DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 13, 15-21, 25-26, 28, 36-37, and 51-52 are pending in this application. Claims 3-12, 14, 22-24, 27, 29-35, and 38-50 are cancelled. Claims 1, 13, and 51 are amended. Claim 52 is newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12 and 34 under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, with respect to the prior art combination of Heagle in view of Simmons and Heagle in view of Wada and Simmons, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1) with the embodiment of Figure 7C (Paragraph 0095) of Heagle teaching the amended claim limitation of independent claim 1 “…the standoffs comprising cells having a closed end and perforations…”. After further review of the Applicant’s argument regarding the teaching of Simmons being applied to the prior art of Heagle is not-obvious, the argument is persuasive. More specifically, upon the review of the prior art of Heagle, the sheath 244 in Figures 7C is formed from non-adherent, directional-apertured polyolefin film (Paragraph 0095) and is used to make the packing structure, as described in Figures 9A-9C and Paragraphs 0098-0101. The material of the non-adherent directional-apertured polyolefin film is a film that is non-porous but is treated to have direction apertures, or perforations, as seen in the image of Figure 7C and described in Paragraph 0095. Thus, the teaching of the prior art of Simmons would be redundant to what is taught in the embodiment of Heagle.
The argument with respect to claim(s) 51 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner notes the change in prior art was necessitated by applicant’s amendments. Though overall some of the same prior art references are used herein, at least applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 13, and 51 and newly added claim 52, along with the request for continued examination, required a change in the grounds of rejection as detailed below in the prior art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 15-17, 21, 26, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heagle teaches a system for treating a tissue site (wound dressing 100 and negative pressure wound therapy 24; Figure 1B and 8A-8B; Paragraph 0071), comprising:
a tissue interface (packing structure 250; Figures 8A-8B; Paragraph 0096) comprising:
a first film (top sheet of contact material 254, see Paragraph 0096 – contact material is made of film, see Paragraph 0011; Figures 8A-8B),
a second film (bottom sheet of contact material 254, see Paragraph 0096 – contact material is made of film, see Paragraph 0011; Figures 8A-8B), the first film and the second film having inner surfaces coupled to each other in a pattern to seal the first film to the second film and form a single sheet (inner surfaces of top and bottom films of contact material 254 are sealed in a pattern and form a single sheet; Figures 8A-8B; Paragraph 0096),
a plurality of standoffs defined by the pattern and extending away from an outer surface of the sheet (pods 258, 260, and 262 are defined by a pattern and extend away from the outer surface of the sheet; Figures 8A-8B; Paragraph 0096-0097), the plurality of standoffs being separated from each other by space regions (pods 258, 260, and 262 are separated from each other by seals 268; Paragraph 0096-0097; Figures 8A-8B), the standoffs comprising cells having a closed end (pods 258, 260, and 262 are cells/structures with closed ends; Figures 8A-8B; Paragraph 0096), wherein at least some of the standoffs enclose a composition comprising a biocompatible polymer and the standoffs are configured to release the biocompatible polymer over a selected time period (active agents are in the fibers for release over time; Paragraph 0050-0052, where the fibers are filler material 252; Paragraph 0096; Figures 8A-8B), and
a plurality of apertures extending through the tissue interface in the space regions between the standoffs (perforated rings 268 extend through the structure 250 in the seals 256 between the pods; Figures 8A; Paragraph 0096), the apertures configured to provide fluid communication across the tissue interface (obvious that perforations are apertures and are fully capable of providing fluid communication; Paragraph 0096);
a cover configured to be disposed adjacent to the tissue interface and to form a seal around the tissue site (cover 22 is adjacent to wound dressing 100; Figure 1B; Paragraph 0066); and
a negative-pressure source fluidly coupled to the tissue interface through the cover (negative pressure wound therapy source 50 is fluidly coupled to the dressing 100 through cover 22; Figure 1B; Paragraph 0075). The embodiment of Figures 8A-8B of Heagle does not teach the first film and the second film being non-porous, polymeric films, the standoffs comprising cells having perforations.
However, the embodiment of 7A-7C and Figures 9A-9E of Heagle teaches the first film and the second film being non-porous, polymeric films (lower layer of sheath material 254L is made of non-adherent, directionally-apertured polyolefin film while upper layer 254U is made of non-porous polypropylene – obvious that the polyolefin film is non-porous and only has perforations of directional apertures, as discussed by Heagle in Figure 7C and Paragraph 0095; Figure 7C and Figures 9A-9F; Paragraph 0095 and 0103).
