DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Response: 35 U.S.C. § 101
1. Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-13, filed 3/31/26, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered. The amendment to the claims implements the abstract idea into a practical application, where the machine tool comprising a machine body and a control device is configured to machine a workpiece and control the machine body. With the abstract idea being integrated into a practical application, the claim is no longer directed to an abstract idea. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 16-29 has been withdrawn.
Response: 35 U.S.C. § 103
2. The examiner’s response regarding the applicant’s arguments to the newly added limitations are shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim(s) 16-23 and 25-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (JP 2018-153907) (from IDS dated 10/21/21) in view of Matsumoto (JP 2940027) in further view of Eickhorst et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0126554).
With respect to claim 16, Saito et al. discloses “A cyber-physical system type machining system” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24. Further, the grind processing simulation device 1 may be an embedded system such as a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller device or a CNC (Computer Numerical Control device, or may be a personal computer, a server, or the like.”)];
“a machine tool disposed in a real world, the machine tool comprising a machine body configured to machine a workpiece and a control device configured to control the machine body based on command values” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “A grinding simulation apparatus and a grinding apparatus according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to the drawings. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 is an apparatus separate from the grinding apparatus 2, and is communicably connected to a control device 24 as indicated by a dotted line in the drawing. The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24. Further, the grind processing simulation device 1 may be an embedded system such as a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller device or a CNC (Computer Numerical Control device, or may be a personal computer, a server, or the like”, Saito et al. paragraph [0014] “The grinding apparatus 2 includes a grinding wheel 21, a wheel head 22, a headstock 23, and a control device 24.”, Saito et al. paragraph [0016] “The headstock 23 supports a cylindrical workpiece W rotatably about a main axis Cw, and rotates the workpiece W about the main axis Cw in accordance with a command from the control device 24. The control device 24 controls the wheel head 22”)];
“and a computer device connected to communicate with the control device of the machine tool, the computer device comprising a processor and a memory storing a program” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “A grinding simulation apparatus and a grinding apparatus according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to the drawings. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 is an apparatus separate from the grinding apparatus 2, and is communicably connected to a control device 24 as indicated by a dotted line in the drawing. The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24. Further, the grind processing simulation device 1 may be an embedded system such as a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller device or a CNC (Computer Numerical Control device, or may be a personal computer, a server, or the like”)];
“wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the computer device to perform operations comprising: acquiring, in synchronization with the control device, the command values for controlling the machine body” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0015] “The grinding wheel 21 is formed of a large amount of abrasive grains in a disc shape, and is supported by the wheel spindle stock 22 so as to be rotatable about a wheel spindle axis Cg. The wheel spindle stock 22 rotates the grinding wheel 21 about the grinding wheel axis Cg in response to a command from the control device 24. Further, the wheel spindle stock 22 moves the grinding wheel 21 in the direction of the grinding wheel axis Cg and the feeding direction(X-axis direction) according to a command from the control device 24.”, Saito et al. paragraph [0016] “The headstock 23 supports a cylindrical workpiece W rotatably about a main axis Cw, and rotates the workpiece W about the main axis Cw in accordance with a command from the control device 24. The control device 24 controls the wheel head 22. The spindle stock 23 is commanded to control the relative position between the grinding wheel 21 and the workpiece W and the respective rotational speeds of the grinding wheel 21 and the workpiece W.”, The examiner considers the rotating of the grinding wheel and workpiece as being the command values, since the command value PI includes values (parameters) that are related to the grinding machine grinding the workpiece, see paragraph [0013] of the specification)];
“generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, based on the command values” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0086] “Then, the depth of the grinding burn of the workpiece W in the current grinding operation is calculated (step S6 in FIG. 3, new grinding burn depth calculation step), and the new grinding burn depth in the current grinding operation is calculated based on the calculated depth of the remaining grinding burn in the current grinding operation and the calculated depth of the grinding burn in the current grinding operation (step S7 in FIG. 3, new grinding burn depth calculation step).”)];
