DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
All of the claims are drawn to a flossing device with a flat central portion having at least one through hole and a series of grooves to keep the dental floss fixed or allow its removal from a support region of the flossing device (see claims 1, 28, and 31).
The foreign priority document ESU 201930628 does not provide support for this flat central portion with at least one through hole nor for a releasable coupler, so the pending claims do not receive the priority filing date of 4/18/2019.
The foreign priority document ESU 201931421 does not provide support for a releasable coupler as set forth in the only independent claim, so the pending claims do not receive the priority filing date of 8/29/2019.
The foreign priority document ESU 201930644 has an effective filing date of 4/15/2020 and is the only cited priority document that provides support for these features as set forth in the pending claims. The earliest effective filing date for the pending claims is 4/15/2020.
Drawings
The new drawings were received on 5/20/26. These drawings are objected to.
The drawings is/are (remain) objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “central portion having a flat surface that includes at least one through hole; wherein the support regions protrude perpendicular relative to the central portion; the two support regions being provided with a groove that holds the dental floss fixed….by press fitting” of claim 1 (currently the embodiment of Figures 1-3 are the only embodiment that illustrates the “support regions protrude perpendicular relative to the central portion”, but this embodiment does not have a “groove” nor “at least one through hole” in the flat central portion; the through-hole and releasable coupling system are only illustrated in the embodiment of Figures 4-8, but the support regions in that embodiment are curved outward and do not extend perpendicular to the central portion, it appears applicant is combining embodiments in the claims without drawing support), the releasable coupling system having “a plurality of grooves arranged in a cross shape” of claim 11, “a safety vent” and “two support regions extending perpendicularly from the central portion” of claim 28 (currently the embodiment of Figures 1-3 are the only embodiment that illustrates the “support regions protrude perpendicular relative to the central portion”, but this embodiment does not have “a safety vent” in the flat central portion; the through-hole and releasable coupling system are only illustrated in the embodiment of Figures 4-8, but the support regions in that embodiment are curved outward and do not extend perpendicular to the central portion, it appears applicant is combining embodiments in the claims without drawing support), “releasable coupling system having grooves” of claim 31 in combination with the perpendicular feature required by claim 28 (as discussed above, applicant is still attempting to combine embodiments in the claims without drawing support) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Applicant argues that new Figure 11 teaches this combination, however, the office respectfully disagrees, the support regions in all of the new figures are curved and are not perpendicular to the flat base as required by the claims.
Figure 12 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (m) because the figures contain shading, which fails to aid in understanding the invention and/or reduces legibility. Shading may be used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object; flat parts may also be lightly shaded, but such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, not for cross sections. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.
The drawings are objected to because Figures 11-13 are titled improperly because the titles of each figure should be larger than the numbers used for reference characters (see 37 CFR 1.84(u)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-28 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1: recites “the main body having two separate support regions…wherein the support regions protrude perpendicular relative to the central portion” and “a releasable coupler comprising a groove that holds the dental floss…by press-fitting the dental floss into the groove, said piece of dental floss having a widened portion at each end”; however, there is not support in applicant’s originally filed disclosure for this combination of features in the claims. There is no support for the support portions to protrude perpendicular and the support regions including grooves and widened portions at the ends of the dental floss and at least one through hole as applicant is now attempting to claim. This is a new matter rejection. Previously, this was simply presented as a drawing objection, giving applicant the opportunity to amend the claims to fix this issue; instead applicant attempted to present entirely new drawings. So this is also a new matter issue now, requiring a new matter rejection.
Claim 28: recites “two support regions extending perpendicular from the central portion” and “a safety vent”; however, there is not support in applicant’s originally filed disclosure for this combination of features in the claims. This is a new matter rejection.
Claim 30: this claim requires “a plurality of bristles”; however, preceding claim 28 requires “a safety vent” and while applicant’s disclosure provides support for the embodiment of Figures 1-3 to have bristles and perpendicular support regions, only the embodiment of the later figures includes the vent feature, so there is no support in applicant’s disclosure for this newly claimed combination of features. This is a new matter rejection.
