DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a) second exit region disposed (i) at end of the second channel and (ii) within and in fluid communication with the first channel (claims 24 and 27), b) wherein the first exit region and the second exit region are aligned with respect to its respective center and are in fluid communication (in combination with the limitations in claim 22), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 24 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
New claims 24 and 27 recite the limitation "wherein the second exit region is disposed (i) at end of the second channel and (ii) within and in fluid communication with the first channel." However, said limitation fails to comply with written description requirement. The instant specification, as originally filed, fails to disclose a second exit region that is disposed (i) at end of the second channel and (ii) within and in fluid communication with the first channel. As such, said limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement. New claim 28 recites the limitation "wherein the first exit region and the second exit region are aligned with respect to its respective center and are in fluid communication." However, said limitation fails to comply with written description requirement. The instant specification, as originally filed, does discloses a device comprising at least two channels of different length and having exit regions. However, the instant specification is silent regarding a device comprising at least two channels of different length and also having exit regions that are aligned. As such, said limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation " wherein the first channel length is longer than the first
channel length" in lines 1-2. However, it is unclear how the first channel length is longer than itself. Further clarification is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 21-22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Chow (US 6,167,910).
Regarding claim 1, Chow discloses a device comprising: two or more stacked layers, the two or more stacked layers including a first layer and a
second layer (FIGS. 1A-1C: substrates (102,104,106)); the first layer including a first fluid path (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a first fluid path; col. 6, ll. 46-48), the first fluid path including a first entry region having a first entry region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (102) includes a fluid entry region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), a first exit region having a first exit region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (102) includes a fluid exit region; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), and a first channel disposed between the first entry region and the first exit region (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a first fluid path between the first entry region and the first exit region; col. 6, ll. 46-48), the first channel having first channel dimensions, the first channel dimensions including a first channel length and a first channel width (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a length and a width; col. 3, ll. 43-52; col. 6, ll. 46-48); the second layer including a second fluid path that is parallel to the first fluid path and is
in fluid communication with the first fluid path (substrate (104) includes grooves defining first channel network (124) having a second fluid path; col. 6, ll. 48-50), the second fluid path including a second entry region having a second entry region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (104) includes a fluid entry region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), a second exit region having a second exit region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (104) includes a fluid exit region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), and a second channel disposed between the second entry region and the second exit
region (substrate (104) includes grooves defining second channel network (124) having a second fluid path between the second entry region and the second exit region; col. 6, ll. 48-50), the second channel having second channel dimensions; the second channel dimensions
including a second channel length and a second channel width (substrate (104) includes grooves defining second channel network (124) having a length and a width; col. 3, ll. 43-52; col. 6, ll. 48-50); wherein one or more of the first channel dimensions and one or more of the second channel dimensions are different (as show in FIG. 1C: first and second channels (122,124) have different length).
Regarding claim 2, Chow further discloses wherein the first entry region and the second entry region are aligned with respect to its respective center and are in fluid communication (FIG. 1C; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22).
Regarding claim 3, Chow further discloses wherein the first exit region and the second
exit region are aligned with respect to its respective center and are in fluid communication (FIG. 1C; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22).
Regarding claim 10, Chow further discloses wherein each layer of the first layer and the second layer includes at least one loading region (i.e., regions in which the first and second entry regions are arranged); the at least one loading region of the first layer is separate from the first fluid path (see FIG. 1C); and the at least one loading region of the second layer is in fluid communication with the second fluid path (see FIG. 1C); and the at least one loading region of the first layer and the at least loading region of the second layer are aligned with respect to its respective centers and are in fluid communication (see FIG. 1C).
Regarding claim 21, Chow further discloses wherein (i) the first channel length is different from the second channel length (as show in FIG. 1C: first and second channels (122,124) have different length).
Regarding claim 22, Chow further discloses wherein the first channel length is longer than the second channel length (see FIG. 1C, channel (122) is longer than channel (124)).
Regarding claim 26, Chow further discloses wherein the first exit region diameter and the second exit region diameter are the same (see FIG. 1C).
