DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-17 have been presented for examination.
Claims 15-17 are newly added.
PRIORITY
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2020/061305 filed 04/23/2020. This application also claims benefit to application EP 19171111.8 filed 04/25/2019.
Response to Arguments
i) Applicants previously argued "V is in no way directed to a system for determining a lighting design, and thus does not need to, and does not in fact, store information "shapes and the arrangement considerations" in a database." Applicants further argue "V's database does not store "shapes and arrangement considerations of modular lighting arrays" as recited in claim 1, but instead stores requirements for controlling the lights to achieve some aesthetic light output. However as per V [0008], "Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device." This clearly reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the argued limitation of "shapes and the arrangement considerations." See also at least V "[0095] The embodiment of FIG. 5 may be modular, wherein the lighting modules are adapted to be releasably coupled to each other so that they can be decoupled. This may enable the cove lighting 50 to be re-arranged or modified according to requirements, such as the shape and size of the coving for example."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 6, 9-10, 12-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Jeff KT, et al. "AR interior designer: Automatic furniture arrangement using spatial and functional relationships." 2014 International Conference on Virtual Systems & Multimedia (VSMM). IEEE, 2014, hereafter Tang in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180324924, hereafter V.
Regarding Claim 1: The reference discloses A system for determining a lighting design for a plurality of light units, based on an image captured by a camera, said image capturing an environment, said system comprising:
at least one input interface to receive the image captured by the camera; (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface. Tang Page 2, right column, section A. (1), “The Microsoft KINECT consists of one RGB camera and two 3D depth sensors, which are infra-red transmitters. Through reflection of the infra-red signals, the depth, i.e. the distances of the objects in front of the KINECT sensor, can be determined form a depth map that is an Intensity image that contains every pixel ”seen” by the KINECT. Hence, the depth value can be treated as an additional dimension of a 2D image, and the 3D coordinates of these pixels estimated by toolboxes. Researcher always called this whole bundle of points as point cloud, which can be further processed by PCL [19], which is a famous point cloud utility toolbox.”)
at least one output interface; and (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
at least one processor, communicatively connected to the at least one input interface, to the at least one output interface, to the database, and to the camera, (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop)
use said at least one input interface to obtain one or more images captured by said camera, (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface. Tang Page 2, right column, section A. (1), “The Microsoft KINECT consists of one RGB camera and two 3D depth sensors, which are infra-red transmitters. Through reflection of the infra-red signals, the depth, i.e. the distances of the objects in front of the KINECT sensor, can be determined form a depth map that is an Intensity image that contains every pixel ”seen” by the KINECT. Hence, the depth value can be treated as an additional dimension of a 2D image, and the 3D coordinates of these pixels estimated by toolboxes. Researcher always called this whole bundle of points as point cloud, which can be further processed by PCL [19], which is a famous point cloud utility toolbox.”)
perform image analysis using one or more computer vision techniques on said one or more images to determine one or more surface properties of one or more surfaces in said environment, said one or more surface properties including surface dimensions, (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface. Tang Page 2, right column, section A. (1), “The Microsoft KINECT consists of one RGB camera and two 3D depth sensors, which are infra-red transmitters. Through reflection of the infra-red signals, the depth, i.e. the distances of the objects in front of the KINECT sensor, can be determined form a depth map that is an Intensity image that contains every pixel ”seen” by the KINECT. Hence, the depth value can be treated as an additional dimension of a 2D image, and the 3D coordinates of these pixels estimated by toolboxes. Researcher always called this whole bundle of points as point cloud, which can be further processed by PCL [19], which is a famous point cloud utility toolbox.”)
select a surface on which the plurality of light units can be placed together based on said surface dimensions, said surface being selected from said one or more surfaces, (Tang. Figure 2, “Detect the supporting surfaces” and “Estimate the space available for placing the furniture.” See also Page 2, left column, paragraph 3, “the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table)”)
determine a quantity of said plurality of light units based on said one or more surface properties, (Tang. Figure 2, “Detect the supporting surfaces” and “Estimate the space available for placing the furniture.” See also Page 2, left column, paragraph 3, “the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table)”)
determine an arrangement of said plurality of light units on said surface based at least on said surface dimensions of said surface, and (Tang. Figure 2, “User selects/manipulates with the virtual furniture” or “Virtual furniture are automatically arranged according to (a) geometries and (b) functionalities”)
use said at least one output interface to output said arrangement corresponding to the lighting design. (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
Tang does not explicitly recite a database, the database configured to store shapes and arrangement considerations of modular lighting arrays;
query the database for the shapes and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays;
and the shapes of the modular lighting arrays,
and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays, wherein said plurality of light units are mechanically and electrically interconnectable light modules.
