Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed March 20, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 6-11, 14-16, 18-21, and 23-28 are currently pending and have been examined. The examiner acknowledges the amendments of claims 6, 11, 26, and 28. Claim 29 is newly presented. Claims 1-5, 12-13, 17, and 22 are cancelled by applicant. The previous claim objections and 112 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicants amendments. The previous 103 rejection of independent claim 1 has been modified due to applicants amendments. The previous 103 rejection of independent claim 26 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 10-11, 15-16, 18, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US Pub. No. 2014/0024298) in view of Elfner (US Pub. No. 2015/0038064).
Regarding claim 6, Scholz discloses: a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0025) comprising an interface (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) for holding the a circular cutting tool (see figure 1 annotated below showing portions of the interface (Detail A) operably holding a cutting tool (element 12)), a motor arranged to drive the circular cutting tool (see paragraph 0025 where the prior art discloses utilizing “an engine” (motor) which “drives” element 12 (circular cutting tool)), and the a support arm (element 11),
wherein the support arm is arranged to support the circular cutting tool on a first end (see paragraph 0030 tool-side end (first end) of element 11) of the support arm, and to support the motor at a second end (see paragraph 0030 engine-side end (second end) of element 11) of the support arm opposite to the first end (see figure 3).
However, Scholz discloses a different means of utilizing a motor (engine) to drive the cutting tool (see paragraph 0025), but appears to be silent of utilizing an electric motor arranged to drive the cutting tool, a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor, wherein the support arm comprises a recess disposed at the second end of the support arm, a motor housing of the electric motor being disposed within the recess, and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor within the recess.
Elfner is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a cutting tool (element 7), a support arm (element 5) arranged to support the circular cutting tool on a first end (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below Detail A), a second end (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below Detail B), an electric motor (combination of elements 19/20/37, see also paragraph 0037 where the prior art discloses element 19 as “a drive motor”, and see also paragraph 0013 where the prior art discloses the drive motor as “an electric motor”) arranged to drive the cutting tool (see paragraph 0041), a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor (see paragraph 0035 where the prior art discloses in the housing “a rechargeable battery pack” (element 13) is provided for “supplying energy to the drive motor” and further discloses element 13 (battery) is inserted into “a compartment” (battery compartment) provided in the housing), wherein the support arm comprises a recess (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below showing a plurality of protrusions upwardly extending and forming a recess (Detail C) in between the protrusions) disposed at the second end of the support arm (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below), a motor housing (outer surface of element 20) of the electric motor being disposed within the recess (see figure 6 annotated below showing a portion (element 20 outer surface) of the electric motor being disposed within the recess (Detail C)), and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor within the recess (see figure 6 annotated below showing a portion (element 20) of the electric motor being partially enclosed within the recess (Detail C)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the engine (motor) of Scholz with the electrical motor of Elfner and to further provide a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor, wherein the support arm comprises a recess disposed at the second end of the support arm, a motor housing of the electric motor being disposed within the recess, and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor within the recess. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an electrical motor powered by batteries would necessarily provide the same predictable result of driving the cutting tool during operations with a reasonable expectation of success. (See MPEP 2143.1 (B))
Regarding claim 7, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 6, wherein the hand-held work tool comprises a fan (element 15), configured to generate a flow of cooling air (see paragraph 0026 where the prior art discloses element 15 as “a fan wheel” and see also paragraph 0012 where the prior art discloses an “air flow” provided by the fan wheel in the form “a cooling air”), and a belt guard (elements 21/22), wherein the belt guard and at least a part of the support arm are configured to enclose an interior space (see paragraph 0030), wherein a portion of the flow of cooling air is arranged to be guided via an opening (element 18) into the interior space (see paragraph 0029 and see also figure 2 showing air flow (arrows) arranged such that it enters the interior space via an opening (element 18)), thereby increasing an air pressure in the belt guard interior space above an ambient air pressure level (Giving that the prior art meets the structural limitations of the hand-held work tool including the fan generating the flow of cooling air, belt guard, the interior space, the opening, and there is no additional structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of increasing an air pressure in the belt guard interior space above an ambient air pressure level, as recited.).