Claim 31: this claim requires a series of grooves, however, there is no support for this combination of features in combination with the vent hole and the perpendicular support regions required by claim 28. This is a new matter rejection.
Claim(s) 1-28 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1: the first lines of the claim were amended to recite “with dimensions that allow the device to be completely inserted into a mouth of a user such that with the user’s mouth closed, the device resides entirely within the oral cavity and is operated by tongue and facial-muscle movement without finger manipulation of the device during use”; however, the limitation “dimensions that allow the device to be completely inserted into a mouth of a user” followed by “and is operated by tongue…without finger manipulation” is confusing because what additional structure should “and is operated by…manipulation” imply, if any? In line 6, this claim recites “a piece of dental floss”, then in the next lines, it recites “said piece of dental floss”, and then further down it recites “the dental floss”; is the “piece of dental floss” the same as “the dental floss”? If this is referring to the “piece of dental floss”, it should recite “said piece of dental floss”; applicant is respectfully reminded that a single term should be consistently used throughout the claims to refer to a single feature in order to avoid confusion. For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “said piece of dental floss” at every occurrence after the first. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim 12: recites “it includes” and it is unclear what “it” is supposed to mean in this context. For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “the main body includes”. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claims 15-27: each recites “it includes” and it is unclear what “it” is supposed to mean in this context. For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “the main body includes”. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim 28: the first lines of the claim recite “with dimensions that allow the device to be received entirely within a mouth of a user with the mouth closed”. Similar to the previous issue with claim 1; how does one receive something in their mouth when it’s closed? Further, the language “configured to be operated by tongue and facial muscles…without requiring finger insertion…or finger contact” is unclear what additional structure this needs to imply besides sized to fit in someone’s mouth, which seems to be what is already attempting to be claimed with “dimensions that allow the device to be received entirely within a mouth of a user” so what additional structure should this added language imply if any? The last lines of this claim recite “and wherein the main body is dimensioned and configured to permit the user to perform dental cleaning with the user’s hands remaining free from the device”; however, this language is entirely unclear. What structure is this language supposed to imply that is not already required by the device fitting in a user’s mouth, if any? Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10: this claim repeats limitations that have been amended into claim 1, so it is not further limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
102(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
103: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12-14, 18-20, 26, 28, and 31, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Othman (US 20210137659).
Claim 1: Othman discloses an oral hygiene device (10, Fig 5) comprising a main body (12+18) dimensioned small enough to be capable of being completely inserted into a user’s mouth. As best understood this constitutes the device being dimensioned “such that when the device is in a user’s closed mouth, it is capable of being manipulated or “operated with a user’s tongue and facial movements” if so desired and “without finger manipulation” if so desired. This is essentially intended use (see Fig 4) of the device and the device being small enough to fit in a user’s mouth means it is capable of being used without a user’s fingers because this is user preference. The device main body (12) supports a piece of dental floss (34) defining a cleaning zone (see Fig 5), the main body having two separate support regions (18) configured to support the ends (38) of the piece of dental floss (see Fig 5). The support regions are in the form of protruding projections (18) that extend away from a central portion (12) of the main body with the main body being formed as a single piece (see Fig 5). The central portion has a flat top and bottom surface (see Fig 5) with a single through hole (center of the tube 12) extending through the flat top and bottom surfaces. This hole is capable of acting as a safety means in case a user swallows the device since it would allow air to pass therethrough. The support regions protrude substantially perpendicular to the central portion (12, see Figs 2-3); the two support regions are provided with a pair of grooves/slots (32) that releasably hold the piece of dental floss by press-fitting the piece of dental floss into the grooves with the piece of floss having widened end portions (36, Fig 5) that resist release from the grooves in use.
Alternately, if applicant feels the support regions are only substantially perpendicular and not “perpendicular” to the central portion; then Othman discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the support regions being perpendicular to the central region. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the flosser of Othman by providing the support regions perpendicular instead of substantially perpendicular, since the applicant has not disclosed that the support regions being exactly perpendicular solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well as disclosed by Othman.