“and wherein the machine body is a grinding machine or a cutting machine tool.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “A grinding simulation apparatus and a grinding apparatus according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to the drawings. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 is an apparatus separate from the grinding apparatus 2, and is communicably connected to a control device 24 as indicated by a dotted line in the drawing. The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24. Further, the grind processing simulation device 1 may be an embedded system such as a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller device or a CNC (Computer Numerical Control device, or may be a personal computer, a server, or the like”)];
While Saito et al. teaches generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, based on the command values, Saito et al. does not explicitly disclose “and outputting, to the control device, optimal command values for correcting the command values based on the future virtual machining phenomenon, wherein the optimal command values adjust at least one physical parameter including a position of the workpiece and/or the machine body, a rotational speed of the machine body, a rotational speed of the workpiece, a depth of cut speed, timing for switching machining steps, or a presence or absence of coolant, wherein the control device controls an operation of the machine body based on the optimal command values to adjust machining of the workpiece”
Matsumoto discloses “and outputting, to the control device, optimal command values for correcting the command values based on the future virtual machining phenomenon” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 8, “In this example, the grinding wheel cutting quality is monitored for each machining cycle from the grinding wheel cutting quality coefficient K, and the grinding force command value is changed each time, but as another embodiment of the present invention, the machining cycle time may be stabilized on average.”)];
“wherein the optimal command values adjust at least one physical parameter including a position of the workpiece and/or the machine body, a rotational speed of the machine body, a rotational speed of the workpiece, a depth of cut speed, timing for switching machining steps, or a presence or absence of coolant” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 4, Operation, “In the present invention, the grinding force and the grinding speed during the grinding operation are detected, the threshold force and the grinding wheel sharpness coefficient are calculated in real time by the calculation unit to monitor the sharpness change, and the grinding is performed by appropriately changing the grinding force command value based on the sharpness change. This reduces variations in cycle time. To prevent the taper of a grinding surface by adjusting the swivel angle of a work or a grinding wheel shaft together with the change of grinding force in the case where the deflection of the grinding wheel shaft is changed by the change of grinding force.”)];
“wherein the control device controls an operation of the machine body based on the optimal command values to adjust machining of the workpiece” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 5, Working Examples, 2nd paragraph, “A difference signal between the rough and finish grinding force command values and the actually measured grinding force outputted from the grinding force detecting portion 13 is taken into a cut-in control device14, and the cut-in control device 14 operates a cut-in feed control motor 15 so as to control the rough grinding force and the finish grinding force to be constant based on the difference signal. As a result, the grinding wheel of the grinding unit 16 or the cut-in slide of the workpieceis operated.”)];
Saito et al. and Matsumoto are analogous art because they are from the same field
endeavor of analyzing the grinding of a workpiece.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Saito et al. of generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, based on the command values by incorporating and outputting, to the control device, optimal command values for correcting the command values based on the future virtual machining phenomenon, wherein the optimal command values adjust at least one physical parameter including a position of the workpiece and/or the machine body, a rotational speed of the machine body, a rotational speed of the workpiece, a depth of cut speed, timing for switching machining steps, or a presence or absence of coolant, wherein the control device controls an operation of the machine body based on the optimal command values to adjust machining of the workpiece as taught by Matsumoto for the purpose of controlling a grinding force.
Saito et al. in view of Matsumoto teaches and outputting, to the control device, optimal command values for correcting the command values based on the future virtual machining phenomenon, wherein the optimal command values adjust at least one physical parameter including a position of the workpiece and/or the machine body, a rotational speed of the machine body, a rotational speed of the workpiece, a depth of cut speed, timing for switching machining steps, or a presence or absence of coolant, wherein the control device controls an operation of the machine body based on the optimal command values to adjust machining of the workpiece.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Matsumoto teaches that by controlling a grinding force, the ability to prevent tapering of the ground surface of the workpiece can be accomplished. This ensures the grinding speed and grinding force are being detected (Matsumoto Pg. 4, Means for Solving the Problem, 1st paragraph “In this grinding method, a threshold force F0 and a grinding, etc.”).
