DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/16/2024, with respect to claims 7-22 have been fully considered.
The argument with respective to Zhou and limitation (i) (see page 7-8 of the argument) is not persuasive for the following reasons.
The applicant argued that “limitation (1) requires that an SRI of the PUCCH resource group may be identified based on the correspondence between the PUCCH resource associated with the CORESET group corresponding to the DCI and the PUCCH resource group for the SRI.” However, “an SRI of the PUCCH resource group may be identified” is nowhere cited in the claim. Instead, the claim refers to “Spatial Relation Information (SRI) associated with a PUCH resource group” without particularly identifying a particular SRI instance or value.
Assuming arguendo the office action issued on 1/16/2025 did not expressly cite teaching for the feature above, it cites Zhou for teaching a similar limitation in claim 10:
Zhou teaches wherein the processor determines that the SRI associated with the PUCCH resource group is indicated based on a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE). ([0416] As shown in FIG. 27, the base station may transmit to the wireless device one or more MAC CEs activating a first spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 1st SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27) and a second spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).)
A person with ordinary skill in the art would understand that the scope of “determines” would be similar to that of “identifys”.
The argument with respective to Zhou and Kim with limitation (ii) is persuasive but is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10-11 and 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Zhou; Hua et al. US PGPUB 20200314860 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Zhou), in view of Zhou; Hua et al. US PGPUB 20200145169 A1 (supported by the provisional application 62754259 filed on 11/01/2018) (hereinafter Zhou ‘169)
Regarding claim 7. Zhou teaches A terminal comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 3, communication interface 310) that receives Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling a Physical Downlink Shared CHannel (PDSCH) in a plurality of COntrol REsource SETs (CORESETs); ([0422] The wireless device receives, via a control resource set, a DCI indicating an uplink grant of a PDSCH resource. ) and
a processor (Fig. 3, Processor 314) that controls transmission of a Physical Uplink Control CHannel (PUCCH) for the PDSCH in a PUCCH resource associated with a CORESET group corresponding to the DCI, ([0422] The wireless device selects, based on the control resource set, a PUCCH resource group from the plurality of PUCCH resource groups.)
by applying a spatial domain filter based on Spatial Relation Information (SRI) ([0410] In an example, the wireless device may apply a spatial domain filter to transmit from a panel of the multiple panels to one of the multiple TRPs of the base station, the panel and the spatial domain filter being determined based on at least one of: an UL TCI indication of a DCI, a panel ID in the DCI, a SRI indication of a DCI, a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI, and the like.)
associated with a PUCCH resource group corresponding to the PUCCH resource. ([0415] a first spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 1.sup.st SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27). A second spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).)
Zhou does not teach
wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group.
However, Zhou ’169 teaches wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group ([0377] A first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have the same PUCCH resource identifier.
See provisional ‘259 page 63 [00270] “In an example, a first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have a same PUCCH resource identifier.”)
in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality by using multiple UL active BWPs ([0355])
Zhou and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of multiple UL active BWPs in Zhou ‘169 in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality.
Regarding claim 10. Zhou and Zhou ‘169 teaches The terminal according to claim 7, and Zhou teaches wherein the processor determines that the SRI associated with the PUCCH resource group is indicated based on a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE). ([0416] As shown in FIG. 27, the base station may transmit to the wireless device one or more MAC CEs activating a first spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 1st SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27) and a second spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).)
Regarding claim 11. Zhou and Zhou ‘169 teaches The terminal according to claim 10, and Zhou teaches wherein when the MAC CE includes information for specifying each of SRIs corresponding respectively to PUCCH resource groups for SRI, the processor determines that each of the SRIs corresponding respectively to the PUCCH resource groups for SRI is indicated by the MAC CE. ([0416] As shown in FIG. 27, the base station may transmit to the wireless device one or more MAC CEs activating a first spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 1.sup.st SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27) and a second spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).
Regarding claim 13. Zhou teaches A radio communication method for a terminal, comprising:
receiving Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling a Physical Downlink Shared CHannel (PDSCH) in a plurality of COntrol REsource SETs (CORESETs); ([0422] The wireless device receives, via a control resource set, a DCI indicating an uplink grant of a PDSCH resource. ) and
controlling transmission of a Physical Uplink Control CHannel (PUCCH) for the PDSCH in a PUCCH resource associated with a CORESET group corresponding to the DCI([0422] The wireless device selects, based on the control resource set, a PUCCH resource group from the plurality of PUCCH resource groups.)
by applying a spatial domain filter based on Spatial Relation Information (SRI) ([0410] In an example, the wireless device may apply a spatial domain filter to transmit from a panel of the multiple panels to one of the multiple TRPs of the base station, the panel and the spatial domain filter being determined based on at least one of: an UL TCI indication of a DCI, a panel ID in the DCI, a SRI indication of a DCI, a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI, and the like.)
associated with a PUCCH resource group for SRI corresponding to the PUCCH resource. ([0415] a first spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 1.sup.st SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27). A second spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).)
