DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Rollat (US 2005/0265949 A1; cited in prior Office action).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 9-12, 20-21, 23-24, and 26, Rollat teaches a cosmetic or haircare composition that may be provided in any form known from the prior art, including as an aqueous emulsion or dispersion (liquid) (p. 1, [0015]; p. 4, [0048]).
The composition contains an acrylic copolymer having units derived from acrylic acid, which is present in amounts from 0.1-40 wt% of the total composition (p. 1, [0014]; claim 7). This prior art range overlaps all claimed ranges with sufficient specificity to establish anticipation. See MPEP 2131.03.
Rollat's composition may further include a base, such as aminomethylpropanol (AMP) or metal hydroxides (p. 4, [0038]). Rollat also teaches use of comonomers including various alkyl acrylates which read on the claimed C1-22 esters of acrylic acid (p. 2, [0018]). This reads on the claimed comonomers. Rollat further teaches use of an organic solvent (p. 3, [0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Rollat further teaches a method of preparing the composition, including dissolving monomers in solvent, polymerizing at elevated temperature in the presence of an initiator, which may be benzoyl peroxide or lauroyl peroxide, , and removing solvent via rotary evaporator (p. 3, [0029], [0032], [0037]). A product formed by this method reads on the product of claim 2.
Regarding claims 15-18 and 25, Rollat remains as applied to claim 1 above. Rollat further teaches that suitable solvents may be esters including ethyl acetate, as well as ketones including methyl ethyl ketone, alcohols, aliphatic hydrocarbons, and/or aromatic hydrocarbons as solvent (p. 3, [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claims 1-3, 9-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollat (US 2005/0265949 A1; cited in prior Office action).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 9-12, 20-21, 23-24, and 26, Rollat teaches a cosmetic or haircare composition that may be provided in any form known from the prior art, including as an aqueous emulsion or dispersion (liquid) (p. 1, [0015]; p. 4, [0048]). The composition contains an acrylic copolymer having units derived from acrylic acid, which is present in amounts from 0.1-40 wt% of the total composition (p. 1, [0014]; claim 7). This prior art range encompasses or overlaps all claimed ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Rollat's composition may further include a base, such as aminomethylpropanol (AMP) or metal hydroxides (p. 4, [0038]). Rollat also teaches use of comonomers including various alkyl acrylates which read on the claimed C1-22 esters of acrylic acid (p. 2, [0018]). This reads on the claimed comonomers. Rollat further teaches use of an organic solvent (p. 3, [0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Rollat remains as applied to claim 1 above. Rollat further teaches a method of preparing the composition, including dissolving monomers in solvent, polymerizing at elevated temperature in the presence of an initiator, which may be benzoyl peroxide or lauroyl peroxide, , and removing solvent via rotary evaporator (p. 3, [0029], [0032], [0037]). This method reads on the claimed method.
Regarding claims 15-18 and 25, Rollat further teaches that suitable solvents may be esters including ethyl acetate, as well as ketones including methyl ethyl ketone, alcohols, aliphatic hydrocarbons, and/or aromatic hydrocarbons as solvent (p. 3, [0033]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollat in view of Toyoda (US 2012/0201775 A1).
Regarding claims 4-6, Rollat remains as applied to claims 1 and 3 above. However, Rollat is silent as to use of polyalkylene glycol in the composition. In the same field of endeavor, Toyoda teaches a hair cosmetic having an acrylic and vinyl hair-setting resin with 3-30% by mass of PEG300 that may be applied as a mist (p. 2, [0027], [0030], [0035], [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Rollat and the PEG300 of Toyoda to arrive at the claimed invention, and to provide a cosmetic with good hair styling and re-styling effects, as taught by Toyoda (Abstract).
Claims 7-8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollat in view of Berte (cited in a prior Office Action).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 13-14, Rollat remains as applied to claim 1 above. However, Rollat is silent as to which metal hydroxides may be used as an inorganic base. In a similar composition, Berte teaches neutralization of the polymer with sodium and/or potassium hydroxides (col. 4, lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Rollat with the neutralization agent of Berte to arrive at the claimed invention, and to provide a cosmetic that is easy to use and easy to disperse in aqueous systems (col. 4, lines 41-46).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 23 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-18, 20-21, and 23-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new ground of rejection are made in view of Rollat, Toyoda, and Berte.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762