Regarding claim 8, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 7, wherein the electric motor is arranged to drive the fan (see paragraph 0026 of prior art of Scholz disclosing the fan (element 15) being driven by the engine (motor), thus Scholz as modified (with the teaching of the electrical motor of Elfner now in place of the engine of Scholz (see rejection in page 6-7 above) would necessarily have the electrical motor arranged to drive the fan).
Regarding claim 11, Scholz modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 6-7 and 10, but appears to be silent wherein the opening has an area between 600mm2 and 1000mm2 or wherein the area of the air outlet is greater than an area of the opening.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to provide wherein the opening has an area between 600mm2 and 1000mm2, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the hand-held work tool of Scholz modified would not operate differently with the claimed area range and would function appropriately having the claimed range. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating additional “preferable” ranges (see page 40, ll. 9-15 of the specification). Furthermore, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to provide wherein an area of the air outlet is greater than an area of the opening, since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of the component. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a desired greater area of the air outlet would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing sufficient air to flow inside the tool in order to cool the interior components of the tool. (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A))
Regarding claim 15, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 10, wherein the air outlet is located in an area of a lower portion of either the belt guard or the support arm (See figure 3 showing the air outlet (element 23) located at an area of a portion of the belt guard (element 21) and is capable of being located at a lower portion depending on relative orientation of the tool during operations.).
Regarding claim 16, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 10, wherein the air outlet is arranged as a through-hole in the belt guard (see figures 3 and 5-6 showing the air outlet (element 23) as a through-hole)
However, Scholz modified appears to be silent wherein the belt guard is made of plastic and the support arm is made of magnesium.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to provide wherein the belt guard is made of plastic and the support arm is made of magnesium, since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the hand-held work tool comprising of multiple separate parts made up of a desired different materials would necessarily provide improved physical and mechanical properties of the tool (See MPEP 2144.07). Furthermore, applicant has failed to provide any critically regarding the claimed materials would solve any stated problem (see page 41, ll. 3-4 of the specification).
Regarding claim 18, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 10, wherein the air outlet mainly is positioned at a lower half of the belt guard and/or the support arm when the hand-held work tool is in an upright rest position (See figure 3 showing the air outlet (element 23) located at an end portion of the belt guard (element 21) and is capable of positioned at a lower half when facing down and thus would be in an upright rest position).
Regarding claim 25, Scholz modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 6, but appears to be silent wherein at least 20% of a volume of the electric motor is enclosed by the recess, and wherein at least 20% of an axial length of the electric motor is enclosed by the recess.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to provide wherein at least 20% of a volume of the electric motor is enclosed by the recess, and wherein at least 20% of an axial length of the electric motor is enclosed by the recess, since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of the component. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the recess sized to a desired sized in order to accommodate the claimed percentage of volume and axial length of the electric motor would necessarily provide the predictable result of properly securing and supporting the electric motor within the recess of the tool, thus preventing the motor from being unsupported and damaged during operations.
