DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response, filed Aug 19 2026, has been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-23, 32-37, and 49 are pending.
Claims 33-37 and 49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated Oct 20 2025.
Claims 2, 24-31, 38-48, and 50-90 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-23, and 32 are rejected.
Priority
The instant Application claims domestic benefit to US provisional application 62/837,034, filed Apr 22 2019. However, the provisional application does not provide support for a formalin fixed paraffin embedded block, slide, or curl of a test subject as recited in claim 15.
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/US2020/029113, filed Apr 21 2020, is acknowledged.
Accordingly, each of claims 1, 3-14, 16-23 and 32 are afforded the effective filing date of Apr 22 2019 and claim 15 is afforded the effective filing date of Apr 21 2020.
Claim Objections
The outstanding objections to the claims are withdrawn in view of the amendments submitted herein.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
The outstanding rejections to the claims are withdrawn in view of the amendments submitted herein.
35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claim Interpretation: Claim 13 recites “wherein the targeted oligonucleotide panel comprises oligonucleotides capturing a region of a genome corresponding to one or more genomic regions selected from those set forth in Tables 5, 6, or 7, wherein
1) genomic regions set forth in Table 5 comprise:
chr1:120057158-120057246, chr1:156846120-156846233, chr1:226589833-226589958, chr1:23885498-23885599, chr10:104386934-104387019, chr10:43615505-43615633, chr10:70332580-70332672, chr11:534197-534242, chr11:8246326-8246343, chr12:121416622- 121416650, chr12:121431272-121431300, chr12:121435427-121435475, chr12:121437114- 121437221, chr12:133208886-133208979, chr12:133226159-133226196, chr12:133253995- 133254083, chr12:18656174-18656225, chr12:56494991-56494998, chr13:21562832-21562948, chr14:102568296-102568367, chr14:104165753-104165927, chr14:105239146-105239192, chr14:105258892-105258893, chr14:35872792-35872926, chr15:40998305-40998342, chr15:41857216-41857303, chr15:41860411-41860490, chr15:67457335-67457485, chr16:2138269-2138398, chr16:2138398-2138422, chr16:68857289-68857441, chr16:81819768-81819820, chr16:89806343-89806347, chr16:89849583-89849629,
chr16:89858505-89858525, chr17:1782952-1782957, chr17:78599562-78599655,
chr17:78820329-78820374, chr17:78865546-78865630, chr17:78897547-78897561, chr17:78921117-78921211, chr19:10267011-10267077, chr19:17937758-17937786, chr19:17955001-17955021, chr19:2226676-2226772, chr19:3119184-3119239, chri9:50919797-50919828, chri9:5210622-5210782, chri9:5210762-5210782, chri9:5212380- 5212482, chr19:7166376-7166388, chr2:112754828-112754880, chr2:112754943-112755001, chr2:141259283-141259376, chr2:29416366-29416481, chr2:29416481-29416615, chr2:29446184-29446202, chr2:48010488-48010558, chr20:40714307-40714479, chr20:40714539-40714540, chr20:57478807-57478939, chr20:9543622-9543681, chr2l:42845374-42845383, chr22:21337266-21337325, chr22:21348914-21349037, chr22:24158895-24158899, chr3:178922222-178922274, chr3:183211906-183212026, chr4:106196829-106196951, chr4:143043340-143043404, chr4:143324036-143324094, chr4:187534362-187534375, chr4:187629497-187629538, chr5:149456772-149456811, chr5:149495287-149495395, chr5:176517326-176517461, chr5:176523562-176523597, chr5:176721198-176721272, chr5:180046209-180046344, chr5:180051003-180051118, chr5:180057231-180057293, chr5:231111-231143, chr5:35861068-35861159, chr5:35871190- 35871273, chr5:57754808-57754851, chr5:67522722-67522851, chr6:117725448-117725578, chr6:117730673-117730819, chr6:152382311-152382325, chr6:26056549-26056708, chr6:30865115-30865204, chr6:32188603-32188642, chr7:100410597-100410657, chr7:6026775-6026942, chr7:78119109-78119199, chr8:30999122-30999123, chr8:31024638- 31024654, chr8:90958422-90958530, chr9:139403268-139403280, chr9:139405093-139405261, chr9:139410424-139410589, chr9:139411714-139411880, chr9:21968159-21968199, chr9:93639846-93639973, chr9:93641175-93641199, and chr9:98238358-98238379,
2) genomic regions set forth in Table 6 comprise:
chrl:3743319-3743391, chrl:10431132-10431158, chrl:32672908-32672932, chrl:94544234-94544276, chrl:154832290-154832304, chrl:159409857-159409884, chrl:171168545-171168584, chrl:183616884-183616926, chrll:4928841-4928866, chrll:5345128-5345170, chrll:5566030-5566051, chrll:63883985-63884027, chrll:85436303-85436352, chrll:116703640-116703671, chrl2:6030405-6030437, chrl2:40834918-40834955, chrl2:113348849-113348870, chrl2:121600180-121600253, chrl2:132688115-132688137, chrl3:25367282-25367301, chrl4:23549285-23549319, chr14:65263300-65263347, chr14:96136775-96136794, chr15:41819283-41819322, chrl5:79310256-79310288, chr15:89398330-89398407, chr15:94945704-94945719, chr16:2812890-2812939, chr16:87678144-87678165, chr17:1782952-1782957, chrl7:3101578- 