DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed May 12, 2026 have been entered. Claims 12-15 are new; support for the new claims can be found at least in paragraphs [0017] and [0028]. Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-15 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 12, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues a) a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to apply the polymer from Kim to the solid electrolyte coating of Suk because the polymers in Kim were taught to be used for a different purpose, namely lithium metal surface modification to suppress lithium dendrite formation, while Suk teaches using polymers for improving contact between the electrolyte and an oxide-based electrode material.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered and found to be persuasive. A new ground of rejection is found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (CN 110085868 A), hereinafter referred to as Cui, in view of Huang et al. (CN 101114718 A), hereinafter referred to as Huang, and Antonopoulos (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20190148766 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cui teaches an anode for an all-solid-state battery (“an electrode for an all-solid-state battery”) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Cui teaches the anode comprises a solid electrolyte including at least one polymer solid electrolyte and inorganic solid electrolyte, lithium powder (see e.g., paragraphs [0015] and [0019]), and conductive carbon (“an electrode for an all-solid-state battery comprising a solid electrolyte composite, an electrode active material and a conductive material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0105]). Cui teaches the solid electrolyte is a powder (“a particulate solid electrolyte material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0021]), such as inorganic solid electrolytes that include LAGP, LLZO, LGPS, LPOS, Li6PS5X, the X is Cl, Br, I, in any kind (“wherein the particulate solid electrolyte material comprises an oxide-based solid electrolyte containing oxygen (O), a sulfide-based solid electrolyte material containing sulfur (S), or both of them”)(see e.g., paragraph [0032]).
Cui does not explicitly teach a passivation film covering all or at least part of the solid electrolyte material, wherein the passivation film has ionic conductivity of 1 × 10-5 s/cm or above and electronic conductivity of 1 × 10-9 s/cm or less, and wherein the passivation film comprises a polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer.
However, Huang teaches a lithium-ion inorganic composite solid electrolytes (see e.g., paragraph [0008]) with high ionic conductivity, low electronic conductivity, and wide electrochemical window, but also has excellent comprehensive performance such as stability to lithium metal, strong resistance to deliquescence, and environmental friendliness, which can meet the requirements for use in all-solid-state lithium-ion batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0006]). Huang teaches the solid electrolyte material includes a particulate solid electrolyte material (“the solid electrolyte composite comprising a particulate solid electrolyte material”) and a coating layer (“a passivation film covering all or at least part of the solid electrolyte material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Huang teaches the solid electrolyte material includes materials with high lithium-ion conductivity including oxides and sulfides (“wherein the particulate solid electrolyte material comprises an oxide-based solid electrolyte containing oxygen (O), a sulfide-based solid electrolyte material containing sulfur (S), or both of them”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Huang teaches the coating layer has an ion conductivity of greater than 10-6 S/cm and an electronic conductivity of less than 10-8 S/cm (“wherein the passivation film has ionic conductivity of 1 X 10-5 s/cm or above and electronic conductivity of 1 X 10-9 s/cm or less”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the solid electrolyte of Cui to be a particulate solid electrolyte with a coating layer, wherein the coating layer has an ion conductivity of greater than 10-6 S/cm and an electronic conductivity of less than 10-8 S/cm, as taught by Huang, in order to produce a solid electrolyte with high ionic conductivity, low electronic conductivity, and wide electrochemical window, but also has excellent comprehensive performance such as stability to lithium metal, strong resistance to deliquescence, and environmental friendliness, which can meet the requirements for use in all-solid-state lithium-ion batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Cui, as modified by Huang, does not explicitly teach wherein the passivation film comprises a polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer.
However, Antonopoulos teaches a solid electrolyte for a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Abstract). Antonopoulos teaches a first surface of the solid electrolyte is provided with a protective layer in order to prevent or reduce direct electrical contact between the electrolyte and electrode, thereby preventing decomposition reactions of the electrolyte and prevent electrode material from being consumed (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Antonopoulos teaches the first coating includes polyvinylene carbonate to have favorable ionic conductivity (“wherein the passivation film comprises a polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the coating layer of Cui, as modified by Huang, to be polyvinylene carbonate, as taught by Antonopoulos, in order to prevent or reduce direct electrical contact between the electrolyte and electrode, thereby preventing decomposition reactions of the electrolyte and prevent electrode material from being consumed (see e.g., paragraph [0009]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the ionic conductivity of greater than 10-6 S/cm and the electronic conductivity of less than 10-8 S/cm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 2, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, does not explicitly teach wherein the passivation film is 10 nm to 1 pm in thickness.
