DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, resulting in a modification of the previous prior art rejection using newly found secondary reference Jorden et al., (“Jorden”, US 2019/0270655).
On page 9 of the Remarks as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant summarizes the amendments to the claims. The Examiner has withdrawn the previous 112 rejections and objections to the claims and Specification.
On pages 9-10, Applicant argues that previous anticipatory reference Pembroke, (US 2017/0349460), does not disclose the presently amended claimed invention of independent Claims 1 & 15. The Examiner notes that while Pembroke does not disclose the claimed invention, a combination of newly found secondary reference Jorden et al., (“Jorden”, US 2019/0270655), with Pembroke reads upon the claimed invention as demonstrated in the prior art rejection section below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “guarantee optimize optimal flocculation” is grammatically improper. Deleting “optimize” is suggested. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “based quantitatively proportional control or load…” on line 15-16 is grammatically improper. Inserting “on” between “based” and “quantitatively” is suggested. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is is objected to because of the following informalities: “of flocculating agent” should be rewritten as “of the flocculating agent” on lines 29-30. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the streaming potential” on line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the time point N” on line 20 and on line 24. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “the (respective) measurement time point N” previously recited in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the solid content” on line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the suspension charge density” on line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the streaming potential” on line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the data” on line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the flocculating agent” on line 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the time point N” on line 25 and on line 29. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “the (respective) measurement time point N” previously recited in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the solid content” on line 30. There is insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 & 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pembroke, (US 2017/0349460), in view of Jorden et al., (“Jorden”, US 2019/0270655).
Claims 1-4, 6-10 & 12-14 are directed to a method for flocculating solid particles contained in a suspension, a method type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1-4, 6-10 & 12-14, Pembroke discloses a method for flocculating solid particles contained in a suspension, (See paragraph [0001], [0006], [0022]), comprising the following steps: a. preparing a suspension and specifying a target charge density (dEqz) for the suspension, (See paragraph [0047], [0056], [0057]), with the proviso that the target charge density (dEqz) is a charge density of the suspension at which the solid particles flocculate, (See paragraphs [0056], [0057], [0073] & [0099]); b. providing a flocculating agent, wherein the flocculating agent has a flocculating agent charge density (deEqp) ,(See paragraph [0112], [0106]); c. for a plurality of measurement time points (N), (See paragraphs [0105]-[0112]): determining a suspension charge density (dEqM) in the suspension by way of a titrimetric analysis based on a charge titration with measurement of the streaming potential, (See paragraphs [0098]-[0104] & [0112]), using a streaming current detector, (See paragraphs [0055], [0057] & [0059]);
but does not disclose:
d. at the respective measurement time points (N), determining a required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimize optimal flocculation based, based quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp ,wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs ,wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension; and e. following the respective measurement time points (N), adding to the suspension the required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of flocculating agent to be added.
Jorden discloses a method, (See Abstract, See paragraph [0379]-[0382], Jorden), at the respective measurement time points (N), determining a required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimize optimal flocculation, (See paragraph [0371]-[0376], Jorden), based quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, (See paragraph [0370], Jorden), wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp , wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, (See paragraph [0390]-[[0396]; demand or amount of coagulant Dd is determined (equivalent to Dp,N) based on the functional charge density in which Dd/Do is calculated (equivalent to dEqz-deqM/dEqp) and a dose (Dp,A) is added to bring to the level Dd desired; and/or See paragraph [0422]-[0428], Jorden), wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs , wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension; and e. following the respective measurement time points (N), adding to the suspension the required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of flocculating agent to be added, (this limitation is optional based on the phrasing above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Pembroke by incorporating d. at the respective measurement time points (N), determining a required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimize optimal flocculation based, based quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp ,wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs ,wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension; and e. following the respective measurement time points (N), adding to the suspension the required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of flocculating agent to be added as in Jorden for “determining the optimal acid-base dosage….to optime the pH of the raw water….determining the optimal dosage of hydrolyzing metal salt” and “determining the optimal dosage of polymer coagulant”, (See paragraph [0376], Jorden), because “the optimum combination of coagulant species…may vary with location, raw water quality, treatment quality goals, plant separation processing equipment, and with time for a given situation”, (See paragraph [0057], Jorden).
Claim 15 is directed to a system for carrying out a method of flocculating solid particles contained in a suspension, an apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claim 15, Pembroke discloses for carrying out a method of flocculating solid particles contained in a suspension, comprising: a processing and control unit (See paragraphs [0055], [0057] & [0059]), a measuring cell, (See paragraphs [0055], [0057] & [0059]), and a dosing unit, (See paragraph [0058]), wherein the processing and control unit is connected to the measuring cell and the dosing unit in a signal engineering manner having the following features, (See paragraph [0057] & [0058]), the measuring cell is configured to determine the suspension charge density (dEqM) in the suspension at a plurality of measurement time points (N) by way of a titrimetric analysis with measurement of the streaming potential, (See paragraph [0055], [0098], [0099]), and to transfer the data obtained in this manner to the processing and control unit, (See paragraph [0093], [0105]-[0112]); - the processing and control unit is configured in order to: a. calculate, at the respective measurement time points (N), a quantity (Dp,N, D’p,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimal flocculation based on quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, and b. transmit a dosing signal based on the required quantity (Dp,N, D’p,N) of the flocculating agent to be added to the dosing unit, (See paragraphs [0057], [0058], [0105]-[0112]); and- the dosing unit is configured as a result of the dosing signal, to add to the suspension the required quantity (Dp,N, D’p,N) of the flocculating agent to be added, (See paragraphs [0057], [0058], [0105]-[0112]):
but does not disclose:
wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp ,wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs ,wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension.
Jorden discloses a system, (See Abstract, See paragraph [0379]-[0382], Jorden), at the respective measurement time points (N), determining a required quantity (Dp,n,D’n,N) of the flocculating agent to be added in order to guarantee optimize optimal flocculation, (See paragraph [0371]-[0376], Jorden), based quantitatively proportional control or load-proportional control, (See paragraph [0370], Jorden), wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp , wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, (See paragraph [0390]-[[0396]; demand or amount of coagulant Dd is determined (equivalent to Dp,N) based on the functional charge density in which Dd/Do is calculated (equivalent to dEqz-deqM/dEqp) and a dose (Dp,A) is added to bring to the level Dd desired; and/or See paragraph [0422]-[0428], Jorden), wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs , wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension, (this limitation is optional based on the phrasing above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Pembroke by incorporating wherein for quantitatively proportional control the required quantity (Dp,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according to Dp,N = Dp,A + (dEqz -dEqM)/dEqp ,wherein Dp,A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N, wherein for load-proportional control the required quantity (D'p,N) at the respective measurement time point (N) is calculated according toD'p,N = D'p,A + ((dEqz - dEqM)/dEqp)/fTSs ,wherein D'p.A is the quantity to be added at a time point A immediately before the time point N and fTSs is the solid content of the suspension; as in Jorden for “determining the optimal acid-base dosage….to optime the pH of the raw water….determining the optimal dosage of hydrolyzing metal salt” and “determining the optimal dosage of polymer coagulant”, (See paragraph [0376], Jorden), because “the optimum combination of coagulant species…may vary with location, raw water quality, treatment quality goals, plant separation processing equipment, and with time for a given situation”, (See paragraph [0057], Jorden).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Examiner, Art Unit 1779