3101590, chr17:3352294-3352309, chr17:6331803-6331836, chr17:10223697-10223714, chr17:33772658-33772689, chr17:42989063-42989088, chr17:45695832-45695914, chr17:80887206-80887244, chr18:56204747-56204768, chr19:4510530-4510560, chr19:8148301-8148314, chr19:9362297-9362343, chr19:11227554-11227602, chr19:36237227-36237245, chr19:44352639-44352666, chr19:58131576-58131623, chr19:58213952-58213969, chr19:58572959-58572979, CHR2:33623720-33623734, CHR2:37579937-37579971, CHR2:71058184-71058226, CHR2:231775094-231775144, CHR2:239184569-239184581, chr20:744382-744415, chr20:5904028-5904040, chr20:52645534-52645541, chr20:62597666-62597694, chr21:43557698-43557736, chr21:46321659-46321677, chr22:17589209-17589246, chr22:19951207-19951271, chr22:21377301-21377334, chr22:33253280-33253292, chr22:35817553-35817597, chr22:44322922-44322970, chr3:122003757-122003769, chr3:129155451-129155463, chr3:136574501-136574521, chr3:142277536-142277575, chr3:178968634-178968660, chr4:156289900-156289917, chr5:147024476-147024509, chr5:148206440-148206473, chr5:150666933-150666962, chr5:150901613-150901630, chr5:174870150-174870196, chr6:4069133-4069166, chr6:29913201-29913266, chr6:30080231-30080274, chr6:30993533- 30993590, chr6:31170514-31170528, chr6:31930441-31930462, chr6:33141253-33141280, chr6:36291985-36292007, chr6:167754702-167754721, chr7:4213975-4214023, chr7:21640361-21640405, chr7:27196069-27196113, chr7:30795288-30795331, chr7:55220177-55220202, chr7:100677455-100677523, CHR8:142490120-142490166, CHR8:145639681-145639726, chr9:117166206-117166246, chr9:125315542-125315557,
chr9:134385435-134385436, chr9:136412255-136412296, and chrX:23019317-23019346, and
3) genomic regions set forth in Table 7 comprise:
chrl:10431132-10431158, chrl:120057158-120057246, chrl:154832290-154832304, chrl:156846120-156846233, chrl:159409857-159409884, chrl:171168545-171168584, chrl:183616884-183616926, chrl:226573364-226573402, chrl:226589833-226589958, chrl:23885498-23885599, chrl:32672908-32672932, chrl:3743319-3743391, chrl:94544234-
94544276, chr10:104386934-104387019, chr10:123194558-123194609, chrl0:123199092- 123199095, chr10:123275662-123275666, chr10:123335839-123335866, chrl0:123346116- 123346190, chrlO:123396728-123396806, chrlO:123406645-123406663, chrlO:43611708- 43611865, chrlO:43615505-43615633, chrlO:70332580-70332672, chrll:116703640- 116703671, chrll:4928841-4928866, chrll:534197-534242, chrll:5345128-5345170, chrll:5566030-5566051, chrll:63883985-63884027, chrll:69412090-69412124, chrll:8246326-8246343, chrll:85436303-85436352, chrl2:113348849-113348870, chrl2:12009741-12009874, chrl2:12013572-12013612, chrl2:12016008-12016089, chrl2:12020114-12020170, chrl2:12035649-12035664, chrl2:121416622-121416650, chrl2:121431272-121431300, chrl2:121435427-121435475, chrl2:121437114-121437221, chrl2:121600180-121600253, chrl2:132688115-132688137, chrl2:133208886-133208979, chrl2:133226159-133226196, chrl2:133253995-133254083, chrl2:18656174-18656225, chrl2:40834918-40834955, chrl2:4346169-4346177, chrl2:4351884-4352027, chrl2:4376089- 4376091, chrl2:4399036-4399087, chrl2:4399917-4399970, chrl2:4411639-4411683, chrl2:4417127-4417232, chrl2:56494991-56494998, chrl2:6030405-6030437, chrl2:69169222-69169316, chrl2:69265196-69265278, chrl2:69277127-69277165, chri3:21562832-21562948, chri3:25367282-25367301, chri3:32986219-32986340, chrl4:102568296-102568367, chrl4:104165753-104165927, chrl4:105239146-105239192, chrl4:105258892-105258893, chrl4:23549285-23549319, chrl4:35872792-35872926, chrl4:65263300-65263347, chrl4:96136775-96136794, chrl5:40998305-40998342, chrl5:41819283-41819322, chrl5:41857216-41857303, chrl5:41860411-41860490, chrl5:67457335-67457485, chrl5:79310256-79310288, chrl5:88488326-88488428, chrl5:88549118-88549151, chrl5:88646922-88647038, chrl5:88667852-88667948, chri5:89398330-89398407, chri5:94945704-94945719, chri6:2138269-2138398, chrl6:2138398-2138422, chrl6:2812890-2812939, chrl6:68857289-68857441, chrl6:81819768-81819820, chrl6:87678144-87678165, chrl6:89806343-89806347, chrl6:89849480-89849629, chrl6:89858505-89858525, chrl7:1782952-1782957, chrl7:3101578-3101590, chrl7:33772658-33772689, chrl7:37832279-37832315, chin7:37834715-37834808, chri7:41616392-41616456, chri7:42989063-42989088,
chrl7:45695832-45695914, chrl7:6331803-6331836, chrl7:78599562-78599655,
