DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 30th June, 2025.
Claims 3-6 and 18-20 have been cancelled; Claim 10 and 14 have been amended; therefore, claims 1-2 and 7-17 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
The drawing objections have been withdrawn.
The objections to claims 3 and 18 have been withdrawn.
The rejections to claims 3-6 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 16-20, filed on 30th June 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rickman is stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickman et al. (US 20200333246 A1, hereinafter “Rickman”), modified in view of Dakin et al. (US 20130083389 A1, hereinafter “Dakin”), in view of Hosseini et al. (US 20220011409 A1, hereinafter “Hosseini”).
Regarding claim 1, Rickman teaches a photonic integrated circuit for a three-dimensional laser Doppler vibrometer, the PIC comprising:
a phase-amplitude modulator array coupled to a transmitting array, n is more than three to generate, from the measurement signal, n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different direction (Rickman; Fig. 1, [0048], a number of lasers (with tunable wavelengths 110) enter a 1xm splitter 120. The 1xm splitter 120 connect to m encoder and to 2D scanner 150 (m set of 2D scanners as shown in figure which is more than 3), The output beam generated by each scanner can be steered in different directions by tuning the phase and/or amplitude (amplitude modulator array 315 and phase modulator array 320, [0053], [0055], Fig. 3), of the emitters inside each scanner and wavelength;) n being a natural number greater than or equal to three (Rickman; Fig. 10, [0072], shows three different beams from a 2D scanner at a specific wavelength and Ө and ⱷ);
a receiving array comprising m receiving antennas, each receiving antenna being configured to receive a reflection signal from a different receiving direction, each reflection signal being indicative of one or more of the output signals having been reflected at the single target location (Rickman; Fig. 14, two receivers 1410, 1415 can be located relative orthogonal to each other to create spatial selectivity on the receive path, to increase the effective FOV);
Rickman does not explicitly teach each beam has different wavelengths, however, in paragraph [0076], Fig. 14, different embodiment teaches two different wavelengths (1420, 1425) in two different direction can be achieved. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a two different wavelengths beams emission taught by Rickman to increase the number of beams (each beams has different wavelengths) emission such as more than three beams because two different wavelengths beams has been demonstrated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment still taught by Rickman with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to provide multiple beams with different wavelengths and different directions to increase the steering ability of the LiDAR system and increase the FOV (Rickman; [0076]).
However, Rickman modified with different embodiment of itself, still not teach,
a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal;
a receiving array comprising m receiving antennas, m being a natural number greater than or equal to three.
for each receiving antenna, a mixer connected thereto to mix the reference signal with the received reflected signal; and
for each mixer, at least one photo-diode connected thereto to generate a photo- current signal from the mixed signal.
Dakin teaches,
a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal (Dakin; Fig. 1, a laser beam is split toward direction 120 (for output signal through the optical element (includes mirror 118) to the target, [0033]), and 126 (reference light toward optical coupler [0031]));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to provide a reference signal for combining with reflected light from the target (have the same polarization and occupy the same space is combined in optical coupler 112). The combined signal then go to detector 114 and processer 116 for further signal processing (Dakin; [0031], [0034]).
Nevertheless, Rickman modified with different embodiment of itself and in view of Dakin, still not teach,
a receiving array comprising m receiving antennas, m being a natural number greater than or equal to three.
for each receiving antenna, a mixer connected thereto to mix the reference signal with the received reflected signal; and
for each mixer, at least one photo-diode connected thereto to generate a photo- current signal from the mixed signal.