Regarding claim 26, Scholz discloses: a hand-held work tool comprising (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0025) an interface (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) for holding a circular cutting tool (see figure 1 annotated below showing portions of the interface (Detail A) operably holding a cutting tool (element 12)), a motor arranged to drive the circular cutting tool (see paragraph 0025 where the prior art discloses utilizing “an engine” (motor) which “drives” element 12 (circular cutting tool)), and a support arm (element 11),
wherein the support arm is arranged to support the circular cutting tool on a first end (see paragraph 0030 tool-side end (first end) of element 11) of the support arm, and to support the motor at a second end (see paragraph 0030 engine-side end (second end) of element 11 )of the support arm opposite to the first end (see figure 3),
wherein the hand-held work tool comprises a fan (element 15) configured to generate a flow of cooling air (see paragraph 0026 where the prior art discloses element 15 as “a fan wheel” and see also paragraph 0012 where the prior art discloses an “air flow” provided by the fan wheel in the form “a cooling air”), and a belt guard (elements 21/22),
wherein the belt guard and at least a part of the support arm are configured to enclose an interior space (see paragraph 0030),
wherein a portion of the flow of cooling air is arranged to be guided via an opening (element 18) into the interior space (see paragraph 0029 and see also figure 2 showing air flow (arrows) arranged such that it enters the interior space via an opening (element 18)), thereby increasing an air pressure in the belt guard interior space above an ambient air pressure level (Giving that the prior art meets the structural limitations of the hand-held work tool including the fan generating the flow of cooling air, belt guard, the interior space, the opening, and there is no additional structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of increasing an air pressure in the belt guard interior space above an ambient air pressure level, as recited.),
wherein the belt guard comprises an air outlet (see figure 3 showing a portion of the belt guard (element 21) comprising an air outlet (element 23)) through which the flow of cooling air exits the interior space (see paragraph 0029-0031), the air outlet having a flow area that defines a rate at which the flow of cooling air exits the interior space (See figure 4-6 showing the air outlet (element 23) comprising an area, and giving that the prior art meets the structural limitations of the hand-held work tool including the air outlet with the area, and there is no additional structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the air outlet having a flow area that defines a rate at which the flow of cooling air exits the interior space, as recited.) , and
wherein the air pressure in the belt guard interior space increases above the ambient air pressure level by a desired amount during operation due to the flow area of the air outlet defining the rate at which the flow of cooling air exits the interior space to be less than the rate at which the flow of cooling air is guided into the interior space (See figure 4-6 showing the air outlet (element 23) comprising an area, and giving that the prior art meets the structural limitations of the hand-held work tool including the air outlet with the area, belt guard, the interior space, and there is no additional structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein the air pressure in the belt guard interior space increases above the ambient air pressure level by a desired amount during operation due to the flow area of the air outlet defining the rate at which the flow of cooling air exits the interior space to be less than the rate at which the flow of cooling air is guided into the interior space, as recited.).
However, Scholz discloses a different means of utilizing a motor (engine) to drive the cutting tool (see paragraph 0025), but appears to be silent of utilizing an electric motor arranged to drive the cutting tool, a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor, and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor.
Elfner is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a cutting tool (element 7), a support arm (element 5) arranged to support the circular cutting tool on a first end (see figure 6 annotated below Detail A), a second end (see figure 6 annotated below Detail B), an electric motor (elements 19/37, see also paragraph 0037 where the prior art discloses element 19 as “a drive motor”, and see also paragraph 0013 where the prior art discloses the drive motor as “an electric motor”) arranged to drive the cutting tool (see paragraph 0041), a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor (see paragraph 0035 where the prior art discloses in the housing “a rechargeable battery pack” (element 13) is provided for “supplying energy to the drive motor” and further discloses element 13 (battery) is inserted into “a compartment” (battery compartment) provided in the housing), and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor (see figure 6 annotated below showing a portion of the electric motor (element 37) arranged within a recess (Detail C) and partially enclosed via portions of the support arm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the engine (motor) of Scholz with the electrical motor of Elfner and to further provide a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor, and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an electrical motor powered by batteries would necessarily provide the same predictable result of driving the cutting tool during operations with a reasonable expectation of success. (See MPEP 2143.1 (B))
Regarding claim 27, Scholz modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 26, but appears to be silent wherein an area of the air outlet is greater than an area of the opening.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to provide wherein an area of the air outlet is greater than an area of the opening, since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of the component. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a desired greater area of the air outlet would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing sufficient air to flow inside the tool in order to cool the interior components of the tool. (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A))
Regarding claim 28, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 26, wherein the air outlet is located at a rear end portion of either the belt guard or the support arm (see figure 3 showing the air outlet (element 23) at a rear portion (right end) of a portion of the belt guard (element 21)), said rear end portion being the portion of the belt guard and support arm that is proximate to a user of the hand-held work tool (Giving that the prior discloses the air outlet located in the rear end portion of the belt guard, thus the prior art would be capable of having said rear end portion being the portion of the belt guard and support arm that is proximate to a user of the hand-held work tool, as recited.).
