DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9, lines 1-5 of Remarks, filed January 5th, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Because the allowable subject matter of claims 4/19 has been incorporated into the independent claim 1, the rejection has been withdrawn in consideration of the elected species (phosphoric acid and hydromagnesite) therein. However, upon extending examination to the non-elected species in claim 1, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the prior art.
Applicant’s request for rejoinder is currently denied as unripe.
Election/Restrictions
The Office Action dated October 3rd, 2025 indicated allowable subject matter in dependent claims 4, 6 and 19 as presented on July 15th, 2025 for the elected species “phosphoric acid” and “hydromagnesite (Mg5(CO3)4(OH)2•4H2O)”. In accordance with MPEP 803.02, examination was extended to the non-elected species, and search and examination was continued until prior art was found that anticipates or renders obvious the species in the Markush group of claim 1. In addition to the previously elected species, the magnesium ion-containing materials “anhydrous magnesium carbonate”, “magnesite (MgCO3)”, and “brucite (Mg(OH)2)” were searched, resulting in the prior art rejections below. No additional searching of surface-treating compounds was required to identify the relevant prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rothon (U.S. Patent No. 5,461,101, 1995), as further evidenced by Michaux (EP 2169027 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rothon teaches a surface-treated magnesium ion-containing material obtained by treating the surface of a magnesium ion-containing material with a water-insoluble polymer (Rothon, Col. 5, line 40 - Col. 6, line 6 and Col. 7, line 55 - Col. 8, line 22; Table 2, ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA)-treated magnesium hydroxide);
wherein the magnesium ion-containing material is brucite (Mg(OH)2) (Rothon, Table 3, magnesium hydroxide; see below); and
wherein the magnesium ion-containing material prior to surface treatment is in form of particles having a BET specific surface area of 18 m2/g (Rothon, Col. 6, lines 3-5).
Rothon does not explicitly teach that the magnesium hydroxide is brucite (Mg(OH)2). However, Rothon teaches that the magnesium hydroxide is formed by hydration of magnesium oxide (Rothon, Col. 5, lines 48-55). Michaux teaches that magnesium hydroxide formed by hydration of magnesium oxide is in the form of brucite (Mg(OH)2) (Michaux, [0009]). Therefore, despite being silent to the exact form of magnesium hydroxide, Rothon’s magnesium hydroxide would necessarily be brucite (Mg(OH)2).
Rothon does not explicitly teach that the BET surface area is measured using nitrogen according to ISO 9277:2010. However, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, it is presumed that the BET method employed by Rothon would produce results consistent with what would be obtained with ISO 9277:2010 using nitrogen.
Regarding claim 3, Rothon teaches the surface-treated magnesium ion-containing material according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the magnesium ion-containing material prior to surface treatment is in form of particles having a volume median grain diameter of 800 nm (Rothon, Col. 6, lines 3-6).
Rothon does not explicitly teach that the d50 value is determined by laser diffraction. However, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, it is presumed that the method of determining d50 employed by Rothon would produce results consistent with what would be obtained via laser diffraction.
Regarding claim 19, Rothon teaches the surface-treated magnesium ion-containing material according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the magnesium ion-containing material prior to surface treatment is in form of particles having a BET specific surface area of 18 m2/g (Rothon, Col. 6, lines 3-5; see discussion of claim 1 above regarding ISO standard).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (WO 2017/184952 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Singh teaches a surface-treated inorganic material (Singh, [0047]) obtained by treating the surface of an inorganic material with a compound selected from a list including hexanoic acid (Singh, [0064]);
wherein the inorganic material is selected from a list including anhydrous magnesium carbonate (Singh, [0063], “a carbonate of magnesium” is understood to be anhydrous magnesium carbonate, absent any mention of the magnesium carbonate being hydrated); and
the inorganic material prior to surface treatment is in form of particles having a BET specific surface area of 8 to 20 m2/g (Singh, [0029]; Singh, [0064], “According to extended embodiments of the above methods, the dried inorganic particulate material as described above may be treated with a surface treatment agent to further tailor the surface properties of the inorganic particulate material.” (emphasis added)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected hexanoic acid (a carboxylic acid containing six carbon atoms) as the surface-treating compound and anhydrous magnesium carbonate as the magnesium-ion containing material in Singh. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. In the instant case, Singh teaches that these materials are suitable as a surface-treating agent and a material to be treated (Singh, [0064] and [0063], respectively), so they would be obvious to select.
Singh does not explicitly teach that the BET surface area is measured using nitrogen according to ISO 9277:2010. However, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, it is presumed that the BET method employed by Singh would produce results consistent with what would be obtained with ISO 9277:2010 using nitrogen.
Regarding claims 3 and 16-18, Singh renders the surface-treated magnesium ion-containing material according to claim 1 obvious, wherein the magnesium ion-containing material prior to surface treatment is in form of particles having
a volume medium grain diameter (d50) of about 0.5 μm to about 2 μm (Singh, [0061]), and
a volume determined top cut particle size (d98) of from about 5 μm to about 20 μm (Singh, [0062]).
Singh does not explicitly teach that the d50 and d98 values are determined by laser diffraction. However, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, it is presumed that the method of determining d50 and d98 employed by Singh would produce results consistent with what would be obtained via laser diffraction.
Regarding claim 6, Singh renders the surface-treated magnesium ion-containing material according to claim 1 obvious, as discussed above, wherein the surface-treated magnesium ion-containing material is obtained by treating the surface of the magnesium ion-containing material with the compound in an amount from 0.1 to 1.0 wt.-%, based on the total dry weight of the magnesium ion-containing material (Singh, [0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Singh renders the surface-treated magnesium ion-containing material according to claim 1 obvious, as discussed above, wherein the magnesium ion-containing material prior to surface treatment is in form of particles having a BET specific surface area in the range from 8 to 20 m2/g (Singh, [0029]). As discussed above for claim 1, it is presumed that the BET specific surface area measurement technique used by Singh would produce results consistent with ISO 9277:2010 with nitrogen.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 16-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 17/605,158 (“’158”, reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 of ‘158 overlap in scope with instant claims 1, 3, 6, and 16-19.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736