [Fig. 1]; See [Fig. 2]; [0025] … In addition, in the case of geared drives the meshing of the teeth of the gear wheels can cause unwanted jerky impacts of vibrations. When handling or processing objects, both effects can lead to problems in the quality. [0052] As a result of the inherent elasticity of the static-frictionless linear actuator and the restoring spring, the handling apparatus (both in the mode as active flange and in pure measuring mode) protects the manipulator from jerks, impacts and similar short-term events which result in a sudden increase in the contact force and for which a usual robot regulating means is not able to compensate.) wherein the movable member is a robot, and the connecting apparatus is an apparatus different from the robot. (Naderer - [0007] A handling apparatus for automated contact tasks is described. As claimed in one example of the invention, the handling apparatus has the following components: a mechanical interface for releasably or fixedly connecting the handling apparatus to a manipulator; a holder, which is movable in relation to the interface, for receiving a tool; … ; [0022] As an example of the invention, FIG. 1 shows a representation of a robot-supported automated grinding device with an industrial robot as a manipulator 20, a grinding machine 40 as a workpiece and a handling apparatus 30', which is arranged between an end effector flange 21 of the manipulator 20 and the tool 40, is used substantially for precision control or for closed-loop controlling in a precise manner the movement of the tool 40 in relation to a workpiece 50 to be processed as well as for closed-loop controlling the force exerted onto the workpiece 50 by the tool 40. … ; [see also Figures 1 and 2]) Examiner Note: For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the connecting apparatus is an apparatus different from the robot” is being interpreted as a “connecting apparatus” mounted between the manipulator and the irradiation device using a flange or similar attachment device. With reference to instant figures 1 and 5, it can be seen that the “connecting apparatus” is clearly a part of the kinematic chain between the manipulator and the irradiation apparatus thus limiting the interpretation of the term “different from the robot”. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of robot pose control as taught in Aoki and to further modify Jetter to include a method of elastically absorbing vibrations and shocks with a device installed between the manipulator and end effector as taught in Naderer. Having the ability to fully control the position of the processing head, while also eliminating any unwanted vibrations ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 82: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 72, wherein the connecting apparatus connects a first part of the movable member and a second part that is a part of the irradiation apparatus, a relative positional relationship between the first part and a part of the object is changeable. (Jetter - [0029] In an embodiment, the riblets are applied into an already painted surface which is suitable for being exposed to a flow during operation, subsequently by means of laser interference patterning...); [0069] A movement unit of the type of a five axis robot 14 is provided which is adapted such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16 an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3, preferably motorized by means of a driving mechanism and/or automatically by means of a control for the driving mechanism. A large area laser patterning or DLIP with particularly high area rate can be realized in this way. The movement unit 14 includes a focusing device 20 and/or a beam splitting device 21, preferably as a compact constructional unit so that a defined spot diameter can be set on the surface 3 which remains constant in particular also during the relative movement. ... ; [195] The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) Claim 83: Jetter in combination with Aoki does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Naderer teaches: The processing system according to claim 82, wherein the processing system further comprises a control apparatus that controls the driving member so that an amount of a vibration of the irradiation apparatus is smaller than an amount of a vibration of the first part. (Naderer – See [Fig. 1]; See [Fig. 2]; [0025] … In addition, in the case of geared drives the meshing of the teeth of the gear wheels can cause unwanted jerky impacts of vibrations. When handling or processing objects, both effects can lead to problems in the quality. [0052] As a result of the inherent elasticity of the static-frictionless linear actuator and the restoring spring, the handling apparatus (both in the mode as active flange and in pure measuring mode) protects the manipulator from jerks, impacts and similar short- term events which result in a sudden increase in the contact force and for which a usual robot regulating means is not able to compensate.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter and Aoki to include a method of elastically absorbing vibrations and shocks as taught in Naderer. Having the ability to eliminate unwanted vibrations ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 84: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 82, wherein the robot serves as a movement apparatus that moves a position of the irradiation apparatus relative to the part of the object. (Jetter - [0069] A movement unit of the type of a five axis robot 14 is provided which is adapted such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16 an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3, preferably motorized by means of a driving mechanism and/or automatically by means of a control for the driving mechanism. A large area laser patterning or DLIP with particularly high area rate can be realized in this way. The movement unit 14 includes a focusing device 20 and/or a beam splitting device 21, preferably as a compact