While the combination of Saito et al. and Matsumoto teaches generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, based on the command values, Saito et al. and Matsumoto do not explicitly disclose “generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, which is a phenomenon or state that will occur in a future in the machine body and/or the workpiece due to machining, in a virtual world, based on the command values, wherein the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises a prediction of occurrence of at least one phenomenon or state including a dimension of the workpiece, a machining quality of the workpiece, a condition or state of the machine body, and a mechanical abnormality of the machine body”
Eickhorst et al. discloses “generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, which is a phenomenon or state that will occur in a future in the machine body and/or the workpiece due to machining, in a virtual world, based on the command values, wherein the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises a prediction of occurrence of at least one phenomenon or state including a dimension of the workpiece, a machining quality of the workpiece, a condition or state of the machine body, and a mechanical abnormality of the machine body” as [Eickhorst et al. (paragraph [0023] “Accordingly, the term “kinematic model” denotes a kinematic manipulator model with data that are suitable for electronic mapping of the kinematics of the manipulator and of its initial situation in the above context, particularly for the purpose of a movement computation for the manipulator. The “trajectory plan” in turn is accordingly the future execution, produced by the control apparatus, for example, of the movement for all parts of the manipulator, including the end effector and particularly comprising the axes of the manipulator, that are controllable by the control apparatus.”)];
Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing the movement of a workpiece.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Saito et al. and Matsumoto of generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, based on the command values by incorporating generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, which is a phenomenon or state that will occur in a future in the machine body and/or the workpiece due to machining, in a virtual world, based on the command values, wherein the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises a prediction of occurrence of at least one phenomenon or state including a dimension of the workpiece, a machining quality of the workpiece, a condition or state of the machine body, and a mechanical abnormality of the machine body as taught by Eickhorst et al. for the purpose of simulating the motion of a manipulator in a machining environment.
Saito et al. in view of Matsumoto in further view of Eickhorst et al. teaches generating a future virtual machining phenomenon, which is a phenomenon or state that will occur in a future in the machine body and/or the workpiece due to machining, in a virtual world, based on the command values, wherein the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises a prediction of occurrence of at least one phenomenon or state including a dimension of the workpiece, a machining quality of the workpiece, a condition or state of the machine body, and a mechanical abnormality of the machine body.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Eickhorst et al. teaches that by simulating the motion of a manipulator in a machining environment, the ability to avoid future collisions with objects on a trajectory path of the manipulator can be accomplished. This allows a user to know what trajectory to have the manipulator to take (Eickhorst et al. paragraph [0012] – [0013]).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 16 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the generating the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises: generating a current virtual machining phenomenon, which is the virtual machining phenomenon at present, based on the command values; and generating the future virtual machining phenomenon based on the current virtual machining phenomenon.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0083] “Next, a grinding burn simulation operation by the grinding simulation apparatus 1 will be described with reference to the drawings. The removed amount calculation unit 105 calculates theremoved amount of the workpiece W by the grinding wheel 21 based on the peripheral surface shape of the workpiece W stored in the workpiece shape storage unit 101, the peripheral surface shape of the grinding wheel 21 stored in the grinding wheel shape storage unit 102, andthe X-axis clearance calculated by the relative position calculation unit 104 (step S1 in FIG. 3, removed amount calculation step).”)];
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al.
discloses the system of claim 16 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the acquiring the command values comprises synchronizing the command values by acquiring the command values at a predetermined cycle” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0019] “The command value storage unit 103 stores a command value for the grinding apparatus 2 in the grinding process. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the command values are an X-axis value that isa value for commanding a separation distance in an X-axis direction between a main axis Cw(rotation center (axis)) of the workpiece W and a grinding wheel axis Cg (rotation center (axis)) of the grinding wheel 21 at a certain time, and a C-axis value (C = ω t) that is a value for commanding a rotation angle of the workpiece W at a certain time.”)];
“wherein the generating the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises generating the future virtual machining phenomenon at any time point later than a synchronization time point at which the command values are synchronized, by calculation based on the command values” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0040] “The grinding resistance Ft may be a value input (set) by an operator or the like, or may be calculated by calculation. Alternatively, the threshold value may be a value to be set. In the present embodiment, the grinding resistance Ft calculated in advance from the command value is provided as a database. Then, the grinding resistance Ft is calculated from the input command value using the database”, Saito et al. paragraph [0084] “Then, the grinding-resistance calculating unit 107 calculates the grinding resistance Fn in the X-axis direction in the grinding work based on the removed amount calculated by the removed-amount calculating unit 105 (step S2 in FIG. 3, grinding-resistance calculating step). The heat energy calculation unit 112 multiplies the relative speed of the grinding wheel 21 with respect to the workpiece W at the grinding point P by the grinding resistance Fn calculated by the grinding resistance calculation unit 107 to calculate the total grinding heat energy Q by the grinding work (step S3 in FIG. 3, heat energy calculation step)”)];
