DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 4-10 are currently pending. Claims 2 and 3 are cancelled. The amended claims do not overcome the previously stated 103 rejection. Therefore, upon further consideration, claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under the following 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al (CN 104347842 B, machine translation) in view of Lee et al (KR 10-2019-0019854) using (US 2020/0176753) as an equivalent English translation, and further in view of Sunano et al (US 2017/0346066).
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, and 9, Xia et al discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery (non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery) comprising a negative electrode sheet (negative electrode), a positive electrode sheet (positive electrode), and an electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolyte); wherein the negative electrode sheet comprises a metal current collector (negative electrode core) and a negative electrode active layer (negative electrode mixture layer) coated (provided) on a surface of the metal current collector, wherein the negative electrode active layer is a bilayer consisting essentially of a first negative electrode active layer (second layer) and a second negative electrode active layer (first layer); wherein the first negative electrode active layer (second layer) is directly disposed on the metal current collector and is disposed between the second negative electrode active layer (first layer) and the metal current collector; wherein the second negative electrode active layer (first layer) includes only natural graphite as the negative electrode active material; wherein the first negative electrode active layer (second layer) includes only a silicon-based active material (element to be alloyed with lithium) as the negative electrode active material ([0023],[0072],[0073]).
However, Xia et al does not expressly teach graphite having a BET specific surface area of 0.5 to 2.5 m2/g; and a second layer that includes a binder (claims 1 and 6).
Lee et al discloses a first negative electrode mixture layer (first layer) including graphite having a specific surface area of 2.5 m2/g as the negative electrode active material; and a second negative electrode mixture composition (second layer) including SiO (element to be alloyed with lithium) and styrene butadiene rubber as a binder ([0099],[0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia negative electrode active layer to include graphite having a BET specific surface area of 0.5 to 2.5 m2/g, and a second layer that includes a binder in order to utilize a defined specific surface area that improves the adhesion of the negative electrode sheet and to prevent the degradation of bindability among particles caused by severe swelling of particles after lithium ion intercalation during repeated charge/discharge cycles ([0053],[0065]).
However, Xia et al as modified by Lee et al does not expressly teach a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer that is 1.5 to 5 times a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer (claims 1 and 6).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia/Lee negative electrode sheet to include a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer that is 1.5 to 5 times a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer because it has been held that the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The mass ratio of the binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer to the mass ratio of the binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer is a result effective variable of optimizing the binding between the negative electrode active material and the conductive material and the binding to the current collector. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454. 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed mass ratio of the binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer to the mass ratio of the binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer.
However, Xia et al as modified by Lee et al does not expressly teach a second layer including the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material, wherein said compound includes at least one of: a SiO particle formed of a silicon oxide phase and elemental Si dispersed in the silicon oxide phase; and an LSX particle formed of a lithium silicate phase and elemental Si dispersed in the lithium silicate phase (claims 1 and 6); wherein the second layer includes the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material in a form of particle with a particle size of 4 um to 10 um (claims 7 and 9).
Sunano et al discloses a negative electrode active material particle that includes silicon particles “12” dispersed in a lithium silicate phase “11”, wherein the negative electrode active material particles have an average particle size of 4 to 10 um ([0030],[0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia/Lee negative electrode active layer to include a second layer including the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material, wherein the compound includes an LSX particle formed of a lithium silicate phase and elemental Si dispersed in the lithium silicate phase, wherein the second layer includes the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material in a form of particle with a particle size of 4 um to 10 um in order to provide a negative electrode active material with higher capacity and improved cycle characteristics ([0062]). In addition, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because the disclosure of Sunano indicates that silicon particles dispersed in a lithium silicate phase is a suitable material for use as negative electrode active material. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has generally been held to be prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.07). As such, it would be obvious to use silicon particles dispersed in a lithium silicate phase.
Regarding claim 4, Xia et al does not expressly teach a negative electrode active material included in the second layer that is present in an amount 0.03 to 9.6 times that of a negative electrode active material included in the first layer.
