DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended. Claim 21 is new. Claims 1 and 3-21 are pending.
Claim Objection
In claim 21 “the at least one workpiece carriers” in ¶ 3 should be “the at least one workpiece carrier” as referenced earlier in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 and 21 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 8 of copending Application No. 17/604,740 in view of McFarland (US20180275634A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The Claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared on the table below.
Instant Application 17604733
Application No. 17/604,740
1. An apparatus (10) for producing three-dimensional screen- printed workpieces with a printing device (12) for the layer-by-layer production of at least one screen-printed workpiece in a plurality of printing operations and with a plurality of workpiece carriers (14) which can be positioned within the printing device (12) for carrying out a printing process, and further comprising at least one drying device (30), wherein the printing device (12) comprises at least one printing table plate (16) being formed separately from a workpiece carrier (14) and on which the workpiece carrier (14) can be positioned for carrying out a printing process, wherein the workpiece carrier (14) is, between two successive printing processes for a screen-printed workpiece, detachable from the printing table plate (16) for drying the screen-printed workpiece, in order for the individual layers of a screen-printed workpiece to be dried between two successive printing processes in a position released from the printing table plate,
and wherein at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers (14) is individually and traceably marked with at least one marking for individual identification and individual tracking of the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers, and for tracing and automatically recording all process steps relating to said workpiece carrier, respectively and wherein the printing device (12) and the least one drying device (30) are configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers (14) on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier (14).
1. An apparatus (10) for producing three-dimensional screen-printed workpieces, with a printing device (12) for the layer-by-layer production of at least one screen-printed workpiece in a plurality of printing operations and with at least one workpiece carrier (14) for at least one screen-printed workpiece, wherein the printing device (12) comprises at least one printing table plate (16) being formed separately from the at least one workpiece carrier (14) and on which the at least one workpiece carrier (14) can be positioned for carrying out a printing process, and wherein the at least one workpiece carrier (14) is, between two successive printing processes for the at least one screen-printed workpiece, detachable from the printing table plate (16) for drying the at least one screen-printed workpiece.
3. The apparatus (10) according to claim 1, further comprising a transport device (18) for the automated transport the plurality of workpiece carriers (14), the transport device (18) having a transport circuit for the automated transport of the plurality of workpiece carriers (14) and/or being designed as a transport circuit and/or wherein the transport device (18) is configured for the automated transport in a circuit between the printing device (12) and at least one position spaced apart from the printing device (12) and/or the printing table plate (16).
2. The apparatus (10) according to claim 1, further comprising a transport device (18) for the automated transport of the at least one workpiece carrier (14), the transport device (18) having a transport circuit for the automated transport of the at least one workpiece carrier (14) and/or being designed as a transport circuit and/or wherein the transport device (18) is configured for the automated transport in a circuit between the printing device (12) and at least one position spaced apart from the printing device (12) and/or the printing table plate (16).
5. The apparatus (10) according to claim 1, further comprising a positioning and/or handling device (20), by means of which the plurality of workpiece carriers (14) can be positioned on the printing table plate (16) in an automated and/or defined manner, the positioning and/or handling device (20) being designed to detect the position of the plurality of workpiece carrier and/or as part of the transport device (18).
4. The apparatus (10) according to claim 1, further comprising a positioning and/or handling device (20), by means of which the at least one workpiece carrier (14) can be positioned on the printing table plate (16) in an automated and/or defined manner, the positioning and/or handling device (20) being designed to detect the position of the at least one workpiece carrier and/or as part of the transport device (18).
7. The apparatus (10) according to claim 3, further comprising at least one drying device (30) for the at least one screen-printed workpiece and/or in that a drying device (30) formed with a drying path (42) is designed for the continuous drying passage of the at least one screen-printed workpiece and/or the plurality of workpiece carriers (14), the drying path (42) being designed as part of the transport device (18).
8. The apparatus (10) according to claim 1, further comprising at least one drying device (30) for the at least one screen-printed workpiece and/or in that a drying device (30) formed with a drying path (42) is designed for the continuous drying passage of at least one screen-printed workpiece and/or the at least one workpiece carriers (14), the drying path (42) being designed as part of the transport device (18).
