Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 7/2/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 14-15,17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN 111048693 A, cited previously) in view of Xu (CN 110441956 A, cited previously) and further in view of Cok (US 20080180020 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 1, Peng teaches a quantum dot color film substrate (Fig.1-2), comprising: a substrate; a color filter layer disposed on the substrate 5, wherein the color filter layer 4 comprises a plurality of color filter units (41-43) and a first black photoresist layer (black layer between 41-43); a barrier layer disposed on the color filter layer; a quantum dot layer 1 disposed on the barrier layer, wherein the quantum dot layer comprises a plurality of quantum dot units (11,12,13), a light-transmitting layer (color filter film 13 (light permeable)) disposed on a right side of the plurality of quantum dot units, and a second black photoresist layer (in between 11-13) , and the plurality of quantum dot units are separated by the second black photoresist layer; and an encapsulation layer 3 disposed on the quantum dot layer; wherein projections of the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer on the substrate correspond to the projections of the plurality of color filter units on the substrate in a one-to-one correspondence, and an area of each of the projections of the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer on the substrate is less than an area of each of the projections of the plurality of color filter units on the substrate; wherein the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer are in an inverted trapezoid shape.
Peng does not teach a scattering layer disposed on side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer adjoining the plurality of quantum dot units; and wherein a side surface of the scattering layer overlaps with a side surface of one of the plurality of quantum dot units or a side surface of the light-transmitting layer, and another side surface of the scattering layer overlaps with one of the side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer.
Xu teaches a color film layer wherein a reflection layer 14 disposed on side surfaces of a black photoresist layer (black matrix 12) adjoining the plurality of quantum dot units 13 (quantum dot polymer layer); and wherein a side surface of the reflecting layer overlaps with a side surface of one of the plurality of quantum dot units or a side surface of the light-transmitting layer, and another side surface of the scattering layer overlaps with one of the side surfaces of the black photoresist layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the reflecting material, as disclosed in Xu in the device of Peng in order to enhance the light.
Although Peng in view of Xu teaches a reflecting layer and does not teach a scattering layer, however, scattering material is a reflecting layer that additionally reflects light in all directions and using a scattering property within the reflecting layer of Peng in view of Xu involves routine skill in the art in order to reflect and spread the light in the quantum dot layer.
Peng in view of Xu are silent regarding a material of the scattering layer comprises a matrix and scattering particles dispersed in the matrix.
Cok teaches a coating of a scattering material comprising a matrix and scattering particles dispersed in the matrix ([0043] ,[0044] wherein cross-linking refers to the thermos-setting. Dictionary meaning of thermos-setting in Wikipedia:
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the scattering matrix coating as disclosed in Cok, in the device of Peng in view of Xu in order to achieve enhanced light efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches the matrix comprises a thermosetting resin selected from titanium dioxide ([0043] of Cok), silicon dioxide, organic silicon compounds, polystyrene, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches a quantum dot color film substrate, wherein the side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer adjoining the plurality of quantum dot light-emitting units are inclined surfaces (in Peng).
Regarding claim 3, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches a quantum dot color film substrate, wherein each inclined surface is inclined in a direction away from one of the plurality of quantum dot units adjoining thereto (in Peng).
Regarding claim 14, although Peng in view of Xu and Cok does not teach the specific barrier layer to be made of the inorganic materials as claimed, however it is well known in the art to use such interlayer insulating layers or passivation insulating layers to be made of the claimed materials and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to interchangeably use the claimed material for the barrier layer, in order to provide extra protection towards external elements.
Regarding claim 15, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches the quantum dot layer is composed of quantum dot materials (as quantum dot layer in Peng in view of Xu has to have a material that exhibits quantum dot phenomenon).
Regarding claim 17, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches each of the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer is in a shape of a trapezoidal cone (in Peng).
Regarding claim 19, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches an angle between a tangent line at a midpoint of one of the concave curved surfaces of the second black photoresist
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the range of the acute angle between 40-60 degrees by routine experimentation and simulation, in Peng in view of Xu and Cok in order to simply the manufacturing steps.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Xu and Cok and further in view of Kuo (US 20190237452 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 4, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above but is silent regarding the side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer adjoining the plurality of quantum dot units are concave curved surfaces.
Kuo teaches the shape of the black partition (Fig.1c and [0035]) as concave curved and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the shape, as disclosed in Kuo in the device of Peng in view of Xu and Cok in order to optical display performance.