“wherein the outputting the optimal command values comprises determining the optimal command values based on the future virtual machining phenomenon and outputting the optimal command values to the control device” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0015] “The grinding wheel 21 is formed of a large amount of abrasive grains in a disc shape, and is supported by the wheel spindle stock 22 so as to be rotatable about a wheel spindle axis Cg. The wheel spindle stock 22 rotates the grinding wheel 21 about the grinding wheel axis Cg in response to a command from the control device 24. Further, the wheel spindle stock 22 moves the grinding wheel 21 in the direction of the grinding wheel axis Cg and the feeding direction (X-axis direction) according to a command from the control device 24.”, Saito et al. paragraph [0016] “The headstock 23 supports a cylindrical workpiece W rotatably about a main axis Cw, and rotates the workpiece W about the main axis Cw in accordance with a command from the control device 24.”)];
“and wherein the control device is configured to acquire the optimal command values output from the computer device, and control the machine body using the optimal command values.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0015] “The grinding wheel 21 is formed of a large amount of abrasive grains in a disc shape, and is supported by the wheel spindle stock 22 so as to be rotatable about a wheel spindle axis Cg. The wheel spindle stock 22 rotates the grinding wheel 21 about the grinding wheel axis Cg in response to a command from the control device 24. Further, the wheel spindle stock 22 moves the grinding wheel 21 in the direction of the grinding wheel axis Cg and the feeding direction (X-axis direction) according to a command from the control device 24.”, Saito et al. paragraph [0016] “The headstock 23 supports a cylindrical workpiece W rotatably about a main axis Cw, and rotates the workpiece W about the main axis Cw in accordance with a command from the control device 24.”)];
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 18 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the generating the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises: generating a current virtual machining phenomenon, which is the virtual machining phenomenon at present, at the synchronization time point” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0096] “The grinding process simulation device 1 of the present embodiment is a grinding process simulation device 1 that performs a simulation of a grinding state of a workpiece W in a grinding process in which a rotationally driven grinding wheel 21 and a rotationally driven workpiece Ware moved relative to each other”
“and generating the future virtual machining phenomenon by calculation based on the current virtual machining phenomenon.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0098] “In the grinding simulation apparatus 1, the grinding burn depth in the current grinding is calculated based on the grinding burn depth calculated in the previous grinding and the removal amount calculated in the current grinding.”)];
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 18 above and Matsumoto further discloses “wherein the operations further comprise performing a comparison of a difference between the actual machining phenomenon of the machine body and the current virtual machining phenomenon which is the virtual machining phenomenon at present” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 5 1st paragraph “A difference signal between the rough and finish grinding force command values and the actually measured grinding force outputted from the grinding force detecting portion 13 is taken into a cut-in control device14, and the cut-in control device 14 operates a cut-in feed control motor 15 so as to control the rough grinding force and the finish grinding force to be constant based on the difference signal.”)];
“and wherein the acquiring the command values comprises synchronizing the command values in a case in which the difference does not satisfy a predetermined reference value as a result of the comparison.” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 5 1st paragraph “A difference signal between the rough and finish grinding force command values and the actually measured grinding force outputted from the grinding force detecting portion 13 is taken into a cut-in control device14, and the cut-in control device 14 operates a cut-in feed control motor 15 so as to control the rough grinding force and the finish grinding force to be constant based on the difference signal.”)];
With respect to claim 21, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 20 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the computer device further comprises a database configured to acquire the command value from the control device and store the command value in an updatable manner” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0017] “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 includes a workpiece shape storage unit 101, a grinding wheel shape storage unit 102, a command value storage unit 103, etc.”, Fig. 1)];
“wherein the generating the future virtual machining phenomenon comprises generating the future virtual machining phenomenon based on a stored command value which is the command value stored in the database” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0040] “The grinding resistance Ft may be a value input (set) by an operator or the like, or may be calculated by calculation. Alternatively, the threshold value may be a value to be set. In the present embodiment, the grinding resistance Ft calculated in advance from the command value is provided as a database. Then, the grinding resistance Ft is calculated from the input command value using the database”, Saito et al. paragraph [0084] “Then, the grinding-resistance calculating unit 107 calculates the grinding resistance Fn in the X-axis direction in the grinding work based on the removed amount calculated by the removed-amount calculating unit 105 (step S2 in FIG. 3, grinding-resistance calculating step). The heat energy calculation unit 112 multiplies the relative speed of the grinding wheel 21 with respect to the workpiece W at the grinding point P by the grinding resistance Fn calculated by the grinding resistance calculation unit 107 to calculate the total grinding heat energy Q by the grinding work (step S3 in FIG. 3, heat energy calculation step)”)];
Matsumoto discloses “wherein the performing the comparison comprises performing a comparison of a difference between the command value acquired from the control device and the stored command value stored in the database” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 5 1st paragraph “A difference signal between the rough and finish grinding force command values and the actually measured grinding force outputted from the grinding force detecting portion 13 is taken into a cut-in control device14, and the cut-in control device 14 operates a cut-in feed control motor 15 so as to control the rough grinding force and the finish grinding force to be constant based on the difference signal.”)];