21. An apparatus for producing a three-dimensional screen-printed workpiece, comprising: at least one workpiece carrier on which the three-dimensional workpiece is printed, the at least one workpiece carrier being positionable within a printing device, the at least one workpiece carrier being marked with at least one marking for individual identification and individual tracking of the at least one workpiece carrier; a printing station comprising the printing device for the layer by layer production of the screen printed workpiece in a plurality of printing operations, the printing device comprising: at least one printing table plate separate from the at least one workpiece carriers and on which the at least one work piece carriers is adapted to be positioned for carrying our a printing process, and ; a drying station comprising at least one drying device for receiving the screen printed work piece disposed on the at least one workpiece carrier, the at least one workpiece carrier being detached from the printing table plate for drying individual layers of screen printed workpiece between two successive printing processes, wherein the printing station and the drying station are each adapted for recognizing the at least one workpiece carrier on the basis of the marking and recording processing steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier.
1. An apparatus (10) for producing three-dimensional screen-printed workpieces, with a printing device (12) for the layer-by-layer production of at least one screen-printed workpiece in a plurality of printing operations and with at least one workpiece carrier (14) for at least one screen-printed workpiece, wherein the printing device (12) comprises at least one printing table plate (16) being formed separately from the at least one workpiece carrier (14) and on which the at least one workpiece carrier (14) can be positioned for carrying out a printing process, and wherein the at least one workpiece carrier (14) is, between two successive printing processes for the at least one screen-printed workpiece, detachable from the printing table plate (16) for drying the at least one screen-printed workpiece.
Claim 1 of the reference application recites all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except “and wherein at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers (14) is individually and traceably marked with at least one marking for individual identification and individual tracking of the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers, and for tracing and automatically recording all process steps relating to said workpiece carrier, respectively and wherein the printing device (12) and the least one drying device (30) are configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers (14) on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier (14).”
However, McFarland, in the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, teaches “Feature 233 is an identification tag for identifying the workpiece. An algorithm is provided for generating identification tags with unique identifiers for each workpiece of the build and possibly, across a series of builds on the additive manufacturing machines 103 a to 103 c. The identifier may be alphanumeric characters, a 1-D or 2-D barcode or the like that can be read by readers on machines 105 to 110. The identification tag may enable tracking of the workpiece 218 through the manufacturing chain.” (P0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a tracking mechanism for individual workpieces to arrive at the claimed invention since the skilled artisan would be motivated to track the workpiece through the manufacturing chain as taught by McFarland (P0054).
Claim 2 of the reference application recites the same limitations as claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 of the reference application recites the same limitations as claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim 8 of the reference application recites the same limitations as claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 1 of the reference application recites all the limitations of claim 21 of the instant application except “the at least one workpiece carrier being marked with at least one marking for individual identification and individual tracking of the at least one workpiece carrier… wherein the printing station and the drying station are each adapted for recognizing the at least one workpiece carrier on the basis of the marking and recording processing steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier.”
However, McFarland, in the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, teaches “Feature 233 is an identification tag for identifying the workpiece. An algorithm is provided for generating identification tags with unique identifiers for each workpiece of the build and possibly, across a series of builds on the additive manufacturing machines 103 a to 103 c. The identifier may be alphanumeric characters, a 1-D or 2-D barcode or the like that can be read by readers on machines 105 to 110. The identification tag may enable tracking of the workpiece 218 through the manufacturing chain.” (P0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a tracking mechanism for individual workpieces to arrive at the claimed invention since the skilled artisan would be motivated to track the workpiece through the manufacturing chain as taught by McFarland (P0054).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laxxon Medical of record, “Laxxon” going forward (“3D Siebdruck Animation”, 2019) in view of Hirukawa (US 20180162118 A1) the US equivalent to EP 3305525 A1 of record, Brosi of record (EP 2711183 A1) and McFarland (US20180275634A1).
Regarding claim 1, Laxxon teaches an apparatus for producing three- dimensional screen-printed workpieces, with a printing device for the layer-by-layer production of at least one screen-printed workpiece in a plurality of printing operations and with a plurality of workpiece carriers which can be positioned within the printing device for carrying out a printing process (video animation) and a drying device (“Trockner” in the video). Laxxon is silent to at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers being individually and/or traceably marked.