Regarding claim 29, Scholz discloses: a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0025) comprising an interface (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) for holding a circular cutting tool (see figure 1 annotated below showing portions of the interface (Detail A) operably holding a cutting tool (element 12)), a motor arranged to drive the circular cutting tool (see paragraph 0025 where the prior art discloses utilizing “an engine” (motor) which “drives” element 12 (circular cutting tool)), and a support arm (element 11),
wherein the support arm is arranged to support the circular cutting tool on a first end (see paragraph 0030 tool-side end (first end) of element 11) of the support arm, and to support the motor at a second end (see paragraph 0030 engine-side end (second end) of element 11) of the support arm opposite to the first end (see figure 3).
However, Scholz discloses a different means of utilizing a motor (engine) to drive the cutting tool (see paragraph 0025), but appears to be silent of utilizing an electric motor arranged to drive the cutting tool, a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor, wherein the support arm comprises a recess disposed at the second end of the support arm, a motor housing of the electric motor being disposed within the recess, wherein a bottom portion of the recess supports the electric motor in an axial direction, and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor within the recess.
Elfner is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a cutting tool (element 7), a support arm (element 5) arranged to support the circular cutting tool on a first end (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below Detail A), a second end (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below Detail B), an electric motor (combination of elements 19/20/37, see also paragraph 0037 where the prior art discloses element 19 as “a drive motor”, and see also paragraph 0013 where the prior art discloses the drive motor as “an electric motor”) arranged to drive the cutting tool (see paragraph 0041), a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor (see paragraph 0035 where the prior art discloses in the housing “a rechargeable battery pack” (element 13) is provided for “supplying energy to the drive motor” and further discloses element 13 (battery) is inserted into “a compartment” (battery compartment) provided in the housing), wherein the support arm comprises a recess (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below showing a plurality of protrusions upwardly extending and forming a recess (Detail C) in between the protrusions) disposed at the second end of the support arm (see figures 6 and 9 annotated below), a motor housing (outer surface of element 20) of the electric motor being disposed within the recess (see figure 6 annotated below showing a portion (element 20 outer surface) of the electric motor being disposed within the recess (Detail C)), a bottom portion of the recess supports the electric motor in an axial direction (see figure 6 annotated below showing a bottom portion (see bottom floor that the bottom portion of element 20 seats on) of the recess (Detail C) operably supporting portions (element 20) of the electric motor in an axial direction), and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor within the recess (see figure 6 annotated below showing a portion (element 20) of the electric motor being partially enclosed within the recess (Detail C)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the engine (motor) of Scholz with the electrical motor of Elfner and to further provide a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor, wherein the support arm comprises a recess disposed at the second end of the support arm, a motor housing of the electric motor being disposed within the recess, wherein a bottom portion of the recess supports the electric motor in an axial direction, and wherein the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor within the recess. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an electrical motor powered by batteries would necessarily provide the same predictable result of driving the cutting tool during operations with a reasonable expectation of success. (See MPEP 2143.1 (B))
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US Pub. No. 2014/0024298) in view of Elfner (US Pub. No. 2015/0038064) as applied to claims 6-7 above, and further in view of Moores (US Pub. No. 2002/0034682)
Regarding claim 9, Scholz modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 6-7, but appears to be silent wherein a cooling air conduit is arranged to guide a portion of the flow of cooling air towards the battery compartment for cooling the battery.
Moores is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figure 1 and see also paragraph 0034-0035) comprising a motor (element 32), flow of cooling air (see arrows in figure 1), a battery compartment (element 34) for holding a battery (element 36 and see also paragraph 0035 where the prior art discloses element 36 as “a plurality of battery cells”) and wherein a cooling air conduit (element 40) is arranged to guide a portion of the flow of cooling air towards the battery compartment for cooling the battery (See Figure 1 showing portions of the flow of cooling air (arrows) entering and being guided via the cooling air conduit 9element 40) towards the battery compartment (element 34) and see also paragraph 0035 where the prior art discloses element 40 is used “to distribute the fluid flow around” element 36 (battery) “so that all of the battery cells are cooled”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Moores to provide wherein a cooling air conduit is arranged to guide a portion of the flow of cooling air towards the battery compartment for cooling the battery. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that directing the cooling air to the batteries via the cooling air conduit would necessarily maintain batteries within a desired temperature range for optimum performance and prevent overheating.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US Pub. No. 2014/0024298) in view of Elfner (US Pub. No. 2015/0038064) as applied to claims 6-7 and 10 above, and further in view of Bian (WO 2019096223).