“and wherein the acquiring the command value comprises synchronizing the command value in a case in which the difference does not satisfy a predetermined reference value as a result of the comparison.” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 7, 1st paragraph “When grinding is performed by changing the grinding force command value in accordance with the change in the sharpness in this manner, a taper error of the workpiece based on the deflection of the grinding wheel spindle becomes a problem.”)];
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 18 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the operations further comprise performing a determination as to whether the future virtual machining phenomenon is a predetermined machining phenomenon set in advance” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0087] “Then, it is determined whether or not the grinding work is finished (step S8 in FIG. 3), and when the grinding work is not finished, the process returns to step S1 and the above-described processing is repeated.”)];
“and wherein the outputting the optimal command value comprises, in a case in which the future virtual machining phenomenon is different from the predetermined machining phenomenon as a result of the determination, determining the optimal command value and output the optimal command value to the control device.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0019] “The command value storage unit 103 stores a command value for the grinding apparatus 2 in the grinding process. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the command values are an X-axis value that isa value for commanding a separation distance in an X-axis direction between a main axis Cw(rotation center (axis)) of the workpiece W and a grinding wheel axis Cg (rotation center (axis)) of the grinding wheel 21 at a certain time, and a C-axis value (C = ω t) that is a value for commanding a rotation angle of the workpiece W at a certain time.”, Saito et al. paragraph [0087] “Then, it is determined whether or not the grinding work is finished (step S8 in FIG. 3), and when the grinding work is not finished, the process returns to step S1 and the above-described processing is repeated.”)];
With respect to claim 23, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 18 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the machine tool further comprises a command value output device configured to output the command value to the control device such that the command value in synchronization with the computer device.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “A grinding simulation apparatus and a grinding apparatus according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to the drawings. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 is an apparatus separate from the grinding apparatus 2, and is communicably connected to a control device 24 as indicated by a dotted line in the drawing. The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24.”, Fig. 1 items 1, 24 and 104, The grinding simulation apparatus is connected to the control device and with the control device outputting a command value, demonstrates that the command value is sent to the control device)];
With respect to claim 25, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 16 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the machine body is a grinding machine comprising a grinding wheel, a grinding wheel head which supports the grinding wheel so as to be rotationally driven around an axis, and a headstock which supports the workpiece so as to be rotationally driven around an axis.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0014] “The grinding apparatus 2 includes a grinding wheel 21, a wheel head 22, a headstock 23, and a control device 24. Although not shown, the grinding apparatus 2 is provided with a cooling device for cooling the periphery of the grinding point P with a coolant. The grinding apparatus 2brings the peripheral surface of the grinding wheel 21, which is rotationally driven by the wheel head 22, into contact with the peripheral surface of the workpiece W, which is rotationally driven by the headstock 23, to grind the peripheral surface of the workpiece W.”)];
With respect to claim 26, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 25 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the operations further comprise creating, in a virtual world, a model comprising a virtual grinding wheel corresponding to the grinding wheel, a virtual grinding wheel head corresponding to the grinding wheel head, a virtual headstock corresponding to the headstock, and a virtual workpiece corresponding to the workpiece.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0096] “The grinding process simulation device 1 of the present embodiment is a grinding process simulation device 1 that performs a simulation of a grinding state of a workpiece W in a grinding process in which a rotationally driven grinding wheel 21 and a rotationally driven workpiece Ware moved relative to each other”)];
With respect to claim 27, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 16 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the computer device is disposed in a cloud space connected, via a network, to the control device of the machine body disposed in the real world.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “A grinding simulation apparatus and a grinding apparatus according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to the drawings. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 is an apparatus separate from the grinding apparatus 2, and is communicably connected to a control device 24 as indicated by a dotted line in the drawing. The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24. Further, the grind processing simulation device 1 may be an embedded system such as a PLC(Programmable Logic Controller device or a CNC(Computer Numerical Control device, or may be a personal computer, a server, or the like”, Fig. 1)];
With respect to claim 28, Saito et al. discloses “A computer device configured to generate, in a virtual world, a virtual machining phenomenon corresponding to an actual machining phenomenon in a real world of a workpiece and a machine body of a machine tool for machining the workpiece” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24. Further, the grind processing simulation device 1 may be an embedded system such as a PLC(Programmable Logic Controller device or a CNC(Computer Numerical Control device, or may be a personal computer, a server, or the like.”)];
The other limitations of the claim recite the same substantive limitations as claim 1 above, and are rejected using the same teachings.
