Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326 does not disclose that a conditional handover has failed in response to expiration of a timer, as recited in claims 1, 11 and 29. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments, as discussed in the claim rejections below. Deenoo discloses, for example in paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a reconfiguration failure or handover failure, and in paragraph [0101], start a timer for a procedure and then stop the timer if procedure succeeds, or upon timer expiry, the WTRU may perform CHO, and in paragraph [0155], initiation of conditional reconfiguration, the WTRU shall (re)start timer T380. Deenoo ‘4326 discloses, for example in paragraph [0171], when a trigger condition is satisfied, the WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration and start a timer, such as timer T304, and then if the procedure is unsuccessful before expiry of the timer T304, the WTRU may consider that the conditional reconfiguration has failed; and in paragraph [0178], upon expiry of a guard timer such as timer T304, the WTRU may determine that the conditional reconfiguration has failed.
Regarding the claim limitation that that a conditional handover has failed in response to expiration of a timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded, Applicant argues that in Deenoo, the expiration of a timer is used to trigger a conditional reconfiguration as a recovery action-that is, timer expiration causes the WTRU to apply or perform a conditional handover, not to declare that a conditional handover to a target cell has failed. However, Deenoo discloses, for example in paragraph [0101], start a timer for a procedure and then stop the timer if procedure succeeds, or upon timer expiry, the WTRU may perform CHO.
Regarding the claim limitation determining that a conditional handover has failed in response to expiration of a timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded, Applicant argues that Deenoo ‘4326, describes that, after a trigger condition is satisfied, the WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration and start a timer such as T304, and that "[i]f the random access procedure is unsuccessful before expiry of the timer, such as T304, the WTRU may consider that the conditional reconfiguration has failed," and therefore, in Deenoo '4326, the determination that the conditional reconfiguration has failed is tied to the random access procedure being unsuccessful before the timer expires-the failure is determined from the outcome of the random access procedure during the timer interval and before the timer reaches expiration. However, in Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0171], the random access procedure being unsuccessful does not occur before the expiry of the timer. Rather, the disclosure in Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0171], means that if the random access procedure has not been successful upon the expiry of the timer, the conditional handover has failed. Accordingly, Deenoo ‘4326 further discloses, in paragraph [0178], upon expiry of a guard timer such as timer T304, the WTRU may determine that the conditional reconfiguration has failed. Accordingly, Deenoo ‘4326 does disclose determining that a conditional handover has failed in response to expiration of a timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-13, 29-31 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US 2021/0168678) in view of Deenoo et al. (US 2020/0154326) (Hereafter, Deenoo ‘4326).
Regarding claim 1, Deenoo discloses a method at a user equipment (UE) (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU detects an occurrence of an impairment event that satisfies a trigger condition), the method comprising:
receiving a conditional handover message, wherein the conditional handover message indicates a trigger condition and is associated with a first timer, wherein the trigger condition is logically separate from the first timer and is configured within the conditional handover message (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of an impairment event such as lower layer problems, T310 expiry, random access problem, indication that maximum RLC retransmission has been reached, indication that beam recovery is failed, reconfiguration failure, integrity check failure, handover failure; paragraph [0097], trigger condition such as target cells whose RSRP or RSRQ offset/thresholds are smaller compared to the serving cell, validity timer; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered before expiry of T310 and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands; paragraph [0104], CHO triggers are associated with multiple measurement quantities, trigger conditions associated with a specific measurement quantity; paragraph 0161], Table 8, triggerCondition and t380; paragraph [0163], condition that the selected cell has a valid (unexpired) CHO configuration);
starting the first timer in response to initiating conditional handover to a target cell (Deenoo, Fig. 2, timers T310 and then T311 started in response to detecting radio link problem; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of an impairment event such as lower layer problems, random access problem, indication that maximum RLC retransmission has been reached, indication that beam recovery is failed, reconfiguration failure, integrity check failure, handover failure; paragraph [0103], CHO may be triggered based on detection of problems, a new timer for problem detection, or an offset to timer T310, may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands; paragraph [0155], initiation of conditional reconfiguration, the WTRU shall (re)start timer T380);