Hosseini teaches,
a receiving array comprising m receiving antennas, m being a natural number greater than or equal to three (Hosseini; [0034], the LiDAR transceiver 501 has optical antenna sends and receives light from a different angle; Fig. 1, several antenna forms antenna array, coherent pixel 105; [0026], the optical switch network selects one or more of the M (M is greater than 3 as shown in figure) coherent pixels (with antennas inside [0025]) to send and receive the light for ranging and detection);
for each receiving antenna, a mixer connected thereto to mix the reference signal with the received reflected signal (Hosseini; Figs. 2, show four version of coherent pixels; [0027], line 24, the received signal 204 mixed with reference signal 206 by an optical mixer); and
for each mixer, at least one photo-diode connected thereto to generate a photo-current signal from the mixed signal (Hosseini; Figs. 2, [0027], line 27, then a pair of photo-diodes (PDs) 207 convert the optical signals into electrical signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, include receiver antennas to receive signal from different direction and with mixer for each receiver antenna to mix the reference signal with reflected signal and photo-diode to generate a photo-current signal from the mixed signal taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to send output signal and receive the reflected signal in different direction (more than three receiver arrays), then compared the reflected signal with reference signal by mixer (for each receiver antenna). Finally, using a pair photo-diode to convert the optical signals into electrical signals for ranging and detection (Hosseini; [0026],[0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 1.
Rickman did not teach, wherein the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line, k being a natural number greater than or equal to three.
Hosseini teaches, wherein the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line, k being a natural number greater than or equal to three (Hosseini; Fig. 5a, [0035], the coherent pixel cells 504 including optical antenna 505 are arranged in a linear array).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, include transmitting array antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing transmitting array antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line such that the selected antennas transmit the light into free space and receive the returned optical signals passively (Hosseini; [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 1.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned in a two-dimensional array, k being a natural number greater than or equal to four.
Hosseini teaches, wherein the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned in a two-dimensional array, k being a natural number greater than or equal to four (Hosseini; Fig. 5a, [0035], the coherent pixel cells 504 including optical antenna 505 (more than 4) may have some other arrangement (e.g., two-dimensional, rectangular, etc)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, include the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned in a two-dimensional array, k being a natural number greater than or equal to four taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned in a two-dimensional array, k being a natural number greater than or equal to four is because a two-dimensional arrangement may be used to emit a plurality of transmitted signals from the plurality of antennas, such that the plurality of transmitted signals scan in two dimensions a portion of a field of view of a scanner module (Hosseini; [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 7.
Rickman does not teach, wherein m is equal to n and the transmitting antennas are identical to the receiving antennas.
Hossein teaches, wherein m is equal to n and the transmitting antennas are identical to the receiving antennas (Hosseini; Fig. 5a, transceiver 501 including plurality of antennas 505. [0034], line 13, each optical antenna sends and receives light from a different angle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, to include wherein m is equal to n and the transmitting antennas are identical to the receiving antennas taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein m is equal to n and the transmitting antennas are identical to the receiving antennas is that each optical antenna sends and receives light from a different angle. Therefore, by switching to different antennas, a discrete optical beam scanning is achieved (Hosseini; [0034])
Regarding claim 9, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 7.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the receiving antennas and the transmitting antennas are formed by one or more grating couplers.
Hosseini teaches, wherein the receiving antennas and the transmitting antennas are formed by one or more grating couplers (Hosseini; [0027], line 10, the optical antenna is a device that emits light from on-chip waveguides into free space or couples light from free space into on-chip waveguides, such as a grating coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, include wherein the receiving antennas and the transmitting antennas are formed by one or more grating couplers taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the receiving antennas and the transmitting antennas are formed by one or more grating couplers is that the optical antenna is a device that emits light from on-chip waveguides into free space or couples light from free space into on-chip waveguide using a grating coupler, an edge coupler, an integrated reflector or any spot-size converters (Hosseini; [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 1.
Rickman does not teach, wherein in m is equal to n and each receiving direction is the inverse of a corresponding output signal direction.