Hirukawa, in the same field of endeavor, screen printing, cures this deficiency by teaching “An identification section (for example, a mark) for position recognition is formed on a lower face of the screen mask M” which is construed to meet the claim limitation of at least one workpiece carrier being individually and traceably marked with at least one marking for individual identification and individual tracking of the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers (P0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have marked at least one workpiece carrier as in Hirukawa in the apparatus of Laxxon for the purpose of position recognition as taught by Hirukawa (P0028). "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Modified Laxxon discloses a printing device but is silent to a printing table plate. Brosi, in the same field of endeavor, screen printing, cures this deficiency by teaching the printing device, 1, has a printing table, 5, on which the substrates are arranged before the printing process (P0021). Further teaching the support plate 20 is fed to the printing table 5 by a feed device 21 and removed again from the printing table 5 by means of a discharge device 22 after the printing process has taken place and guided out of the printing device 1 (P0028). This meets the limitation that the printing device comprises at least one printing table plate being formed separately from one of the plurality of workpiece carriers and on which the workpiece carrier can be positioned for carrying out a printing process, wherein the workpiece carrier is, between two successive printing processes for the at least one screen-printed workpiece, detachable from the at least one printing table plate for drying the at least one screen-printed workpiece. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a printing table plate as in Brosi in the apparatus of Laxxon for the purpose of easily rotating or shifting the support plate relative to the printing device as taught by Brosi (P0022).
Modified Laxxon is silent to the printing device and the least one drying device are configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier.
McFarland, in the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, teaches the printing device is configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier (P0054) and a heat treatment station (P0038) which would inherently include a heating device which would have the effect of drying.
It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967).
While McFarland isn’t specific to the drying device being configured to recognize a workpiece carrier on the basis of a marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the workpiece carrier, it would be obvious to have they drying device also recognize workpiece carriers. This is a duplication of the recording done by the printing device itself. The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a printing device recognize and record process steps carried out in relation to a workpiece carrier for the purpose of tracking the workpiece throughout the manufacturing process as taught by McFarland (P0054).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Laxxon discloses in the video a transport device formed from a belt conveyor for the automatic transport circuit of a plurality of workpiece carriers from and to the printing device which is construed to be “a transport device for the automated transport of the plurality of workpiece carriers, the transport device having a transport circuit for the automated transport of plurality of workpiece carriers, where the transport circuit is designed to be single-track at least in sections” as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Laxxon and Hirukawa discloses a printing device but is silent to a positioning or handling device. Brosi discloses that a position correction is carried out by the printing table 5 in that it is displaced and/or rotated in the plane parallel to the printing mask 4 by means of the actuators 12 (P0031) which is construed to be a positioning device by means of which the plurality of workpiece carriers can be positioned on the printing table plate in an automated manner, the positioning device being designed to detect the position of the plurality of workpiece carriers.
Regarding claim 6, Laxxon discloses in the video a transport device running at two levels and connected by a lifting device which meets the limitations of “runs at least in sections along at least two planes and/or a lifting device is provided between two planes of the transport device”.
Regarding claim 7, Laxxon discloses a drying device in the video (“Trockner”) which meets the limitation of at least one drying device for the at least one screen-printed workpiece.
Regarding claim 8, Laxxon discloses the movability of the work-piece carrier is independent of the support in the printing unit through the drying device in the video. This meets the limitation that the plurality of workpiece carriers can be moved through the drying device independently of the at least one printing table plate and the plurality of workpiece carriers can be moved through the drying device automatically.
See individual conveyor belts in each module
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Brosi discloses providing the workpiece carrier with orientation markings which are optically detected by a detection device that is a camera unit to detect the position of the support plate and/or substrates (P0008) which meets the limitations that the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers is provided with at least one marking, the marking being identifiable electronically optically and/or by camera via which the position and/or orientation of the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers can be detected.
Regarding claim 11, Hirukawa teaches a storage section 60 for board support members 70 (fig.1 and 2, P0022) which meets the limitation of at least one storage device being designed for the temporary storage of the plurality of workpiece carriers.