However V recites a database, the database configured to store shapes and arrangement considerations of modular lighting arrays; (“[0108] Thus, the data processing system 130 provides a centrally accessible processing resource that can receive information from a remotely located device, such as a network node or device of the cove lighting system, and run one or more algorithms to transform the received information into a lighting control signal for individually controlling each of a plurality of light sources. Information relating to the control signal and/or lighting requirements can be stored by the data processing system 130 (for example, in a database) and provided to other components of the system. Such provision of information about the lighting control signal and/or lighting requirements may be undertaken in response to a receiving a request (via the internet 120 for example) and/or may be undertaken without request (i.e. ‘pushed’).”)
query the database for the shapes and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays; (“[0108] Thus, the data processing system 130 provides a centrally accessible processing resource that can receive information from a remotely located device, such as a network node or device of the cove lighting system, and run one or more algorithms to transform the received information into a lighting control signal for individually controlling each of a plurality of light sources. Information relating to the control signal and/or lighting requirements can be stored by the data processing system 130 (for example, in a database) and provided to other components of the system. Such provision of information about the lighting control signal and/or lighting requirements may be undertaken in response to a receiving a request (via the internet 120 for example) and/or may be undertaken without request (i.e. ‘pushed’).”)
and the shapes of the modular lighting arrays, ([0008] “Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device.”)
and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays, wherein said plurality of light units are mechanically and electrically interconnectable light modules. ([0008] “Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the modular lighting arrays of V in the system of Tang in order allow for adequate and uniform lighting in a space, see V [0003], as well as to add further design features for an interior design system, Tang Abstract.
Regarding Claim 6: The reference discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to determine a quantity, types and/or said arrangement of said plurality of light units based on a user preference and/or user information and/or a room type. (Tang. Figure 2, “Detect the supporting surfaces” and “Estimate the space available for placing the furniture.” See also Page 2, left column, paragraph 3, “the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table)”. Also, “User selects/manipulates with the virtual furniture” or “Virtual furniture are automatically arranged according to (a) geometries and (b) functionalities” Examiner Note: The claimed quantity, types and/or said arrangement are seen in the user selection, arrangement, and placement of types of furniture including lamps for example which also reads on user preference/information and room type which takes into account the size and shape of the room.)
Regarding Claim 9: Tang discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to use said at least one input interface to obtain a first of said one or more images, perform said image analysis on said first image to determine one or more surface properties of one or more first surfaces, (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface. Tang Page 2, right column, section A. (1), “The Microsoft KINECT consists of one RGB camera and two 3D depth sensors, which are infra-red transmitters. Through reflection of the infra-red signals, the depth, i.e. the distances of the objects in front of the KINECT sensor, can be determined form a depth map that is an Intensity image that contains every pixel ”seen” by the KINECT. Hence, the depth value can be treated as an additional dimension of a 2D image, and the 3D coordinates of these pixels estimated by toolboxes. Researcher always called this whole bundle of points as point cloud, which can be further processed by PCL [19], which is a famous point cloud utility toolbox.”) select a first surface of said one or more first surfaces on which said plurality of light units can be placed together, (Tang. Figure 2, “Detect the supporting surfaces” and “Estimate the space available for placing the furniture.” See also Page 2, left column, paragraph 3, “the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table)”) allow a user to reject said selected first surface, use said at least one input interface to obtain a second of said one or more images, perform said image analysis on said second image to determine one or more surface properties of one or more second surfaces, select a second surface of said one or more second surfaces on which said plurality of light units can be placed together, and allow a user to accept said selected second surface. (Tang. Figure 2, “User selects/manipulates with the virtual furniture” reads on the user accepting or rejecting the surfaces.)
Regarding Claim 10: Tang discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to use said at least one output interface to superimpose a visualization of said arrangement of said plurality of light units on a view of said selected surface. (Tang. Page 2, left column, “Augmented Reality (AR) is more powerful because it displays overlaid information (and virtual objects) onto a real scene.”)