Heagle is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound dressings for negative pressure wound therapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of the embodiment of Figures 7A-7C and 9A-9E of Heagle and have the first film and the second film to be made of non-porous polypropylene and directionally-apertured polyolefin film, respectively, as taught by the embodiment of Figures 7A-7C and 9A-9E of Heagle, with the method of forming the sheath, as taught by the embodiment of Figures 9A-9E of Heagle. This allows for fluid flow through the apertures of the polyolefin film and into the filler of the sheath (Heagle; Paragraph 0095) while preventing the fluid from traveling through the upper layer of the sheath (Heagle; Paragraph 0103).
The combination of Heagle further teaches the standoffs comprising cells having perforations (pods 258, 260, and 262 are cells/structures that have apertures on the lower layer, as taught by the embodiment of Figures 7A-7C and 9A-9E; Figures 7A-7C, 8A-8B, and 9A-9E; Paragraph 0095-0097 and 0103).
Regarding claim 15, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle further teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises a biologically-active polymer (active agents can be a biologically-active polymer; Paragraph 0050-0052).
Regarding claim 16, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle further teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer is bioresorbable (active agent can be a biodegradable biguanide, such as polyethylene hexamethylene biguanide – obvious that biodegradable polymer is bioresorbable; Paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 17, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle further teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises anti-inflammatory, matrix metalloproteinases (MMP)-mitigating or antimicrobial polymers (Paragraph 0050-0052).
Regarding claim 21, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle further teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises hyaluronic acid, chitosan, heparin, alginate, cellulose, fibrin, gelatin, chondroitin sulfate, agarose, dextran, carrageenan, silk, poly(ethylene glycol), poly(vinyl alcohol),polycaprolactone, polyphophazene, polyglycolic acid, rosin, lactose, sucrose, tapioca starch, and polyvinylpyrrolidone, or any combination thereof (biocompatible polymers can be cellulose; Paragraph 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 26, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle further teaches wherein at least some of the standoffs form protrusions on two sides of the tissue interface (Figures 9A-9F; Paragraph 0098-0101).
Regarding claim 52, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle further teaches wherein a portion of the perforations are disposed in a base of the cells (pods 258, 260, and 262 are cells/structures that have apertures on the lower layer and a portion of the aperture are disposed in a base of the cells, as taught by the embodiment of Figures 7A-7C and 9A-9E; Figures 7A-7C, 8A-8B, and 9A-9E; Paragraph 0095-0097 and 0103).
Claim 2, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wada (Publication No. US 2015/0290050 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein at least one of the first film and the second film comprise a fluid control layer having a surface adjacent to the plurality of standoffs, the surface being even and free from perceptible projections, lumps or indentations. The fluid control layer is interpreted to be the surface of film 515 facing the standoffs and connected to film 525, as depicted in Figures 5A-B and Paragraphs 0056-0065 of the instant application.
However, Wada teaches wherein at least one of the first film and the second film comprise a fluid control layer having a surface adjacent to the plurality of standoffs, the surface being even and free from perceptible projections, lumps or indentations (flat sheet material 4/fluid control layer has a surface that is adjacent to the sheet 2 and is free from projections and lumps – through hole 8 is not required; Paragraphs 0046-0054; Figures 4 and 5).
Heagle and Wada are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of absorbent articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Wada and have the second film of Heagle/fluid control layer to be a flat sheet, as taught by Wada. This will allow for the flat area, made of the flat sheet, to be easily joined to another sheet for making absorbent articles (Wada; Paragraph 0048-0049).
Regarding claim 25, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein at least some of the standoffs form protrusions on one side of the tissue interface.
However, Wada teaches wherein at least some of the standoffs form protrusions on one side of the tissue interface (flat sheet material 4/fluid control layer has a surface that is adjacent to the sheet 2 comprising protrusions 3 on one side of sheet; Paragraphs 0046-0054; Figures 4 and 5).
Heagle and Wada are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of absorbent articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Wada and have the protrusions on only one side of the sheet, as taught by Wada. This will allow for the flat area, made of the flat sheet, to be easily joined to another sheet for making absorbent articles (Wada; Paragraph 0048-0049).
Regarding claim 28, Heagle in view of Wada teaches the system of claim 25. The combination of Heagle in view of Wada further teaches wherein at least some of the protrusions have a shape that is spherical, circular, polygonal or any combination thereof (Heagle; pods 258/260/262 are circular; Figures 8A-8B).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simmons et al. (Publication No. US 2011/0224631 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein the perforations comprise slits or crosshatches.
However, Simmons teaches wherein the perforations comprise slits or crosshatches (fenestrations are slits or linear cuts and can be any shape or size; Paragraph 0030 and 0041).
