DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. <NUMBER> has a total of <CLAIMS> claims pending in the application.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is a process type claim. Claim 12 is a machine type claim. Claim 14 is a manufacture type claim. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
As per claim 1,
2A Prong 1:
“Monitoring … when an audio session becomes active” A user mentally or with pencil and paper monitors when an audio session starts).
“Executing … a hierarchical classification model to classify the audio session” The user mentally or with pencil and paper uses a set of models to determine what type of audio is being started.
“Determine, at a first classification stage, whether the audio session is classifiable with the predetermined criteria by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source of the audio session” The user mentally or with pencil and paper listens to or looks at audio data and determines if the classification is already known.
“in response to determining that the audio session is classifiable at the first classification stage, classifying the audio session at the first classification stage based on the predetermined criteria” The user mentally or with pencil and paper classifies the incoming data using predetermined criteria.
“in response to determining that the audio session is not classifiable at the first classification stage, classifying the audio session at a second classification stage based on a … analysis of metadata” The user mentally or with pencil and paper looks for additional detail, such in metadata, to classify the audio if the previous attempt fails.
“Implementing an audio reproduction setting, based on the classification from the first classification stage or the second classification stage…” The user mentally or with pencil and paper discloses the appropriate settings for the audio.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
a processor (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
“a machine learning analysis” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: A generic machine learning analysis that is no more than a generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithm.
“loading … a file with predetermined criteria, wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“Present the audio session; and presenting the audio session using the implemented audio reproduction setting to a device to output the audio session” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
A processor, a memory (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
“a machine learning analysis” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: A generic machine learning analysis that is no more than a generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithm.
“loading … a file with predetermined criteria, wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving data from memory” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed loading step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“Present the audio session; and presenting the audio session using the implemented audio reproduction setting to a device to output the audio session” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “receiving or transmitting data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed presenting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claims 5-8, and 10-11, these claims contain additional mental steps to claim 1, and are rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 3, this claim contains additional mental steps to claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
As per claim 9, this claim contains additional mental steps and generic machine learning analysis, and is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
As per claim 20, this claim contains additional mental steps and generic hardware similar to claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
“an application programming interface” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“an application programming interface” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
As per claim 12,
2A Prong 1:
“Detect activation of the audio session” The user mentally or with pencil and paper listens to or looks at audio data.
“execute a hierarchical classification model to classify the audio session, including to” The user mentally or with pencil and paper uses a set of models to determine what type of audio is being started.
“determine whether the audio session is classifiable with the predetermined criteria by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source of the audio session” The user mentally or with pencil and paper listens to or looks at audio data and classifies the source of the data.
“extract metadata corresponding to the audio session” The user mentally or with pencil and paper determines the various metadata for the audio.
“provide the metadata to a … model to classify the audio session in response to determining that the audio session is not classifiable with predetermined criteria” The user mentally or with pencil and paper attempts to classify the audio with easier data, and when it fails, goes on to more complex methods to classify the data.
“implement an audio reproduction setting, based on the classification” The user mentally or with pencil and paper discloses the appropriate settings for the audio.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
A memory, a processor (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
“a machine learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: A generic machine learning model that is no more than a generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithm.
“Storing a file with predetermined criteria, wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“Present the audio session; and present the audio session, with the implemented audio reproduction setting, to a device to output the audio setting” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
A processor, a memory (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
“a machine learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: A generic machine learning model that is no more than a generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithm.
“Storing a file with predetermined criteria, wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving data from memory” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“Present the audio session; and present the audio session, with the implemented audio reproduction setting, to a device to output the audio setting” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “receiving or transmitting data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed presenting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claim 13, 17 and 19, this claim contains additional mental steps and generic machine learning analysis, and is rejected for similar reasons to claim 12.
As perc claim 16, this claim contains similar mental steps and generic computer hardware to claim 12, and is rejected for similar reasons.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
“the memory stores a file” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“the memory stores a file” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving data from memory” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claim 18, this claim contains additional mental steps and generic machine learning analysis, and is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
“an application programming interface” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“an application programming interface” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
As per claim 14,
2A Prong 1:
“Monitor when an audio session becomes active” A user mentally or with pencil and paper monitors when an audio session starts.
