DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the application
Receipt of applicant’s remarks and claim amendments filed on 07/27/2026 are acknowledged.
In light of claim amendments, previous Claim Objections and 112(d) rejection are withdrawn.
With regard to 103 rejection, to address applicants arguments, the rejection is modified and further clarified with additional support of evidence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccone (US 2009/0081186 A1) in light of He (Experimental and Therapeutic Medicine, 2016, 12, 3375-3380).
For claim 1:
Saccone teaches a method of treating pancreatitis in a subject a therapeutically effective amount of a Galanin antagonist and/or a Galanin receptor antagonist, wherein Galanin antagonist and Galanin receptor antagonist (GalR) is M40 [see abstract, 0092-0093 and 0113].
Applicants specification defined “fibrotic disorders” and provided ‘chronic pancreatitis’ and ‘liver fibrosis’ as examples [see 0072]. Dependent claims 22-23 defined liver disease is liver fibrosis. Accordingly, treating pancreatitis of Saccone reads applicants claimed method of treating a liver disease.
Further, Saccone teaches that their invention provides a method of preventing and/or treating pancreatitis in a subject by administering therapeutically effective amount of a Galanin antagonist and/or a Galanin receptor antagonist [see 0011].
Differences is that Saccone is silent on exemplifying M40 for treating liver diseases.
This difference can be cured by the following reasoning:
Saccone provided enough guidance on M40 and its utility. So, it is obvious to extrapolate teachings of Saccone to treat liver diseases by administering applicants elected M40, since liver disease is part of pancreatitis, according to applicants definition for “fibrotic disorders”, which includes liver fibrosis and pancreatitis.
He teaches that galanin inhibits hepatic stellate cells activation and suppresses the profibrogenic features of these cells, and these effects might be medicated by GalR2. Thus galanin is a potential endogenous factor in the inhibition of liver fibrosis.
A combination of prior art references is only proper if a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, faced with the same problem, would have been motivated to combine their teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Here, the technical fields and problems addressed by the references are not distinct from that of the present claimed invention.
For claims 2-3:
Saccone teaches the subject in their method is human [see 0035].
For claims 4-6:
Various methods of diagnosis of liver fibrosis are well known in the art. For example, these diseases can be diagnosed through a combination of physical exam, blood tests, including liver function test etc.
Similarly, risk of developing liver fibrosis are also known. For example, drinking too much alcohol, obesity, diabetes or high cholesterol can cause fatty liver disease etc.
Based on the above symptoms, a person can be identified for treating liver diseases or liver fibrosis
The limitations in claims 4-6 are trivial and do not add any weight to the claimed subject matter.
For claim 9-10:
Saccone teaches that their effective amount is therapeutically effective amount [see 0011] and prophylactic [see 0074].
For claim 25:
Saccone teaches a pharmaceutical composition for the active ingredients for treating pancreatitis [see title, 0002, 0013 and 0026].
For claims 26-27:
Saccone teaches that suitable dose regimen of the antagonist to treat pancreatitis may be intravenously, subcutaneously, intramuscularly or oral etc. [see 0146, 0152].
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components and their utility, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to combine the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Conclusion
SUDHAKAR KATAKAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658