Claim 2: Othman, or modified Othman, disclose the invention of claim 1 and Othman further discloses the main body is not provided with sharp edges (see Fig 5).
Claim 3: Othman, or modified Othman, disclose the invention of claim 1 and Othman further discloses each of the support regions has a termination with a curved shape [0020] (see Fig 5).
Claims 4 and 13-14: Othman, or modified Othman, disclose the invention of claim 1 and Othman further discloses the main body can be made of plastic [0019] (see claim 8).
Claim 10: Othman, or modified Othman, disclose the invention of claim 1 and Othman further discloses the releasable coupling system includes a groove (32) made in the top of the projection portion of each support region (see Fig 5) and the floss is press fit into the groove with ends of the floss including a widened portion (36, see Fig 5).
Claims 12, 18-20, and 26: Othman, or modified Othman, disclose the invention of claim 1 and Othman further discloses the support members of the main body can be metal (see claim 8).
Claim 28: Othman discloses an oral hygiene device (10, Fig 5) comprising a main body (12+18) with dimensions that allow the device to be completely inserted into a user’s mouth and which as best understood constitutes it being “configured to be operated by tongue and facial muscles without requiring finger insertion or manipulation” because a user could put the device in their mouth and use their tongue to manipulate it if so desired, because this is essentially intended use (see Fig 4). The main body (12) comprises a central portion having a flat top and a flat bottom surface (see Fig 5) with a single through hole (center of the tube 12) extending through the flat top and bottom surfaces thereby forming the ring shape. This hole is capable of acting as a safety means in case a user swallows the device since it would allow air to pass therethrough. The main body supports a piece of dental floss (34) defining a cleaning zone (see Fig 5), the main body has two support regions (18) extending from the central portion, each support region is configured to support an end (38) of the piece of dental floss (see Fig 5). The support regions protrude substantially perpendicular to the central portion (12); the two support regions are provided with a releasable coupler (32) in the form of slots for keeping and allowing removal of the piece of dental floss from the support regions (see Fig 5). The device is “configured to enable dental cleaning” and since it can fit in a person’s mouth the person could do this hands-free which as best understood is what is meant by “while performing other tasks without using hands”.
Alternately, if applicant feels the support regions are only substantially perpendicular and not “perpendicular” to the central portion; then Othman discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the support regions being perpendicular to the central region. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the flosser of Othman by providing the support regions perpendicular instead of substantially perpendicular, since the applicant has not disclosed that the support regions being exactly perpendicular solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well as disclosed by Othman.
Claim 31: Othman, or modified Othman, disclose the invention of claim 1 and Othman further discloses the support regions each include a releasable coupling system including grooves (32) configured to removably secure the piece of dental floss in a press-fit manner (see Fig 5) and ends of the piece of dental floss include widened portions (36) to prevent release from the grooves in use (see Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15-17, 21, and 30 as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Othman (US 20210137659) in view of Miles (US 20110290274).
Claims 5 and 15-17: Othman, or modified Othman, discloses the invention of claims 1-4 as outlined above and discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for a plurality of bristles extending externally from at least one of the flat surfaces of the main body.
Miles, however, teaches a flossing device (300) including a pair of support regions (13 & 14) projecting outwardly from a central flat region of the main body (16+51) and teaches an embodiment that comprises a plurality of bristles (53) protruding externally from the flat surface of the main body (see Fig 6). In another embodiment Miles teaches the flosser having no bristles (see Figs 5 & 7). In other words, Miles teaches it to be an obvious matter of design choice to provide the flat body with a plurality of bristles protruding externally therefrom on a flossing device in order to provide additional versatility by providing the device with a secondary cleaning function. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the flossing device of Othman, or modified Othman, by providing the flat surface of the main body with a plurality of bristles protruding externally therefrom in view of Miles since Miles teaches this to be an obvious matter of design choice in flossing devices.