Regarding claim 14, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 10, wherein the air outlet is located at a rear end portion of either the belt guard or the support arm (see figure 3 showing the air outlet (element 23) at a rear portion (right end) of a portion of the belt guard (element 21)), said rear end portion being the portion of the belt guard and support arm that is proximate to a user of the hand held work tool (Giving that the prior discloses the air outlet located in the rear end portion of the belt guard, thus the prior art would be capable of having the rear end portion being the portion of the belt guard and support arm that is proximate to a user of the hand held work tool, as recited.).
However, Scholz modified appears to be silent wherein the air outlet comprises a plurality of air outlets.
Bian is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-9 and see also paragraph 0075) comprising a fan (element 35 and see also paragraph 0080) generating a cooling air (see paragraph 0080), an air outlet (element 121), and wherein the air outlet comprises a plurality of air outlets (see paragraph 0192 where the prior art discloses the number of air outlets “can be increased, and an additional group of air outlets”, thus having a plurality of outlets).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Bian to provide wherein the air outlet comprises a plurality of air outlets. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a plurality of air outlets would necessarily increase the discharge amount of hot air and improving the heat dissipation efficiency of the motor as disclosed by Bian (see paragraph 0192).
Claim 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US Pub. No. 2014/0024298) in view of Elfner (US Pub. No. 2015/0038064) as applied to claims 6-7 and 10 above, and further in view of Iida (US Pub. No. 2014/0175721).
Regarding claim 19, Scholz modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 6-7 and 10, but appears to be silent wherein the opening is one of a plurality of openings located along a circle surrounding a rotational axis of the electric motor.
Iida is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0019-0025) comprising a motor (element 30), an opening (see figures 2/4 and paragraph 0039/0042 where the prior art defines a flow path (element CA) that is used to cool the engine) and wherein the opening is one of a plurality of openings (the other opening TA is diverted to a passageway used to suck dust (see paragraph 0038)) located along a circle surrounding a rotational axis (rotational axis of element 35) of the electric motor (see annotated figure 4 below showing the plurality of openings located around a circle (it is noted that the claim does not require the circle to be located around a center of the rotational axis of the motor (element 30), only needs to surround the rotational axis (axis of element 35)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Iida to provide wherein the opening is one of a plurality of openings located along a circle surrounding a rotational axis of the electric motor. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a plurality of openings would necessarily increase the discharge amount of hot air and increase the amount of cooling air passing through the inner components of the tool.
Regarding claim 21, Scholz modified discloses the hand-held work tool according to claim 19, wherein a shortest distance between the rotational axis of the motor and the air outlet is greater than a shortest distance between said rotational axis and the opening (See figure 3 showing air outlet (element 23) is positioned on an opposite end of the support arm (element 11), opposite the engine side (element 22) of the belt guard (as described in paragraph 0030), see figure 1 showing the opening (element 18) where the air comes in is placed near the motor end (see paragraph 0029) being closer to the motor axis (middle point of element 25 as best shown in figure 1), thus the opening having a shortest distance between the rotational axis of the motor and the outlet is greater than a shortest distance between said rotational axis and the opening) ,wherein the support arm comprises a pair of cooling flanges (see annotated figure 2 below Detail B) and wherein the opening is located between the pair of cooling flanges (see annotated figure 2 below showing the openings (see gaps where arrows are passing through) located between the pair of cooling flanges).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US Pub. No. 2014/0024298) in view of Elfner (US Pub. No. 2015/0038064) and Iida (US Pub. No. 2014/0175721) as applied to claims 6-7, 10, and 19 above, and further in view Bian (WO 2019096223).