“Classify the audio session in accordance with a hierarchy, wherein the hierarchy comprises a first classification stage to classify in accordance with predetermined criteria and a second classification stage to classify using a … model based on metadata corresponding to the audio session if the audio session is not classifiable at the first classification stage” The user mentally or with pencil and paper attempts to classify the audio with easier data, and when it fails, goes on to more complex methods to classify the data.
“implement an audio reproduction setting, based on the classification from the first classification stage or the second classification stage” The user mentally or with pencil and paper discloses the appropriate settings for the audio.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
A non-transitory tangible computer readable medium, a processor (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
“a machine learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: A generic machine learning model that is no more than a generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithm.
“load a file with predetermined criteria, wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“Present the audio session and present the audio session, with the implemented audio reproduction setting, to a device to output the audio session” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
A non-transitory tangible computer readable medium, a processor (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
“a machine learning analysis” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: A generic machine learning model that is no more than a generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithm.
“load a file with predetermined criteria, wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving data from memory” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“Present the audio session and present the audio session, with the implemented audio reproduction setting, to a device to output the audio session” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “receiving or transmitting data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed presenting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claim 15, this claim contains additional mental steps and is rejected for similar reasons to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 12-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharitkar et al (WO 2018199997 ) in view of Guo et al (“Boosting for Content-based Audio Classification and Retrieval: An Evaluation”) and Baracaldo-Angel, hereinafter Baracaldo (US 20200019821 A1).
As per claim 1, Bharitkar discloses, “A method, comprising: “loading, by a processor” (pg.19-20, particularly paragraph 0073; EN: this denotes the hardware for the system). “a file with predetermined criteria … of an audio session” (Pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes taking in a file via a feature extractor).
“monitoring, by the processor when an audio session becomes active” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes the system receiving an audio signal)).
“executing, by the processor, a hierarchical classification model to classify the audio session, including” (Figure 3 and associated paragraphs, particularly pg.7-8, paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes two models, one which works on metadata, and another which is “switched on” when the metadata is contradictory).
“determining, at a first classification stage, whether the audio session is classifiable … of the audio session” (pg.7, particularly paragraph 0029; EN: this describes the first classification stage).
“in response to determining that the audio session is classifiable at a first classification stage, classifying the audio session at the first classification stage…” (pg.7-8, particularly paragraph 0031; EN: This denotes the system using the classification from the first classifier unless it is found to be unreliable).
“in response to determining that the audio session is not classifiable at the first classification stage” (pg.7-8, particularly paragraph 0031; EN: This denotes the system using the classification from the first classifier unless it is found to be unreliable. Only when the first classifier is found “unreliable” (i.e. not classifiable at that stage) is the second classifier “switched on.”). “classifying the audio at a second classification stage based on a machine learning analysis …” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0032; EN :this denotes the second stage which performs a different type of classification).
“implementing an audio reproduction setting, based on the classification from the first classification stage or the second classification stage, to present the audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes reproducing the audio content using speakers with optimal audio presets).
“presenting the audio session using the implemented audio reproduction setting to a device to output the audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes reproducing the audio content using speakers with optimal audio presets).
However, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source…” “… with predetermined criteria by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source of the audio session”, and “the audio session based on a machine learning analysis of metadata.”
Guo discloses, “… with predetermined criteria…”, and “the audio session based on a machine learning analysis of metadata” (Pg.369, particularly C1, second to last paragraph; EN: this describes boosting algorithms, which focus on different aspects of the training data when the previous classifier fails to properly classify the data. When combined with the Bharitkar reference, this denotes changing the criteria at each stage of the classification as needed to optimize the classification).
Baracaldo discloses, “wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source…” by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source of the audio session …” (Pg.3, particularly paragraphs 0033-0034; EN: this denotes taking in trusted data from known sources and untrusted data from untruste4d sources. Pg.7, particulalry7 paragraph 0079-0083; EN: this denotes processing untrusted data in order to confirm that it is data that should be used by the system. When combined with the Bharitkar and Guo reference, this denotes labeling data based on the source when the source is trusted, and processing data from untrusted sources in order to determine it is what you want it to be).