chr17:78820329-78820374, chr17:78865546-78865630, chr17:78896488-78896529, chr17:78897547-78897561, chr17:78921117-78921211, chr17:80887206-80887244, chr18:56204747-56204768, chr19:10267011-10267077, chr19:11227554-11227602, chrl9:17937758-17937786, chrl9:17955001-17955021, chr19:2226676-2226772, chr19:30253901-30253998, chr19:30255068-30255090, chr19:30290349-30290357, chr19:30340381-30340412, chr19:30361995-30362112, chr19:3119184-3119239, chr19:36237227-36237245, chr19:41724820-41724885, chr19:41781493-41781579, chri9:44352639-44352666, chri9:4510530-4510560, chri9:50919797-50919828, chrl9:5210622-5210782, chrl9:5210762-5210782, chrl9:5212380-5212482, chrl9:58131576- 58131623, chrl9:58213952-58213969, chrl9:58572959-58572979, chrl9:7163154-7163230, chrl9:7166376-7166388, chrl9:8148301-8148314, chrl9:9362297-9362343, chr2:112754828- 112754880, chr2:112754943-112755001, chr2:113983937-113984033, chr2:113984503- 113984594, chr2:113989236-113989267, chr2:141259283-141259376, chr2:16042003- 16042051, chr2:16073257-16073263, chr2:16112814-16112828, chr2:16113594-16113723, chr2:202122956-202122995, CHR2:231775094-231775144, CHR2:239184569-239184581, chr2:29416366-29416481, chr2:29416481-29416615, chr2:29446184-29446202, chr2:29446701-29446721, chr2:29447108-29447253, CHR2:33623720-33623734, CHR2:37579937-37579971, chr2:47800577-47800603, chr2:47852559-47852643, chr2:48010488-48010558, CHR2:71058184-71058226, chr20:30729488-30729523, chr20:40714307-40714479, chr20:40714479-40714540, chr20:40714539-40714540, chr20:52645534-52645541, chr20:57478807-57478939, chr20:5904028-5904040, chr20:62597666-62597694, chr20:744382-744415, chr20:9543622-9543681, chr2l:42845374- 42845383, chr2l:42876400-42876447, chr2l:43557698-43557736, chr2l:46321659-46321677, chr22:17589209-17589246, chr22:17640022-17640045, chr22:19951207-19951271, chr22:21337266-21337325, chr22:21348914-21349037, chr22:21377301-21377334, chr22:24158895-24158899, chr22:29690246-29690345, chr22:33253280-33253292, chr22:35817553-35817597, chr22:44322922-44322970, chr3:122003757-122003769, chr3:12649857-12649937, chr3:129155451-129155463, chr3:136574501-136574521, chr3:138327951-138328016, chr3:142277536-142277575, chr3:178922222-178922274,
chr3:178968634-178968660, chr3:178984575-178984679, chr3:178986121-178986203,
chr3:178990402-178990462, chr3:183211906-183212026, chr3:36986932-36986992, chr3:71247257-71247304, chr4:106196829-106196951, chr4:143043340-143043404, chr4:143324036-143324094, chr4:156289900-156289917, chr4:1745492-1745500, chr4:1750487-1750584, chr4:1788994-1789044, chr4:1796629-1796636, chr4:1797741- 1797852, chr4:187534362-187534375, chr4:187629497-187629538, chr4:54269096-54269173, chr4:54657737-54657790, chr4:55208737-55208788, chr4:55501109-55501195, chr4:55582037-55582068, chr4:55619846-55619859, chr4:55982752-55982784, chr4:56026865-56026914, chr5:147024476-147024509, chr5:148206440-148206473, chr5:149456772-149456811, chr5:149495287-149495395, chr5:150666933-150666962, chr5:150901613-150901630, chr5:174870150-174870196, chr5:176517326-176517461, chr5:176523562-176523597, chr5:176531772-176531857, chr5:176721198-176721272,
chr5:180046209-180046344, chr5:180051003-180051118, chr5:180057231-180057293, chr5:231111-231143, chr5:35861068-35861159, chr5:35871190-35871273, chr5:56178111- 56178217, chr5:57754808-57754851, chr5:67477132-67477234, chr5:67492589-67492652, chr5:67517563-67517646, chr5:67522722-67522851, chr5:67534039-67534057, chr5:67553771-67553827, chr6:117725448-117725578, chr6:117730673-117730819,
chr6:152382311-152382325, chr6:167754702-167754721, chr6:26056549-26056708, chr6:29913201-29913266, chr6:30080231-30080274, chr6:30865115-30865204, chr6:30993533-30993590, chr6:31170514-31170528, chr6:31930441-31930462, chr6:32188603-32188642, chr6:32190390-32190484, chr6:33141253-33141280, chr6:36291985-36292007, chr6:4069133-4069166, chr6:41924853-41924931, chr6:42013020- 42013049, chr6:42039487-42039542, chr6:42039551-42039666, chr6:42052577-42052667, chr7:100410597-100410657, chr7:100416139-100416250, chr7:100677455-100677523, chr7:116336880-116336947, chr7:116471122-116471227, chr7:21640361-21640405, chr7:27196069-27196113, chr7:30795288-30795331, chr7:4213975-4214023, chr7:55220177- 55220202, chr7:55251541-55251648, chr7:6026775-6026942, chr7:6026942-6026988,
chr7:78119109-78119199, chr8:128700175-128700233, chr8:128713221-128713364, chr8:128889285-128889371, CHR8:142490120-142490166, CHR8:145639681-145639726, chr8:145737636-145737816, chr8:30999122-30999123, chr8:31024638-31024654, chr8:38299624-38299715, chr8:38310910-38311001, chr8:38350292-38350315,
chr8:38361379-38361430, chr8:90958422-90958530, chr9:117166206-117166246, chr9:125315542-125315557, chr9:134385435-134385436, chr9:136412255-136412296, chr9:139401504-139401577, chr9:139403268-139403280, chr9:139405093-139405261, chr9:139410424-139410589, chr9:139411714-139411880, chr9:21968159-21968199, chr9:5408242-5408358, chr9:5415025-5415111, chr9:5420254-5420266, chr9:5458035- 5458095, chr9:5484100-5484203, chr9:87478135-87478172, chr9:93639846-93639973, chr9:93641175-93641199, chr9:98238358-98238379, and chrX:23019317-23019346”. The claims are therefore drawn to SNVs which are not specifically defined in terms of structure aside from reference to chromosome locations without the recitation of a specific reference chromosome to determine the actual locations. Therefore, the structure of the genomic regions in the claim are structurally unlimited and are drawn to genomic regions which are considered widely variable with respect to structure.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The rejection is newly stated and is necessitated by claim amendment.