Figures 1 and 2 of Hirukawa storage
Regarding claim 12, Laxxon discloses in the video the automated transport of the workpiece carrier which meets the limitation that the transport device is designed for the automated transport of the plurality of workpiece carriers between the storage device and the printing device.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Laxxon discloses in the video that in the transport circuit, the carrier can move under the dryer several times as it has an independent reversible conveyor belt, without having to move under the printer again first. This meets the limitation that in the transport circuit, the return from the drying device to the printing device is designed in a single line, where the transport device is designed to pass the plurality of workpiece carriers through the drying device several times, without passing through the printing device.
Regarding claim 17, Laxxon discloses in the video a dryer (“Trockner”) producing an elevated temperature so that the workpiece carriers should obviously be made of a temperature resistant material for durability. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Laxxon discloses in the video a device system consisting of a plurality of modules (minute 0:05 and 0:08) meeting the limitation that a plurality of devices which can be connected modularly to form a device system.
Regarding claim 19, Laxxon teaches a method for producing three- dimensional screen-printed workpieces, using a printing device for the layer-by-layer production of a plurality of screen-printed workpieces in a plurality of printing operations and with a plurality of workpiece carriers which can be positioned within the printing device for carrying out a printing process (video animation). Laxxon is silent to at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers being individually marked for tracking between two successive printing operations.
Hirukawa, in the same field of endeavor, screen printing, cures this deficiency by teaching “An identification section (for example, a mark) for position recognition is formed on a lower face of the screen mask M” which is construed to meet the claim limitation of at least one workpiece carrier being individually marked for tracking between two successive printing operations by means of an individual and traceable marking with at least one marking for individual identification and individual tracking of the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers (P0026).
The claimed invention is directed to a workpiece carrier marked for tracking between printing operations. The prior art of Laxxon teaches workpiece carriers but does not indicate marking. The prior art Hirukawa discloses marking for tracking between print operations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have marked at least one workpiece carrier for tracking between two successive printing operations as in Hirukawa in the process of Laxxon for the purpose of position recognition as taught by Hirukawa (P0028). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Modified Laxxon discloses a printing device but is silent to a printing table plate. Brosi, in the same field of endeavor, screen printing, cures this deficiency by teaching the printing device, 1, has a printing table, 5, on which the substrates are arranged before the printing process (P0021). Further teaching the support plate 20 is fed to the printing table 5 by a feed device 21 and removed again from the printing table 5 by means of a discharge device 22 after the printing process has taken place and guided out of the printing device 1 (P0028). This meets the limitation that the printing device comprises at least one printing table plate being formed separately from one of the plurality of workpiece carriers and on which the workpiece carrier can be positioned for carrying out a printing process, wherein the workpiece carrier is, between two successive printing processes for the at least one screen-printed workpiece, detachable from the at least one printing table plate for drying the at least one screen-printed workpiece. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a printing table plate as in Brosi in the apparatus of Laxxon for the purpose of easily rotating or shifting the support plate relative to the printing device as taught by Brosi (P0022).
Modified Laxxon is silent to the printing device and the least one drying device are configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier.
McFarland, in the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, teaches the printing device is configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier (P0054) and a heat device (P0038) which meets the limitation of a drying device.
While McFarland isn’t specific to the drying device being configured to recognize a workpiece carrier on the basis of a marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the workpiece carrier, it would be obvious to have they drying device also recognize workpiece carriers. This is a duplication of the recording done by the printing device itself. The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a printing device recognize and record process steps carried out in relation to a workpiece carrier for the purpose of tracking the workpiece throughout the manufacturing process as taught by McFarland (P0054).