Regarding claim 20, Scholz modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 6-7, 10, and 19 but appears to be silent wherein the air outlet comprises a plurality of air outlets which span over an angle relative to the rotational axis of the electric motor, wherein said angle is greater than 20 degrees, and wherein the plurality of air outlets are located at least partly to a rear of said rotational axis.
Bian is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-9 and see also paragraph 0075) comprising a fan (element 35 and see also paragraph 0080) generating a cooling air (see paragraph 0080), an air outlet (element 121), and wherein the air outlet comprises a plurality of air outlets (see paragraph 0192 where the prior art discloses the number of air outlets “can be increased, and an additional group of air outlets”, thus having a plurality of outlets).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Bian to provide wherein the air outlet comprises a plurality of air outlets. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a plurality of air outlets would necessarily increase the discharge amount of hot air and improving the heat dissipation efficiency of the motor as disclosed by Bian (see paragraph 0192).
Furthermore, regarding the claim limitation of the plurality of outlets which span over an angle relative to the rotational axis of the electric axle, wherein said angle is greater than 20 degrees, as noted in the rejection of claim 1 above (see pages 5-6), the motor rotates around an axis (see specifically figure 1) relative to said axis (the outlets position in the apparatus can be defined in terms of angle and distance from a point, or in this case the rotational axis). Additionally, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to provide wherein said angle is greater than 20 degrees, since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of the component. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the plurality of outlets spanning over a desired angle would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing sufficient air to flow inside the tool in order to cool the interior components of the tool (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A)). Furthermore, applicant has failed to provide any critically regarding the claimed degrees would solve any stated problem while also providing alternate preferable angles (see page 41, ll. 11-16 of the specification).
Lastly, regarding the claim limitation of wherein the air outlets are located at least partly to a rear of said axis. As shown in figure 3 showing the air outlet (element 23) located at an end portion of the belt guard (element 21) and would be capable of occurring depending on how the user holds the tool, and the relative orientation of the tool for example when positioned in a rest position where the air outlet 23, fig. 3 is facing down (plural air outlets, as modified), then the air outlet is in the lower half of the belt guard considering that it is at the extreme bottom end thereof.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US Pub. No. 2014/0024298) in view of Elfner (US Pub. No. 2015/0038064) as applied to claims 6 above, and further in view of Droste (GB 2450721).
Regarding claim 23, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 6, wherein the hand-held work tool comprises a first part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) and a second part (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B),
the first part comprising the interface for holding a cutting tool (see figure 1 annotated below showing the first part (Detail A) having portions of the interface that hold the cutting tool (element 12)) and the support arm tool (see figure 1 annotated below showing the first part (Detail A) having portions of the support arm (element 11).
However, Scholz modified appears to be silent wherein the first part comprises the electric motor arranged to drive the cutting tool, the second part comprising the battery compartment, and wherein the first part and the second part are arranged vibrationally isolated from each other.
Elfner is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a cutting tool (element 7), an electric motor (element 19, see also paragraph 0037 where the prior art discloses element 19 as “a drive motor”, and see also paragraph 0013 where the prior art discloses the drive motor as “an electric motor”) arranged to drive the cutting tool (see paragraph 0041), a battery compartment for holding a battery arranged to power the electric motor (see paragraph 0035 where the prior art discloses in the housing “a rechargeable battery pack” (element 13) is provided for “supplying energy to the drive motor” and further discloses element 13 (battery) is inserted into “a compartment” (battery compartment) provided in the housing.), a first part (see figures annotated figures 1 and 4 below Detail A) comprising an interface (element 23) for holding a cutting tool (element 7), a support arm (element 12), the electric motor arranged to drive the cutting tool (see annotated figure 4 below showing the motor (element 19) arranged on the section of the first part), a second part (see figures annotated figure 1 below Detail B), wherein the second part comprising the battery compartment (see figure 1 annotated below showing the second part (Detail B) including the battery compartment (Detail B)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Elfner to provide wherein the first part comprises the electric motor arranged to drive the cutting tool, the second part comprising the battery compartment. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the hand-held work tool with only two parts comprising the claimed components would necessarily provide a more compact tool allowing the user to easily maneuver during operations.
