DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-5, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not support the limitation reciting “10-60 parts by weight of a conventional styrene-ethylene-ethylene- propylene-styrene copolymer.” Additionally, the examiner find no support for “40-90 parts by weight of a high styrene content styrene-ethylene- ethylene-propylene-styrene copolymer.” Specifically, there is no support for the recited parts per weight for both the high styrene content and conventional styrene content copolymers.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a compression set in the range of about 7 to about 13." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, the claim is entirely unclear because there is no unit of measure, time or temperature associated with the recited values.
Claim 12 recites the viscosity in the range of about 22 to about 27.” The claim is entirely unclear because there is no unit of measure associated with the recited value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kilian et al. (attached NPL).
As to claims 1 and 9, Chen discloses a thermoplastic gelatinous elastomer composition comprising: a mixture of two or more poly(styrene-ethylene-ethylene-propylene-styrene)(SEEPS) block copolymers, wherein a 40-90 parts per weight (para 75-76, 146, 191, 221) of a conventional SEEPS (cSEEPS) block copolymers has a styrene content of about 30 wt% (para 268-274), 10-60 parts by weight (para 75-76, 146, 191, 221) of a high styrene content SEEPS (hSEEPS) having a styrene content of greater than 35 wt% e.g. 37.6 wt%) and a 200-300 parts by weigth (para 20) of a plasticizing oil that is a mineral oil (abstract, see para 5-38 85, 144, 171, 268-274, 163-177 and claims 8, 9), wherein the cSEEPS is SEPTONTM 4033 and SEPTONTM 4055 (para 269-270).
Chen does not expressly disclose the thermoplastic elastomer gel has a Shore OO Hardness from 35-52. However, Kilian discloses a Septon J3341 is lightweight, has a good compression set while maintain high strength and excellent tear strength (sectin 3.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Chen such that the hSEEPS is Septon J3341 as taught by Kilian above as such achieves the advantages discussed above.
Since the elastomer gel of Chen as modified by Kilian has composition as recited by applicant, the physical properties will be the same. When a prior art product is the same or substantially the same as applicant’s claimed product, it must have the same physical properties. MPEP 2112-2112.01. Thus, the elastomer gel of Chen as modified by Kilian above has a Shore OO Hardness of 35-52.
As to claim 2, para 85 and 139 of Chen discloses a 89:11 hSEEPS:cSEEPS ratio.
Applicant’s claim says about 90:10 - “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, the para 85, 139, 144 and 169 of Chen disclose that the ratios can vary broadly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select a hSEEPS:cSEEPS ratio of about 90:10 as such is a design choice that has a reasonable expectation of success.
If it is not taken that Chen expressly discloses the ratios recited in claims 3-6, the following rejection is set forth:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select any of the hSEEPS:cSEEPS ratios recited in claims 3-6 as such is a design choice that has a reasonable expectation of success as Chen teaches the ratios can be varied broadly as detailed above.
As to claim 3, at least para 85, 139 and 144 discloses a hSEEPS:cSEEPS ratio of about 80:20.
As to claim 4, at least para 85, 139-140 and 144 discloses a hSEEPS:cSEEPS ratio of about 70:30.
As to claim 5, at least para 87, 140 and 144 discloses a hSEEPS:cSEEPS ratio of about 60:40.
As to claims 11-12, Chen in combination with Kilian discloses applicant’s claimed product at the claimed wt% and ratio as detailed above. When a prior art product is the same or substantially the same as applicant’s claimed product, it must have the same physical properties. MPEP 2112-2112.01. Therefore, elastomer of Chen as modified by the Kilian above must have the same compression set and viscosity as claimed by applicant in claims 11 and 12, respectively.
As to claim 13, at least para 17 and 31 disclose an adhesion promoter and/or bonding; para 178 discloses a stabilizer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/8/24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s asserts that Chen fails to disclose the new limitations of the claims. The examiner asserts that Chen very clearly discloses the added the limitations as detailed in the body of the rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mueller et al. (US 2013/0005900) and Boyd et al. (US 2006/0123664), directed to an elastomer gel with a Shore OO Hardness of 35-52.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746