Hosseini teaches, wherein in m is equal to n and each receiving direction is the inverse of the corresponding output signal direction (Hosseini; Fig. 5a, transceiver 501 including plurality of antennas 505; [0034], each optical antenna sends and receives light from a different angle. This means the output signal (sends out signal) and receiving signal (receivers light) is in opposite directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, to include wherein in m is equal to n and each receiving direction is the inverse of a corresponding output signal direction taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein in m is equal to n and each receiving direction is the inverse of a corresponding output signal direction is that using transceiver to both sends and receives light from the different angle of target such that switch to different antennas, a discrete optical beam scanning is achieved (Hosseini; Fig. 5, transceiver 501 including plurality of antennas 505; [0034]). Since the transceiver is for both sending and receiving light from the target, the receiving direction is the inverse of corresponding output signal direction.
Regarding claim 11, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 1.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the photo-diodes are balanced photo-diodes.
Hosseini teaches, wherein the photo-diodes are balanced photo-diodes (Hosseini; [0027], line 30, a pair of photo-diode (PDs) 207 is referred to as the balanced photo-diode (BPD)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, to include wherein the photo-diodes are balanced photo-diodes taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the photo-diodes are balanced photo-diodes is to use balanced photo-diode to convert the optical signals into electrical signals for further processing (Hosseini; [0026], [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 1.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the PIC further comprises an input to provide an external laser beam to the PIC.
Hosseini teaches, wherein the PIC further comprises an input to provide an external laser beam to the PIC (Hosseini; Fig. 1, [0028], line 5, Each subarray 100 includes an optical input/output (I/O) port which is fed by a frequency-modulated light source provided by an off-chip laser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, to include wherein the PIC further comprises an input means to provide an external laser beam to the PIC by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the PIC further comprises an input to provide an external laser beam to the PIC is using input/output I/O port to couple a frequency-modulated light source provided by an off-chip laser (Hosseini; [0028]).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickman, modified in view of Dakin, in view of Hosseini, in view of Dumais (US 20170010414 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 12.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the input comprises a grating coupler and an edge coupler.
Dumais teaches, wherein the input comprises a grating coupler and an edge coupler (Dumais; [0002], the disclosure includes a PIC comprising a plurality of input edge couplers and a plurality of input surface grating couplers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, to include wherein the PIC further comprises an input means to provide an external laser beam to the PIC by Hosseini and further include wherein the input comprises a grating coupler and an edge coupler taught by Dumais with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the input comprises a grating coupler and an edge coupler is that by providing both grading coupler and edge coupler allow for a PIC to couple to a fiber at both the wafer edge and the wafer surface, thus providing an increased number of fiber inputs and outputs (Dumais; [0020]).
Claim(s) 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickman, modified in view of Dakin, in view of Hosseini, in view of further modified in view of Ohtomo (“Three-channel three-dimensional self-mixing thin-slice solid-state laser-Doppler measurements”, January 2009, Vol. 48, No. 3, Applied Optics, Optical Society of America).
Regarding claim 14, Rickman teaches three-dimensional laser Doppler vibrometer comprising;
a laser source to generate a laser beam (Rickman; Fig. 1, [0034], a plurality of lasers may be used to allow the use of different wavelengths. Switches can be used to switch between lasers having a different wavelength, in order to select one or more wavelengths to be used. The system may switch ON one laser and OFF the remaining lasers, allowing the beam from that laser to enter the waveguides towards the phased array scanner; equivalent to one laser source to generate a laser beam).