However, Scholz modified appears to be silent wherein the first part and the second part are arranged vibrationally isolated from each other.
Droste is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-2 and see also Abstract) comprising a first part (element 6), a second part (element 2), and wherein the first part and the second part are arranged vibrationally isolated from each other (see page 14, ll.30-34 and page 15, ll. 1-5 where the prior art discloses utilizing “a vibration dampening material” between the two parts (elements 2/6), thus the first part (element 6) and the second part (element 2) are arranged vibrationally (via the vibration dampening material) isolated from each other).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Droste to provide wherein the first part and the second part are arranged vibrationally isolated from each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize vibrationally isolating the plurality of different parts would necessarily limit unnecessary movements between the parts, thus increasing sturdiness of the tool during operations.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US Pub. No. 2014/0024298) in view of Elfner (US Pub. No. 2015/0038064) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Schuele (DE102012223715).
Regarding claim 24, Scholz modified discloses: the hand-held work tool according to claim 6, wherein the recess comprises one or more cooling flanges (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) arranged to conduct heat away from the electric motor (see arrows showing the one or more cooling flanges conducting air flow (arrows) away portions of the tool, thus being capable of conduct heat away from the electric motor).
However, Scholz modified appears to be silent wherein the support arm and the recess are formed from a thermally conductive material.
Schuele is also concerned in providing a hand-held work tool (Figures 1-2b and see also paragraph 0025) comprising a support arm (element 14) and a recess (see figure 2a annotated below Detail A), and wherein the support arm and the recess are formed from a thermally conductive material the support arm and the recess are formed from a thermally conductive material (As per disclosure, see page 012, ll. 28-31 of the specification, “the support surface 330 makes up the bottom portion of the recess and a cylinder shaped wall 350 extends out from a perimeter of the support surface” , similarly figure 2a annotated below shows the support arm (element 14) having a support surface and a wall extending out from the perimeter of the support surface which make up the recess (Detail A), and see also 0030 where the prior art discloses element 14 being “formed at least partially from a thermally conductive plastic or from another thermally conductive material”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Schuele to provide wherein the support arm and the recess are formed from a thermally conductive material. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the tool with thermally conductive material would necessarily provide preferably good dissipation of thermal energy in an operating state can be achieved as disclosed by Schuele (see paragraph 0011). Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem and has not placed any criticality on the claimed percentages, indicating that the percentage is “preferably” within the claimed range and therefore fails to provide any unexpected result (see page 002, ll. 13-16 and page 013, ll. 14-16 of the specification).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/20/2026 regarding the newly presented features of claim 6 and the newly presented claim 29 have been fully considered and have been addressed in the rejection above.
On page 12 of the “Remarks”, the applicant traverses the rejection of independent claim 26, specifically
Applicants submit that Scholz and Elfner fail to suggest the support arm being arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor. As can be clearly seen above, in annotated FIG. 6 from Elfner, the electric motor 19 is disposed outside the support arm, and is therefore not at least partially enclosed by the support arm, as is required by claim 26. The drive shaft is not "the electric motor". Elfner specifically discloses them as separate elements, 19 and 37. The reason for (at least partially) enclosing the motor by the support arm is to protect the motor. The motor disclosed by Elfner is very clearly not protected by the support arm, as can be seen in annotated FIG. 6 from Elfner, above. Thus, any combination of Scholz and Elfner fails to teach the support arm is arranged to at least partially enclose the electric motor, and Applicants respectfully submit that independent claim 26 is therefore patentable over the cited references for the reasons provided above.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated in the rejection above (see page 14-16) the examiner is considering the combination of elements 19 and 37 as the electric motor which in combination, operably drives the circular cutting tool (see paragraph 0041 where the prior art disclose element 19 has element 37 which are configured to drive element 7 (cutting wheel)) which meets the claim limitation of “an electric motor being arranged to drive the circular cutting tool. Furthermore, as best shown in figure 6 annotated above (see page 15), a portion (element 37) of the electric motor is at least partially enclosed within a recess (Detail C) of the support arm, thus meeting the claim limitation. Therefore, the arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723