Lee et al also discloses first negative electrode mixture layer and second negative electrode mixture layer that have the same composition, wherein the first negative electrode mixture layer has a thickness of 40 um and the second negative electrode mixture layer has a thickness of 20 um which corresponds to a negative electrode active material (SiO) included in the second layer that is present in
an amount 0.5 times that of the negative electrode active material (graphite) included in
the first layer based upon the ratio of the thickness of the second layer to the thickness
of the first layer ([0099],[0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia negative electrode sheet to include a negative electrode active material included in the second layer that is present in an amount 0.5 times that of a negative electrode active material included in the first layer in order to improve the output and life characteristics of the battery ([0139]-[0142] and Table 2).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Xia et al also discloses a thickness of the silicon-based active material layer (second layer) that is 5 nm to 2 um ([0041]).
However, Xia et al does not expressly teach a second layer that has a thickness of 10 um to 120 um (claims 8 and 10).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia negative electrode sheet to include a second layer that has a thickness of 10 um to 120 um because changes in size was held to have been obvious (In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)). An increase in the thickness of the silicon-based active material layer would necessarily result in a higher capacity battery due to the increase in the amount of silicon-based active material. There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed thickness of the second layer.
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al (CN 104347842 B, machine translation) in view of Lee et al (KR 10-2019-0019854) using (US 2020/0176753) as an equivalent English translation, and Sunano et al (US 2017/0346066), and further in view of Lin et al (US 2019/0267664).
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, and 9, Xia et al discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery (non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery) comprising a negative electrode sheet (negative electrode), a positive electrode sheet (positive electrode), and an electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolyte); wherein the negative electrode sheet comprises a metal current collector (negative electrode core) and a negative electrode active layer (negative electrode mixture layer) coated (provided) on a surface of the metal current collector, wherein the negative electrode active layer is a bilayer consisting essentially of a first negative electrode active layer (second layer) and a second negative electrode active layer (first layer); wherein the first negative electrode active layer (second layer) is directly disposed on the metal current collector and is disposed between the second negative electrode active layer (first layer) and the metal current collector; wherein the second negative electrode active layer (first layer) includes only natural graphite as the negative electrode active material; wherein the first negative electrode active layer (second layer) includes only a silicon-based active material (element to be alloyed with lithium) as the negative electrode active material ([0023],[0072],[0073]).
However, Xia et al does not expressly teach graphite having a BET specific surface area of 0.5 to 2.5 m2/g; and a second layer that includes a binder (claims 1 and 6).
Lee et al discloses a first negative electrode mixture layer (first layer) including graphite having a specific surface area of 2.5 m2/g as the negative electrode active material; and a second negative electrode mixture composition (second layer) including SiO (element to be alloyed with lithium) and styrene butadiene rubber as a binder ([0099],[0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia negative electrode active layer to include graphite having a BET specific surface area of 0.5 to 2.5 m2/g, and a second layer that includes a binder in order to utilize a defined specific surface area that improves the adhesion of the negative electrode sheet and to prevent the degradation of bindability among particles caused by severe swelling of particles after lithium ion intercalation during repeated charge/discharge cycles ([0053],[0065]).
However, Xia et al as modified by Lee et al does not expressly teach a second layer including the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material, wherein said compound includes at least one of: a SiO particle formed of a silicon oxide phase and elemental Si dispersed in the silicon oxide phase; and an LSX particle formed of a lithium silicate phase and elemental Si dispersed in the lithium silicate phase (claims 1 and 6); wherein the second layer includes the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material in a form of particle with a particle size of 4 um to 10 um (claims 7 and 9).
Sunano et al discloses a negative electrode active material particle that includes silicon particles “12” dispersed in a lithium silicate phase “11”, wherein the negative electrode active material particles have an average particle size of 4 to 10 um ([0030],[0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia/Lee negative electrode active layer to include a second layer including the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material, wherein the compound includes an LSX particle formed of a lithium silicate phase and elemental Si dispersed in the lithium silicate phase, wherein the second layer includes the compound containing the element to be alloyed with lithium as the negative electrode active material in a form of particle with a particle size of 4 um to 10 um in order to provide a negative electrode active material with higher capacity and improved cycle characteristics ([0062]). In addition, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because the disclosure of Sunano indicates that silicon particles dispersed in a lithium silicate phase is a suitable material for use as negative electrode active material. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has generally been held to be prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.07). As such, it would be obvious to use silicon particles dispersed in a lithium silicate phase.