MPEP 2163.II.A.2.(a).i) states, “Whether the specification shows that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention is not a single, simple determination, but rather is a factual determination reached by considering a number of factors. Factors to be considered in determining whether there is sufficient evidence of possession include the level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention”.
For claims drawn to a genus, MPEP § 2163 states the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
According to MPEP 2163.II.A.3.(a).ii), [s]atisfactory disclosure of a ‘representative number’ depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus…Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are ‘representative of the full variety or scope of the genus,’ or by the establishment of ‘a reasonable structure-function correlation.’"
The factors considered in the Written Description requirement are (1) level of skill and knowledge in the art, (2) partial structure, (3) physical and/or chemical properties, (4) functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the (5) method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient." MPEP § 2163.
Claim 13 recites numerous genomic regions based on chromosome locations. However, the claim does not describe a reference genome that is used to determine those chromosome locations. As stated above, the genomic regions are unlimited. In this case, the genus of recited genomic regions encompasses species that are considered to be widely variant with respect to sequence.
The specification as published merely sets forth the genomic regions with the corresponding locations in Tables 5, 6, and 7 without describing a specific reference genome.
Regarding the level of skill and knowledge in the art of identifying locations in a reference genome, the prior art to Eichler (New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 381(1):64-74; newly cited) is relevant. Eichler makes apparent that the identification of genetic variations is based on measurements of read depth or discordances between the DNA sequences obtained from the patient and the reference genome, currently defined as GRCh38, where reference genomes are the benchmark for discovery (p. 68, col. 1). Therefore, multiple reference genomes were available to the public at the time of filing.
In view of the high level of unpredictability in the art in what reference genome may be used as a benchmark for the discovery of new variants, because the genus of genomic regions in the claim is widely variant with respect to structure, and the specification does not disclose the actual reduction to practice of the species among a widely variant genus, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus, and thus, that the applicant was not in possession of the recited genus of genome regions. The claimed subject matter is not supported by an adequate written description because a representative number of species has not been described.
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The rejection is newly stated and is necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim 13 recites numerous genomic regions based on chromosome locations. However, the claim does not describe a reference genome that is used to determine those chromosome locations. Therefore, the claim is indefinite for recitation of chromosome locations without reciting a reference sequence for comparison, as one of skill in the art would be unable to determine the location of the required genomic regions. The rejection may be overcome by clarifying the reference genome sequence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The outstanding rejections under 35 USC 101 to the claims are hereby withdrawn in view of the amendments submitted herein. Claim 1 includes steps that are in addition to the recited judicial exceptions that provide for integration of the recited exceptions into a practical application of those exceptions. Specifically, the steps directed to “sequencing, using the targeted oligonucleotide panel, nucleic acid obtained from a biological sample of a test subject to obtain sequence reads from the region of interest and the bordering region” is an additional element that integrates the judicial exceptions present in the claims into a practical application at Step 2A, Prong 2. The step of sequencing nucleic acid obtained from a biological sample of a test subject uses the targeted oligonucleotide panel designed in claim 1, and therefore goes beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, but transforms the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter by sufficiently limiting the abstract ideas recited in the claims to the design and use of a targeted oligonucleotide panel for sequencing specific genomic regions (see MPEP 2106.05(e)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-14, 16-20, 22-23, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidd et al. (Investigative Genetics, 2015, 6(1):1-10; cited on the Oct 19 2021 IDS) in view of Oldoni et al. (Forensic Science International: Genetics, Oct 1 2018; 38:54-69; newly cited). Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
The prior art to Kidd discloses criteria for selecting microhaplotypes for mixture detection (title). Kidd teaches the instant features as follows. Instantly claimed elements which are considered to be equivalent to the prior art teachings are described in bold for all claims.
Claim 1 discloses method of identifying microhaplotypes in a genome comprising:
a) identifying a region of interest of the genome;
b) determining a bordering region for the region of interest, wherein the bordering region comprises regions flanking the region of interest, and wherein the regions flanking the region of interest comprise less than 200 nucleotide base pairs;
c) obtaining sequence reads corresponding to a plurality of reference samples, wherein the sequence reads cover the region of interest and the bordering region;
d) detecting single base pair substitutions (SBSs) within the region of interest and the bordering region based on the sequence reads;
e) grouping the detected SBSs into a plurality of variant sets for the region of interest;
f) analyzing each variant set in the plurality of variant sets for linkage disequilibrium to identify candidate microhaplotypes;
g) designing a targeted oligonucleotide panel for amplification or sequencing of regions comprising the detected SBSs in the candidate microhaplotype sets;
h) sequencing, using the targeted oligonucleotide panel, nucleic acid obtained from a biological sample of a test subject to obtain sequence reads from the region of interest and the bordering region;
i) detecting candidate SBSs within the region of interest and the bordering region, wherein each candidate SBS is a member of at least one of the candidate microhaplotype sets; and
j) determining one or more haplotypes present in the biological sample based on the candidate SBSs.
