DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/09/2026. Claims 1-14, 20-26, 28-37, 52-59 are pending. Claims 1, 14, 20, 29, and 37 are independent. Claims 8, 13, 14, 20-26, 28-37, and 52-59 are withdrawn. Claims 15-19, 27, 38-51 are canceled.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maguire et al. (US Pub. No.: 2004/0059277).
Regarding claims 1-6, 9, 11, and 12, Maguire discloses [claim 1] indwelling medical device for acute alteration of blood flow in a vessel of a patient, the device comprising: a catheter (11, Fig. 10); a vessel opposing member portion (14, Fig. 10 and Paras. [0200] and [0201]) arranged at or extending from a distal end of the catheter and configured to oppose against a vessel wall of the vessel (Paras. [0200] and [0201]), the vessel opposing member including an outer inflatable member configured to maintain contact with a wall of the vessel (Para. [0192], “the balloon 14 is expanded to an outer diameter that does not completely occlude the patient's aorta 31. However, in an alternative embodiment, the balloon expands into contact with the wall of the aorta 21, to an outer diameter that completely occludes the aorta 31.” Even in the embodiment that the balloon does not completely occlude the patient’s aorta, the balloon is still fully capable of maintaining contact with the wall of the vessel by shifting it to contacting the vessel wall on one side) ; and a flow altering element (13, Fig. 10 and Paras. [0200] and [0201]), arranged within the vessel opposing member portion and including a lumen (18, Fig. 11) for the blood flow through the vessel therethrough, configured to alter the blood flow through the lumen to restrict blood flow in the vessel and induce a physiologically mediated therapeutic response in the patient (Paras. [0200] and [0201], the flow altering element 13 is configured to alter the blood flow through the lumen to restrict blood flow in the vessel and induce a physiologically mediated therapeutic response in the patient by restricting blood flow in the vessel);
[claim 2] wherein the vessel is an aorta and the vessel opposing member portion is configured to oppose against the vessel wall in the aorta and create a narrowed flow lumen in a conduit located in the aorta distal of one or both renal arteries of between about 40% and about 80% of a starting diameter of the aorta to alter blood flow into the at least one branch vessel of the aorta to alter blood flow into one or both kidneys (Paras. [0194], [0200], and [0201],);
[claim 3] wherein the vessel is a vena cava and the vessel opposing member portion is configured to oppose against the vessel wall in the vena cava create a narrowed flow lumen in the conduit located in the vena cava distal of one or both renal veins of between about 40% and about 90% of a starting diameter of the vena cava to and alter blood flow through one or both of the renal veins to alter blood flow into one or both kidneys (Paras. [0194], [0200], and [0201], the flow altering element is fully capable to oppose against the vessel which is an vena cava and the vessel opposing member portion is configured to oppose against the vessel wall in the vena cava create a narrowed flow lumen in the conduit located in the vena cava distal of one or both renal veins of between about 40% and about 90% of a starting diameter of the vena cava to and alter blood flow through one or both of the renal veins to alter blood flow into one or both kidneys because the diameter of the lumen of flow altering element is about 4% to about 64% of a blood vessel);
[claim 4] wherein the vessel opposing member portion is configured to be arranged upstream from one or both of the renal veins and the flow altering element is configured to drop blood pressure out of one or both of the renal veins to promote blood flow through the kidneys (the vessel opposing member portion is fully capable to be arranged upstream from one or both of the renal veins and the flow altering element is fully capable to drop blood pressure out of one or both of the renal veins to promote blood flow through the kidneys because the vessel opposing member is configured to be placed within blood vessel and the flow altering element is configured to restrict blood flow);
[claim 5] wherein the flow altering element is at least one of a balloon (Paras. [0200] and [0201]), and vessel opposing member portion is comprised of an outer balloon (Paras. [0200] and [0201]);
[claim 6] wherein the flow altering element is an inner balloon (Paras. [0200] and [0201]), and the vessel opposing member portion is the outer balloon (Paras. [0200] and [0201]) and further including a plurality of inflation ports (Fig. 12 and Para. [0201], e.g. a port through lumen 21 for inflating/deflating 14 and a port through lumen 57 for inflating/deflating 13) configured to inflate and deflate the outer balloon and the flow altering element;
[claim 9] wherein one of the plurality of ports is configured to provide flow to restrict an internal diameter of at least a portion of the outer balloon to alter the lumen (Fig. 12 and Para. [0201], e.g. a port through lumen 21 for inflating/deflating 14 and a port through lumen 57 for inflating/deflating 13);
[claim 11] wherein the lumen of the flow altering element includes at least one of a cylindrical shape (Fig. 10 and 11);
[claim 12] wherein the flow altering element is a balloon (Paras. [0200] and [0201]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire et al. (US Pub. No.: 2004/0059277) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Carrison (US Pub. No.: 2014/0039537).