Claim 7-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230121348 A1, cited previously) in view of Peng, Xu and Cok
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches a quantum dot display device ([0072] and Fig.2,3), comprising: a quantum dot color film substrate (561-565) ; and a backlight substrate OLEDs arranged opposite to the quantum dot color film substrate; wherein the backlight substrate is selected from any of a blue organic light-emitting diode substrate, a blue micro light-emitting diode substrate, or a blue submillimeter light-emitting diode substrate (see in [0073],[0074]) ; and the quantum dot color film substrate comprises: a substrate; a color filter layer disposed on the substrate, wherein the color filter layer comprises a plurality of color filter units (561-563) and a first black photoresist layer 500; a barrier layer 400 disposed on the color filter layer; a quantum dot
a scattering layer disposed on side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer adjoining the plurality of quantum dot units; and an encapsulation layer disposed on the quantum dot
Kim does not teach the orthographic projections of the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer on the substrate correspond to orthographic projections of the plurality of color filter units on the substrate in a one-to-one correspondence, and an area of each of the orthographic projections of the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer on the substrate is less than an area of each of the orthographic projections of the plurality of color filter units on the substrate; wherein the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer are in an inverted trapezoid shape.
Peng teaches a color film substrate (Fig.1-2) wherein: the orthographic projections of the plurality of quantum dot units 11-12 and the light-transmitting layer 13 on the substrate correspond to orthographic projections of the plurality of color filter units 41-43 on the substrate in a one-to-one correspondence, and an area of each of the orthographic projections of the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer on the substrate is less than an area of each of the orthographic projections of the plurality of color filter units on the substrate; wherein the plurality of quantum dot units and the light-transmitting layer are in an inverted trapezoid shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the shapes as disclosed in Peng, in the device of Kim in order to enhance the light utilization efficiency (Abstract of Peng).
Kim in view of Peng does not teach: wherein a side surface of the scattering layer overlaps with a side surface of one of the plurality of quantum dot units or a side surface of the light-transmitting layer, and another side surface of the scattering layer overlaps with one of the side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer.
Xu teaches a color film layer wherein a reflection layer 14 disposed on side surfaces of a black photoresist layer (black matrix 12) adjoining the plurality of quantum dot units 13 (quantum dot polymer layer); and wherein a side surface of the reflecting layer overlaps with a side surface of one of the plurality of quantum dot units or a side surface of the light-transmitting layer, and another side surface of the scattering layer overlaps with one of the side surfaces of the black photoresist layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the reflecting material, as disclosed in Xu in the device of Kim in view of Peng in order to enhance the light.
Although Kim in view of Peng and Xu teaches a reflecting layer and does not teach a scattering layer, however, scattering material is a reflecting layer that additional reflects light in all directions and using a scattering property within the reflecting layer of Kim in view of Peng and Xu involves routine skill in the art in order to reflect and spread the light in the quantum dot layer.
Kim in view of Peng and Xu are silent regarding a material of the scattering layer comprises a matrix and scattering particles dispersed in the matrix.
Cok teaches a coating of a scattering material comprising a matrix and scattering particles dispersed in the matrix ([0043] ,[0044] wherein cross-linking refers to the thermos-setting. Dictionary meaning of thermos-setting in Wikipedia:
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the scattering matrix coating as disclosed in Cok, in the device of Kim in view of Peng and Xu in order to achieve enhanced light efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Peng, Xu and Cok teaches a quantum dot color film substrate, wherein the side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer adjoining the plurality of quantum dot light-emitting units are inclined surfaces (in Peng).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Peng, Xu and Cok teaches a quantum dot color film substrate, wherein each inclined surface is inclined in a direction away from one of the plurality of quantum dot units adjoining thereto (in Peng).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Peng, Xu and Cok teaches the matrix comprises a thermosetting resin selected from titanium dioxide ([0043] of Cok), silicon dioxide, organic silicon compounds, polystyrene, or a combination thereof.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Peng, Xu and Cok and further in view of Kuo (US 20190237452 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Peng, Xu and Cok teaches the invention set forth in claim 7 above but is silent regarding the side surfaces of the second black photoresist layer adjoining the plurality of quantum dot units are concave curved surfaces.
Kuo teaches the shape of the black partition (Fig.1c and [0035]) as concave curved and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the shape, as disclosed in Kuo in the device of Kim in view of Peng , Xu and Cok in order to optical display performance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Xu and Cok further in view of Kuo2 (US 20220310886, hereafter Kuo2, cited previously)
Regarding claim 16, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches the invention set forth in claim 15 above, but is silent regarding the quantum dot materials are silicon quantum dots, germanium quantum dots, cadmium sulfide quantum dots, or cadmium selenide quantum dots.