However, Xia et al as modified by Lee et al and Sunano et al does not expressly teach a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer that is 1.5 to 5 times a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer (claims 1 and 6).
Lin et al discloses a mass content of binder of a first active material layer (second layer) that is 2.8 wt% and a mass content of binder of a second active material layer (first layer) that is 0.8 wt% which corresponds to a mass ratio of the binder to the active material in the first active material layer (second layer) that is 3.5 times a mass ratio of the binder to the active material in the second active material layer (first layer) (Table 1, Example 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia/Lee negative electrode sheet to include a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer that is 3.5 times a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer in order to further improve the bonding (adhesion) of the second layer to the current collector ([0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Xia et al does not expressly teach a negative electrode active material included in the second layer that is present in an amount 0.03 to 9.6 times that of a negative electrode active material included in the first layer.
Lee et al also discloses first negative electrode mixture layer and second negative electrode mixture layer that have the same composition, wherein the first negative electrode mixture layer has a thickness of 40 um and the second negative electrode mixture layer has a thickness of 20 um which corresponds to a negative electrode active material (SiO) included in the second layer that is present in
an amount 0.5 times that of the negative electrode active material (graphite) included in
the first layer based upon the ratio of the thickness of the second layer to the thickness
of the first layer ([0099],[0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia negative electrode sheet to include a negative electrode active material included in the second layer that is present in an amount 0.5 times that of a negative electrode active material included in the first layer in order to improve the output and life characteristics of the battery ([0139]-[0142] and Table 2).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Xia et al also discloses a thickness of the silicon-based active material layer (second layer) that is 5 nm to 2 um ([0041]).
However, Xia et al does not expressly teach a second layer that has a thickness of 10 um to 120 um (claims 8 and 10).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Xia negative electrode sheet to include a second layer that has a thickness of 10 um to 120 um because changes in size was held to have been obvious (In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)). An increase in the thickness of the silicon-based active material layer would necessarily result in a higher capacity battery due to the increase in the amount of silicon-based active material. There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed thickness of the second layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “As evidenced per paragraphs [0045] to [0068], the experimental data summarized in Tables 1 and 2 (paragraphs [0065] and [0066]) of the present application demonstrates the technical significance of the missing aspect (c) (by contrasting Comparative Example 1 VS. Examples 7-11) wherein the B/A ratio has been amended to be commensurate in scope with the provided evidence in the specification (i.e. 1.5 to 5). As seen therein, the capacity maintenance rate improves significantly”.
In response, according to para. [0071] of the specification for Comparative Example 1, “A negative electrode … were produced in the same manner as in Example 1 expect that a graphite having a BET specific surface area of 3.5 m2/g was used instead of the graphite having a BET specific surface area of 1.0 m2/g as the negative electrode active material in the upper layer”. In addition, according to para. [0072] of the specification for Example 7, “A negative electrode … were produced in the same manner as in Example 1 expect that the amount of the binder (CMC and SBR) added was 3 mass% and the mass ratio of the CMC and SBR was 2:1 in the preparation of the second negative electrode mixture slurry”. So, contrasting Comparative Example 1 and Example 7, there are differences in BET specific surface area of graphite and mass ratio of CMC to SBR in the second negative electrode mixture slurry in addition to the difference in B/A ratio (mass ratio of the binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer to mass ratio of the binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer). Based upon the data presented in Tables 1 and 2, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine whether the improvements in Capacity Maintenance Rate is due to the difference in B/A ratio or due to the differences in BET surface area of graphite and mass ratio of CMC to SBR in the second negative electrode mixture slurry. Therefore, the Office maintains the contention that “a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the second layer that is 1.5 to 5 times a mass ratio of binder to the negative electrode active material in the first layer” is a result effective variable of optimizing the amount of binder in the first layer and the amount of binder in the second layer to improve the binding between the negative electrode active material and the conductive material and the binding to the current collector.
Conclusion
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 7/14/2026