Regarding claim 7, Maguire discloses all the limitation of claim 6 as taught above but fails to disclose the outer balloon and the flow altering element are of substantially similar lengths.
Carrison teaches, in the same field of endeavor (blood flow alteration device), an indwelling medical device comprising: a vessel opposing member (1402, Fig. 13) and a flow altering element (1412, Fig. 3); wherein the vessel opposing member and the flow altering element are of substantially similar lengths (Fig. 13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art modify device of Maguire to include that the vessel opposing member and the flow altering element are of substantially similar lengths as taught by Carrison in order to obtain the advantage of having the vessel opposing member to evenly supporting the flow altering element along the whole flow altering element. In the modified invention, the opposing member which is the outer balloon as taught by Maguire and the flow altering element are of substantially similar lengths.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire et al. (US Pub. No.: 2004/0059277) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (US Pub. No.: 2011/0137331).
Regarding claim 10, Maguire discloses all the limitation of claim 6 as taught above but fails to disclose a plurality of struts coupled to the catheter and arranged within the inner or outer balloon, the plurality of struts being configured to support the inner or outer balloon.
Walsh teaches, in the same field of endeavor (blood flow alteration device), a device comprising a plurality of struts (struts 22, Fig. 4) coupled to the catheter (23, Fig. 4) and arranged within a balloon, the plurality of struts being configured to support the balloon (Fig. 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art modify device of Maguire to include a plurality of struts coupled to the catheter and arranged within the balloon, the plurality of struts being configured to support the balloon as taught by Walsh in order to obtain the advantage of supporting the balloon (Walsh, Para. [0064]), such as the inner balloon and/or outer balloon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the argument(s) on pages 10-11 of the remarks, Maguire discloses indwelling medical device for acute alteration of blood flow in a vessel of a patient, the device comprising: a catheter (11, Fig. 10); a vessel opposing member portion (14, Fig. 10 and Paras. [0200] and [0201]) arranged at or extending from a distal end of the catheter and configured to oppose against a vessel wall of the vessel (Paras. [0200] and [0201]), the vessel opposing member including an outer inflatable member configured to maintain contact with a wall of the vessel (Para. [0192], “the balloon 14 is expanded to an outer diameter that does not completely occlude the patient's aorta 31. However, in an alternative embodiment, the balloon expands into contact with the wall of the aorta 21, to an outer diameter that completely occludes the aorta 31.” Even in the embodiment that the balloon does not completely occlude the patient’s aorta, the balloon is still fully capable of maintaining contact with the wall of the vessel by shifting it to contacting the vessel wall on one side) ; and a flow altering element (13, Fig. 10 and Paras. [0200] and [0201]), arranged within the vessel opposing member portion and including a lumen (18, Fig. 11) for the blood flow through the vessel therethrough, configured to alter the blood flow through the lumen to restrict blood flow in the vessel and induce a physiologically mediated therapeutic response in the patient (Paras. [0200] and [0201], the flow altering element 13 is configured to alter the blood flow through the lumen to restrict blood flow in the vessel and induce a physiologically mediated therapeutic response in the patient by restricting blood flow in the vessel).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771