constructional unit so that a defined spot diameter can be set on the surface 3 which remains constant in particular also during the relative movement. ... ; [195] The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) Claim 85: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 84, wherein an accuracy of a movement of the irradiation apparatus by the driving member is higher than an accuracy of a movement of the irradiation apparatus by the robot. (Jetter - [0166] … Thereby, the processing point 29 on the surface 3 of the component can be moved relative to the processing head. This may be for example helpful to compensate inaccuracies of the advance movement. ; [0187] … Lateral movement means the advance movement, in particular in the advance direction 9 and/or in the longitudinal direction 8 of the grooves 13. The flow direction is in general parallel oriented with respect to the longitudinal direction 8 of the grooves 13.; See also Fig. 1 ) Examiner Note: Processing Head corresponds to the irradiation apparatus It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the processing point 29 which emanates from the processing head located at the end of the robot arm is compensating for inaccuracies of the advance movement of the 5-axis robot arm, then it is therefore more accurate than the robot arm. Claim 86: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 84, wherein a movement range in which the irradiation apparatus moves by the robot is larger than a movement range in which the irradiation apparatus moves by the driving member. (Jetter – See [Fig. 1]; [0195] … The device comprises further a monolithic processing head which may also be referred to as optic head. In the processing head, two or more beam splitters, in particular of the beam splitting device 21, are integrated. In the processing head are further integrated one or more fine adjustable, refracting and/or reflecting optical elements, in particular of the focusing device 20. The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) Examiner Note: Processing Head corresponds to the irradiation apparatus The processing head is a monolithic block at the distal end of the multi-axes robot, and the multi-axes robot advances the position of the processing head. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the processing head would have less range than the multi-axes robot. Claim 87: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 72, wherein: the processing system comprises a position measurement apparatus that measures a relative positional relationship between the object and the irradiation apparatus, and the driving member is controlled by using an output from the position measurement apparatus. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49. ; [0084] The second machining system includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance (height) between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. In other words, the measurement device 49 can measure the workpiece distance. The irradiation control device 41 of the control device 3 is configured to control the measurement device 49 based on an operation on the input part 38 of the operation panel 37.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the position of the processing head in relationship to the target surface as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 88: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 84, wherein: the processing system comprises a position measurement apparatus that measures a relative positional relationship between the object and the irradiation apparatus, and the movement apparatus is controlled by using an output from the position measurement apparatus. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49. ; [0084] The second machining system includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance (height) between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. In other words, the measurement device 49 can measure the workpiece distance. The irradiation control device 41 of the control device 3 is configured to control the measurement device 49 based on an operation on the input part 38 of the operation panel 37.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the position of the processing head in relationship to the target surface as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 89: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 87, wherein the position measurement apparatus measures a position of the object relative to the irradiation apparatus. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49. ; [0084] The second machining system includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance (height) between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. In other words, the measurement device 49 can measure the workpiece distance. The irradiation control device 41 of the control device 3 is configured to control the measurement device 49 based on an operation on the input part 38 of the operation panel 37.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the position of the processing head in relationship to the target surface as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 91: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 72, wherein a range which the irradiation apparatus is allowed to irradiate with the processing light is changed by a movement of the irradiation apparatus. (Jetter - [0173… Simultaneously, the processing head is preferably correspondingly tracked relative to the surface 3, i.e. moved. In an embodiment, these fine adjustments are realized online by aid of electromechanical or by piezoelectric actuators. In this way, at the WTG rotor or, respectively, at the aircraft component with the periodic distance L, local riblet structures with corresponding groove distance a can be generated. ; [0174] FIG. 9 shows an optical assembly in which the partial beams 6, 7 each are directed by a tiltable deflection mirror 24 respectively onto a curved deflection area 31 and from there deflected to