Bharitkar and Guo are analogous art because both involve audio classification.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio classification to combine the work of Guo and Bharitkar in order to select different data to examine at different stages of classification.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow “to combine a collection of weak classification functions (weak learner) to form a stronger classifier. AdaBoost is an adaptive algorithm to boost a sequence of classifiers, in that the weights are updated dynamically according to the errors in previous learning” (Guo, Pg.1201, Section 3, first paragraph) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to focus on certain data in the first round and change to different data in the second round when the first round of classification is not successful.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio classification to combine the work of Guo and Bharitkar in order to select different data to examine at different stages of classification.
Further, the Examiner cites MPEP 2144.04 to show that mere “rearrangement of parts” is not enough to make a claim novel over the prior art (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 195). Here the Bharitkar reference clearly discloses using a first model, a neural network, which makes use of metadata to classify (see Bharitkar, Pg.4, paragraph 0022) and then proceeds to use other criteria in the second stage of classification using specific data from the audio (Bharitkar, Pg.8, paragraph 0032). Merely switching the order of these two algorithms as in the claims would be mere rearrangements of part, and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 195).
Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo are analogous art because both involve machine learning.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of machine learning to combine the work of Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo in order to accept data from trusted sources and confirm data from unknown or untrusted sources.
The motivation for doing so would be to make use of “data from a trusted source” (Baracaldo, Pg.2-3, paragraph 0033) and verify data from “data obtained from any source that is not a trusted source” (Baracaldo, Pg.3, paragraph 0034) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to accept labels from trusted sources and perform further classification for data from untrusted sources.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of machine learning to combine the work of Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo in order to accept data from trusted sources and confirm data from unknown or untrusted sources.
As per claim 5, Bharitkar discloses, “Wherein, in response to determining that a second audio session is classifiable at the first classification stage, the method comprises classifying the second audio session based on …” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0032; EN :this denotes the second stage which performs a different type of classification when the first is not successful).
Guo discloses, “predetermined criteria” (Pg.369, particularly C1, second to last paragraph; EN: this describes boosting algorithms, which focus on different aspects of the training data when the previous classifier fails to properly classify the data. When combined with the Bharitkar reference, this denotes changing the criteria at each stage of the classification as needed to optimize the classification).
As per claim 8, Bharitkar discloses, “wherein classifying the audio session based on machine learning analysis comprises classifying the audio session as surround content, stereo content, or monophonic content” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes part of the classifying being the channel count, 1 being monophonic, 2 being stereo, more being surround).
As per claim 9, Bharitkar discloses, wherein the machine learning analysis is performed using machine learning model that is trained with content duration metadata” (pg.4,particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes part of the classifying including duration).
As per claim 12¸Bhartikar discloses, “An apparatus, comprising: a memory; (pg.19-20, particularly paragraph 0073; EN: this denotes the hardware for the system). “storing a file with predetermined criteria … of an audio session” (Pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes taking in a file via a feature extractor).
“a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is to:” (pg.19-20, particularly paragraph 0073; EN: this denotes the hardware for the system).
“detect activation of an audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes the system receiving an audio signal)).
“execute a hierarchical classification model to classify the audio session including to: “(Figure 3 and associated paragraphs, particularly pg.7-8, paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes two models, one which works on metadata, and another which is “switched on” when the metadata is contradictory).
“determine whether the audio session is classifiable … of the audio session” (Figure 3 and associated paragraphs, particularly pg.7-8, paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes two models, one which works on metadata, and another which is “switched on” when the metadata is contradictory).
“extract metadata corresponding to the audio session” (Figure 3 and associated paragraphs, particularly pg.7-8, paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes two models, one which works on metadata, and another which is “switched on” when the metadata is contradictory).
“provide the … data to a machine learning model to classify the audio session in response to determining that the audio session is not classifiable…” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0032; EN :this denotes the second stage which performs a different type of classification).
“implement an audio reproduction setting based on the classification to present the audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes reproducing the audio content using speakers with optimal audio presets).
“Present the audio session, with the implemented audio reproduction setting, to a device to output the audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes reproducing the audio content using speakers with optimal audio presets).
However, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session”, “with the predetermined criteria by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source of the audio session”, “the metadata to a machine learning model.”