The PIC according to claim 1, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 1 (please see mapping of claim above), wherein the PlC is coupled to the laser source (Rickman; [0047], all the optical components can be fabricated on a single die with or without laser)) ;
an optical mirror system configured to focus the n output signals on the single target location and to focus the reflection signals from the single target location to the PIC (Dakin; Fig. 1, [0031], guide 122 provides a path for output light through the optical element 118 (mirror) and for scattered light received through the optical element 118); and
Rickman does not teach,
a demodulator to determine the instantaneous velocity and direction of the single target location from the photo-current signals
Ohtomo teaches,
a demodulator to determine the instantaneous velocity and direction of the single target location from the photo-current signals (Ohtomo; page 612, right column, paragraph 2, virtual particle observed from different directions which was captured by FM demodulator. The output voltage from each channel of the FM demodulator is proportional to the instantaneous velocity of a single virtual particle within the limited field of vision along the axis of each access beam. The displacement of a virtual particle along each direction is shown in Fig. 7. 3D movement of the virtual particle in the crossed beam-focus in shown in Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal and optical mirror system taught by Dakin, include receiver antennas to receive signal from different direction and with mixer for each receiver antenna to mix the reference signal with reflected signal and photo-diode to generate a photo-current signal from the mixed signal taught by Hosseini and further include a demodulator to determine the instantaneous velocity and direction of the single target location from the photo-current signals taught by Ohtomo with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing a demodulator to determine the instantaneous velocity and direction of the single target location from the photo-current signals such that velocity and direction of motion can be observed (Ohtomo; Fig. 7, Fig. 8, page 612, right column, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 17, Rickman as modified above teaches the 3D LDV recited in claim 14.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line, k being a natural number greater than or equal to three.
Hosseini teaches, wherein the transmitting array comprises k transmitting antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line, k being a natural number greater than or equal to three (Hosseini; Fig. 5a, [0035], the coherent pixel cells 504 including optical antenna 505 are arranged in a linear array).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal and optical mirror system taught by Dakin, include receiver antennas to receive signal from different direction and with mixer for each receiver antenna to mix the reference signal with reflected signal and photo-diode to generate a photo-current signal from the mixed signal taught by Hosseini, include a demodulator to determine the instantaneous velocity and direction of the single target location from the photo-current signals taught by Ohtomo and further include transmitting array antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line taught by Hosseini with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing transmitting array antennas positioned adjacent one another along a substantially straight line such that the selected antennas transmit the light into free space and receive the returned optical signals passively (Hosseini; [0028]).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rickman, modified in view of Dakin, in view of Hosseini, in view of Dumais, in view of Fard (US 20210208347 A1, hereinafter “Fard”).
Regarding claim 15, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 13.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the edge coupler comprises a taper.
Fard teaches, wherein the edge coupler comprises a taper (Fard; Fig. 4, [0019], the edge coupler 325 includes a tapered waveguide 323).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, to include wherein the PIC further comprises an input means to provide an external laser beam to the PIC by Hosseini and further include wherein the input comprises a grating coupler and an edge coupler taught by Dumais and further include wherein the edge coupler comprises a taper taught by Fard with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the edge coupler comprises a taper is to connect different optical components with different dimension of the optical components (Fard; Fig. 4, [0019]; edge coupler 325 include tapered waveguide 325 that communicates the light from the optical waveguide 340 to port A of the splitter section 330).
Regarding claim 16, Rickman as modified above teaches the PIC recited in claim 13.
Rickman does not teach, wherein the edge coupler comprises an inverted taper.
Fard teaches, wherein the edge coupler comprises an inverted taper (Fard; Fig. 4, [0019], the edge coupler 325 includes an inverse tapered waveguide 323; claim 16, inverse taper waveguide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the PIC taught by Rickman to include n output signals to be directed to a single target location and to output the n output signals from substantially a single location, each output signal having a different carrier frequency from different embodiment of Rickman, include a splitter to split a laser beam into a measurement signal and a reference signal taught by Dakin, to include wherein the PIC further comprises an input means to provide an external laser beam to the PIC by Hosseini and further include wherein the input comprises a grating coupler and an edge coupler taught by Dumais and further include wherein the edge coupler comprises an inverted taper taught by Fard with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the edge coupler comprises an inverted taper is to connect different optical components with different dimension of the optical components (Fard; Fig. 4, [0019]; edge coupler 325 include an inverse tapered waveguide 325 that communicates the light from the optical waveguide 340 to port A of the splitter section 330; claim 16, inverse taper waveguide).
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645