With respect to claim 29, Saito et al. discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24. Further, the grind processing simulation device 1 may be an embedded system such as a PLC(Programmable Logic Controller device or a CNC(Computer Numerical Control device, or may be a personal computer, a server, or the like.”)];
The other limitations of the claim recite the same substantive limitations as claim 1 above, and are rejected using the same teachings.
With respect to claim 30, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 16 above and Saito et al. further discloses “wherein the computer device operates, in the virtual world, a model that reproduces the machine body and the workpiece.” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “A grinding simulation apparatus and a grinding apparatus according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to the drawings. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 is an apparatus separate from the grinding apparatus 2, and is communicably connected to a control device 24 as indicated by a dotted line in the drawing. The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24.”)];
With respect to claim 31, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 30 above and Matsumoto further discloses “wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the computer device to generate, by operating the model based on the command values, a current virtual machining phenomenon corresponding to a present machining state.” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 4, Operation, “In the present invention, the grinding force and the grinding speed during the grinding operation are detected, the threshold force and the grinding wheel sharpness coefficient are calculated in real time by the calculation unit to monitor the sharpness change, and the grinding is performed by appropriately changing the grinding force command value based on the sharpness change. This reduces variations in cycle time. To prevent the taper of a grinding surface by adjusting the swivel angle of a work or a grinding wheel shaft together with the change of grinding force in the case where the deflection of the grinding wheel shaft is changed by the change of grinding force.”)];
With respect to claim 32, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 31 above and Matsumoto further discloses “wherein the computer device constructs the model such that the current virtual machining phenomenon matches an actual machining phenomenon of the machine body and the workpiece.” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 4, Operation, “In the present invention, the grinding force and the grinding speed during the grinding operation are detected, the threshold force and the grinding wheel sharpness coefficient are calculated in real time by the calculation unit to monitor the sharpness change, and the grinding is performed by appropriately changing the grinding force command value based on the sharpness change. This reduces variations in cycle time. To prevent the taper of a grinding surface by adjusting the swivel angle of a work or a grinding wheel shaft together with the change of grinding force in the case where the deflection of the grinding wheel shaft is changed by the change of grinding force.”)];
With respect to claim 33, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 32 above and Eickhorst et al. further discloses “wherein the future virtual machining phenomenon is generated by operating the constructed model based on the current virtual machining phenomenon.” as [Eickhorst et al. (paragraph [0023] “Accordingly, the term “kinematic model” denotes a kinematic manipulator model with data that are suitable for electronic mapping of the kinematics of the manipulator and of its initial situation in the above context, particularly for the purpose of a movement computation for the manipulator. The “trajectory plan” in turn is accordingly the future execution, produced by the control apparatus, for example, of the movement for all parts of the manipulator, including the end effector and particularly comprising the axes of the manipulator, that are controllable by the control apparatus.”)];
With respect to claim 34, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 16 above and Eickhorst et al. further discloses “wherein the future virtual machining phenomenon further includes a condition or state of a tool configured to machine the workpiece.” as [Eickhorst et al. (paragraph [0017] “A “control apparatus” within the context of the proposal, which in the present case can consist of one or more, possibly distributed single apparatuses, is an apparatus for controlling and regulating machine tools—including manipulators as defined just now—within the meaning of a numerical controller or a computer-aided numerical controller, which apparatus can also comprise personal computers. The control apparatus can control not only the manipulator by means of its axes in accordance with a trajectory plan determined by the control apparatus by computation, but also further component parts of the manipulator,”)];
With respect to claim 35, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 16 above and Eickhorst et al. further discloses “wherein the future virtual machining phenomenon includes a predicted machining quality or machining accuracy of the workpiece.” as [Eickhorst et al. (paragraph [0036] “Finally, an embodiment enables a particularly accurate kinematic model or environment model, namely by virtue of these being supported by model data in electronic form, such as are made available by design programs, for example.”)];
With respect to claim 36, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 16 above and Matsumoto further discloses “wherein the optimal command values are configured to optimize at least one of machining productivity, machining accuracy, machine lifetime, operational safety, or environmental performance.” as [Matsumoto (Pg. 4, Operation, “In the present invention, the grinding force and the grinding speed during the grinding operation are detected, the threshold force and the grinding wheel sharpness coefficient are calculated in real time by the calculation unit to monitor the sharpness change, and the grinding is performed by appropriately changing the grinding force command value based on the sharpness change. This reduces variations in cycle time. To prevent the taper of a grinding surface by adjusting the swivel angle of a work or a grinding wheel shaft together with the change of grinding force in the case where the deflection of the grinding wheel shaft is changed by the change of grinding force.”)];
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. in
view of Matsumoto in further view of Eickhorst et al. in further view of Kiyama (U.S. PGPub 2019/0291270).