Kidd teaches selecting loci (i.e., a) regions of interest of the genome) (p. 2, col. 1, par. 3 through p. 3, col. 2, par. 3) and examining the alleles and single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) of the loci to identify microhaplotypes in large public data sets based on massive parallel sequencing (MPS) (i.e., c) obtaining sequence reads corresponding to a plurality of reference samples; and d) detecting SBSs… based on the sequence reads) (abstract; p. 2, co1. 1, par. 2 through col. 2, par. 1; p. 3, col. 2, par. 4 through p. 4, col. 1, par. 1; p. 5, col. 2, par. 2; entire document is relevant). The SNPs taught by Kidd are considered to fairly teach SBSs as instantly claimed because a single base pair substitution is a type of SNP, as is supported by the instant specification as published at [0028]. Kidd teaches that the microhaps are defined as loci of two or more SNPs within the span of a single sequence run (i.e., also reads on a region of interest; e) grouping detected SBSs into a plurality of variant sets) (p. 2, col. 1, par. 1). Kidd teaches that certain microhaplotypes have additional documented SNPs/variants within 200 bp (i.e., step b and d) (p. 9, col. 1, par. 1; Table 4). Kidd teaches determining the linkage disequilibrium of the SNPs (i.e., step f) (p. 2, col. 1, par. 2). Kidd teaches evaluating candidate microhaplotypes using TaqMan assays to detect the individual SNPs (p. 5, col. 2, par. 3), which is considered to inherently recite the design of a targeted oligonucleotide panel for amplification of the SNPs using the TaqMan assay; Kidd is therefore considered to teach designing a targeted oligonucleotide panel for amplification in step g) as instantly claimed. Kidd also teaches the identification of specific microhaplotypes (Table 3), which also reads on a microhaplotype panel as instantly claimed. Although Kidd teaches that additional SNPs are present in the regions around specific microhaplotypes (i.e., region of interest) (p. 9, col. 1, par. 1; Table 4), which reads on bordering regions as instantly claimed, Kidd does not teach limitation b) regarding determining a bordering region of less than 200 nucleotide base pairs, d) detecting SBSs within the region of interest and the bordering region, or h)-i) as instantly claimed.
However, Oldoni discloses a review on microhaplotype loci (abstract). Oldoni teaches that a criterion of selecting microhaplotype loci includes detection of at least three SNPs within a 200 bp single sequence that is currently a routine read length for MPS platforms, but that the read length can be expanded to approximately 300 bp for certain loci to include more SNPs within the amplicon that increase the number of potential alleles (p. 57, section 2.7). Expanding a 200 bp region (i.e., a region of interest) to 300 bp reads on determining a border region flanking the region of interest by 100 bp, which is an example that anticipates the instantly claimed range of less than 200 nucleotide base pairs. Oldoni additionally discloses panels of microhaplotype loci (Table 1; p. 59, col. 1, par. 1 through p. 65, col. 1, par. 4; see specifically p. 64, col. 2, par. 3 and section 3.4), which teaches step g). Oldoni teaches multiple MPS microhaplotype panels that have been developed and used to amplify and sequence test samples (i.e., steps h-j) (Table 1; p. 59, col. 1, par. 1 through p. 65, col. 1, par. 4; see specifically p. 64, col. 2, par. 3 and section 3.4 for the development of panels). It is considered that these MPS microhaplotype panels would inherently have had to have been developed from identified microhaplotypes, and therefore reads on designing a targeted oligonucleotide panel for sequencing as in g).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, Kidd and Oldoni because both references disclose methods for identifying microhaplotype loci. The motivation to expand the examined region beyond the 200 bp taught by Kidd to 300 bp as taught by Oldoni would have been to include more SNPs within certain loci to increase the number of potential alleles, as taught by Oldoni (p. 57, col. 2, par. 3). Therefore, it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by Oldoni to expand the region beyond a target region of only 200 bp, as taught by both Kidd and Oldoni, to examine a larger region such as 300 bp which could still be sequenced with one read, as taught by Oldoni. It is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the need to design a targeted oligonucleotide panel for the amplification and, or only, the subsequent sequencing of the region of interest and the extended region, as these are common methods in the field (see Oldoni teaching panels at Table 1; p. 59, col. 1, par. 1 through p. 65, col. 1, par. 4; see specifically p. 64, col. 2, par. 3 and section 3.4).
Regarding claim 3, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 3 further adds filtering the plurality of variant sets based on a frequency threshold for the detected SBSs, wherein remaining variant sets after the filtering are analyzed for the linkage disequilibrium.
Kidd teaches focusing on loci that have alleles at greater than 5% (i.e., a frequency threshold) (p. 2, col. 1, par. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 4 further adds that at least three haplotypes are determined to be present in the biological sample, with a third and any additional haplotypes having a total frequency of greater than 1% when compared against data from the plurality of variant sets corresponding to the plurality of reference samples.
Kidd teaches using microhaplotypes with 3-5 alleles (i.e., at least three haplotypes) to determine mixtures (Tables 1-2). Kidd therefore teaches an overlapping range which anticipates or alternatively makes obvious the instantly claimed range of at least 3 microhaplotypes. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Kidd teaches focusing on loci that have alleles at greater than 5% in the large datasets (i.e., a total frequency in a plurality of reference samples) (p. 2, col. 1, par. 1). Kidd therefore teaches an overlapping range which anticipates or alternatively makes obvious the instantly claimed range of greater than 1%. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 5-6, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 5 further adds that the region of interest of a) has SBSs at a frequency of between 10-90%. Claim 6 further adds that the regions flanking the region of interest have SBSs at a frequency of between 5-95%.
Kidd teaches focusing on loci that have alleles at greater than 5% (p. 2, col. 1, par. 1). Kidd therefore teaches an overlapping range which anticipates or alternatively makes obvious the instantly claimed range of 10-90% in claim 5 and 5-95% in claim 6. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 7 further adds calibrating cutoff values for the candidate microhaplotype sets for assessing contamination of a sample.