Antonopoulos teaches the average layer thickness of the first coating is 1 nm to 200 nm in order to provide maximally high ionic conductivity in the solid electrolyte (“wherein the passivation film is 10 nm to 1 µm in thickness”) (see e.g., paragraph [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the coating layer of polyvinylene carbonate of Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, to have a thickness of 1 nm to 200 nm, as taught by Antonopoulos, in order to provide maximally high ionic conductivity in the solid electrolyte (see e.g., paragraph [0033]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of 1 nm to 200 nm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 6, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui teaches the solid electrolyte includes at least one of polymer solid electrolyte (“wherein the solid electrolyte material further comprises a polymer-based solid electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to form good interfacial compatibility between the lithium powder and solid electrolyte (see e.g., paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the particulate component of the composite electrolyte can by any material with high lithium-ion conductivity, such as LLTO (“wherein the oxide-based solid electrolyte contains oxygen (O) and has ionic conductivity of a metal belonging to Group I or Group II of the periodic table, and the oxide-based solid electrolyte comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a LLTO-based compound”) (see e.g., Huang paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 9, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches an all-solid state battery comprising the electrode according to claim 1 (see e.g., Cui, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 9, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches wherein the all-solid-state battery comprises a negative electrode (see e.g., Cui, paragraph [0008]), a positive electrode (see e.g., Cui, paragraph [0063]) and a solid electrolyte membrane interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (see e.g., Cui, paragraph [0064]), and the negative electrode or the positive electrode or both the negative and the positive electrode comprise the solid electrolyte composite (see e.g., paragraphs [0014]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 12, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the solid electrolyte material includes a particulate solid electrolyte material and a coating layer (“wherein the solid electrolyte composite has a core-shell structure comprising a core comprising the particulate solid electrolyte material and a shell comprising the passivation film covering the surface of the particulate solid electrolyte material”) (see e.g., Huang paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the solid electrolyte comprising the coating layer has low electronic conductivity (see e.g., Huang, paragraph [0006]) and good electrical insulation capacity (see e.g., paragraph [0028]); therefore, the coating layer of Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, comprising polyvinylene carbonate as in the claimed invention would block electron transfer paths between the solid particulate electrolyte material and the electrode active material because of its low electronic conductivity.
Regarding claim 14, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the solid electrolyte comprising the coating layer has low electronic conductivity (see e.g., Huang, paragraph [0006]) and good electrical insulation capacity (see e.g., paragraph [0028]); therefore, the coating layer of Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, comprising polyvinylene carbonate as in the claimed invention would block electron transfer paths between the solid particulate electrolyte material and the conductive material because of its low electronic conductivity.
Regarding claim 15, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the coating layer comprising polyvinylene carbonate prevents the decomposition reactions of the electrolyte because of its electrochemical stability (“wherein the passivation film in the solid electrolyte composite prevents reduction reactions during initial charging”) (see e.g., Antonopoulos paragraph [0009]).
Claims 4-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (CN 110085868 A) in view of Huang et al. (CN 101114718 A) and Antonopoulos (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20190148766 A1), and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140083181 A), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 4, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, does not explicitly teach the polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer comprises vinylene carbonate as a polymerizable unit.
However, Kim teaches a protective film (“a passivation film”) to suppress side reactions between the electrodes and electrolyte and thereby improve the cycle characteristics of a battery (see e.g., Abstract and paragraph [0006]). Kim teaches the polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer material is obtained by polymerizing a liquid-phase vinylene carbonate monomer (“the polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer comprises vinylene carbonate as a polymerizable unit”) as the polyvinylene carbonate polymer when coated on the surface reduces possible reactions with oxygen, nitrogen, moisture, and the like to help stabilize the coated surface (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the coating layer of Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, to have the polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer material be obtained by polymerizing a liquid-phase vinylene carbonate monomer, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce possible reactions with oxygen, nitrogen, moisture, and the like to help stabilize the coated surface (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Cui, as modified by Huang, Antonopoulos, and Kim, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 4, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang, Antonopoulos, and Kim, does not explicitly teach the polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer further comprises a second polymerizable unit that can be polymerized with the vinylene carbonate, and the second polymerizable unit is at least one selected from the group consisting of acrylonitrile, methyl methacrylate, styrene, vinyl pyrrolidone, vinyl acetate, vinyl alcohol, and vinyl chloride.