the surface 3. In particular, the curved deflection area 31 of the assembly of FIG. 9 is two-dimensionally curved. A lens 33 is provided for focusing of the laser radiation onto the surface 3. The focusing by the lens 33 occurs about only one axis so that in the processing point 29 an elongatedly shaped radiation cross-section develops which can produce a laser spot 36 as shown in FIG. 10.) Claim 92: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 72, wherein: the connecting apparatus connects a first part of the movable member and a second part that is a part of the irradiation apparatus, a relative positional relationship between the first part and a part of the object is changeable, (Jetter - [0069] A movement unit of the type of a five axis robot 14 is provided which is adapted such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16 an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3, preferably motorized by means of a driving mechanism and/or automatically by means of a control for the driving mechanism. A large area laser patterning or DLIP with particularly high area rate can be realized in this way. The movement unit 14 includes a focusing device 20 and/or a beam splitting device 21, preferably as a compact constructional unit so that a defined spot diameter can be set on the surface 3 which remains constant in particular also during the relative movement. ... ; [195] The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Naderer teaches: the elastic member reduces a vibration that is transmitted from the first part to the second part, the driving member reduced a relative displacement between the first part and the second part caused by the vibration that is transmitted from the first part to the second part. (Naderer – See [Fig. 1]; See [Fig. 2]; [0025] … In addition, in the case of geared drives the meshing of the teeth of the gear wheels can cause unwanted jerky impacts of vibrations. When handling or processing objects, both effects can lead to problems in the quality. [0052] As a result of the inherent elasticity of the static-frictionless linear actuator and the restoring spring, the handling apparatus (both in the mode as active flange and in pure measuring mode) protects the manipulator from jerks, impacts and similar short-term events which result in a sudden increase in the contact force and for which a usual robot regulating means is not able to compensate.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter and Aoki to include a method of elastically absorbing vibrations and shocks as taught in Naderer. Having the ability to eliminate unwanted vibrations ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 93: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 72, wherein: the irradiation apparatus comprises an irradiation position change apparatus that changes an irradiation position of the processing light on the object relative to the irradiation apparatus. (Jetter - [0173… Simultaneously, the processing head is preferably correspondingly tracked relative to the surface 3, i.e. moved. In an embodiment, these fine adjustments are realized online by aid of electromechanical or by piezoelectric actuators. In this way, at the WTG rotor or, respectively, at the aircraft component with the periodic distance L, local riblet structures with corresponding groove distance a can be generated. ; [0174] FIG. 9 shows an optical assembly in which the partial beams 6, 7 each are directed by a tiltable deflection mirror 24 respectively onto a curved deflection area 31 and from there deflected to the surface 3. In particular, the curved deflection area 31 of the assembly of FIG. 9 is two-dimensionally curved. A lens 33 is provided for focusing of the laser radiation onto the surface 3. The focusing by the lens 33 occurs about only one axis so that in the processing point 29 an elongatedly shaped radiation cross-section develops which can produce a laser spot 36 as shown in FIG. 10.) Claim 94: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 93, wherein the driving member reduces a positional error of the irradiation position due to an operation of the irradiation position change apparatus. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49. ; [0084] The second machining system includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance (height) between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. In other words, the measurement device 49 can measure the workpiece distance. The irradiation control device 41 of the control device 3 is configured to control the measurement device 49 based on an operation on the input part 38 of the operation panel 37.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the position of the processing head in relationship to the target surface and correcting for errors as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 99: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 87, wherein the position measurement apparatus includes an object measurement apparatus that measures the object. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49. ; [0084] The second machining system includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance (height) between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. In other words, the measurement device 49 can measure the workpiece distance. The irradiation control device 41 of the control device 3 is configured to control the measurement device 49 based on an operation on the input part 38 of the operation panel 37.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the target object as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 108: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 83, wherein the processing system further comprises a position measurement apparatus that measures a relative positional relationship between the object and the irradiation apparatus. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the position of the processing head in relationship to the target surface as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 109: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 108, wherein the position measurement apparatus measures the irradiation position relative to the object. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the position of the processing head in relationship to the target surface as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 110: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 109, wherein: a sensitive member, a characteristic of which is changed by an irradiation of the processing light, is irradiated with the processing light from the irradiation apparatus, and the position measurement apparatus measures a part of the sensitive member the characteristic of which is changed. (Aoki - [0068] The second machining system further includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. The measurement device 49 of the present embodiment irradiates the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b with the guide beam so as to display an auxiliary line in the circular shape on the surfaces of the workpieces 71 and 71b as will be discussed later. The irradiation control device 41 includes a guide laser control unit that controls the guide laser device 48 and a measurement device control unit that controls the measurement device 49. ; [0084] The second machining system includes a measurement device 49 that measures the distance (height) between the laser irradiation device 4 and the workpieces 71a and 71b. In other words, the measurement device 49 can measure the workpiece distance. The irradiation control device 41 of the control device 3 is configured to control the measurement device 49 based on an operation on the input part 38 of the operation panel 37.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of measuring the target surface as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to determine the state of the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 118: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 72, wherein the movable member includes a plurality of arm members and a joint member that connects the plurality of arm members in a pivotable manner. (Jetter - [0069] A movement unit of the type of a five axis robot 14 is provided which is adapted such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16 an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3, preferably motorized by means of a driving mechanism and/or automatically by means of a control for the driving mechanism. A large area laser patterning or DLIP with particularly high area rate can be realized in this way. The movement unit 14 includes a focusing device 20 and/or a beam splitting device 21, preferably as a compact constructional unit so that a defined spot diameter can be set on the surface 3 which remains constant in particular also during the relative movement. ... ; [195] The processing head further comprises a semi- or fully automatic manipulator. The manipulator is in particular a movement unit which is configured such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16, an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3. Preferably, the movement unit is a multi-axes axis robot 14 with several axes of movement.) Claim 122: Jetter teaches the following limitations : The processing system according to claim 84, wherein the movement apparatus includes a self-running apparatus that is ( Jetter - [0069] A movement unit of the type of a five axis robot 14 is provided which is adapted such that a laser beam 15, interfering laser radiation 16 an additional laser beam 17 and/or additional interfering laser radiation 18 can be moved relative to the surface 3, preferably motorized by means of a driving mechanism and/or automatically by means of a control for the driving mechanism.; [0100] that the processing can take place fully automatic and/or remotely controlled,) configured to self-run without interfering with the object. (Jetter - [0075] In particular, the entire optical assembly with beam splitting device 21 and/or focusing device 20 is designed as a compact monolithic block. This block can therefore particularly simple be guided along the surface 3 of the aircraft 10 or the aircraft component. Herein, it is advantageous that the removal method—with exception of the rolls—works contact-free and wear-free. In a further development, the movement unit is moved contact-free over the surface. In this way, even a contact of the surface by rolls is avoided. Due to the use of an interfering radiation, a particularly large tolerance range regarding the working distance, i.e. the focus position relative to the surface 3 can be enabled.) Claim 143: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 72, wherein: the driving member of the connecting apparatus is operable to adjust a displacement of the object with respect to the processing light. ( Aoki – [See figure 1] ; [0023] … The robot 2 includes a lower arm 24 that is pivotally supported by the swivel base 22 and an upper arm 26 that is pivotally supported by the lower arm 24. The robot 2 includes a wrist part 28 rotatably supported by the upper arm 26. ; [0024] The robot 2 includes a robot drive motors 29 that drives the swivel base 22, the lower arm 24, the upper arm 26, and the wrist part 28. The robot drive motors 29 is driven so as to change the position and orientation of the robot 2. The robot is not limited to this configuration. Any robot is usable as long as the position and orientation of the laser irradiation device can be changed.) Examiner Note: Fig. 1 illustrates a motor 29 that drives a wrist 28, which would rotate the laser irradiation device on an axis perpendicular to the axis of the connecting robot arm, thus changing the displacement between the light processing head and the work surface. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of end effector pose control as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to fully control the position and displacement of the processing head in relationship to the work surface ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 144: Jetter does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Aoki teaches: The processing system according to claim 87, wherein: the driving member of the connecting apparatus is operable to adjust a displacement of the object with respect to the processing light. ( Aoki – [See figure 1] ; [0023] … The robot 2 includes a lower arm 24 that is pivotally supported by the swivel base 22 and an upper arm 26 that is pivotally supported by the lower arm 24. The robot 2 includes a wrist part 28 rotatably supported by the upper arm 26. ; [0024] The robot 2 includes a robot drive motors 29 that drives the swivel base 22, the lower arm 24, the upper arm 26, and the wrist part 28. The robot drive motors 29 is driven so as to change the position and orientation of the robot 2. The robot is not limited to this configuration. Any robot is usable as long as the position and orientation of the laser irradiation device can be changed.) Examiner Note: Fig. 1 illustrates a motor 29 that drives a wrist 28, which would rotate the laser irradiation device on an axis perpendicular to the axis of the connecting robot arm, thus changing the displacement between the light processing head and the work surface. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter to include a method of end effector pose control as taught in Aoki. Having the ability to fully control the position and displacement of the processing head in relationship to the work surface ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface . 07-21-aia AIA Claim(s) 90, 9 6, and 97 are reject ed under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jetter (US 20200139488 A1) as modified by Aoki (US 20180221990 A1) and Naderer (US 20140005831 A1) in view of Corkum (US 20180126553 A1) Claim 9 0: Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Corkum teaches: The processing system according to claim 87, wherein the position measurement apparatus measures a position of the irradiation apparatus relative to a fiducial position. (Corkum - [0021] In one implementation shown in FIG. 1, the controller 160 executes Blocks of the first method S100 to: calculate changes in the pose of the end effector 140 in real space over a period of time based on changes in the position and orientation of an optical feature or fiducial in the field of view of the camera 150 during this period of time; ; [0036] Alternatively, the controller 160 can track one or more active or passive optical fiducials of known size and geometry installed on or near the system 100. ; [0037] In a similar example, the system 100 can further include a passive black and white checkerboard pattern and/or a set of active fiducials (e.g., color or infrared LEDs) patterned across the exterior surface of the housing. The controller 160 can thus implement similar methods and techniques to calibrate sensors in the arm and/or to define a global reference frame based on features—representing this checkerboard pattern and/or these active fiducials arranged on the base—extracted from images recorded by the camera 150.) Examiner Note: End effector corresponds to Irradiation Apparatus Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer to include a system of fiducial markers as taught in Corkum. The addition of fiducial markers increases the locational accuracy of the robot arm and processing head in relationship to the target surface. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 96: Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Corkum teaches: The processing system according to claim 87, wherein: the position measurement apparatus includes: an index member, a relative position of the index member relative to the irradiation apparatus is fixed; and an index measurement apparatus that measures a position of the index member. (Corkum - [0049] … For example, the target joint offset distance can include a subset of the range of motion of the joint for which a suitable degree of confidence exists that an optical feature (e.g., a global reference feature, an object feature, a target feature, etc.) detected in an image recorded at an initial position of the joint will also be shown in a second image recorded at a second position of the joint offset from the initial position by the target joint offset distance. ; [0066] In one implementation, the computer system can calculate the pose of the end effector 140 (e.g., an interface surface defined by the end effector 140)—at a particular time and relative to an optical feature (e.g., the global reference feature, the object feature) near the system 100—directly from a single optical image recorded at (approximately) the particular time based on: the position, orientation, skew, etc. of the optical fiducial in the image; a known geometry of the optical feature, as described below; and a known offset between the camera 150 and the interface surface. In particular, by detecting a known optical feature in an image camera 150 and extracting pose information directly from this image based on a known geometry of the optical feature and based on a known offset between the camera 150 and the end effector 140, the controller 160 may complete a pose calculation for the end effector 140 relatively rapidly …) Examiner Note: Optical Feature corresponds to Index Member Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer to include a system of fiducial markers as taught in Corkum. The addition of fiducial markers increases the locational accuracy of the robot arm and processing head in relationship to the target surface. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface. Claim 97: Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Corkum teaches: The processing system according to claim 96, wherein: the index member includes a marker, the index measurement apparatus includes at least one of an imaging apparatus that is configured to image the maker and a light receiving apparatus that is configured to optically receive light from the marker. (Corkum [0037] In a similar example, the system 100 can further include a passive black and white checkerboard pattern and/or a set of active fiducials (e.g., color or infrared LEDs) patterned across the exterior surface of the housing. The controller 160 can thus implement similar methods and techniques to calibrate sensors in the arm and/or to define a global reference frame based on features—representing this checkerboard pattern and/or these active fiducials arranged on the base—extracted from images recorded by the camera 150.