Regarding Claim 12: See analogous rejection for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13: The reference discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing at least one software code portion, the software code portion, when run on the processor, being configured for enabling the method of claim 12 to be performed. (See rejection for claim 12)
Regarding Claim 16: The reference discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to:
determine that one or more light units of said plurality of light units has been placed on said surface; and (Tang. Figure 2, “Detect the supporting surfaces” and “Estimate the space available for placing the furniture.” See also Page 2, left column, paragraph 3, “the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table)”)
Tang does not explicitly recite control said one or more light units to render a light effect that indicates where on said surface a next one of said plurality of light units should be placed relative to said one or more light units.
However V discloses control said one or more light units to render a light effect that indicates where on said surface a next one of said plurality of light units should be placed relative to said one or more light units. (V [0008], "Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device." This clearly reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the argued limitation of "shapes and the arrangement considerations." See also at least V "[0095] The embodiment of FIG. 5 may be modular, wherein the lighting modules are adapted to be releasably coupled to each other so that they can be decoupled. This may enable the cove lighting 50 to be re-arranged or modified according to requirements, such as the shape and size of the coving for example.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the modular lighting arrays of V in the system of Tang in order allow for adequate and uniform lighting in a space, see V [0003], as well as to add further design features for an interior design system, Tang Abstract.
Regarding Claim 17: Tang does not explicitly recite A system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the light effect indicates on which side of said one or more light units said next one of said plurality of light units should be placed.
However V discloses A system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the light effect indicates on which side of said one or more light units said next one of said plurality of light units should be placed. (V [0008], "Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device." This clearly reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the argued limitation of "shapes and the arrangement considerations." See also at least V "[0095] The embodiment of FIG. 5 may be modular, wherein the lighting modules are adapted to be releasably coupled to each other so that they can be decoupled. This may enable the cove lighting 50 to be re-arranged or modified according to requirements, such as the shape and size of the coving for example.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the modular lighting arrays of V in the system of Tang in order allow for adequate and uniform lighting in a space, see V [0003], as well as to add further design features for an interior design system, Tang Abstract.
6. Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of V further in view of Natephra, Worawan, et al. "Integrating building information modeling and virtual reality development engines for building indoor lighting design." Visualization in Engineering 5 (2017): 1-21, hereafter Natephra.
Regarding Claim 2: Tang and V do not explicitly recite A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said light modules are tiles.
However Natephra recites wherein said light modules are tiles. (Natephra. Fig. 6(c) showing light fixtures as tiles in the image as well as the light measurement points A-F which can also represent tiles)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the tile aspect of Natephra for the design system of Tang and V in order to visualize the “illumination of artificial lights in buildings and … allows users to interact with design objects, to change them, and to compare multiple design scenarios, and provides real-time lighting quality… (Natephra, Abstract, Conclusions)
Regarding Claim 3: Tang discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to determine a location for a master module of said light modules (omitted see below) in said arrangement relative to said surface based on one or more specified limitations for said location. (Tang. Figure 2, “User selects/manipulates with the virtual furniture” or “Virtual furniture are automatically arranged according to (a) geometries and (b) functionalities”)
Tang and V do not explicitly recite the master module/light module aspect of the claim.
However Natephra recites the master module/light module aspect of the claim. (Natephra. Figure 17, where the lighting is controlled by occupancy sensors which read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed master modules.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the system of Tang and V with the lighting control of Natephra in order to visualize the “illumination of artificial lights in buildings and … allows users to interact with design objects, to change them, and to compare multiple design scenarios, and provides real-time lighting quality… (Natephra, Abstract, Conclusions)
Regarding Claim 4: Tang discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said one or more surface properties further include a surface shape and said at least one processor is configured to select said surface further based on said surface shape (Tang. Page 5, left column, “The furniture 1 (in red) is the longest in shape and bigger in size so we prefer arranging it into the available space first. The furniture 2 (in blue) and 3 (in green) are having a relatively shorter and smaller than furniture 1, and we prefer to arrange it later. Since the shapes and sizes of furniture 2 and 3 are very similar, so we do not matter either furniture 2 or 3 to be arranged first.”)
…based on said surface shape. (Tang. Page 5, left column, “The furniture 1 (in red) is the longest in shape and bigger in size so we prefer arranging it into the available space first. The furniture 2 (in blue) and 3 (in green) are having a relatively shorter and smaller than furniture 1, and we prefer to arrange it later. Since the shapes and sizes of furniture 2 and 3 are very similar, so we do not matter either furniture 2 or 3 to be arranged first.” Examiner Notes: Tang takes into account surface shapes for decisions such as placement.)