determining that the handover to the target cell fails (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a reconfiguration failure or handover failure; paragraph [0092], perform conditional reconfiguration if WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration for any suitable target cell that satisfies cell selection criteria; paragraph [0116], failure of handover procedure) in response to expiration of the first timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a reconfiguration failure or handover failure, after detection of an impairment event such as T310 expiry; paragraph [0095], WTRU may select a cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0101], start a timer for a procedure and then stop the timer if procedure succeeds, or upon timer expiry, the WTRU may perform CHO; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands; paragraph [0116], failure of handover procedure; paragraph [0157], if T380 associated with stored Reconfig expires, perform action for stored Reconfig; paragraph [0159], upon T310 expiry, perform actions of reconfiguration);
in response to determining that the handover to the target cell fails, selecting another cell having a channel quality that satisfies a threshold target cell quality (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a handover failure; paragraph [0092], perform conditional reconfiguration if WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration for any suitable target cell that satisfies cell selection criteria; paragraph [0092], target cell satisfies a selection criteria such as quality of the target cell above a predetermined threshold; paragraph [0095], performing cell selection; paragraph [0097], trigger condition such as target cells whose RSRP or RSRQ offset/thresholds are smaller compared to the serving cell, WTRU selects a target cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists if the quality of the target cell is above a predefined threshold; paragraph [0100], perform CHO if T310 expires); and
determining whether to perform conditional handover to the another cell in response to the another cell being associated with a conditional handover message or to perform reestablishment with the another cell in response to the another cell not being associated with the conditional handover message (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a handover failure; paragraph [0092], perform conditional reconfiguration if WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration for any suitable target cell that satisfies cell selection criteria, paragraph [0095], perform reestablishment if the selected cell for which conditional reconfiguration does not exist; paragraph [0100], perform CHO if T310 expires).
Deenoo does not explicitly disclose that the conditional handover message comprises a first timer, and determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails in response to expiration of the first timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded, in response to determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails, selecting another cell having a channel quality that satisfies a threshold target cell quality.
Deenoo ‘4326 discloses a method comprising:
receiving a conditional handover message (Deenoo ‘4326, Fig. 2, conditional reconfiguration message 206; paragraph [0078], configuration or reconfiguration message may include parameters associated with trigger condition such as timers, offsets, thresholds; paragraph [0080], Cell1 may transmit a conditional reconfiguration message 206 to WTRU; paragraph [0085], configuration message may include a handover command; paragraph [0090], WTRU may receive a configuration message from a source cell), wherein the conditional handover message indicates a trigger condition and comprises a first timer, wherein the trigger condition is logically separate from the first timer and both are configured within the conditional handover message (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0078], configuration or reconfiguration message may include parameters associated with trigger condition such as timers, offsets, thresholds; paragraph [0079], configuration of a trigger condition; paragraph [0080], WTRU configured with triggers, Cell1 may transmit a conditional reconfiguration and then validity timer and monitoring for trigger condition may be initiated; paragraph [0122], triggering condition based on comparison between measurement and threshold; paragraph [0171], when a trigger condition is satisfied, the WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration and start a timer, such as timer T304, and then if the procedure is unsuccessful before expiry of the timer T304, the WTRU may consider that the conditional reconfiguration has failed);
starting the first timer (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0080], validity timer initiated by the WTRU; paragraph [0110], WTRU may start monitoring the trigger conditions in relation to a conditional reconfiguration when the quality of the serving cell goes below a threshold and WTRU may continue monitoring the trigger conditions associated with the conditional reconfiguration before expiry of a timer) in response to performing conditional handover to a target cell (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0080], validity timer and monitoring for trigger condition may be initiated by the WTRU; paragraph [0080], when a trigger condition is satisfied; paragraph [0110], WTRU may start monitoring the trigger conditions in relation to a conditional reconfiguration when the quality of the serving cell goes below a threshold and WTRU may continue monitoring the trigger conditions associated with the conditional reconfiguration before expiry of a timer; paragraph [0171], when a trigger condition is satisfied, the WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration and start a timer, such as timer T304, and then if the procedure is unsuccessful before expiry of the timer T304, the WTRU may consider that the conditional reconfiguration has failed);
determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails in response to expiration of the first timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0080], validity timer and monitoring for trigger condition may be initiated by the WTRU; paragraph [0110], WTRU may start monitoring the trigger conditions in relation to a conditional reconfiguration when the quality of the serving cell goes below a threshold and WTRU may continue monitoring the trigger conditions associated with the conditional reconfiguration before expiry of a timer; paragraph [0171], when a trigger condition is satisfied, the WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration and start a timer, such as timer T304, and then if the procedure is unsuccessful before expiry of the timer T304, the WTRU may consider that the conditional reconfiguration has failed; paragraph [0178], upon expiry of a guard timer such as timer T304, the WTRU may determine that the conditional reconfiguration has failed);
in response to determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails, selecting another cell having a channel quality that satisfies a threshold target cell quality (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0078], configuration or reconfiguration message may include parameters associated with trigger condition such as timers, offsets, thresholds; paragraph [0110], WTRU may start monitoring the trigger conditions in relation to a conditional reconfiguration when the quality of the serving cell goes below a threshold; paragraph [0122], triggering condition based on comparison between measurement and threshold; paragraph [0206], when a conditional reconfiguration fails, WTRU may use a conditional reconfiguration associated with the next best target cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Deenoo ‘4326 into the system of Deenoo in order to provide faster reaction time and improved power saving both at the network and the WTRU (Deenoo ‘4326; [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses further comprising:
selecting, by the UE, the target cell for performing conditional handover (Deenoo, paragraph [0078], WTRU configured with multiple condition reconfigurations associated with multiple target cells; paragraph [0095], WTRU may select a cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses, further comprising:
applying, by the UE, a configuration of the conditional handover message for performing conditional handover to the target cell (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses further comprising:
Initiating random access to a target base station (Deenoo, paragraph [0116], WTRU determines that the trigger condition has been satisfied and initiates a random access procedure with the target eNB).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses wherein the conditional handover message further comprises a second timer corresponding to the another cell (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0078], WTRU configured with multiple condition reconfigurations associated with multiple target cells; paragraph [0095], WTRU may select a cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands), and the method further comprises:
determining that a trigger condition corresponding to the another cell is met when the first timer expires (Deenoo, paragraph [0101], upon timer expiry, the WTRU may perform CHO; paragraph [0157], if T380 associated with stored Reconfig expires, perform action for stored Reconfig; paragraph [0159], upon T310 expiry, perform actions of reconfiguration); and
starting the second timer corresponding to the another cell (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0078], WTRU configured with multiple condition reconfigurations associated with multiple target cells; paragraph [0095], WTRU may select a cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses wherein the conditional handover message further comprises a multiple-handover timer and the multiple-handover timer is started with the first timer (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0078], WTRU configured with multiple condition reconfigurations associated with multiple target cells; paragraph [0095], WTRU may select a cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0101], upon timer expiry, the WTRU may perform CHO; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands; paragraph [0157], if T380 associated with stored Reconfig expires, perform action for stored Reconfig; paragraph [0159], upon T310 expiry, perform actions of reconfiguration).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses further comprising: performing when a multiple-handover timer expires. (Deenoo, Fig. 2, T311 Re-establishment when timer T310 expires; paragraph [0099], timer for enhanced reestablishment procedure).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses wherein the conditional handover message further comprises a maximum number of handover, and the method further comprises: performing reestablishment when a counter is equal to or greater than the maximum number of handover (Deenoo, paragraph [0099], maximum number of transmissions and counter for enhanced reestablishment procedure).