Therefore, Chow meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1-3, 10, 21-22 and 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 6-10, Chow discloses the device according to claim 1 as set forth above. Chow does not explicitly disclose a third layer including at least one loading region and/or at least one collection region; wherein the first layer is disposed between the third layer and the second layer; the at least one loading region of the third layer is aligned with the first entry region and the second entry region with respect to its respective centers and are in fluid communication; the third layer includes a third fluid path, the third fluid path including the at least one collection outlet, a third exit region and a third channel disposed therebetween; the third exit region is aligned with the first exit region and the second exit region with respect to its respective centers and are in fluid communication; wherein the at least one loading region of the third layer is separate from the third fluid path of the third layer. However, Chow discloses wherein the first layer including a first fluid path (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a first fluid path; col. 6, ll. 46-48), the first fluid path including a first entry region having a first entry region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (102) includes a fluid entry region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), a first exit region having a first exit region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (102) includes a fluid exit region; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), and a first channel disposed between the first entry region and the first exit region (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a first fluid path between the first entry region and the first exit region; col. 6, ll. 46-48), the first channel having first channel dimensions, the first channel dimensions including a first channel length and a first channel width (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a length and a width; col. 3, ll. 43-52; col. 6, ll. 46-48); the second layer including a second fluid path that is parallel to the first fluid path and is
in fluid communication with the first fluid path (substrate (104) includes grooves defining first channel network (124) having a second fluid path; col. 6, ll. 48-50), the second fluid path including a second entry region having a second entry region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (104) includes a fluid entry region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), a second exit region having a second exit region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (104) includes a fluid exit region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), and a second channel disposed between the second entry region and the second exit
region (substrate (104) includes grooves defining second channel network (124) having a second fluid path between the second entry region and the second exit region; col. 6, ll. 48-50). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicates the layers of Chow, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.). One would have been motivated to duplicate the layers of Chow for the purpose of increasing the throughput of the device.
Regarding claims 29-30, Chow discloses the device according to claim 21 as set forth above. Chow does not explicitly disclose an additional layer, the additional layer including a fluid path, the fluid path including an entry region having an entry region diameter, an exit region having an exit region diameter, and a channel disposed between the entry region and the exit region of the additional layer, the channel of the additional layer having channel dimensions, the channel dimensions of the additional layer including a channel length and a channel width; wherein the second layer is disposed between the first layer and the additional layer; and wherein the one or more of the first channel dimensions, the one or more of the second
channel dimensions, and one or more of the channel dimensions of the additional layer are
different, wherein: the first channel length is longer than the second channel length; and the second channel length is longer than the channel length of the additional layer. However, Chow discloses wherein the first layer including a first fluid path (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a first fluid path; col. 6, ll. 46-48), the first fluid path including a first entry region having a first entry region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (102) includes a fluid entry region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), a first exit region having a first exit region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (102) includes a fluid exit region; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), and a first channel disposed between the first entry region and the first exit region (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a first fluid path between the first entry region and the first exit region; col. 6, ll. 46-48), the first channel having first channel dimensions, the first channel dimensions including a first channel length and a first channel width (substrate (102) includes grooves defining first channel network (122) having a length and a width; col. 3, ll. 43-52; col. 6, ll. 46-48); the second layer including a second fluid path that is parallel to the first fluid path and is
in fluid communication with the first fluid path (substrate (104) includes grooves defining first channel network (124) having a second fluid path; col. 6, ll. 48-50), the second fluid path including a second entry region having a second entry region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (104) includes a fluid entry region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), a second exit region having a second exit region diameter (as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, substrate (104) includes a fluid exit region having a diameter; col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 22), and a second channel disposed between the second entry region and the second exit
region (substrate (104) includes grooves defining second channel network (124) having a second fluid path between the second entry region and the second exit region; col. 6, ll. 48-50). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicates the layers of Chow such that the device comprises an additional layer of different dimension, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.). One would have been motivated to duplicate the layers of Chow for the purpose of increasing the throughput of the device.
Claim(s) 1-5, 21-23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyota (already of record, JP 2013-165093, English machine translation has been provided).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 21-23, Toyota discloses a device comprising: two or more stacked layers, the two or more stacked layers including a first layer and a second layer (see FIGS. 1-4: plates (2a,2b); [0011]-[0013] of the English machine translation document); the first layer including a first fluid path (FIG. 3: cooling plate (2a) includes plates 21,27 having a shallow container shape defining flow paths (31,32); [0013], [0017]), the first fluid path including a first entry region having a first entry region diameter (FIG. 4: 25a; [0017]), a first exit region having a first exit region diameter (FIG. 4: 25b; [0017]), and a first channel disposed between the first entry region and the first exit region, the first channel having first channel dimensions, the first channel dimensions including a first channel length and a first channel width (FIGS. 3 and 4: cooling plate (2a) includes plates 21,27 having a shallow container shape defining flow paths 31,32 having a length, width/height; [0013], [0017]); the second layer including a second fluid path that is parallel to the first fluid path and is in fluid communication with the first fluid path (FIGS. 1-2: cooling plate 2b includes plates 21,27 having a shallow container shape defining flow paths (31,32); [0015]-[0017]), the second fluid path including a second entry region having a second entry region diameter (FIG. 4: 21a; [0017]-[0018]), a second exit region having a second exit region diameter (FIG. 4: 21b; [0017]-[0018]), and a second channel disposed between the second entry region and the second exit region, the second channel having second channel dimensions; the second channel dimensions including a second channel length and a second channel width (FIGS. 1-2: cooling plate (2b) includes plates (21,27) having a shallow container shape defining flow paths (31,32) having a length, width/height; [0015]-[0017]). Toyota does not explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the first channel dimensions and one or more of the second channel dimensions are different; wherein (i) the first channel length is different from the second channel length and/or (ii) the first channel width is different from the second channel width; wherein the first channel length is longer than the second
channel length. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length and width of the first channel and second channel of Toyota to comprise the claimed length and width to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. Furthermore, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of achieving desired fluid flow profile within the device.