Tang and V do not explicitly recite and/or determine types of said plurality of light units based on said surface shape.
However Natephra discloses and/or determine types of said plurality of light units. (Natephra, Page 7, left column, middle page, “The following widgets are created, as shown in Fig. 2: (a)Plan view: to show the layout of furniture and the position of the user. Users can switch between false-color view and realistic views; (b) Shading devices menu: to change the type of shading for windows; (c) Material types menu: to change the materials of indoor surfaces; (d) Time slider: to set time for adjusting the daylight; (e,f) Light switches: to turn on/off individual artificial lights; (g) Lighting intensity menu: to change the intensity of light sources; (h) Color temperature control: to change the color of lights; (i) Lighting fixture types menu: to choose the type of lighting fixtures; (j) Moving and rotation tools: to move and rotate the light source, lighting fixtures, and furniture; (k) Lighting illuminance legend: to help measure the illuminance level (for falsecolor views)”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the shape determination aspect of Tang with the lighting aspect of V and the lighting selection of Natephra in order to visualize the “illumination of artificial lights in buildings and … allows users to interact with design objects, to change them, and to compare multiple design scenarios, and provides real-time lighting quality… (Natephra, Abstract, Conclusions)
Regarding Claim 5: Tang discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said one or more surface properties further include a surface orientation (Tang. Page 2, left column, “Spatial relationships of different virtual objects are considered. Virtual objects are represented in (a) Bounding surfaces, (b) center position and orientation, (c) accessible space, and (d) viewing frustum [15], the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the
hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table), the pair-wise relationship (e.g. a television set should be keep a certain conformable distance in front of a sofa)
… based on said surface orientation. (Tang. Page 2, left column, “Spatial relationships of different virtual objects are considered. Virtual objects are represented in (a) Bounding surfaces, (b) center position and orientation, (c) accessible space, and (d) viewing frustum [15], the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the
hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table), the pair-wise relationship (e.g. a television set should be keep a certain conformable distance in front of a sofa).” Examiner Notes: Tang takes into account object orientation for decisions such as placement.)
Tang and V do not explicitly recite and said at least one processor is configured to determine types of said plurality of light units.
However Natephra discloses determine types of said plurality of light units. (Natephra, Page 7, left column, middle page, “The following widgets are created, as shown in Fig. 2: (a)Plan view: to show the layout of furniture and the position of the user. Users can switch between false-color view and realistic views; (b) Shading devices menu: to change the type of shading for windows; (c) Material types menu: to change the materials of indoor surfaces; (d) Time slider: to set time for adjusting the daylight; (e,f) Light switches: to turn on/off individual artificial lights; (g) Lighting intensity menu: to change the intensity of light sources; (h) Color temperature control: to change the color of lights; (i) Lighting fixture types menu: to choose the type of lighting fixtures; (j) Moving and rotation tools: to move and rotate the light source, lighting fixtures, and furniture; (k) Lighting illuminance legend: to help measure the illuminance level (for falsecolor views)”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the orientation determination aspect of Tang with the lighting aspect of V and the lighting selection of Natephra in order to visualize the “illumination of artificial lights in buildings and … allows users to interact with design objects, to change them, and to compare multiple design scenarios, and provides real-time lighting quality… (Natephra, Abstract, Conclusions)
Regarding Claim 7: Tang and V do not explicitly recite A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to use said at least one input interface to receive user input identifying a quantity and/or types of said plurality of light units and determine said arrangement based on said identified quantity and/or types of said plurality of light units.