Regarding claim 20, Laxxon discloses in the video that the transport device is designed for the automated transport of the plurality of workpiece carriers between the printing device and the drying device.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laxxon Medical of record, “Laxxon” going forward (“3D Siebdruck Animation”, 2019), Hirukawa (US 20180162118 A1) the US equivalent to EP 3305525 A1 of record, Brosi of record (EP 2711183 A1) and McFarland (US20180275634A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Baccini of record (US 20120048132 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Laxxon is silent to an automated optical control for alignment. To cure this deficiency, Baccini, in the same field of endeavor, screen printing, teaches “a screen printing process comprises printing a first layer of a pattern onto a surface of a substrate with a screen printing device, wherein the pattern comprises a structure of conductive thin lines and at least two alignment marks, moving the substrate under an optical inspection assembly, capturing an optical image of the first layer of the pattern, determining the actual position of the at least two alignment marks with respect to at least one feature of the substrate, comparing the actual position of the at least two alignment marks with an expected position of the at least two alignment marks, determining an offset between the actual position and the expected position, adjusting the screen printing device to account for the determined offset, and printing a second layer of the pattern onto the first layer of the pattern via the adjusted screen printing device” (P0009). This meets the limitation that the printing device is configured for fine adjustment between two successive printing layers for the at least one screen-printed workpiece, wherein a position detection device is configured to detect a position of the at least one screen-printed workpiece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an automated optical control for alignment as Baccini does, in the system of modified Laxxon, for the purpose of improving the accuracy with which the second layer of the screen printed pattern is aligned with the first layer of the screen printed pattern as taught by Baccini (P0035).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laxxon Medical of record, “Laxxon” going forward (“3D Siebdruck Animation”, 2019) in view of Hirukawa (US 20180162118 A1) the US equivalent to EP 3305525 A1 of record, Brosi of record (EP 2711183 A1) and McFarland (US20180275634A1).
Regarding claim 21, Laxxon teaches an apparatus for producing three- dimensional screen-printed workpieces, with a printing device for the layer-by-layer production of at least one screen-printed workpiece in a plurality of printing operations and with a plurality of workpiece carriers which can be positioned within the printing device for carrying out a printing process (video animation) and a drying device (“Trockner” in the video). Laxxon is silent to at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers being individually and/or traceably marked.
Hirukawa, in the same field of endeavor, screen printing, cures this deficiency by teaching “An identification section (for example, a mark) for position recognition is formed on a lower face of the screen mask M” which is construed to meet the claim limitation of at least one workpiece carrier being individually and traceably marked with at least one marking for individual identification and individual tracking of the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers (P0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have marked at least one workpiece carrier as in Hirukawa in the apparatus of Laxxon for the purpose of position recognition as taught by Hirukawa (P0028). "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Modified Laxxon discloses a printing device but is silent to a printing table plate. Brosi, in the same field of endeavor, screen printing, cures this deficiency by teaching the printing device, 1, has a printing table, 5, on which the substrates are arranged before the printing process (P0021). Further teaching the support plate 20 is fed to the printing table 5 by a feed device 21 and removed again from the printing table 5 by means of a discharge device 22 after the printing process has taken place and guided out of the printing device 1 (P0028). This meets the limitation that the printing device comprises at least one printing table plate being formed separately from one of the plurality of workpiece carriers and on which the workpiece carrier can be positioned for carrying out a printing process, wherein the workpiece carrier is, between two successive printing processes for the at least one screen-printed workpiece, detachable from the at least one printing table plate for drying the at least one screen-printed workpiece. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a printing table plate as in Brosi in the apparatus of Laxxon for the purpose of easily rotating or shifting the support plate relative to the printing device as taught by Brosi (P0022).
Modified Laxxon is silent to the printing device and the least one drying device are configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier.
McFarland, in the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, teaches the printing device is configured to recognize the at least one of the plurality of workpiece carriers on the basis of the marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the at least one workpiece carrier (P0054) and a heat treatment station (P0038) which meets the limitation of a drying station and would inherently include a heating device which would have the effect of drying.
It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967).
While McFarland isn’t specific to the drying device being configured to recognize a workpiece carrier on the basis of a marking and to record process steps carried out in relation to the workpiece carrier, it would be obvious to have they drying device also recognize workpiece carriers. This is a duplication of the recording done by the printing device itself. The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a printing device recognize and record process steps carried out in relation to a workpiece carrier for the purpose of tracking the workpiece throughout the manufacturing process as taught by McFarland (P0054).
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/11/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 3-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of McFarland (US20180275634A1).
Conclusion
See pertinent art not relied upon in the current rejection: US 2014/0315153 and US 2015/0147585.
/ERICA HARTSELL FUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1741