Guo discloses, “with the predetermined criteria by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source of the audio session”, “the metadata to a machine learning model” (Pg.369, particularly C1, second to last paragraph; EN: this describes boosting algorithms, which focus on different aspects of the training data when the previous classifier fails to properly classify the data. When combined with the Bharitkar reference, this denotes changing the criteria at each stage of the classification as needed to optimize the classification).
Baracaldo discloses, “wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source…” and “by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source of the audio session” (Pg.3, particularly paragraphs 0033-0034; EN: this denotes taking in trusted data from known sources and untrusted data from untruste4d sources. Pg.7, particulalry7 paragraph 0079-0083; EN: this denotes processing untrusted data in order to confirm that it is data that should be used by the system. When combined with the Bharitkar and Guo reference, this denotes labeling data based on the source when the source is trusted, and processing data from untrusted sources in order to determine it is what you want it to be).
Bharitkar and Guo are analogous art because both involve audio classification.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio classification to combine the work of Guo and Bharitkar in order to select different data to examine at different stages of classification.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow “to combine a collection of weak classification functions (weak learner) to form a stronger classifier. AdaBoost is an adaptive algorithm to boost a sequence of classifiers, in that the weights are updated dynamically according to the errors in previous learning” (Guo, Pg.1201, Section 3, first paragraph) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to focus on certain data in the first round and change to different data in the second round when the first round of classification is not successful.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio classification to combine the work of Guo and Bharitkar in order to select different data to examine at different stages of classification.
Further, the Examiner cites MPEP 2144.04 to show that mere “rearrangement of parts” is not enough to make a claim novel over the prior art (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 195). Here the Bharitkar reference clearly discloses using a first model, a neural network, which makes use of metadata to classify (see Bharitkar, Pg.4, paragraph 0022) and then proceeds to use other criteria in the second stage of classification using specific data from the audio (Bharitkar, Pg.8, paragraph 0032). Merely switching the order of these two algorithms as in the claims would be mere rearrangements of part, and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 195).
Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo are analogous art because both involve machine learning.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of machine learning to combine the work of Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo in order to accept data from trusted sources and confirm data from unknown or untrusted sources.
The motivation for doing so would be to make use of “data from a trusted source” (Baracaldo, Pg.2-3, paragraph 0033) and verify data from “data obtained from any source that is not a trusted source” (Baracaldo, Pg.3, paragraph 0034) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to accept labels from trusted sources and perform further classification for data from untrusted sources.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of machine learning to combine the work of Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo in order to accept data from trusted sources and confirm data from unknown or untrusted sources.
As per claim 13, Bharitkar discloses, “Wherein the machine learning model is trained using data indicating content duration, sample rate, video presence, bit depth, or number of channels” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes duration as an aspect to classifying).
As per claim 14, Bharitkar discloses, “A non-transitory tangible computer readable medium storing executable code executable by a processor to:” (pg.19-20, particularly paragraph 0073; EN: this denotes the hardware for the system).
“load a file with predetermined criteria … of an audio session” (Pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes taking in a file via a feature extractor).
“monitor when the audio session becomes active” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes the system receiving an audio signal)).
“Execute a hierarchical classification model to classify the audio session, including to:” (Figure 3 and associated paragraphs, particularly pg.7-8, paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes two models, one which works on metadata, and another which is “switched on” when the metadata is contradictory).
“determine whether the audio session is classifiable … of the audio session” (Figure 3 and associated paragraphs, particularly pg.7-8, paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes two models, one which works on metadata, and another which is “switched on” when the metadata is contradictory).
”extract metadata corresponding to the audio session” (Figure 3 and associated paragraphs, particularly pg.7-8, paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes two models, one which works on metadata, and another which is “switched on” when the metadata is contradictory).
“provide the … data to a machine learning model to classify the audio session in response to determining that the audio session is not classifiable…” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0032; EN :this denotes the second stage which performs a different type of classification).
“implement an audio reproduction setting, based on the classification from the first classification stage or the second classification stage, to present the audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes reproducing the audio content using speakers with optimal audio presets).
“Present the audio session, with the implemented audio reproduction setting, to a device to output the audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes reproducing the audio content using speakers with optimal audio presets).
However, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session”, “with the predetermined criteria by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source …”, “provide the metadata to a machine learning model.”