However Natephra recites A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to use said at least one input interface to receive user input identifying a quantity and/or types of said plurality of light units and determine said arrangement based on said identified quantity and/or types of said plurality of light units. (Natephra, Page 7, left column, middle page, “The following widgets are created, as shown in Fig. 2: (a) Plan view: to show the layout of furniture and the position of the user. Users can switch between false-color view and realistic views; (b) Shading devices menu: to change the type of shading for windows; (c) Material types menu: to change the materials of indoor surfaces; (d) Time slider: to set time for adjusting the daylight; (e,f) Light switches: to turn on/off individual artificial lights; (g) Lighting intensity menu: to change the intensity of light sources; (h) Color temperature control: to change the color of lights; (i) Lighting fixture types menu: to choose the type of lighting fixtures; (j) Moving and rotation tools: to move and rotate the light source, lighting fixtures, and furniture; (k) Lighting illuminance legend: to help measure the illuminance level (for falsecolor views)” Examiner Note: The claimed quantity of lights is seen the number of light sources on or off as per the recited light switches. The claimed types of lights is seen in the lighting fixture types as well as light intensity/color and movement. The claimed arrangement of lights is seen in movement and rotation of light sources, fixtures, and furniture. The user is provided widgets which reads on the claimed user preference/information. As to room type that can be seen in at least Page 3, right column, middle, “This system provided users with an interface to change the design elements of the building, e.g., walls, floor, furniture, and decoration, in a virtual environment.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the system of Tang and V with the lighting selection of Natephra in order to visualize the “illumination of artificial lights in buildings and … allows users to interact with design objects, to change them, and to compare multiple design scenarios, and provides real-time lighting quality… (Natephra, Abstract, Conclusions)
Regarding Claim 8: Tang and V do not explicitly recite A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to control one or more of said plurality of light units to render a light effect, said one or more light units having been placed on said surface and said light effect indicating where and/or how on said surface a next one of said plurality of light units should be placed.
However Natephra recites A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to control one or more of said plurality of light units to render a light effect, said one or more light units having been placed on said surface and said light effect indicating where and/or how on said surface a next one of said plurality of light units should be placed. (Natephra, Page 7, left column, middle page, “The following widgets are created, as shown in Fig. 2: (a) Plan view: to show the layout of furniture and the position of the user. Users can switch between false-color view and realistic views; (b) Shading devices menu: to change the type of shading for windows; (c) Material types menu: to change the materials of indoor surfaces; (d) Time slider: to set time for adjusting the daylight; (e,f) Light switches: to turn on/off individual artificial lights; (g) Lighting intensity menu: to change the intensity of light sources; (h) Color temperature control: to change the color of lights; (i) Lighting fixture types menu: to choose the type of lighting fixtures; (j) Moving and rotation tools: to move and rotate the light source, lighting fixtures, and furniture; (k) Lighting illuminance legend: to help measure the illuminance level (for falsecolor views)” Examiner Note: The claimed rendered light effect can be seen in either the number of on lights, lighting intensity, color temperature, and/or lighting illuminance. Examiner further notes that the recitation of “and said light effect indicating where and/or how on said surface a next one of said plurality of light units should be placed” appears to be an intended use or result of the claim and not an affirmative step. In the interest of compact prosecution assuming this to be an active step the recitation in Natephra of movement and rotating of light sources as also cited reads on this limitation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the system of Tang and V with the lighting selection of Natephra in order to visualize the “illumination of artificial lights in buildings and … allows users to interact with design objects, to change them, and to compare multiple design scenarios, and provides real-time lighting quality… (Natephra, Abstract, Conclusions)
Regarding Claim 11: Tang recites A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said one or more surface properties further include a type of said surface (Tang. Page 7, left column, “Our tool may serve as a part of the app, which automatically suggests the suitable furniture (types and styles) and render the outcome in combination with the real scene.”)
Tang, V, and Natephra do not explicitly recite and said at least one processor is configured to determine a percentage of said surface which may be covered based on said type of said surface and select said surface from said one or more surfaces further based on said determined percentage.
Specifically Tang, V, and Natephra do not explicitly recite the calculation of a percentage of surface which may be covered. However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to categorize the space available, which is calculated by Tang in at least Page 1, right column, paragraph 3, “Our first contribution is using the depth information captured by KINECT to estimate the supporting surfaces, such as the floor and any flat top surface on existing furniture. The area, shape and dimensions of the available space can be hence determined.”, as a percentage for easy user data evaluation and/or consideration since a percentage value is a well understood manner used to convey data.
Regarding Claim 15: The reference discloses A system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said at least one processor is configured to determine a location for a master module of said light modules in said arrangement relative to said surface such that the master module covers a power socket. (See rejection for claim 3. See also V [0028] Thus, there may be provided a cove lighting system which comprises multiple (modular) linear lighting elements that can be easily connected to each other to provide a mechanical, power or data/control connection between the lighting elements.)
7. Claim 14 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Jeff KT, et al. "AR interior designer: Automatic furniture arrangement using spatial and functional relationships." 2014 International Conference on Virtual Systems & Multimedia (VSMM). IEEE, 2014, hereafter Tang in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180324924, hereafter V further in view of Ronen, Eyal, et al. "IoT goes nuclear: Creating a ZigBee chain reaction." 2017 IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy (SP). IEEE, 2017, hereafter R.