Claim 21: modified Othman discloses the invention of claim 5 and Othman further discloses the support regions that help form part of the main body can be metal (see claim 8).
Claim 30: Othman, or modified Othman, discloses the invention of claim 28 as outlined above and discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for a plurality of bristles protruding externally from at least one of the flat surfaces of the main body.
Miles, however, teaches a flossing device (300) including a pair of support regions (13 & 14) projecting outwardly from a central flat region of the main body (16+51) and teaches an embodiment that comprises a plurality of bristles (53) protruding externally from the flat surface of the main body (see Fig 6). In another embodiment Miles teaches the flosser having no bristles (see Figs 5 & 7) and Miles states that the device and its components can comprise a fluoride-containing component typically found in toothpaste, which the office interprets as “toothpaste” [0042 & 0051]. In other words, Miles teaches it to be an obvious matter of design choice to provide the flat body with a plurality of bristles protruding externally therefrom on a flossing device in order to provide additional versatility by providing the device with a secondary cleaning function and embedding toothpaste ingredients in the device to streamline cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the flossing device of Othman by providing the flat surface of the main body with a plurality of bristles in/on the device in view of Miles in order to streamline the cleaning process during use.
Claim(s) 6-9, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Othman (US 20210137659) in view of Momose (US 20050025863) and Homan (US 2106097).
Claims 6-9: Othman, or modified Othman, discloses the invention of claim 1 and discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the flossing device being formed of an edible material.
Momose, however, teaches making flossing devices (12) of edible material because it makes the devices more environmentally friendly and edible after use [0049 & 0059-0060]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the flossing device of Othman, or modified Othman, by providing the device to be made of edible material in view of Momose in order to make the items more biodegradable and edible after use if so desired.
Modified Othman discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the edible material being an edible gum base material coated with a layer of edible hard candy and gum constitutes an “active nutritional type ingredient” since it is food. Homan, however, teaches making non-edible items like whistles (see Fig 1) out of hard candy-coated gum (Col 4, 55-70) for the common-sense reason that it allows a person to eat the item after use if so desired. In other words, Homan teaches making non-edible items out of candy-coated gum thereby making the items into novelty candy toys in order to make the items more appealing to children (a known quality of candy) and to allow a user to eat the item after use if so desired. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the flossing device modified Othman by providing the flossing device of a gum core coated in candy in view of Homan in order to make the flossers more appealing to children and/or edible after use.
Claim(s) 22-25, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Othman (US 20210137659) in view of Momose (US 20050025863) and Homan (US 2106097) as applied to claims 6-9 above and further in view of Valentinovna (WO 2015009196).
Claims 22-25: modified Othman discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the edible material including a metal. Valentinovna, however, teaches coating candy in an edible silver encased in a confectionary glaze layer (see abstract) in order to provide an edible wrapper coating to the candy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the edible candy flosser of modified Othman, by providing it with a layer of edible silver on the main body as taught by Valentinovna in order to provide a fancy or sparkling appearance and provide an edible wrapper appearance.
Claim(s) 11 and 27, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Othman (US 20210137659).
Claims 11 and 27: Othman, or modified Othman, discloses the invention of claim 1 and Othman further discloses the support regions can be metal (see claim 8) and the releasable coupling system includes a plurality of grooves (32) made in the top of the projection portion of each support region (see Fig 5) and the floss is press fit into the groove with ends of the floss including a widened portion (36, see Fig 5). Othman discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the coupling system including a pair of grooves in a cross-shape instead of a single groove.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the flosser of Othman, or modified Othman, by providing the coupling as a pair of perpendicular grooves and the ends of the floss being cross-shaped instead of spherical, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Othman.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the drawing objections; however, applicant has tried to submit entirely new figures repeatedly throughout prosecution to illustrate newly claimed subject matter. These arguments are not found persuasive. Applicant’s disclosure does not state the vent can be incorporated into the embodiment of Figure 1 nor does it state the support regions of the later embodiments can extend perpendicular instead of being curved as illustrated. Instead these are described as two different embodiments and the features are not described as interchangeable. Figs 1-3 illustrate one embodiment with modifications thereto including bristles but not a vent nor curved support regions; Figs 4-8 illustrate modifications of a different embodiment and a different device that has curved support regions and a series of holes/vents. Applicant’s arguments not persuasive and do not overcome the issues. The passages cited by applicant do not provide support for selectively combining features of the different embodiments as applicant continues attempting to do.