Zhou does not teach
wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group.
However, Zhou ’169 teaches wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group ([0377] A first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have the same PUCCH resource identifier.
See provisional ‘259 page 63 [00270] “In an example, a first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have a same PUCCH resource identifier.”)
in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality by using multiple UL active BWPs ([0355])
Zhou and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of multiple UL active BWPs in Zhou ‘169 in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality.
Regarding claim 14. Zhou teaches A base station comprising:
a transmitter that transmits, to a terminal, Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling a Physical Downlink Shared CHannel (PDSCH); ([0422] The wireless device receives, via a control resource set, a DCI indicating an uplink grant of a PDSCH resource. ) and
a receiver that receives a Physical Uplink Control CHannel (PUCCH) for the PDSCH, which is transmitted by the terminal in a PUCCH resource associated with a COntrol REsource SETs (CORESET) group corresponding to the DCI by applying a spatial domain filter based on Spatial Relation Information (SRI) ([0410] In an example, the wireless device may apply a spatial domain filter to transmit from a panel of the multiple panels to one of the multiple TRPs of the base station, the panel and the spatial domain filter being determined based on at least one of: an UL TCI indication of a DCI, a panel ID in the DCI, a SRI indication of a DCI, a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI, and the like.)
associated with a PUCCH resource group for SRI corresponding to the PUCCH resource. ([0415] a first spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 1.sup.st SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27). A second spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).)
Zhou does not teach
wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group.
However, Zhou ’169 teaches wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group ([0377] A first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have the same PUCCH resource identifier.
See provisional ‘259 page 63 [00270] “In an example, a first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have a same PUCCH resource identifier.”)
in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality by using multiple UL active BWPs ([0355])
Zhou and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of multiple UL active BWPs in Zhou ‘169 in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality.
Regarding claim 15. Zhou teaches A system comprising: a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises:
a receiver of the terminal that receives Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling a Physical Downlink Shared CHannel (PDSCH) in a plurality of COntrol REsource SETs (CORESETs); ([0422] The wireless device receives, via a control resource set, a DCI indicating an uplink grant of a PDSCH resource. )and
a processor that controls transmission of a Physical Uplink Control CHannel (PUCCH) for the PDSCH in a PUCCH resource associated with a CORESET group corresponding to the DCI, ([0422] The wireless device selects, based on the control resource set, a PUCCH resource group from the plurality of PUCCH resource groups.)
by applying a spatial domain filter based on Spatial Relation Information (SRI) ([0410] In an example, the wireless device may apply a spatial domain filter to transmit from a panel of the multiple panels to one of the multiple TRPs of the base station, the panel and the spatial domain filter being determined based on at least one of: an UL TCI indication of a DCI, a panel ID in the DCI, a SRI indication of a DCI, a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI, and the like.)
associated with a PUCCH resource group for SRI corresponding to the PUCCH resource. ([0415] a first spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 1.sup.st SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27). A second spatial relation information configuration group (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRIs in FIG. 27) may be associated with a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).)
Zhou does not teach
wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group.
wherein PUCCH resource configuration information is transmitted to the terminal so that the one PUCCH resource ID belongs to more than the one PUCCH resource group.
However, Zhou ’169 teaches
wherein one PUCCH resource Identifier (ID) belongs to more than one PUCCH resource group ([0377] A first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have the same PUCCH resource identifier.
See provisional ‘259 page 63 [00270] “In an example, a first PUCCH resource on a first UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) and a second PUCCH resource on a second UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 2) may have a same PUCCH resource identifier.”)
wherein PUCCH resource configuration information is transmitted to the terminal so that the one PUCCH resource ID belongs to more than the one PUCCH resource group. (same as above)
in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality by using multiple UL active BWPs ([0355])
Zhou and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of multiple UL active BWPs in Zhou ‘169 in order to improve HARQ ACK transmission quality.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou and Zhou ‘169 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of KIM; Hyungtae et al. US PGPUG 20220052824 A1.
Regarding claim 8. Zhou, Zhou ‘169 teaches The terminal according to claim 7, but Zhous do not teach wherein a PUCCH resource associated with a first CORESET group and a PUCCH resource associated with a second CORESET group do not overlap each other.
However, KIM teaches wherein a PUCCH resource associated with a first CORESET group and a PUCCH resource associated with a second CORESET group do not overlap each other. ([0250] In order to solve this, the A/N reporting PUCCH resource is configured through each of the DCls which the UE receive through different CORESET groups and each A/N reporting PUCCH resource is configured in the same slot, the A/N reporting PUCCH resources are subjected to time division multiplex (TDM) through different OFDM symbols in the same slot and each A/N reporting PUCCH should be able to be transmitted.)
in order to avoid delay in PUCCH to different TRPs. ([0249])
Zhou and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of non-overlapping PUCCH in Kim in order to avoid delays in PUCCH.
