DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunmead (US 5,942,204) (cited in IDS) in view of Scoggins (US 2018/0358619).
Regarding claim 1, Dunmead teaches Hafnium carbide powder for plasma electrodes, wherein
the hafnium carbide powder is represented by a chemical formula HfCx (where x=0.5 to 1.0) (See col.4, lines 12-20 “The transition metal carbide is a carbide of a transition metal selected from the group consisting of: Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo, and W where the transition metal carbide has a stoichiometry corresponding to the following transition metal carbides: monotungsten carbide (WC), monotitanium carbide (TiC), monotantalum carbide (TaC), monovanadium carbide (VC), monohafnium carbide (HfC), monozirconium carbide (ZrC), mononiobium carbide (NbC), dimolybdenum carbide (Mo2 C) or trichromium dicarbide (Cr3 C2).”), and
a content of carbon particles contained as impurities in the hafnium carbide powder is at least 0.01% by mass and less than 0.05% by mass (See col.4, lines 58-61 “ the amount of free carbon is less than about 0.2 percent, more preferably less than about 0.1 percent and most preferably less than about 0.05 percent by weight of the transition metal carbide.”).
Dunmead does not explicitly teach a content of carbon particles contained as impurities in the hafnium carbide powder is less than or equal to 0.03% by mass, and the carbon particles have particle size of 5 μm to 10 μm.
However, Scoggins teaches in the same field of endeavor of material of electrodes, comprising carbon particles have particle size of 5 μm to 10 μm (See para.[0022] “The carbon materials of the present disclosure can be in the form of hard carbon material or graphitic carbon powders, with a particle size d50 that may be in a range of from 1 to 15 μm in various embodiments. In other embodiments, the particle size d50 may be in a range of from 2 to 10 μm, or in a range of from 3 to 8 μm, or in a range of from 4 to 6 μm, or in other suitable range, as may be advantageous in a given implementation of such carbon materials.”)
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the content of carbon particles contained as impurities in the hafnium carbide powder of Dunmead to be less than or equal to 0.03%, and to modify the carbon particle size to 5 μm to 10 μm as taught by Scoggins, in order to manufacture an electrode with desired material, since the content and the size of carbon particles contained as impurities in the hafnium carbide powder is nothing more than a result effective variable able to be optimized in order to achieve a recognized result, such as to provide a Hafnium carbide powder having desired characteristic, and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, Dunmead teaches the hafnium carbide powder has an average particle size of 0.5 μm to 2 μm (See col.5, lines 1-4 “The particle size of the transition metal carbide, typically, has an average size by number of at most about 1.5 micrometers in diameter. Preferably the average size is at most about 1 micrometer, more preferably at most about 0.8 micrometer and most preferably at most about 0.6 micrometer to at least about 0.05 micrometer, more preferably at least about 0.1 and most preferably at most about 0.2 micrometer in diameter.”).
Regarding claim 12, the modification of Dunmead and Scoggins does not explicitly teach a content of carbon particles contained as impurities in the hafnium carbide powder is less than or equal to 0.02% by mass.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the content of carbon particles contained as impurities in the hafnium carbide powder of Dunmead to be less than or equal to 0.02%, in order to manufacture an electrode with desired material, since the content and the size of carbon particles contained as impurities in the hafnium carbide powder is nothing more than a result effective variable able to be optimized in order to achieve a recognized result, such as to provide a Hafnium carbide powder having desired characteristic, and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. In this case, the remarks do not provide any specific reasons as to why either the findings of fact or the legal conclusion of obviousness is allegedly in error, and merely amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761