DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed September 11, 2026. Currently, claims 18, 20, 28, 30-31, 33-39 pending. Claims 28, 30-31, 35-37 have been withdrawn as directed to non-elected subject matter. All arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed non-persuasive for the reasons which follow.
Any objections and rejections not reiterated below are hereby withdrawn.
The Improper Markush rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims to recite a single allele.
The 101 rejection has been withdrawn as the claims were cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of HLA-B*3802 and Sulfasalazine, claims 13-21 in the paper filed May 5, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-23 have been withdrawn as directed to non-elected subject matter.
In view of the arguments with respect to phenotypes, the Examiner has rejoined SJS and TEN. Thus, SJS and TEN have been examined.
In view of the arguments filed September 11, 2026 and the art, sulfasalazine and sulfamethoxazole treatments have been rejoined as they are obvious in view of the art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application claims priority to
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 20, 33-34, 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longjou et al. (Pharmacogenetics and Genomics, Vol. 18, pages 99-107, 2008) in view of Zawodniak et al. (Int Arch Allergy Immunol. Vol. 153, No. 2, pages 152-156, 2010).
Longjou teaches analysis of HLA-B in Stevens-Johnson syndrome and toxic epidermal necrolysis. SJS and TEN are life-threatening cutaneous adverse reactions to drugs including sulfamethoxazole (abstract). Longjou teaches the B*3802 allele is associated with SJS or TEN in relation to high-risk drugs (Table 6, page 104). Table 6 illustrates B*3802 is associated with poor response to sulfamethoxazole (p-value 0.27). Longjou teaches significant associations were observed with B*38 related to SMX (page 105, col. 2). Longjou teaches the analysis may be performed prospectively or retrospectively (page 104 col. 1). Longjou teaches analysis of genomic DNA from blood samples (page 100, col. 2)(limitations of Claims 20, 34). Loungjou teaches genotyping with sequence specific primers which are allele specific (limitations of Claims 38-39).
Longjou is directed to sulfamethoxazole (SMX) and does not teach administering a disease-modifying drug that is not sulfasalazine.
However, Zawodniak teaches cross-reactivity in drug hypersensitivity reactions to sulfasalazine and sulfamethoxazole. Zawodniak teaches patients with hypersensitivity to sulfasalazine or sulfamethoxazole should be specifically advised to avoid both drugs.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have analyzed patients for HLA-B*3802 to determine sensitivity to sulfonamides. Longjou teaches the B*3802 allele is associated with poor response to sulfamethoxazole and Zawodniak teaches patients who are sensitivity to sulfamethoxazole should be specifically advised to avoid sulfasalazine also. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have analyzed B*3802 in patients prior to administering sulfasalazine to determine whether the patient was at risk of SCAR induced by sulfasalazine that is SJS or TEN. Upon detecting the B*3802 allele the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have avoided sulfasalazine for treating diseases.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection. The response asserts Lonjou disclaims a significant link to HLA-B*3802. This argument has been considered but is not convincing because the data provided in Table 6 provides Sulfamethoxazole, Allele B*3802 was significantly associated (p= 0.027). Thus the data provided for Alleles associated to SJS or TEN in relation to high-risk drugs in patients of European ancestry explicitly demonstrates a significant association (page 104, Table 6, lines 8).
The response argues the Restriction requirement dated March 3, 2025 found sulfasalazine and sulfapyridine treatments did not share a common or corresponding special technical feature. This argument has been fully considered. In view of the teachings of Zawodniak that patients with hypersensitivity to sulfasalazine or sulfamethoxazole should be specifically advised to avoid both drugs the restriction has been reconsidered. The art demonstrates that the two drug treatments are obvious over one another. Thus, the restriction as been withdrawn between sulfasalazine and sulfapyridine.
The response points to table 3 of Lonjou to demonstrate frequency of different HLA-B38 alleles. The response further argues that allele frequencies in the population of the instant specification are different. This argument has been reviewed but is not persuasive. The frequency of different alleles in the sulfasalazine induced SJS/TEN populations does not render the teachings in the art unpredictable. The art clearly provides HLA-B*3802 has a p-value of 0.027 as an allele associated to SJS or TEN in relation to high-risk drugs in patients of European ancestry. The different frequency of alleles in the study of the instant application does not take away from the significance demonstrated by the art. The populations provided in the specification and in the art are presumed to be different and as such allele frequencies would be expected to differ also. It is not clear where applicant finds a 14.3% allele frequency for Lonjou and deems this non-significant in light of the explicit p value of 0.027 in Table 6. Clarification is required.
The response further cites Strom for unpredictability of sulfonaminde allergy. This argument has been reviewed but is not persuasive. Strom is an earlier publication cited by Zawodniak. Zawodniak teaches anti-inflammatory drug sulfasalazine is an important exception to the prior findings that patients allergic to sulfonamide antibiotics do not have a specific risk for an allergy to sulfonamide non-antibiotic. Thus Zawodniak explicitly teaches patients with hypersensitivity to sulfasalazine or sulfamethoxazole should be specifically advised to avoid both drugs (abstract). Thus, for the reasons above and those already of record, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.A) Wang et al. (American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology, April 2021, Vol. 147, No. 4) teaches association of HLA-B alleles with phenotypes of co-trimoxazole-induced severe cutaneous adverse reactions including HLA-B*3802 (Table IV).
Chen et al. (NZ572259. March 30, 2012) teaches HLA alleles associated with adverse drug reactions. Chen teaches detecting HLA-B 3802 in subjects. Table 2 illustrates SJS patients with CBZ induced cutaneious ADRS. Chen teaches HLA-B*1502 is associated with an increased risk for an adverse drug reaction when the drug is carbamazepine.
Hallberg et al. (Lancet Diabetes Endrocrinol. Vol. 4, NO. 6, pages 507-516, June 2016) teaches two genome-wide association studies were published describing a strong association between agranulocytosis induced by antithyroid drugs and HLA-B*38:02. Agranulocytosis is a severe reduction in neutrophils causing profound immunosuppression. This is not considered a cutaneous adverse drug reaction since the skin is not involved.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
October 11, 2026