Regarding Claim 14: The reference discloses A system for determining a lighting design for a plurality of light units, said system comprising:
a lighting system comprising: a device comprising: at least one input interface; (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
a memory; (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop)
a camera, the camera configured to capture an image, the image capturing an environment; (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface. Tang Page 2, right column, section A. (1), “The Microsoft KINECT consists of one RGB camera and two 3D depth sensors, which are infra-red transmitters. Through reflection of the infra-red signals, the depth, i.e. the distances of the objects in front of the KINECT sensor, can be determined form a depth map that is an Intensity image that contains every pixel ”seen” by the KINECT. Hence, the depth value can be treated as an additional dimension of a 2D image, and the 3D coordinates of these pixels estimated by toolboxes. Researcher always called this whole bundle of points as point cloud, which can be further processed by PCL [19], which is a famous point cloud utility toolbox.”)
at least one output interface, wherein the at least one input interface and the at least one output interface are communicatively coupled to the LAN access point; (See below) and (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
at least one processor, connected to the at least one input interface, to the at least one output interface, the memory, and to the camera; and (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
a computer comprising:
at least one input interface; (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
a computer memory; (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
at least one output interface, wherein the at least one input interface and the at least one output interface are communicatively coupled to the LAN access point; (See below) and (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
at least one processor, communicatively connected to the at least one input interface, to the at least one output interface, the database, and the computer memory, configured to: (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
obtain one or more images captured by said camera from the device via the LAN access point, (See below) (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface. Tang Page 2, right column, section A. (1), “The Microsoft KINECT consists of one RGB camera and two 3D depth sensors, which are infra-red transmitters. Through reflection of the infra-red signals, the depth, i.e. the distances of the objects in front of the KINECT sensor, can be determined form a depth map that is an Intensity image that contains every pixel ”seen” by the KINECT. Hence, the depth value can be treated as an additional dimension of a 2D image, and the 3D coordinates of these pixels estimated by toolboxes. Researcher always called this whole bundle of points as point cloud, which can be further processed by PCL [19], which is a famous point cloud utility toolbox.”)
perform image analysis using computer vision techniques on said one or more images to determine one or more surface properties of one or more surfaces in said environment, said one or more surface properties including surface dimensions, (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface. Tang Page 2, right column, section A. (1), “The Microsoft KINECT consists of one RGB camera and two 3D depth sensors, which are infra-red transmitters. Through reflection of the infra-red signals, the depth, i.e. the distances of the objects in front of the KINECT sensor, can be determined form a depth map that is an Intensity image that contains every pixel ”seen” by the KINECT. Hence, the depth value can be treated as an additional dimension of a 2D image, and the 3D coordinates of these pixels estimated by toolboxes. Researcher always called this whole bundle of points as point cloud, which can be further processed by PCL [19], which is a famous point cloud utility toolbox.”)
select a surface on which the plurality of light units can be placed together based on said surface dimensions, said surface being selected from said one or more surfaces, (Tang. Figure 2, “Detect the supporting surfaces” and “Estimate the space available for placing the furniture.” See also Page 2, left column, paragraph 3, “the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table)”)
determine a quantity of said plurality of light units based on said one or more surface properties (Tang. Figure 2, “Detect the supporting surfaces” and “Estimate the space available for placing the furniture.” See also Page 2, left column, paragraph 3, “the relationship of furniture are determined by the spatial relationship (e.g. the distance between the object and the nearest wall), the hierarchical relationship (e.g. a lamp should be placed on a table)”)
use said at least one output interface to output said arrangement corresponding to the lighting design. (Tang. Figure 1, the laptop represents the input and output interface)
Tang does not explicitly recite
a LAN access point;
the plurality of light units, where the plurality of light units are mechanically and electrically interconnectable light modules; and
a database, the database comprising shapes and arrangement considerations of modular lighting arrays;
query the database for the shapes and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays;
determine a quantity of said plurality of light units based on said one or more surface properties
determine an arrangement of said plurality of light units on said surface based at least on said surface dimensions of said surface and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays, wherein said plurality of light units are mechanically and electrically interconnectable light modules, and
and the shapes of the modular lighting arrays,
However V recites a LAN access point; (“[0108] Thus, the data processing system 130 provides a centrally accessible processing resource that can receive information from a remotely located device, such as a network node or device of the cove lighting system, and run one or more algorithms to transform the received information into a lighting control signal for individually controlling each of a plurality of light sources. Information relating to the control signal and/or lighting requirements can be stored by the data processing system 130 (for example, in a database) and provided to other components of the system. Such provision of information about the lighting control signal and/or lighting requirements may be undertaken in response to a receiving a request (via the internet 120 for example) and/or may be undertaken without request (i.e. ‘pushed’).”)
