DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, resulting in a modification of the previous prior art rejection using the same references.
On page 4 of the Remarks as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant summarizes the amendments to the claims. The Examiner has withdrawn the previous 112 rejections and objections.
On pages 4-5, Applicant argues that previous anticipatory reference Pembroke, (US 2017/0349460), does not disclose the presently amended claimed invention of independent Claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues that Pembroke does not disclose a calculation based on a currently determined flocculating-agent charge density. Applicant also argues that Pembroke discloses a set-point feedback system for a filtrate/aliquot, not a charge-balance calculation, and argues that Pembroke uses a pre-determined fixed titrant dose, while the claims now require detecting excess/deficit and automatically selecting a suitable cationic or anionic titrant. Here, the Examiner notes that it is not clear based on the claim language that a specific calculation is required, or that the charge density is for a flocculating-agent charge density. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the claim language only requires detection of an excess or deficit and automatically adding a cationic or anionic titrant in response. The Examiner maintains that Pembroke discloses a detection of when the measurement of the charge density exceeds the target range, (See paragraphs [0105]-[0114]), and then automatically adds titrant that is cationic, (See paragraph [0099]-[0101]; cationic coagulant (titrant) selected when setpoint range is exceeded). For these reasons, the Examiner finds these remarks unpersuasive.
On page 5, Applicant also argues that secondary reference Jorden et al., (“Jorden”, US 2019/0270655), does not allegedly remedy the noted deficiencies of Pembroke. Applicant argues that Jorden does not disclose the specific claimed calculation or monitoring the charge density during the method and replacing previous values with current values. The Examiner notes that Pembroke already discloses monitoring the charge density and adding titrant when the charge density falls outside a certain setpoint range. As a result, Jorden does not need to disclose these features. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that Jorden does disclose the claimed feature where previous values are updated with current values, (See Figures 31-33, either HMS addition 5200 or Polymer Coagulant Dosage 5300, See paragraphs [0371]-[0376] and [0390]-[0410], Jorden). Thus, the rejection of independent Claim 1 using the prior art of record still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the charge density” on line 11. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as the “the target charge density”, “flocculating agent charge density”, as previously recited in the claim. Examiner interprets it to be the same as “the target charge density”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the detected sign” on line 13. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a sign”, or something different. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the respective prevailing determined value” on lines 31-32. It is not clear to which “prevailing determined values” this particular “prevailing determined value” refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 & 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pembroke, (US 2017/0349460), in view of Jorden et al., (“Jorden”, US 2019/0270655).
Claims 1-4, 6-10 & 12-14 are directed to a method for flocculating solid particles contained in a suspension, a method type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1-4, 6-10 & 12-14, Pembroke discloses a method for flocculating solid particles contained in a suspension, (See paragraph [0001], [0006], [0022]), comprising the following steps: a. preparing a suspension and specifying a target charge density (dEqz) for the suspension, (See paragraph [0047], [0056], [0057]), with the proviso that the target charge density (dEqz) is a charge density of the suspension at which the solid particles flocculate, (See paragraphs [0056], [0057], [0073] & [0099]); b. providing a flocculating agent, wherein the flocculating agent has a flocculating agent charge density (deEqp) ,(See paragraph [0112], [0106]); c. for a plurality of measurement time points (N), (See paragraphs [0105]-[0112]): determining a suspension charge density (dEqM) in the suspension by way of a titrimetric analysis based on a charge titration with measurement of the streaming potential, (See paragraphs [0098]-[0104] & [0112]), using a streaming current detector, (See paragraphs [0055], [0057] & [0059]), wherein the titrimetric analysis comprises detecting, based on a sign of the charge density in a measuring cell, whether an excess or a deficit of the flocculating agent is present, (See paragraphs [0105]-[0114]), and automatically selecting a suitable cationic or anionic titrant based on the detected sign, (See paragraph [0099]-[0101]; cationic coagulant (titrant) selected when setpoint range is exceeded).
but does not disclose:
d. at the respective measurement time points (N), determining a required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimize optimal flocculation based, based quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp ,wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs ,wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension; and e. following the respective measurement time points (N), adding to the suspension the required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of flocculating agent to be added, wherein the flocculating agent comprises a charged polymer prepared in an aqueous batch solution, and wherein the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) is determined at a plurality of time points during the method, previously determined values of the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) being replaced by prevailing determined values, and the respective prevailing determined value of the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) being used for calculating the required quantity (Dp.N, D'p.N) of the flocculating agent to be added.
Jorden discloses a method, (See Abstract, See paragraph [0379]-[0382], Jorden), at the respective measurement time points (N), determining a required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimize optimal flocculation, (See paragraph [0371]-[0376], Jorden), based quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, (See paragraph [0370], Jorden), wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp , wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, (See paragraph [0390]-[[0396]; demand or amount of coagulant Dd is determined (equivalent to Dp,N) based on the functional charge density in which Dd/Do is calculated (equivalent to dEqz-deqM/dEqp) and a dose (Dp,A) is added to bring to the level Dd desired; and/or See paragraph [0422]-[0428], Jorden), wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs , wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension; and e. following the respective measurement time points (N), adding to the suspension the required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of flocculating agent to be added, (this limitation is optional based on the phrasing above), wherein the flocculating agent comprises a charged polymer prepared in an aqueous batch solution, and wherein the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) is determined at a plurality of time points during the method, previously determined values of the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) being replaced by prevailing determined values, and the respective prevailing determined value of the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) being used for calculating the required quantity (Dp.N, D'p.N) of the flocculating agent to be added, (See Figures 31-33, either HMS addition 5200 or Polymer Coagulant Dosage 5300, See paragraphs [0371]-[0376] and [0390]-[0410], Jorden).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Pembroke by incorporating d. at the respective measurement time points (N), determining a required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimize optimal flocculation based, based quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp ,wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs ,wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension; and e. following the respective measurement time points (N), adding to the suspension the required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of flocculating agent to be added wherein the flocculating agent comprises a charged polymer prepared in an aqueous batch solution, and wherein the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) is determined at a plurality of time points during the method, previously determined values of the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) being replaced by prevailing determined values, and the respective prevailing determined value of the flocculating agent charge density (dEqp) being used for calculating the required quantity (Dp.N, D'p.N) of the flocculating agent to be added as in Jorden for “determining the optimal acid-base dosage….to optime the pH of the raw water….determining the optimal dosage of hydrolyzing metal salt” and “determining the optimal dosage of polymer coagulant”, (See paragraph [0376], Jorden), because “the optimum combination of coagulant species…may vary with location, raw water quality, treatment quality goals, plant separation processing equipment, and with time for a given situation”, (See paragraph [0057], Jorden).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Examiner, Art Unit 1779