DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Rejection
All 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment. New grounds of rejection under under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are necessitated by the amendments as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 5, the limitation “locally present” is indefinite because it is not clear what is encompassed by the term “locally” present. This term is not a term of art and it is not clear how this is different from the previous recitation of being provided on a surface and what scope is required to be locally present.
Claims 2, 3, 10, and 18 are rejected for their dependency on the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawn (JP2018171611A) in view of Wang et al. (US 20130146470 A1).
.
Regarding claim 1, Hawn discloses an electrochemical cell for converting carbon dioxide into useful products having an electrode made of core shell nanoparticles (Hawn abstract). Hawn teaches an electrode comprising:
a catalyst suitable to produce at least carbon monoxide by a reduction reaction of gaseous carbon dioxide (i.e., first catalyst 11 suitable to produce carbon monoxide since it is capable of reducing carbon dioxide; Fig. 1b; paragraph 15);
an electrode material (cathode 31) supporting the catalyst; and
a solid base additive (i.e., second catalytic material 12 or the outer shell 21) locally present on a surface of the electrode material (second catalytic material 12 or the outer shell 21 is broadly interpreted to be locally present or on/near the surface of the electrode material).
Hawn does not explicitly teach wherein the catalyst is formed as a thin film on the surface of the electrode material.
Wang et al. teaches a method and device for electrochemically converting carbon dioxide gas. Wang et al. teaches cathode 240 (Fig. 1 and 3) having a porous conductive layer 2202 (which can be also considered an electrode material supporting a catalyst) with catalyst particles 2204 disposed on the surface of the porous conductive layer 2202 (Fig. 3 and paragraph 17). The catalyst particles are dispersed throughout the porous conductive layer, thus reading on the catalyst particles having a thin film on the surface of the electrode material. (This is consistent with the applicant’s disclosure that carbon paper with Ag catalyst forms a thin film; see Specification, paragraph 35). Wang et al. teaches that this electrode increases the catalytic efficiency with the cathode catalyst particles and conversion efficiency of the carbon dioxide gas (paragraph 17, line 26-28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the porous conductive layer and catalyst as a thin film, as taught by Wang et al., in the electrode of Hawn, because the modified electrode would have increased catalytic efficiency and conversion efficiency of carbon dioxide gas (paragraph 17, line 26-28 of Wang et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Hawn further teaches that the electrode is a cathode (Hawn Pg. 11 Lns. 35-36, Pg. 12 Lns. 3-5, and Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 3, Hawn further teaches that solid base additive is an oxide of an alkaline earth metal (core shell materials that can be used include CaO and MgO (Hawn Pg.10 Lns. 8-11) which are oxides of alkaline earth metals).
Regarding claim 10, Hawn further teaches that solid base additive is an oxide of an alkaline earth metal (core shell materials that can be used include CaO and MgO (Hawn Pg.10 Lns. 8-11) which are oxides of alkaline earth metals).
Regarding claim 18, Hawn does not explicitly teach the electrode material of the instant claim. However, Wang et al. teaches that cathode catalyst particles can be located on surfaces of graphene sheets (paragraph 17). Wang et al. also teaches that the porous conductive layer 2202 can be made of a metal or alloy resistant to corrosion such as titanium or stainless steel (paragraph 17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified or incorporated the electrode material of Wang et al. such as titanium, stainless steel, or graphene sheets in the electrode of Hawn, because such electrode materials are resistant to corrosion and are suitable as conductive materials for an electrode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in Remarks, filed December 12, 2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Wang et al. is now relied on to teach the amended limitations. The rejection using Hawn has been modified to improve clarity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LUAN V. VAN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795