Guo discloses, “with the predetermined criteria”, “provide the metadata to a machine learning model” (Pg.369, particularly C1, second to last paragraph; EN: this describes boosting algorithms, which focus on different aspects of the training data when the previous classifier fails to properly classify the data. When combined with the Bharitkar reference, this denotes changing the criteria at each stage of the classification as needed to optimize the classification).
Baracaldo discloses, “wherein the file indicates a classification based on a source of an audio session”, and “by determining whether the predetermined criteria indicate a classification for the source…” (Pg.3, particularly paragraphs 0033-0034; EN: this denotes taking in trusted data from known sources and untrusted data from untruste4d sources. Pg.7, particulalry7 paragraph 0079-0083; EN: this denotes processing untrusted data in order to confirm that it is data that should be used by the system. When combined with the Bharitkar and Guo reference, this denotes labeling data based on the source when the source is trusted, and processing data from untrusted sources in order to determine it is what you want it to be).
Bharitkar and Guo are analogous art because both involve audio classification.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio classification to combine the work of Guo and Bharitkar in order to select different data to examine at different stages of classification.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow “to combine a collection of weak classification functions (weak learner) to form a stronger classifier. AdaBoost is an adaptive algorithm to boost a sequence of classifiers, in that the weights are updated dynamically according to the errors in previous learning” (Guo, Pg.1201, Section 3, first paragraph) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to focus on certain data in the first round and change to different data in the second round when the first round of classification is not successful.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio classification to combine the work of Guo and Bharitkar in order to select different data to examine at different stages of classification.
Further, the Examiner cites MPEP 2144.04 to show that mere “rearrangement of parts” is not enough to make a claim novel over the prior art (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 195). Here the Bharitkar reference clearly discloses using a first model, a neural network, which makes use of metadata to classify (see Bharitkar, Pg.4, paragraph 0022) and then proceeds to use other criteria in the second stage of classification using specific data from the audio (Bharitkar, Pg.8, paragraph 0032). Merely switching the order of these two algorithms as in the claims would be mere rearrangements of part, and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 195).
Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo are analogous art because both involve machine learning.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of machine learning to combine the work of Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo in order to accept data from trusted sources and confirm data from unknown or untrusted sources.
The motivation for doing so would be to make use of “data from a trusted source” (Baracaldo, Pg.2-3, paragraph 0033) and verify data from “data obtained from any source that is not a trusted source” (Baracaldo, Pg.3, paragraph 0034) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to accept labels from trusted sources and perform further classification for data from untrusted sources.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of machine learning to combine the work of Baracaldo and Bharitkar modified by Guo in order to accept data from trusted sources and confirm data from unknown or untrusted sources.
As per claim 15, Bharitkar discloses, “wherein the second classification stage is after the first classification stage” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0032; EN :this denotes the second stage which performs a different type of classification).
As per claim 16, Bharitkar discloses, “wherein the memory stores a file with the …” (pg.5, particularly paragraph 0024; EN: this denotes the data used to train the model) “wherein the file indicates the classification based on a source of content for the audio session” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN; this denotes the sources of the file such as MPEG-2 transport stream, MPEG4 audio video file containers, etc.).
Guo discloses, “predetermined criteria” (Pg.369, particularly C1, second to last paragraph; EN: this describes boosting algorithms, which focus on different aspects of the training data when the previous classifier fails to properly classify the data. When combined with the Bharitkar reference, this denotes changing the criteria at each stage of the classification as needed to optimize the classification).
As per claim 18, Bharitkar discloses, “wherein the classification includes one of the following: movie, music, or voice” (Pg.3, particularly paragraph 0018; EN: this denotes classifying as movie, music, or voice).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharitkar et al (WO 2018199997 ) in view of Guo et al (“Boosting for Content-based Audio Classification and Retrieval: An Evaluation”) and Baracaldo-Angel, hereinafter Baracaldo (US 20200019821 A1) in claim 1 and further in view of Rajapakse (US 20160328396 A1).
As per claim 3, Bharitkar discloses, further comprising monitoring audio session activity to determine when the audio session becomes active” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes monitoring the audio and changing the settings as its classified).
Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “further comprising monitoring audio session activity …using an application programming interface.”