Regarding claim 17. Zhou and Zhou’169 and Kim teaches The terminal according to claim 8, and Zhou teaches wherein the processor determines that the SRI associated with the PUCCH resource group is indicated based on a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE). ([0416] As shown in FIG. 27, the base station may transmit to the wireless device one or more MAC CEs activating a first spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 1st SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a first PUCCH resource group (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH group in FIG. 27) and a second spatial relation information configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd SRI in FIG. 27) for a first PUCCH resource (e.g., 1.sup.st PUCCH in FIG. 27) in a second PUCCH resource group (e.g., 2.sup.nd PUCCH group in FIG. 27).)
Claims 12 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou and Zhou’169 as applied to claim 7 and 10-11 above, and further in view of GAO; Shiwei et al. US PGPUB 20220116183 A1 (previously cited hereinafter GAO).
Regarding claim 12. Zhou and Zhou ‘169 teaches The terminal according to claim 7, but it does not teach wherein a number of CORESET groups is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI.
However, GAO teaches
wherein a number of CORESET groups ([0238] The maximum number of CORESET groups can also be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling). For example, maxNrofControlResourceSetGroups=2.) is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI. ([0269] Note that the PUCCH resource from within the implicit PUCCH resource group to report the ACK/NACK is indicated by the 3-bit PRI field. If the number of PUCCH resources within an implicit PUCCH resource group R′.sub.PUCCH is larger than 8, then the PUCCH resource is determined using as similar formula in the background section where R.sub.PUCCH is replaced by R′.sub.PUCCH.)
in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization by using implicit PUCCH resource group associated with a CORESET( [0264])
Zhou and GAO are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of implicit PUCCH resource group in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization.
Regarding claim 21. Zhou and Zhou ‘169 teaches The terminal according to claim 10, and it does not teach wherein a number of CORESET groups is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI.
However, GAO teaches
wherein a number of CORESET groups ([0238] The maximum number of CORESET groups can also be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling). For example, maxNrofControlResourceSetGroups=2.) is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI. ([0269] Note that the PUCCH resource from within the implicit PUCCH resource group to report the ACK/NACK is indicated by the 3-bit PRI field. If the number of PUCCH resources within an implicit PUCCH resource group R′.sub.PUCCH is larger than 8, then the PUCCH resource is determined using as similar formula in the background section where R.sub.PUCCH is replaced by R′.sub.PUCCH.)
in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization by using implicit PUCCH resource group associated with a CORESET( [0264])
Zhou and GAO are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of implicit PUCCH resource group in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization.
Regarding claim 22. Zhou and Zhou ‘169 teaches The terminal according to claim 11, but it does not teach wherein a number of CORESET groups is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI.
However, GAO teaches
wherein a number of CORESET groups ([0238] The maximum number of CORESET groups can also be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling). For example, maxNrofControlResourceSetGroups=2.) is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI. ([0269] Note that the PUCCH resource from within the implicit PUCCH resource group to report the ACK/NACK is indicated by the 3-bit PRI field. If the number of PUCCH resources within an implicit PUCCH resource group R′.sub.PUCCH is larger than 8, then the PUCCH resource is determined using as similar formula in the background section where R.sub.PUCCH is replaced by R′.sub.PUCCH.)
in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization by using implicit PUCCH resource group associated with a CORESET( [0264])
Zhou and GAO are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of implicit PUCCH resource group in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou and Zhou’169 and Kim as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of GAO; Shiwei et al. US PGPUB 20220116183 A1 (previously cited hereinafter GAO).
Regarding claim 19. Zhou and Zhou ‘169 and Kim teaches The terminal according to claim 8, and but it does not teach wherein a number of CORESET groups is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI.
However, GAO teaches
wherein a number of CORESET groups ([0238] The maximum number of CORESET groups can also be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling). For example, maxNrofControlResourceSetGroups=2.) is different from a number of PUCCH resource groups for SRI. ([0269] Note that the PUCCH resource from within the implicit PUCCH resource group to report the ACK/NACK is indicated by the 3-bit PRI field. If the number of PUCCH resources within an implicit PUCCH resource group R′.sub.PUCCH is larger than 8, then the PUCCH resource is determined using as similar formula in the background section where R.sub.PUCCH is replaced by R′.sub.PUCCH.)
in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization by using implicit PUCCH resource group associated with a CORESET( [0264])
Zhou and GAO are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal in Zhou with the technique of implicit PUCCH resource group in order to improve PUCCH resource utilization.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468