the plurality of light units, where the plurality of light units are mechanically and electrically interconnectable light modules; and ([0008] “Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device.”)
a database, the database comprising shapes and arrangement considerations of modular lighting arrays; (“[0108] Thus, the data processing system 130 provides a centrally accessible processing resource that can receive information from a remotely located device, such as a network node or device of the cove lighting system, and run one or more algorithms to transform the received information into a lighting control signal for individually controlling each of a plurality of light sources. Information relating to the control signal and/or lighting requirements can be stored by the data processing system 130 (for example, in a database) and provided to other components of the system. Such provision of information about the lighting control signal and/or lighting requirements may be undertaken in response to a receiving a request (via the internet 120 for example) and/or may be undertaken without request (i.e. ‘pushed’).”)
query the database for the shapes and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays; (“[0108] Thus, the data processing system 130 provides a centrally accessible processing resource that can receive information from a remotely located device, such as a network node or device of the cove lighting system, and run one or more algorithms to transform the received information into a lighting control signal for individually controlling each of a plurality of light sources. Information relating to the control signal and/or lighting requirements can be stored by the data processing system 130 (for example, in a database) and provided to other components of the system. Such provision of information about the lighting control signal and/or lighting requirements may be undertaken in response to a receiving a request (via the internet 120 for example) and/or may be undertaken without request (i.e. ‘pushed’).”)
determine an arrangement of said plurality of light units on said surface based at least on said surface dimensions of said surface and the arrangement considerations of the modular lighting arrays, wherein said plurality of light units are mechanically and electrically interconnectable light modules, and ([0008] “Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device.”)
and the shapes of the modular lighting arrays, ([0008] “Embodiments may therefore provide for modular cove lighting formed from a plurality of sub-modules (e.g. separate light sources) that provide for design and installation flexibility. For example, the sub-modules may be movable relative so each other so that their relative positioning and/or orientation may be adjusted according to requirements. Furthermore, the modular design may allow for sub-modules to be added and/or removed in order to modify the size, shape, light output capabilities, etc. of the cove lighting device.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the modular lighting arrays of V in the system of Tang in order allow for adequate and uniform lighting in a space, see V [0003], as well as to add further design features for an interior design system, Tang Abstract.
Tang and V do not explicitly recite a light bridge communicatively connected to the plurality of light units and to the LAN access point.
However R recites a light bridge communicatively connected to the plurality of light units and to the LAN access point. (Page 198, Section 3, “As seen in Figure 2, smart light systems, give users wireless control over lamps either from a remote control or from a smart-phone application using a gateway [14]. The gateway is used to bridge the IP world to the ZLL world. ZLL, is an industry standard intended “for interoperable and very easy-to-use consumer lighting and control products. It allows consumers to gain wireless control over all their LED fixtures, light bulbs, timers, remotes and switches.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the modular lighting arrays of V in the system of Tang with the network connected lighting system of R in order to “give users wireless control over lamps either from a remote control or from a smart-phone application” and “for interoperable and very easy-to-use consumer lighting and control products.” (R. Page 198, Section 3)
Conclusion
8. All Claims are rejected.
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
i) U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120231424 REAL-TIME VIDEO IMAGE ANALYSIS FOR PROVIDING VIRTUAL INTERIOR DESIGN which teaches utilizing real time images to create virtual interior designs.
ii) Birt, James R., Patricia Manyuru, and Jonathan Nelson. "Using virtual and augmented reality to study architectural lighting." ASCILITE 2017: 34th International Conference on Innovation, Practice and Research in the Use of Educational Technologies in Tertiary Education.. ASCILITE, 2017, which teaches using AR and VR environments to study lighting.
iii) Sheng, Yu, et al. "A spatially augmented reality sketching interface for architectural daylighting design." IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics 17.1 (2009): 38-50 which teaches augmented reality used for lighting design.
SAA
/SAIF A ALHIJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186