DETAILED ACTION
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the container (cl 10:15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claims 10,12-14,18, and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “a closed interior…with respect to surrounding are” (cl 10:17-18) is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant.
Correction is required.
Claim(s) 10,12-14,18 and 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN206997235 (English machine translation; short specification) in view of JPH06238247 (English machine translation; short specification).
It should be noted that apparatus claims are examined for its structure rather than the material worked upon. See MPEP 2115.
Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are examined for its recited structure rather than how the apparatus is used or what the apparatus does. MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 10, CN206997235 teaches:
10. (currently amended) A device (CN206997235: portable cleaning machine; figs 1-3) for heating an orthodontic correction device with a known critical temperature (Tkrit) and known glass transition temperature to a temperature that lies above the critical temperature and below the known glass transition temperature, comprising:
a receptacle for the orthodontic correction device (CN206997235: together top cover 13 and movable cylinder 32 that will hold the articles to be washed constitute the receptacle; figs 1-3);
means for heating (CN206997235: heaters are within the fixed cylinders that contain water; figs 1-3); and
a control unit for receiving sensor signals, wherein the receptacle comprises a container and a lid which are mobile and movable relative to each other to define, in a closed position, a closed interior of the correction device with respect to surrounding are (CN206997235: timing switch constitutes the control unit; together top cover 13 and movable cylinder 32 that will hold the articles to be washed constitute the receptacle; figs 1-3),
the receptacle further comprising an integrated control device as the control unit (CN206997235: timing switch an integrated control device; figs 1-3), and wherein the means for heating, a means for cleaning, and at least one energy store are in either the container or the lid (CN206997235: the heater is within the cylinder 37, which is within the container; ultrasonic wave generator 36 is within the cylinder 37; the outlet constitutes the energy store since energy is run through the outlet to power the motor, generators, and movable cylinders; together top cover 13 and movable cylinder 32 that will hold the articles to be washed constitute the receptacle; figs 1-3).
However, CN206997235 does not teach a means for capturing the presence of the orthodontic correction device in the device for heating, said means for capturing comprising a sensor for directly detecting the presence of the orthodontic correction device, wherein the sensor is an optical, acoustic or contact sensor. JPH06238247 teaches an ultrasonic cleaner having an infrared ray emitting sensor for sensing when articles are placed within the cleaner, wherein using the sensor reduces cleaning solution consumption and increase the life of the ultrasonic vibrator/generator. Since CN206997235 and JPH06238247 are analogous with respect to ultrasonic cleaners, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sensor of JPH06238247 into the container or lid of CN206997235 in order to lengthen the life of the ultrasonic generator of CN206997235 and reduce consumption of cleaning solution.
Regarding claim 12, such is taught by CN206997235 since the cylinder of CN206997235 constitutes a frame (CN206997235: figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, such is taught by CN206997235 (CN206997235: heaters are within the fixed cylinders that contain water; figs 1-3
Regarding claim 14, such is taught by CN206997235 (CN206997235; timer switch; figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, such is taught by CN206997235 since the timer switch control the time interval between repeated cleanings (CN206997235: short specification; figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, such is taught by CN206997235 since it is possible for the portable cleaner to be attached to a docking station.
Regarding claim 20, CN206997235 does not teach linking a docking station to an alternating current. Since it is well-known in the cleaner art to link a cleaner to a docking station connected to an alternating current, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to link the docking station of CN206997235 (modified) to an alternating current in order to efficiently power the cleaner.
Regarding claim 21, CN206997235 does not teach a cooling means. Since it is well-known in the cleaner art to cool water within the cleaner in order to reduce color fading of articles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate cooling means into the cleaner of CN206997235 in order to reduce color fading.
Regarding claim 22, such is taught by CN206997235 (CN206997235: short specification; figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 23, such is taught by CN206997235 since the timer switch controls how long the articles are cleaned (CN206997235: short specification; figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 24, such is taught by CN206997235 since the timer switch controls how long the articles are cleaned and turns off the cleaner after a specified time (CN206997235: short specification; figs 1-3).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10,12-14,18, and 19-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN105319111 and CN205120458 teach portable units having ultrasonic cleaning means, control units, heating means, receptables, lids, and energy sources like alternating currents.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744