Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hampl Jr et al. (WO 2005013733) in view of Morales et al. (WO 2012093166).
Regarding claim 1, Hampl discloses a cigarillo comprising: a rod of smokable material (12, fig. 1) wrapped in a wrapper comprising reconstituted tobacco material (14, fig. 1 and claim 9); a filter plug adjacent to, and in axial alignment with, the wrapped rod of smokable material (16, fig. 1); and a band of tipping paper circumscribing the filter (18, fig. 11), wherein the wrapper has a porosity overlapping with the claimed range of 3-65 CORESTA units (page 4, line 20-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed ranges. Hampl also the rod of smokable material is wrapped in a single wrapper which is a single layered wrapper (page 2, line30 to page 3, line 2 and page 4, lines 13-16)
Hampl does not expressly discloses the circumference of the cigarillo. Morales discloses the cigarillo has a circumference overlapping with the claimed range of 16-18mm (page 8, lines 17-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed ranges.
Hampl discloses the single layer paper wrapper may be made from pulp fibers and in another embodiment the inner wrapper may be made from pulp fibers or a web of reconstituted tobacco (page 4, lines 13-28). Therefore, Hampl discloses that a web of reconstituted tobacco can be used interchangeable with pulp fibers and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute reconstituted tobacco for pulp fibers in the single layer paper wrapper of Hampl.
Regarding claim 2, Morales discloses the tipping paper is perforated to provide filter ventilation at a level overlapping with the claimed range of about or at least 40% (page 5, lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, Hampl discloses the wrapper has a porosity overlapping with the claimed range of 25-65 CORESTA units (page 4, line 20-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, Morales discloses the wrapper has a MD tensile strength overlapping with the claimed range of 1900-2200 g/in (table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Hampl discloses wrapper with moisture content overlapping with the claimed range of 9-12% (page 20, lines 20-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, Hampl discloses the wrapper has a dry basis weight overlapping with the claimed range of 42-45 g/m2 (page 4, line 20-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, Morales discloses the wrapper comprises inorganic filler material in an amount overlapping with the claimed range of 11.5-15.5% (page 7, lines 4-13).
Regarding claim 9, Morales discloses the level of filter ventilation is overlapping with the claimed range of 40-65% (page 5, lines 2-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claims 10-11, since Morales discloses the level of filter ventilation is overlapping with the claimed range of 40-46%, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pressure drop of the cigarillo would be overlapping with the claimed range of 140-160 mmWG.
Regarding claim 12, since Morales discloses the level of filter ventilation is overlapping with the claimed range of 60-62% (page 5, lines 2-4), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pressure drop of the cigarillo would be overlapping with the claimed range of 120-130 mmWG.
Regarding claim 14, Morales discloses the wrapper has a longitudinal seam which extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the cigarillo (figs. 1-2). Hampl discloses the wrapper has a longitudinal seam which extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the cigarillo (figs. 2 and 4).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hampl Jr et al. (WO 2005013733) in view Morales et al. (WO 2012093166) and further in view of Becker et al. (US 20080017206). Hampl does not expressly disclose the filter plug is mentholated. Becker discloses the filter plug is mentholated [0007-0008]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the filter of Morales mentholated for flavor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant essentially argues that Hampl discloses a preferred embodiment wherein the inner wrapper comprising reconstituted tobacco material but does not expressly disclose the single layer wrapper comprising reconstituted tobacco; therefore the skilled person would not have contemplated a smoking article comprising a rod of smokable material wrapped in a single wrapper consisting of a single layer comprising reconstituted tobacco material as claimed. This argument is not persuasive because Hampl discloses the single layer paper wrapper may be made from pulp fibers in an embodiment and in another embodiment, the inner wrapper may be made from pulp fibers or a web of reconstituted tobacco (page 4, lines 13-28). Therefore, Hampl discloses that a web of reconstituted tobacco can be used interchangeable with pulp fibers and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute reconstituted tobacco for pulp fibers in the single layer paper wrapper of Hampl
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747