The office respectfully suggests amending the claims to set forth a three dimensional coordinate system and claim the separate embodiments separately using a Cartesian coordinate system to overcome the prior art reference. Applicant could claim a single embodiment with an imperforate central body and bristles and support regions that extend perpendicular to cover the embodiment of Figures 1-3 and a separate embodiment claiming a vent and curved support regions with a removable coupling system to overcome the current interpretation of the claims and the current rejection.
Applicant argues that Othman fails to disclose a device with “dimensions that allow the device to be completely inserted into the mouth area of a user”. At the outset, no evidence is provided by applicant to support this argument and instead this argument appears to directly conflict with the illustrations and disclosure of Othman. Othman illustrates this limitation in Figure 4 by showing the size of the device relative to a fingertip (the device is smaller than the distal fingertip of a user in the figure) so it is capable of fitting in a user’s mouth. It is well-known in human anatomy that the distal fingertip can fit entirely into a person’s mouth (see any physiologically average infant). The device of Othman is capable of being manipulated inside a user’s mouth without a finger, it is capable of fitting fully inside a user’s mouth, and is capable of being “manipulated by a user’s tongue” if so desired.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Othman failed to disclose individually, or suggest in combination, “dimensions that allow the device to be completely inserted into the mouth with the mouth closed and used without being manipulated by a finger” the applicant is respectfully advised that, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In this case, as already outlined above, the device of Othman is capable of all of these functional recitations and so meets the claims.
It is also noted that applicant still presents no evidence that Othman cannot be used in the fashion claimed by applicant and simply argues that applicant’s device can be used in this fashion. Applicant has provided no evidence to establish an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art, but rather has merely argued such alleged difference. Mere arguments cannot take the place of evidence.
Applicant then argues the support regions do not “protrude perpendicular” to the central portion. At the outset, as discussed at length in the prior office action and again above, applicant has zero support in the disclosure for the combination of features claimed including specifically this “perpendicular” limitation. The only embodiment applicant discloses that includes any type of grooves and a through hole in the main body as applicant sets forth in all of the pending claims, is the embodiment of Figure 7 and the support regions of this embodiment are not perpendicular, they are curved and at best they are “substantially perpendicular”. Othman teaches the same type of “substantially perpendicular” arrangement. So Othman teaches this limitation in as much as applicant discloses it and the argument is not persuasive because applicant’s own projections are also curved.
Applicant then reiterates arguments regarding the intended use of the device, which at the outset, has no bearing on patentability in these device claims and secondly, the device of Othman is capable of being used without a person’s fingers. the applicant is advised that a prior art structure does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new use, function or previously unknown property, which is inherently present in the prior art structure. In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.
The office respectfully suggests applicant amend the claims in terms of structure instead of continuing to try to overcome the reference with intended use and functional recitations. A hole in a device is a “vent” and if the device is ring sized, it is “dimensioned to fit fully inside a user’s mouth” so using more words to describe these features that are structurally disclosed by Othman will not help to overcome Othman. Structural differences, like claiming the body is imperforate and lacks any holes (applicant has clear support for this in Figs 1-3) would overcome Othman because there is no logical reason to remove the ring shaped hole and that would destroy the reference. Applicant could also claim the entire flosser in terms of a three dimensional Cartesian coordinate system in order to overcome the Othman reference because the support regions extend from a same surface of the main body through which the hole extends, but the claims do not currently require this as written. More clearly defining the structure of applicant’s device would better overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JENNIFER GILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772