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer to include cameras or other light detecting equipment as a part of the fiducial marker system as taught in Corkum. The addition of cameras or other light detecting equipment to the fiducial marker system increases the locational accuracy of the robot arm and processing head in relationship to the target surface. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 95 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jetter (US 20200139488 A1) as modified by Aoki (US 20180221990 A1) and Naderer (US 20140005831 A1) in view of Mase (US 20200206938 A1) Claim 95: Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Mase teaches: The processing system according to claim 72, wherein: the processing system comprises: a plurality of position measurement apparatus; and a control apparatus that controls the driving member on the basis of information relating to a relative position of a measurement fiducial position of a first position measurement apparatus of the plurality of position measurement apparatuses and a measurement fiducial position of a second position measurement apparatus of the plurality of position measurement apparatuses and measured results by the first and second position measurement apparatuses. (Mase - [0031] In the present embodiment, the positions of the markers 42 and 43 are detected by using TOF (Time Of Flight). The TOF means a method for calculating a distance between two points in correspondence to a time taken for a receiver to receive electromagnetic waves transmitted from a transmitter. More specifically, in the present embodiment, the sensor 51 includes a plurality of receivers (e.g., a first receiver and a second receiver), and each of the markers 42 and 43 includes a transmitter. Due to the TOF, a distance from each transmitter to the first receiver and a distance from each transmitter to the second receiver can be calculated. Since the position of the sensor 51 (i.e., the position of the first receiver and the position of the second receiver) is predetermined, the positions of the respective transmitters (i.e., the positions of the respective markers 42 and 43) can be calculated by hyperbolic positioning, triangulation or so on. Especially, by transmitting different electromagnetic waves to the respective markers 42 and 43, the markers 42 and 43 can be identified for detection of their respective positions. …) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer include a system for using a plurality of fiducial markers to track positions as taught in Mase. Using a plurality of fiducial markers and collecting multiple readings of the robot pose increases the accuracy of the processing head position in relationship to the target surface. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 98 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jetter (US 20200139488 A1) as modified by Aoki (US 20180221990 A1) and Naderer (US 20140005831 A1) in view of Corkum (US 20180126553 A1) and in further view of Mase (US 20200206938 A1) Claim 98: Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer and in view of Corkum does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Mase teaches: The processing system according to claim 96, wherein: the index member includes a transmitting apparatus that is configured to transmit a signal, the index measurement apparatus includes a receiving apparatus that is configured to receive the signal. (Mase - [0031] In the present embodiment, the positions of the markers 42 and 43 are detected by using TOF (Time Of Flight). The TOF means a method for calculating a distance between two points in correspondence to a time taken for a receiver to receive electromagnetic waves transmitted from a transmitter. More specifically, in the present embodiment, the sensor 51 includes a plurality of receivers (e.g., a first receiver and a second receiver), and each of the markers 42 and 43 includes a transmitter. Due to the TOF, a distance from each transmitter to the first receiver and a distance from each transmitter to the second receiver can be calculated. Since the position of the sensor 51 (i.e., the position of the first receiver and the position of the second receiver) is predetermined, the positions of the respective transmitters (i.e., the positions of the respective markers 42 and 43) can be calculated by hyperbolic positioning, triangulation or so on. Especially, by transmitting different electromagnetic waves to the respective markers 42 and 43, the markers 42 and 43 can be identified for detection of their respective positions. …) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter in combination with Aoki, Naderer, and Corkum to include a system of fiducial transmitters and receivers as taught in Mase. The addition of transmitters and receivers to the fiducial marker system further increases the locational accuracy of the robot arm and processing head in relationship to the target surface. Having the ability to determine the distance of the laser from the target surface and subsequently control the processing head based on that information, ensures that the production of surface riblets is consistent and accurate, which in turn improves the aerodynamics of the target surface . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 124 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jetter (US 20200139488 A1) as modified by Aoki (US 20180221990 A1) and Naderer (US 20140005831 A1) in view of Thompson (US 20190366375 A1) Claim 124: Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Thompson teaches: The processing system according to claim 84, wherein the movement apparatus includes a flying apparatus that is configured to fly at a position that is away from the object. (Thompson - [0063] Control unit 20 controls spraying such that UAV 12 applies the spray fan only when UAV 12 is in a desired spray position. It is understood that the desired spray position can include a coordinate position as well as an orientation of UAV 12 relative to the surface. The quality and aesthetics of the sprayed fluid depend on UAV 12 spraying the fluid only when UAV 12 is properly positioned. In addition, ensuring that UAV 12 sprays only when properly positioned prevents UAV 12 from spraying surfaces that are not intended to be sprayed. Location sensors 50 can be positioned on UAV 12 to provide a distance of UAV 12 to the surface. For example, location sensors 50 can include three locational sensors configured to provide triangulated locational data. It is understood, however, that UAV 12 can include as many or as few location sensors 50 as desired and as required to provide accurate locational information. In some examples, control unit 20 sends the start spray command only when location sensors 50 indicate that UAV 12 is positioned to generate a spray fan orthogonal to the surface.) Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jetter in combination with Aoki and Naderer to include a method of aerial translation (such as a UAV) in order to process the surface of the target object as taught in Thompson. Having the ability to traverse the surface of the target object from an aerial position reduces the translational limitations inherent in ground-based vehicles and allows the processing head to more efficiently and freely treat the surface of the target object . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892 . The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied: Bausen (US 20100304009 A1) describes a device for painting a curved outer surface of an aircraft. The device includes a spatially adjustable positioning device configured to move the paint applicator relative to the curved outer surface and at least one sensor device configured to determine a three-dimensional geometry of the curved outer surface. The device also includes a control unit configured to coordinate a movement of the positioning device with a paint output of the paint applicator, wherein the control unit is configured to alternately activate each of the plurality of spray painting heads so as to produce a picture motif so as to derive a two-dimensional driving geometry based on the three-dimensional geometry. Shiwa (US 20200171527 A1) describes a surface treatment system for a large object such as an airplane. The system is configured to cause a treatment machine to treat the surface of the object using an end effector at the end of a work arm of a robot. The treatment machine moves relative to the surface of the object thus treating the surface of the object. Best (US 20160130017 A1) describes a low-profile, automated guided vehicle (AGV) performs surface treatments over large areas of a structure having limited access, such as an aircraft underbelly. The AGV includes a movable gantry provided with automated robot. The robot has interchangeable end effectors for carrying out the surface treatments. Travel of the AGV relative to structure is controlled by a ground guidance system. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW whose telephone number is (703)756-1854. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 - 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270 5376. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/ Examiner, Art Unit 3657 /ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 2 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 3 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 4 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 5 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 6 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 8 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 9 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 10 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 11 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 12 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 13 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 14 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 15 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 16 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 17 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 18 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 19 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 20 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 21 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 22 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 23 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 24 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 25 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 26 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 27 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 28 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 29 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 30 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 31 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 32 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 33 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 34 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 35 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 36 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 37 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 38 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 39 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 40 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 41 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 42 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 17/602,720 Page 43 Art Unit: 3657