Rajapakse discloses, “further comprising monitoring audio session activity …using an application programming interface.” (pg.3, particularly paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes using an API to integrate with audio sources).
Bharitkar and Rajapakse are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of APIs for audio data.
The motivation for doing so would be for “integrating with various additional products or services to enhance operation of a system 120, for example a software application programming interface (API) may enable integration with media playback software such as ITUNES for making a user’s media library available to a media indexing server 122 for indexing” (Rajapakse, Pg. 3, paragraph 0031) or in the case of Bharitkar allow the system to draw media files from wherever needed via API.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of APIs for audio data.
As per claim 10, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “Further comprising implementing the audio reproduction setting by using a surround sound setting in response to classifying the audio session is classified as surround content.”
Rajapakse discloses, “Further comprising implementing the audio reproduction setting by using a surround sound setting in response to classifying the audio session is classified as surround content” (pg.5-6, particularly paragraph 0041; EN: this denotes the system setting up playback with the appropriate speaker versions for the audio file).
Bharitkar and Rajapakse are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of the appropriate sound configuration for a file.
The motivation for doing so would be for “insuring the correct speaker version is streamed to the correct playback devices” (Rajapakse, Pg.5-6, paragraph 0041).
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of the appropriate sound configuration for a file.
As per claim 11, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “Further comprising implementing the audio reproduction setting by using a stereo sound setting in response to classifying the audio session is classified as stereo content.”
Rajapakse discloses, “Further comprising implementing the audio reproduction setting by using a stereo sound setting in response to classifying the audio session is classified as stereo content” (pg.5-6, particularly paragraph 0041; EN: this denotes the system setting up playback with the appropriate speaker versions for the audio file).
Bharitkar and Rajapakse are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of the appropriate sound configuration for a file.
The motivation for doing so would be for “insuring the correct speaker version is streamed to the correct playback devices” (Rajapakse, Pg.5-6, paragraph 0041).
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of the appropriate sound configuration for a file.
As per claim 17, Bharitkar discloses, “wherein the processor is to monitor the audio session activation…” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0020; EN: this denotes monitoring the audio and changing the settings as its classified).
Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “…using an application programming interface.”
Rajapakse discloses, “…using an application programming interface” (pg.3, particularly paragraph 0031; EN: this denotes using an API to integrate with audio sources).
Bharitkar and Rajapakse are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of APIs for audio data.
The motivation for doing so would be for “integrating with various additional products or services to enhance operation of a system 120, for example a software application programming interface (API) may enable integration with media playback software such as ITUNES for making a user’s media library available to a media indexing server 122 for indexing” (Rajapakse, Pg. 3, paragraph 0031) or in the case of Bharitkar allow the system to draw media files from wherever needed via API.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of APIs for audio data.
As per claim 19, Bharitkar discloses, “wherein to implement the audio reproduction setting includes: to implement a … setting when the classification is movie” (pg.3, particularly paragraph 0018; EN: this denotes different presets for movie, voice, and music).
“to implement a … setting when the classification is music” (pg.3, particularly paragraph 0018; EN: this denotes different presets for movie, voice, and music).
“to implement a monophonic setting when the classification is voice” (pg.3, particularly paragraph 0018; EN: this denotes different presets for movie, voice, and music).
However, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “surround sound setting’, “stereo setting’ and “monophonic setting.”
Rajapakse discloses, “surround sound setting’, “stereo setting’ and “monophonic setting” (pg.5-6, particularly paragraph 0041; EN: this denotes the system setting up playback with the appropriate speaker versions for the audio file).
Bharitkar and Rajapakse are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of the appropriate sound configuration for a file.
The motivation for doing so would be for “insuring the correct speaker version is streamed to the correct playback devices” (Rajapakse, Pg.5-6, paragraph 0041).
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Rajapakse in order to make use of the appropriate sound configuration for a file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharitkar et al (WO 2018199997 ) in view of Guo et al (“Boosting for Content-based Audio Classification and Retrieval: An Evaluation”) and Baracaldo-Angel, hereinafter Baracaldo (US 20200019821 A1) in claim 1 and further in view of Gudorf et al (US 20140150023 A1).