Kuo teaches the quantum dot materials are silicon quantum dots, germanium quantum dots, cadmium sulfide quantum dots, or cadmium selenide quantum dots ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the material as disclosed in Kuo2, in the device of Peng in view of Xu and Cok in order to achieve improved light conversion functions.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Xu and Cok and further in view of Liao (US 20230039897 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 18, Peng in view of Xu and Cok teaches the invention set forth in claim 6 above, but is silent regarding the scattering particles are titanium dioxide and silicon dioxide, a mixing ratio of the titanium dioxide accounts for 88- 92% by weight, and a mixing ratio of the silicon dioxide accounts for 8-12% by weight.
However, the materials as claimed are already known in the art and the % used is a result effective variable in order to optimize to haze. This is disclosed in Liao in [0036] and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the % by routine experimentation and simulation, in the device of Peng in view of Xu and Cok in order to achieve uniform diffused light with optimized haze value ([0036] in Liao).
Response to arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 7/2/26 is acknowledged and is not found to be persuasive.
The Applicant has made the following 3 arguments:
Peng does not teach a scattering layer.
Examiner respectfully notes that scattering layers are absolutely well known in the art, with an extension/addition of its scattering property in a reflective layer. Cok teaches this feature from rejection of claim 5 that is dependent on claim 1.
Further even more other prior art example is noted below: the second scattering layer 232
Therefore, it is seen that reflective or scattering walls are well known techniques in the art, selected, based on design and need for how much light that is to be scattered or reflected out. Although Kim in view of Peng and Xu teaches a reflecting layer and does not teach a scattering layer, however, scattering material is a reflecting layer that additional reflects light in all directions and using a scattering property within the reflecting layer of Kim in view of Peng and Xu involves routine skill in the art (from Cok in the office action and the prior art example CN 112614957 A shown above) in order to reflect and spread the light in the quantum dot layer.
Applicant further argues that:
The arguments are not found to be persuasive for the following reasons:
Firstly, Examiner notes from Applicant’s drawings show that the 131-133 and 111-113 elements are not the same shape, with respect to checking the orthographic projection as claimed. While 131 is trapezoidal, 111 looks to be rectangular.
Considering the Prior art drawings:
11-13 are the color filters that are wider than the 41-42 quantum dot films, in terms of the orthographic projection (straight lines drawn from each of the ends of top of the elements 11-13).
Further, although the base of the quantum dot layer is wider, however the top of the quantum dot layer is smaller than the color filter above, and further it is well known in the art to use perfectly rectangular quantum dot layers (and not trapezoidal in shape as in the prior art) that fall within the color filter projections.
A prior art teaching a non-trapezoidal and perfectly rectangular quantum dot layer is shown below, wherein the orthographic projection of it is smaller than the color filter as shown and disclosed in the prior art WO 2021143641 A1:
211 is color filter that is wider than the quantum dot layer 224 as claimed, wherein the quantum dot layer is not trapezoidal
The color filter substrate according to claim 5 or 6, wherein the orthographic projection of the first quantum dot structure on the base substrate falls within the orthographic projection of the first filter structure on the base substrate. In the projection, the orthographic projection of the second quantum dot structure on the base substrate falls within the orthographic projection of the second filter structure on the base substrate.
US 20210231990 A1 also discloses the same: color filter that is wider than the quantum dot layer:
in which an orthographic projection of the quantum dot layer 10 on the base substrate 1 is within an orthographic projection of the color filter layer 11 on the base substrate 1; a planarization layer 12 on a side of the first passivation layer 9 away from the base substrate 1 and on a side of the color filter layer 11 away from the base substrate 1; and a metal grid polarizing layer 13 on a side of the planarization layer 12 away from the base substrate 1.
Applicant argues that structure of Cok is completely different from the prior art it is combined with and also that the scattering layer is disposed on the top most layer rather than side surfaces.
The arguments are not found to be persuasive, because Xu already teaches the location as claimed for the reflective layer, and that the reflective layer of Xu does not have the additional ability of scattering using a scattering matrix, wheras Cok is relied upon for this feature. Use of scattering matrices in combination with color filters are also well known and changing the location from Cok to the wall in Xu, are well known techniques. Further even more another art is cited wherein the scattering matrix is in combination of the color filter wherein CN 105204222 A discloses:
the colour resisting block formed between the black unit, the color filter substrate further comprises a scattering matrix arrangement.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875