Kidd teaches developing empiric thresholds (i.e., cutoff values) based on the frequency distributions of microhaplotypes (i.e., calibrating) (p. 4, col. 1, par. 1). Kidd teaches that their method is developed to detect and resolve mixtures of DNA from two or more individuals in a sample (p. 1, col. 2, par. 1; p. 2, col. 1, par. 3 through col. 2, par. 2), which fairly reads on assessing contamination as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claims 1 and 7 as described above. Claim 8 further adds that the calibrating cutoff values for the candidate microhaplotype sets comprises calculating thresholds for contamination detection and degree of contamination using only DNA sequence reads overlapping the candidate microhaplotype sets.
As Kidd teaches using SNP frequency data to determine microhaplotype frequency distributions and develop empiric thresholds for mixture detection (i.e., sample contamination) (p. 3, col. 2, par. 2-3; p. 4, col. 1, par. 1; Table 1), it is considered that Kidd would have had to use only DNA sequence reads that overlap the microhaplotypes as instantly claimed. Further, Kidd teaches focusing on 4-SNP microhaplotypes to determine frequency distributions (p. 4, col. 1, par. 1). As Kidd discusses that by focusing on those microhaplotypes, there still remained a large enough pool to look at the frequency distributions (p. 4, col. 1, par. 1), indicating that only the data overlapping those microhaplotypes are used, and examining the number of reads per locus (p. 5, col. 2, par. 2), it is considered that Kidd fairly teaches the instant limitation.
Regarding claim 10, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claims 1 and 7-8 as described above. Claim 10 further adds obtaining sequence variant data corresponding to a plurality of individuals; determining, for each individual in the plurality of individuals, a number and genotype of variant sets with one and/or two microhaplotypes based on the sequence variant data; and comparing the number and genotype of the variant sets between each individual to asses identity or contamination.
Kidd teaches using SNP frequency data from a large data set of MPS (i.e., sequence variant data) to determine microhaplotype frequency distributions and develop empiric thresholds for mixture detection (p. 3, col. 2, par. 2-3p. 4, col. 1, par. 1; Tables 1-2; Figure 1). Kidd teaches mixtures of DNA from two or more individuals in a single sample (i.e., contamination) (p. 1, col. 2, par. 1).
Regarding claims 11-12, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claims 1 and 7 as described above. Claim 11 further adds assessing sample contamination utilizing determined cutoff values for frequency of candidate microhaplotype sets, wherein each candidate microhaplotype set comprises a set of SBSs that define at least 3 microhaplotypes. Claim 12 further adds assessing sample contamination utilizing determined cutoff values for frequency of candidate microhaplotype sets, wherein each candidate microhaplotype set comprises a set of SBSs that define at least 4 or more microhaplotypes.
Kidd teaches using microhaplotypes with 3-5 alleles and at 2-5 loci to determine mixtures (Tables 1-2). Kidd teaches an overlapping range which anticipates or alternatively makes obvious the instantly claimed range of at least 3 or 4 microhaplotypes. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 13, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claim 1 as described above. Claim 13 further adds that the targeted oligonucleotide panel comprises oligonucleotides capturing a region of a genome correspond to one or more genomic regions selected from those set forth in Tables 5, 6, or 7, and recites those genomic regions.
Kidd teaches examining large datasets generated from either chip-based genotyping or whole-genome massive parallel sequencing (p. 2, col. 1, par. 2 through col. 2, par. 1), and identifies specific SNPs and microhaplotypes in Tables 3-4. It is therefore considered that these data would provide information about the genomic regions in Tables 5, 6, or 7 because they provide information about the entire genome (see the above 35 USC 112(b) rejection), and as Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method steps of claim 1, it would have been obvious to identify at least one of the genomic regions set forth in Tables 5, 6, or 7 using whole-genome sequencing data.
Regarding claims 14 and 16-17, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claim 1 as described above. Claim 14 further adds that the biological sample comprises DNA from a tumor or a liquid biopsy of the test subject. Claim 16 further adds that the liquid biopsy is from amniotic fluid, aqueous humour, vitreous humour, blood, whole blood, fractionated blood, plasma, serum, breast milk, cerebrospinal fluid (CSF), cerumen, chyle, chime, endolymph, perilymph, feces, breath, gastric acid, gastric juice, lymph, mucus, pericardial fluid, peritoneal fluid, pleural fluid, pus, rheum, saliva, exhaled breath condensates, sebum, semen, sputum, sweat, synovial fluid, tears, vomit, prostatic fluid, nipple aspirate fluid, lachrymal fluid, perspiration, cheek swabs, cell lysate, gastrointestinal fluid, biopsy tissue, or urine. Claim 17 further adds that the biological sample is from a circulating tumor cell of the test subject.
Kidd teaches analyzing mixtures of DNA samples for forensic purposes (see at least the abstract). Kidd does not teach specific sample types claimed.
However, Oldoni teaches examining samples from cancer patient blood (i.e., a tumor in claim 14; a circulating tumor cell of the test subject in claim 17) and of maternal blood (i.e., a liquid biopsy in claim 14; blood in claim 16) for fetal DNA microhaplotypes (p. 64-65, section 3.7).
Regarding claim 18, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claims 1 and 7 as described above. Claim 18 further adds that calibrating comprises analysis of the candidate microhaplotype sets in multiple samples obtained from humans of different ethnicities.
Kidd teaches examining population-specific allele frequencies for six microhaplotypes (i.e., different ethnicities) (p. 4, col. 2, par. 2; Figure 3-5) and refers to the samples as being from a three person mixture (p. 3, col. 2, par. 3), which reads on humans as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 19, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 19 further adds that the candidate microhaplotype sets comprise a set of the detected SBSs that define at least 3, 4 or more microhaplotypes.