As per claim 6, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “wherein, in response to determining that the audio session is not classifiable at the first classification stage, the method comprises determining whether the audio session corresponds to a supported browser process.”
Gudorf discloses, “wherein, in response to determining that the audio session is not classifiable at the first classification stage, the method comprises determining whether the audio session corresponds to a supported browser process” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0046; EN: this denotes various browsers which can be used to deal with audio data and determining the proper format based upon that data. When combined with the Bharitkar reference, this data can be useful when classifying audio data as the format can provide information on what type of data is being looked at).
Bharitkar and Gudorf are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Gudorf in order to identify the source of audio including associated browsers.
The motivation for doing so would be to “determine what program mode will be required to playback a media asset or media service” (Gudorf, Pg.4, paragraph 0048) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to consider the source when analyzing audio data in order to improve classification of that audio data.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Gudorf in order to identify the source of audio including associated browsers.
As per claim 7, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “in response to determining that he audio session does not correspond to a supported browser process, the method comprises determining a media file handle corresponding to the audio session.”
Gudorf discloses, “in response to determining that he audio session does not correspond to a supported browser process, the method comprises determining a media file handle corresponding to the audio session” (pg.4-5, particularly paragraph 0047-0048 and table 1; EN: this denotes looking at the files for additional information regardless of the type of browser).
Bharitkar and Gudorf are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Gudorf in order to identify the source of audio including associated browsers.
The motivation for doing so would be to “determine what program mode will be required to playback a media asset or media service” (Gudorf, Pg.4, paragraph 0048) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to consider the source when analyzing audio data in order to improve classification of that audio data.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Gudorf in order to identify the source of audio including associated browsers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharitkar et al (WO 2018199997 ) in view of Guo et al (“Boosting for Content-based Audio Classification and Retrieval: An Evaluation”) and Baracaldo-Angel, hereinafter Baracaldo (US 20200019821 A1) in claim 1 and further in view of Baumgartner et al (US 5642171).
As per claim 20, Bharitkar discloses, “wherein monitoring, by the processor, when the audio session becomes active includes determining when an applications initiated streaming audio” (pg.4, particularly paragraph 0022; EN: this denotes streaming data as part of the system).
However, Bharitkar fails to explicitly disclose, “to a sound card.”
Baumgartner discloses, “to a sound card” (C1, particularly L32-58; EN: this denotes the use of sound cards to control speakers).
Bharitkar and Baumgartner are analogous art because both involve audio processing.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Baumgartner in order to use a sound card for audio processing.
The motivation for doing so would be to “provide audio output to speakers” (Baumgartner, C1, L31-49) or in the case of Bharitkar, allow the system to use a sound card to control the reproduction of the audio as needed.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of audio processing to combine the work of Bharitkar and Baumgartner in order to use a sound card for audio processing.
Response to Arguments
In pg.7, the Applicant argues in regards to the rejection under U.S.C. 101,
This conclusion is consistent with USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Example 38, "Simulating an Analog Audio Mixer." In Example 38, the Office analyzed computer-implemented audio-processing claims and recognized that operations such as initializing a model, generating values, and processing a digital audio representation are not practically performed in the human mind. The pending claims likewise do not recite a person merely listening to audio and mentally selecting a setting. Instead, the claims require computer-implemented operations tied to an active audio session, including loading or storing a file of predetermined source-based criteria, determining whether that file indicates a classification for the source of the audio session, executing a hierarchical classification model, and implementing an audio reproduction setting. These operations are performed on computer-detected audio-session information and stored digital criteria, and therefore are not mental processes under Step 2A, Prong One.
In response, the Examiner maintains the rejection as shown above. Example 38 disclose simulating an audio mixer and simulating digital representations of the analog circuit and the location of each circuit element. The instant claims denote monitoring audio, classifying that audio, and changing settings on an audio device based on that classification. These are not analogous as no hardware or circuits are being simulated. The monitoring of audio, classification of type of audio, and changing of settings could all be performed in the human mind. Example 38 has no mental process, and therefore is not analogous to the instant claims, and therefore the rejection is maintained as shown above.