However, Kim teaches the vinylene carbonate (“the polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer comprises vinylene carbonate as a polymerizable unit”) and polyvinylene carbonate-based copolymer (“a second polymerizable unit that can be polymerized with the vinylene carbonate”) are synthesized by using vinylene carbonate monomer as SEI film forming additive, and a functional group for forming a protective film of lithium electrode because since the polyvinylene carbonate polymer can easily be melted or swelled, it is preferably to use a copolymer (see e.g., paragraph [0025]). Kim teaches the examples of the copolymer material (“the second polymerizable unit”) that can be used for copolymerization with the vinylene carbonate can include polyacrylonitrile, poly methyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl chloride, and the like can be used (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the coating layer of Cui, as modified by Huang, Antonopoulos, and Kim, to have the polyvinylene carbonate-based polymer material be obtained by polymerizing a liquid-phase vinylene carbonate monomer and a polyvinylene carbonate-based copolymer, as taught by Kim, in order to prevent possible melting and swelling of the polyvinylene carbonate polymer (see e.g., paragraph [0025]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (CN 110085868 A) in view of Huang et al. (CN 101114718 A) and Antonopoulos (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20190148766 A1), and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140083181 A) and Lee et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20170294678 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 11, Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches a method for manufacturing the solid electrolyte composite in the electrode according to claim 1 (see e.g., Huang paragraph [0008]). Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, teaches the coating layer of the composite electrolyte is prepared by a traditional solid-state reaction method (“(S1) coating the passivation layer composition on a surface of the particulate solid electrolyte material”) (see e.g., Huang paragraph [0046]).
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos,, the coating layer comprises vinylene carbonate (see e.g., Antonopoulos, (see e.g., paragraph [0016]).
Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, does not explicitly teach S2) providing the coated solid electrolyte material to polymerization reaction, wherein the passivation layer composition comprises a lithium salt, a polymerization initiator and a non-aqueous organic solvent.
However, Kim teaches the protective film (“the passivation film”) is formed by coating a solution containing a protective film composition on the surface (see e.g., paragraph [0039]), and the protective film composition comprises vinylene carbonate (“vinylene carbonate”) that is copolymerized with polyacrylonitrile, poly methyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl chloride and the like (“a polymerization initiator”) to have excellent adhesion with the coated surface and chemically stable without causing side reactions (see e.g., paragraph [0035]). Kim teaches the polymer is mixed with a non-aqueous organic solvent (“a non-aqueous organic solvent”) (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify method of producing the coating layer of Cui, as modified by Huang and Antonopoulos, to also include vinylene carbonate that is copolymerized with polyacrylonitrile, poly methyl methacrylate, polystyrene, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl chloride and mixed with a non-aqueous organic solvent, as taught by Kim, in order to have excellent adhesion with the coated surface and chemically stable without causing side reactions (see e.g., paragraph [0035]).
Cui, as modified by Huang, Antonopoulos, and Kim, does not explicitly teach the method wherein the passivation layer composition comprises a lithium salt.
However, Lee teaches a solid electrolyte with improved electrochemical safety and stability (see e.g., paragraph [0036]). Lee teaches a composite solid electrolyte that include a lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte (“a particulate solid electrolyte material”) and a polymer-containing electrolyte coating layer (“a passivation layer”). Lee teaches the polymer-containing electrolyte coating layer may further include at least one selected from inorganic particles (“a lithium salt”) and a solvate ionic liquid (“a non-aqueous organic solvent”) including a lithium salt and a glyme-based material as the composite solid electrolyte may have enhanced mechanical and physical properties and enhanced ionic conductivity at room temperature (see e.g., paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the method of producing the coating layer of Cui, as modified by Huang, Antonopoulos, and Kim to include a lithium salt and a solvate ionic liquid, as taught by Lee, in order to enhance the mechanical and physical properties of the coating layer and increase the ionic conductivity of the coating layer at room temperature (see e.g., paragraph [0049]).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728