Kidd teaches using microhaplotypes with 3-5 alleles (i.e., SBSs) and at 2-5 loci to determine mixtures (Tables 1-2). As Kidd teaches a range of 3-5 alleles, it is considered that this range anticipates the instantly claimed range of 3, 4 or more sets of SNP sequence variants.
Regarding claim 20, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 20 further adds that the region of interest is within a gene, an intron and/or an exon or between genes.
Kidd teaches examining large datasets generated from either chip-based genotyping or whole-genome massive parallel sequencing (p. 2, col. 1, par. 2 through col. 2, par. 1). Such data would inherently provide information about genetic sequences which are within a gene, an intron and/or an exon or between genes, as instantly claimed. Therefore Kidd is considered to teach the instant limitation.
Regarding claim 22, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 22 further adds isolating the DNA comprising the candidate microhaplotypes.
As Kidd teaches analyzing a set of DNA samples for microhaplotypes (p. 3, col. 2, par. 4), it is considered that Kidd would have inherently had to have isolated the DNA from those samples in order to analyze them.
Regarding claim 23, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 23 further adds that the genome is from a human.
Kidd teaches examining population-specific allele frequencies for six microhaplotypes (p. 4, col. 2, par. 2; Figure 3-5) and refers to the samples as being from a three person mixture (p. 3, col. 2, par. 3), which reads on human genome samples being analyzed.
Regarding claim 32, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 32 further adds assessing quality of samples from a particular source or vendor or technician preparing or sequencing samples.
Kidd teaches examining samples to detect mixtures using identified microhaplotypes (see the Methods and Results and discussion on p. 2-9). The presence of mixed samples reads on sample quality from a particular source as instantly claimed.
B. Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidd in view of Oldoni, as applied to claims 1 and 7-8 as described, and in view of Ricke et al. (US 2021/0017592; priority to Jul 7 2018; previously cited; corresponds to WO 2019/010410 cited on the Oct 19 2021 IDS). Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
Regarding claim 9, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claims 1 and 7-8 as described above. Claim 9 further adds that the DNA sequence reads being used to calibrate the thresholds for the contamination detection and the degree of contamination are mixed pairwise in silico, alternately using each DNA sequence as primary sample and contaminant.
Kidd does not teach this claim.
However, the prior art to Ricke discloses systems and methods for identifying individuals from one or more samples (abstract). Ricke teaches performing in silico mixtures of individuals to enhance accuracy in predicting the number of contributors in mixtures of samples [0234; 0288-0291; 0786-0810].
Regarding claim 21, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Claim 7 further adds the region of interest is within an exome.
Kidd does not explicitly teach analyzing exome data.
However, Ricke teaches identifying multiple sequence variants in a single DNA sequence read that represent the variants from one source chromosome (from an individual) representing a phased microhaplotype [0097-0107] using high throughput sequencing data [0532], which includes high throughput exome sequencing [0516].
Regarding claims 9 and 21, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, Kidd in view of Oldoni and Ricke because both references disclose methods for analyzing microhaplotypes to detect mixtures in samples. Regarding claim 9, the motivation to perform an in silico analysis would have been to enhance accuracy in predicting the numbers of contributors, as taught by Ricke [0234]. Regarding claim 21, the motivation to examine exome data would have been to examine the impact of gene, promoter, splicing, and coding sequence variants on gene expression, splicing, or function, as taught by Ricke [0516].
C. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kidd in view of Oldoni, as applied to claims 1-2 as described above, and in view of Douville et al. et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 2018, 115(8):1871-1876; previously cited). Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
Regarding claims 15, Kidd in view of Oldoni teaches the methods of claim 1 as described above. Claim 15 further adds that the biological sample comprises DNA extracted from a formalin fixed paraffin embedded block, slide, or curl of the test subject, which Kidd does not teach.
However, the prior art to Douville discloses methods for detecting aneuploidy in cancer cells using sequencing methods (abstract). Douville teaches that tumors were formalin-fixed and paraffin-embedded, followed by DNA purification and analysis for mutation (p. 1876, col. 2, par. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, Kidd in view of Oldoni and Douville because each reference discloses methods for analyzing DNA via sequencing from tissue samples. The simple substitution of one known sample processing type as taught by Douville, which is capable of having DNA extracted and sequenced for mutation analysis, for the sample type taught by Kidd thus is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another, which would have produced the predictable result of producing sequencing data capable of being analyzed using the method of Kidd in view of Oldoni.
Response to Applicant Arguments
At p. 14-15, section (A), Applicant submits that the combination of cited references does teach or suggest step (b) of claim 1 because Oldoni, which is relied upon in the rejection, merely discusses the physical parameters of DNA sequencing. Applicant submits that Oldoni at most describes reading a longer continuous fragment of DNA, whereas claim 1 teaches a bipartite computation architecture that first identifies a distinct region of interest and then computes a separate bordering region for subsequent discrete analysis. Applicant submits that the assertion that Oldoni teaches limitation b) relies on improper hindsight.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the above rejection, Oldoni is relied upon for teachings and motivation to extend a region of interest to a certain size which is able to be assessed as a single sequencing read. It is further noted that it is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant (MPEP 2144). Although Applicant argues that Oldoni’s teachings relate only to the physical parameters of DNA sequencing, it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if one wanted to sequence a 300 bp region around a specific 200 bp region of interest, one would have to design a targeted oligonucleotide for amplification or sequencing of that 300 bp region as instantly claimed. Therefore, Oldoni is considered to teach and motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to examine a bordering region flanking a region of interest without using improper hindsight as only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made is relied upon in the above rejection.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that the claims recite a bipartite computation architecture that first identifies a distinct region of interest and then computes a separate bordering region for subsequent discrete analysis, this argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. The claims recite only “c) obtaining sequence reads corresponding to a plurality of reference samples, wherein the sequence reads cover the region of interest and the bordering region” and “d) detecting single base pair substitutions (SBSs) within the region of interest and the bordering region based on the sequence reads”. The claims do not recite a discrete analysis for a separate bordering region and the region of interest.