With respect to claim 24, the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. discloses the system of claim 18 above and Saito et al. further discloses “and wherein the outputting the optimal command values comprises determining the optimum command values based on the machining quality, and outputting the optimal command values to the control device” as [Saito et al. (paragraph [0013] “A grinding simulation apparatus and a grinding apparatus according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to the drawings. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the grinding simulation apparatus 1 is an apparatus separate from the grinding apparatus 2, and is communicably connected to a control device 24 as indicated by a dotted line in the drawing. The grinding simulation apparatus 1 may be incorporated in the control device 24.”, Saito et al. paragraph [0019] “The command value storage unit 103 stores a command value for the grinding apparatus 2 in the grinding process. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the command values are an X-axis value that isa value for commanding a separation distance in an X-axis direction between a main axis Cw(rotation center (axis)) of the workpiece W and a grinding wheel axis Cg (rotation center (axis)) of the grinding wheel 21 at a certain time, and a C-axis value (C = ω t) that is a value for commanding a rotation angle of the workpiece W at a certain time.”)];
While the combination of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. teaches wherein the outputting the optimal command value comprises determining the optimum command value based on the machining quality, and outputting the optimal command value to the control device, Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. do not explicitly disclose “wherein the operations further comprise acquiring machining quality of the workpiece estimated by machine learning based on the future virtual machining phenomenon”
Kiyama discloses “wherein the operations further comprise acquiring machining quality of the workpiece estimated by machine learning based on the future virtual machining phenomenon” as [Kiyama (paragraph [0007] “A controller according to a mode of the present invention controls a robot that performs grinding on a workpiece. The controller includes a machine learning device that learns grinding conditions for performing the grinding. The machine learning device has a state observation section that observes, as state variables expressing a current state of an environment, a feature of a surface state of the workpiece after the grinding and the grinding conditions, a determination data acquisition section that acquires determination data indicating an evaluation result of the surface state of the workpiece after the grinding, and a learning section that learns the feature of the surface state of the workpiece after the grinding and the grinding conditions in association with each other using the state variables and the determination data.”, Kiyama paragraph [0009] “The learning section may have a reward calculation section that calculates a reward associated with the evaluation result, and a value function update section that updates, using the reward, a function expressing a value of the grinding conditions with respect to the feature of the surface state of the workpiece after the grinding.”)];
Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. and Kiyama are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing the grinding of a workpiece.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Saito et al., Matsumoto and Eickhorst et al. of outputting the optimal command value comprises determining the optimum command value based on the machining quality, and outputting the optimal command value to the control device by incorporating wherein the operations further comprise acquiring machining quality of the workpiece estimated by machine learning based on the future virtual machining phenomenon as taught by Kiyama for the purpose of learning grinding conditions of a workpiece.
Saito et al. in view of Matsumoto in further view of Eickhorst et al. in further view of Kiyama teaches wherein the operations further comprise acquiring machining quality of the workpiece estimated by machine learning based on the future virtual machining phenomenon.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Kiyama teaches that by learning grinding conditions of a workpiece, the ability to obtain the desired grinding quality can be accomplished so that the features of the surface state can be learned (Kiyana Abstract, paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
/BERNARD E COTHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188