DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the primary and secondary windings intended by “responsive to the secondary winding being open and while current is applied to the primary winding, magnetizing flux in the transformer is primary contained in the first core, with the second core being at least partially excited.” It is still unclear what applicant is trying to claim, as amended.
Regarding claim 7, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the primary and secondary windings intended by “responsive to the primary winding being open and while current is applied to the secondary winding, the first core is excited and the second core experiences substantially zero excitation”. It is still unclear what applicant is trying to claim, as amended.
Regarding claim 8, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the primary and secondary windings intended by “responsive to the secondary winding being shorted circuited and while current is applied to the primary winding, magnetizing flux within the first core is substantially eliminated, and leakage flux within the second core and associated with the primary winding are retained.” It is still unclear what applicant is trying to claim, as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 18, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick [US 5,083,101] in view of applicant’s specification [AAPA para 0047] or Kapoor et al. [WO2013/156397 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 4-5, Frederick discloses a transformer [or inductor 22], having a magnetic core structure, comprising:
- an inner core [32] having a material with a first permeability;
- an outer core [28] having a material with a second permeability;
- a first/primary coil [38, figure 2] wound on both inner and outer cores; and
- a secondary coil [36, figure 2] wound on the outer core, wherein the first permeability less than the second permeability.
Frederick discloses the instant claimed invention except for the specific material for the inner and outer core.
AAPA discloses MANC, a known material uses in magnetic core inductor and/or transformer application.
Kapoor et al. discloses a magnetic core structure for a transformer [figure 14], the magnetic core structure [17] comprising a first core [outer core 17b] and a second core [inner core 17a], wherein the first and second outer cores formed of nano soft magnetic materials having different permeability with the inner core permeability lower than that of the outer core.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use MANC material for the cores of Frederick, as suggested by AAPA or Kapoor et al., for the purpose of controlling and/or achieving magnetic flux/field.
The structure of Frederick and AAPA or Kapoor et al. with the magnetic core structure and coils would provide leakage inductance.
Regarding claim 2, Frederick further discloses the inner and outer cores are ungapped cores. AAPA and/or Kapoor et al. discloses the use of soft magnetic materials.
Regarding claim 3, Frederick discloses the inner core having a permeability number of 70.
Regarding claims 6-8, as best understood in view of the rejections under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, Frederick in view of AAPA or Kapoor et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specifics responsive to the winding(s) being open/short-circuited while current is applied to the primary/secondary windings.
The specific responsive to the windings being open/short-circuited while current is applied to the primary/secondary windings would have been obvious design consideration based on the intended applications/environments uses for the purpose of providing different desired magnetic fluxes/fields and/or excitations.
Regarding claim 18, Frederick and/or Kapoor et al. both discloses different soft magnetic material for the inner and outer cores. The specific different MANC materials used for the magnetic cores would have been an obvious design consideration based on the specific intended applications and/or environments uses.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fredick in view of AAPA or Kapoor et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miaosen [EP 3024002 A1].
Regarding claim 9, Frederick in view of AAPA or Kapoor et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a third core.
Miaosen discloses a magnetic core structure for a magnetic device [figure 3], comprising:
- a first core [130];
- a second core [116] arranged inside the first core;
- a third core [132] arrange outside of the first core; and
- at least one coil [124] wound about the magnetic core structure, wherein the first, second, third cores have different magnetic permeabilities.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a third core in the magnetic core structure of Frederick in view of AAPA or Kapoor et al., as suggested by Miaosen, for the purpose of improving and/or maximizing flux distribution and maintaining constant reluctance.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the specific use of the first, second, third cores are leakage and/or magnetizing cores would have been an obvious design consideration based on the intended applications and/or environments uses.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole [US 1,765,483] in view of applicant’s specification [AAPA para 0047] or Kapoor et al.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 15, Cole discloses a magnetic core structure for a transformer [figures 1-5] comprising:
- a first core [1];
- a second core [1];
- a third core [2], wherein the first, second and third cores are ungapped [figure 5]; and
- a plurality of coils [3, 4] wound about the magnetic core structure, wherein the third core disposed between the first core and the second core with the first core arranged on one side of the third core and the second core arranged on the other side of the third core opposite to the first core.
Cole discloses the instant claimed invention except for the specific material and permeability.
AAPA discloses MANC, a known material uses in magnetic core inductor and/or transformer application.
Kapoor et al. discloses a magnetic core structure for a transformer [figure 14], the magnetic core structure [17] comprising a first core [outer core 17b] and a second core [inner core 17a], wherein the first and second outer cores formed of nano soft magnetic materials having different permeability with the inner core permeability lower than that of the outer core.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use MANC material for the cores of Frederick, as suggested by AAPA and Kapoor et al., for the purpose of controlling and/or achieving magnetic flux/field.
The structure of Frederick and AAPA or Kapoor et al. with the magnetic core structure and coils would provide leakage inductance.
Regarding claim 16, the specific use of the first, second and third cores are leakage and magnetizing cores would have been an obvious for the purpose of improving leakage.
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick in view of AAPA and Kapoor et al. Miaosen as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Miljanic [US 3,534,247].
Frederick, as modified, discloses the instant claimed invention except for a tertiary coil.
Miljanic discloses a transformer [figure 3] comprising:
- a magnetic core including a first core [20a] and a second core [2a1];
- a primary coil [22] wound about the magnetic core structure;
- a secondary coil [23] wound about the magnetic core structure; and
- a tertiary/auxiliary coil [40] wound about the magnetic core structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a tertiary/auxiliary coil in Frederick, as modified, as suggested by Miljanic, for the purpose of providing auxiliary control of the transformer.
The specific arrangement of the coils relative to the cores would have been obvious design consideration based on the intended applications and/or environments uses for the purpose of controlling magnetic flux/field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 14-16 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837