Since the prior art of Simmons recognizes slits can be a form of shape for perforations (Paragraph 0030 and 0041) and is analogous to the claimed invention in the field of negative pressure wound therapy systems, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the perforation/aperture shape of Heagle to be slits, as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent film materials, with the function of absorbing wound fluid, recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of doing so. The simple substitution of one known element for another, substituting the apertures of Heagle to be slits, as taught by Simmons, is obvious when predictable results are achieved, with the results of absorbing fluid into the wound dressing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
The combination of Heagle in view of Simmons does not expressly teach wherein the perforations comprise slits of between 0.5 to 2 mm in width.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the perforations/fenestrations of Heagle in view of Simmons to have slits of between 0.5 to 2 mm in width since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). In the instant case, the system of Heagle in view of Simmons would not operate differently with the claimed slit width since the therapy delivery system with the fenestrations/perforations have the same function of being a wound dressing that delivers negative pressure at the tissue site and allowing fluid to travel through the cell (Simmons; Abstract; Figure 1 and 2; Paragraph 0041). Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the apertures “may” be within the claimed ranges (specification; paragraph 0066).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Coulthard et al. (Publication No. US 2017/0128269 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises oxidized regenerated cellulose.
However, Coulthard teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises oxidized regenerated cellulose (oxidized regenerated cellulose is bonded to upstream or downstream layer; Paragraph 0041; Figure 1).
Heagle and Coulthard are analogous to the claimed invention, in the field of wound covers, therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Coulthard and incorporate the material of Coulthard as the biocompatible polymer of Heagle. This will enable the device to improve re-epithelialization time in chronic wounds (Coulthard et al.; Paragraph 0041).
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lauritzen et al. (Publication No. US 2011/0262515 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises collagen.
However, Lauritzen teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises collagen (cross-linked collagen as a wound repair material; Paragraph 0065).
Lauritzen and Heagle are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound repair systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Lauritzen and incorporate the collagen of Lauritzen as the biocompatible polymer of Heagle. The collagen improves the mechanical and chemical properties of the material for wound repair (Lauritzen et al.; Paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 20, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises cross-linked collagen.
However, Lauritzen teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises cross-linked collagen (cross-linked collagen as a wound repair material; Paragraph 0065).
Lauritzen and Heagle are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound repair systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Lauritzen and incorporate the cross-linked collagen of Lauritzen as the biocompatible polymer of Heagle. The cross-linked collagen improves the mechanical and chemical properties of the material for wound repair (Lauritzen et al.; Paragraph 0002).
Claim(s) 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Russ et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2011/0237994 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein the biocompatible polymer is in a form of a liquid slurry.
However, Russ teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer is in a form of a liquid slurry (release agent is a slurry of clay and release agent; Paragraph 0044).
Russ and Heagle are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound therapy systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Russ and incorporate the slurry form of Russ as the biocompatible polymer of Heagle. The slurry allows for the stable suspension of the material and the release agent in the wound system (Russ et al.; Paragraph 0042 and 0044).
Claim(s) 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Carr et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2019/0083675 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Locke does not teach wherein the biocompatible polymer is in a powder form.
However, Carr teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer is in a powder form (inclusions in the recesses of layer is in powder form; Paragraph 0122).
Carr and Heagle are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of absorbent dressings/pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Carr and incorporate the powder form of Carr as the biocompatible polymer of Heagle. This allows for the desired material to be deposited into the absorbent article using a variety of dispensers (Carr et al.; Paragraph 0122).
Claim(s) 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heagle et al. (Publication No. US 2013/0204213 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patel (Publication No. US 2004/0082925 A1).
Regarding claim 51, Heagle teaches the system of claim 1. Heagle does not teach wherein the selected time period is between about 2 days and about 21 days.
However, Patel teaches wherein the selected time period is between about 2 days and about 21 days (releasable antimicrobial agent is controllably released for a period of up to about 2 days; Paragraph 0046).
Heagle and Patel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative pressure wound therapy systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heagle to incorporate the teachings of Patel and have the biocompatible polymer be the antimicrobial agent coated on a hydrophilic inner surface, as taught by Patel, and have the treatment time period of Patel applied using the system of Heagle. This allows for the antimicrobial to be released over time to the skin of the patient for effective wound healing and prevents irritation to the wound (Patel; Paragraph 0046 and 0056).
Additionally, Heagle teaches the general conditions of the claimed invention of having a releasable biocompatible polymer that is released into the skin over a period of time (Paragraph 0050) except for the express teaching of wherein the selected time period is between about 2 days and about 21 days. Since both the invention and Heagle teaches a releasable biocompatible polymer that can be control released over a period of time (Heagle; Paragraph 0050), therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try applying the system to the skin of the patient using a variety of time periods, including a selected time period of about 2 days and about 21 days, with a reasonable expectation of absorbing wound fluid from the wound site while releasing biocompatible polymers to promote wound healing. The modification would be a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE-PH MINH PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781