At p. 15-16, section (B), Applicant submits that the combination of references does not teach or suggest step (d) because step (d) requires detecting single base pair substitutions in both regions. Applicant submits that Kidd does not teach this limitation.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. The rejection does not rely upon Kidd for teaching all of limitation (d), but instead relies upon Oldoni. As discussed above, the claims recite only “c) obtaining sequence reads corresponding to a plurality of reference samples, wherein the sequence reads cover the region of interest and the bordering region” and “d) detecting single base pair substitutions (SBSs) within the region of interest and the bordering region based on the sequence reads”. These limitations do require only detecting the number of SBSs in the entire region, that is within the region of interest and the bordering region based on the sequence reads. As discussed in the above rejection, Oldoni teaches that a criterion of selecting microhaplotype loci includes detection of at least three SNPs within a 200 bp single sequence that is currently a routine read length for MPS platforms, but that the read length can be expanded to approximately 300 bp for certain loci to include more SNPs within the amplicon that increase the number of potential alleles (p. 57, section 2.7). As discussed above, Oldoni is considered to teach determining a bordering region flanking a region of interest. Oldoni therefore teaches sequencing and detecting SBSs in a region of interest as well as the flanking regions, as instantly claimed.
At p. 16-17, section (C), Applicant submits that the combination of cited references does not teach or suggest step (e). which requires grouping the detected substitutions into variant sets. Applicant submits that Kidd merely describes a scientific definition for the biological characteristics of a microhaplotype which differs completely from the claims active algorithmic step of grouping newly detected substitutions into variant sets.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. Kidd clearly teaches criteria for selecting microhaplotypes (title). Kidd makes clear that microhaplotypes must be selected by examining combinations of common allelic SNPs (p. 2, col. 1, par. 1-2). It is also pointed out that the group of authors of the Kidd reference are pioneering members of describing a new type of marker, microhaplotypes (p. 2, col. 1, par. 1-2). Therefore Kidd is not merely relying on or providing a known scientific definition of a microhaplotype, but is examining amplification data, with the expectation that sequencing data will be used eventually, to identify microhaplotypes that can be detected within the span of a single sequence run and avoid recombination hot spots (p. 2, col. 1, par. 1-2; p. 5, col. 2, par. 3).
At p. 17, section (D), Applicant submits that the combination of cited references does not teach or suggest step (g). which requires designing a targeted oligonucleotide panel because Kidd teaches using TaqMan assays to detect the individual SNPs. Applicant submits that Kidd therefore teaches utilizing a preexisiting TaqMan assay to test known SNPs merely confirms that an assay exists. Applicant further submits that Oldoni only catalogs existing microhaplotype panels, and that as such each reference describes the use of already developed tools. Applicant submits that claim 1 alternatively teaches designing a targeted oligonucleotide panel specifically for the regions comprising the newly identified candidate microhaplotype sets.
At p. 18, section (E), Applicant submits that the combination of cited references does not teach or suggest the integrated workflow of designing and subsequently sequencing because Oldoni is a review article that merely summarizes the historical evaluation of preexisting, off-the-shelf panels to amplify and sequence samples for microhaplotype detection. Applicant submits that Oldoni does not teach a workflow that begins with the computational discovery of candidate sets and then actively designs a custom panel based on those specific discoveries, which is required by the claims.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. Kidd clearly teaches criteria for selecting microhaplotypes (title). As described in the above rejection, although Kidd only teaches the use of TaqMan assays to test individual SNPs, it is considered that this reads on “g) designing a targeted oligonucleotide panel for amplification… of regions”. Further, Oldoni teaches the development and use of microhaplotype panels in sequencing (see at least p. 62, section 3.4). That the development of these microhaplotype panels occurred outside of the review to Oldoni does not mean that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would be obvious to develop new panels based on the discovery of new microhaplotypes. Oldoni teaches exactly that, that it is known in the art to make those discoveries and then develop new panels. That is how the microhaplotype panels of Oldoni arose in the first place. MPEP 2123.I, “the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain”. Therefore, it is considered that both Kidd and Oldoni teach that methods are known in the art to select SNPs as microhaplotypes and develop panels to amplify or sequence those microhaplotypes, and it would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to identify new SNPs, microhaplotypes, and panels for their assessment.
At p. 19, section (F), Applicant submits that combination of cited references does not teach or suggest the specific calibration steps of dependent Claims 7 and 8 because Kidd teaches calculating generalized population frequency thresholds to detect mixtures but does not describe isolating the calibration metric to only DNA sequence reads overlapping the candidate microhaplotype sets, as required by claims 7-8.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. It is noted that only claim 8 requires using DNA sequence reads overlapping the candidate microhaplotype sets. Therefore it is considered that Applicant’s arguments are not relevant to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the claim requires “calculating thresholds for contamination detection and degree of contamination using only DNA sequence reads overlapping the candidate microhaplotype sets”. Kidd teaches focusing on 4-SNP microhaplotypes to determine frequency distributions (p. 4, col. 1, par. 1). As Kidd discusses that by focusing on those microhaplotypes, there still remained a large enough pool to look at the frequency distributions (p. 4, col. 1, par. 1), indicating that only the data overlapping those microhaplotypes are used, and examining the number of reads per locus (p. 5, col. 2, par. 2), it is considered that Kidd fairly teaches the limitations of claim 8, as described in the above rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685