Regarding claim 2, Toyota further discloses wherein the first entry region (FIG. 4: 25a) and the second entry region (FIG. 4: 21a) are aligned with respect to its respective center and are in fluid communication (as show in FIG. 4, the inlet (25a) and inlet (21a) are aligned along a common axis and are in fluid communication; see also [0014]-[0015]).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Toyota further discloses wherein the first exit region (FIG. 4: 25b) and the second exit region (FIG. 4: 21b) are aligned with respect to its respective center and are in fluid communication (as show in FIG. 4, the inlet (25b) and inlet (21b) are aligned along a common axis and are in fluid communication; see also [0014]).
Regarding claim 5, Toyota does not explicitly disclose wherein the first entry region diameter and the second entry region diameter are different, and the first entry region diameter is smaller than the second entry region diameter. However, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of achieving desired fluid flow profile within the device.
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyota (already of record, JP 2013-165093, with English machine translation). This is an alternative rejection to the above rejection of claim 1 in view of a different interpretation of the reference of Toyota.
Regarding claim 1, Toyota discloses a device comprising: two or more stacked layers, the two or more stacked layers including a first layer and a second layer (see FIGS. 1-4: plates (2a,2b,c); [0011]-[0013], [0016]); the first layer including a first fluid path (FIGS. 1-2: cooling plate 2b includes plates 21,27 having a shallow container shape defining flow paths (31,32); [0015]-[0017]), the first fluid path including a first entry region having a first entry region diameter (FIG. 4: 21a; [0017]-[0018]), a first exit region having a first exit region diameter (FIG. 4: 21b; [0017]-[0018]), and a first channel disposed between the first entry region and the first exit region, the first channel having first channel dimensions, the first channel dimensions including a first channel length and a first channel width (FIGS. 1-2: cooling plate (2b) includes plates (21,27) having a shallow container shape defining flow paths (31,32) having a length, width/height; [0015]-[0017]); the second layer including a second fluid path that is parallel to the first fluid path and is in fluid communication with the first fluid path (FIG. 3: cooling plate (2a) includes plates 21,27 having a shallow container shape defining flow paths (31,32); [0013], [0017]), the second fluid path including a second entry region having a second entry region diameter(FIG. 4: 25a; [0017]), a second exit region having a second exit region diameter (FIG. 4: 25b; [0017]), and a second channel disposed between the second entry region and the second exit region, the second channel having second channel dimensions; the second channel dimensions including a second channel length and a second channel width (FIGS. 3 and 4: cooling plate (2a) includes plates 21,27 having a shallow container shape defining flow paths 31,32 having a length, width/height; [0013], [0017]). Toyota does not explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the first channel dimensions and one or more of the second channel dimensions are different. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length and width of the first channel and second channel of Toyota to comprise the claimed length and width to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. Furthermore, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of achieving desired fluid flow profile within the device.
Regarding claims 6-9, modified Toyota further discloses wherein the device further comprises a third layer including at least one collection region (FIGS. 1 and 4: layer 2c including an outlet region region); wherein the first layer is disposed between the third layer and the second layer (FIGS. 1 and 4: first layer (2b) is disposed between the third layer (2c) and the second layer (a)). modified Toyota further discloses wherein: the third layer includes a fluid path, the fluid path including the at least one collection outlet, an exit region and a channel disposed therebetween (plate 2c includes an entry port collecting fluids from an adjacent plate, an exit port for discharging fluid to an adjacent plate, and a channel defined by shallow portion within the plate; see FIGS. 1-4; [0013], [0016], [0023]); the exit region of the third layer is aligned with the first exit region and the second exit region with respect to its respective centers and are in fluid communication (FIGS. 1 and 4: outlet ports of layers 2a-2c are aligned along a common axis and are in fluid communication).
Regarding claim 10, modified Toyota further discloses wherein: each layer includes at least one loading region (FIG. 4: layers 2a-2c are in fluid communication via an entry region); the at least one loading region of the first layer is separate from the first fluid path (FIGS. 2 and 4: entry region 21a of layer 2b extends below the fluid path); and the at least one loading region of the second layer is in fluid communication with the second fluid path (see FIG. 4); and the at least one loading region of the first layer and the at least loading region of the second layer are aligned with respect to its respective centers and are in fluid communication (see FIG. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LIBAN M HASSAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7636. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM.
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799