In pg.8-9, the Applicant argues in regards to the rejection under U.S.C. 101,
On pages 2-11 of the Office Action, the Office alleges that claims 1, 12, and 14 recite "a memory, a non-transitory tangible computer readable medium, a processor (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component) a generic machine learning model that is no more than a generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithm." However, as noted above, claims 1, 12, and 14 further recite loading a file with predetermined criteria that indicates a classification based on a source, an audio session, a hierarchical classification model, a first classification stage that determines classifiability by a source-based lookup against the predetermined criteria, a second classification stage, an audio reproduction setting, and presenting the audio session to a device to output the audio session. At least these elements of claims 1, 12, and 14 are not parts of a generic computer nor are they elements for mere data gathering. As such, the claim recites more than merely applying a machine learning analysis, as alleged by the Office. Rather, the claims call for implementing an audio reproduction setting and outputting the corresponding audio session using the classification executed by the processor of the claimed systems and methods. That is, the processes carried out by the hardware components recited in the claims ultimately generate an output that is an audio session based on the audio reproduction setting.
In response, the Examiner maintains the rejection as shown above. Merely generating an output based upon the processing of generic hardware and generic, off the shelf machine learning algorithms does not cause the claim to be significantly more than the abstract idea. Producing an output is merely extra-solutionary activity of displaying or otherwise outputting data, and extra-solutionary activity is not enough to cause the claim to be significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore the rejection is maintained as shown above.
In pg.9-10, the Applicant argues in regards to the rejection under U.S.C. 101,
The dependent claims also confirm that the claimed "audio reproduction setting" is not an abstract display or reporting step. For example, claims 10 and 11 recite using surround and stereo sound settings, and claims 18 and 19 recite classifications of movie, music, or voice with corresponding surround, stereo, and monophonic settings. These limitations further demonstrate that the claimed classification is used to control audio reproduction, not merely to generate or display information.
In response, the Examiner maintains the rejection as shown above. Changing the settings on a device is something that can be performed by a human being. It is no different than pressing a button or twisting a dial, all of which can be performed by a human. There is no improvement to the hardware, no improvement to the audio device itself, and no improvement to the machine learning algorithm. Merely changing settings on a generic device can be performed by a human being, and therefore is an abstract idea under U.S.C. 101 and the rejection is maintained as shown above.
In pg.10, the Applicant argues in regards to the rejection under U.S.C. 101,
In addition to integrating the judicial exception into a practical application through implementing audio reproduction settings and outputting audio sessions, claims 1, 12, and 14 also recite improvements to the functioning of a computer and technical field. More specifically, MPEP 2106.04(d)(T) provides example considerations of limitations that indicate a practical application of an abstract idea, such as improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). Here, advantageously, use of the hierarchical classification recited in claims 1, 12, and 14 enables automatic selection of audio reproduction setting tailored to the received and classified audio session. See, Present Application, 11 [0008], [0020], [0028]-[0030]. This improves classification accuracy and reduces processing resource usage while enabling automatic selection of an audio reproduction setting tailored to the classified audio session.
In addition, the hierarchical structure recited in the claims with a deterministic file-based lookup first, then machine learning classification performed only as a fallback when the source is unknown, represents a particular technological solution that reduces unnecessary machine learning computation. That is, by resolving unambiguous sources through an inexpensive, deterministic lookup against the loaded file of predetermined criteria, and reserving the more computationally expensive machine learning analysis for the cases in which the source is not indicated by the predetermined criteria, the claimed architecture avoids invoking the machine learning model altogether for sources the predetermined criteria already resolve. For example, the first classification stage "may be performed first in order to reduce processing associated with the machine learning model for cases where classification is unambiguous for a source." See Present Application, [0048]. This is a structural improvement to how the computer performs the classification task, and is not merely an "apply it on a computer" step. Thus, the claims do not broadly cover a generic machine learning model but, rather, are directed to a specific improvement of this technological field of precise classification of media content.
In response, the Examiner maintains the rejection as shown above. Here optimizing/automating the changing of settings is an improvement to the abstract idea, not to the underlying hardware. Reducing processing by the optimization of the data being looked at or through improved training of generic machine learning algorithms are improvements to the abstract idea, not to the underlying algorithm or hardware, and therefore the rejection is maintained as shown above.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-20 have been considered but are either moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection or repetitions of the above arguments that are rejected for similar reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEN M RIFKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2123