Regarding claim 11, Deenoo discloses a method at a user equipment (UE) (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU detects an occurrence of an impairment event that satisfies a trigger condition), the method comprising:
receiving a conditional handover message, wherein the conditional handover message indicates a trigger condition and is associated with a first timer that is started after the trigger condition is met, wherein the trigger condition is logically separate from the first timer and is configured within the conditional handover message (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of an impairment event such as lower layer problems, random access problem, indication that maximum RLC retransmission has been reached, indication that beam recovery is failed, reconfiguration failure, integrity check failure, handover failure; paragraph [0097], trigger condition such as target cells whose RSRP or RSRQ offset/thresholds are smaller compared to the serving cell, validity timer; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered before expiry of T310 and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands; paragraph [0104], triggers conditions associated with a specific measurement quantity; paragraph 0161], Table 8, triggerCondition and t380; paragraph [0163], condition that the selected cell has a valid (unexpired) CHO configuration);
determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a reconfiguration failure or handover failure, after an impairment event such as T310 expiry; paragraph [0092], perform conditional reconfiguration if WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration for any suitable target cell that satisfies cell selection criteria; paragraph [0116], failure of handover procedure) in response to expiration of the first timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a reconfiguration failure or handover failure; paragraph [0095], WTRU may select a cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0101], start a timer for a procedure and then stop the timer if procedure succeeds, or upon timer expiry, the WTRU may perform CHO; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands; paragraph [0116], failure of handover procedure; paragraph [0157], if T380 associated with stored Reconfig expires, perform action for stored Reconfig; paragraph [0159], upon T310 expiry, perform actions of reconfiguration);
in response to determining that the handover to the target cell fails, selecting another cell having a channel quality that satisfies a threshold target cell quality (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a handover failure; paragraph [0092], perform conditional reconfiguration if WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration for any suitable target cell that satisfies cell selection criteria; paragraph [0092], target cell satisfies a selection criteria such as quality of the target cell above a predetermined threshold; paragraph [0095], performing cell selection; paragraph [0097], trigger condition such as target cells whose RSRP or RSRQ offset/thresholds are smaller compared to the serving cell, WTRU selects a target cell for which a conditional reconfiguration exists if the quality of the target cell is above a predefined threshold); and
determining whether to perform conditional handover to the another cell in response to the another cell being associated with a conditional handover message or to perform reestablishment with the another cell in response to the another cell not being associated with the conditional handover message (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of a handover failure; paragraph [0092], perform conditional reconfiguration if WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration for any suitable target cell that satisfies cell selection criteria, paragraph [0095], perform reestablishment if the selected cell for which conditional reconfiguration does not exist).
Deenoo does not explicitly disclose that the conditional handover message comprises a first timer, and determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails in response to expiration of the first timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded, in response to determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails, selecting another cell having a channel quality that satisfies a threshold target cell quality.
Deenoo ‘4326 discloses a method comprising:
receiving a conditional handover message (Deenoo ‘4326, Fig. 2, conditional reconfiguration message 206; paragraph [0078], configuration or reconfiguration message may include parameters associated with trigger condition such as timers, offsets, thresholds; paragraph [0080], Cell1 may transmit a conditional reconfiguration message 206 to WTRU; paragraph [0085], configuration message may include a handover command; paragraph [0090], WTRU may receive a configuration message from a source cell), wherein the conditional handover message indicates a trigger condition and comprises a first timer that is started after the trigger condition is met, wherein the trigger condition is logically separate from the first timer and both are configured within the conditional handover message (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0078], configuration or reconfiguration message may include parameters associated with trigger condition such as timers, offsets, thresholds; paragraph [0079], configuration of a trigger condition; paragraph [0080], WTRU configured with triggers, Cell1 may transmit a conditional reconfiguration and then validity timer and monitoring for trigger condition may be initiated; paragraph [0122], triggering condition based on comparison between measurement and threshold; paragraph [0171], when a trigger condition is satisfied, the WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration and start a timer, such as timer T304, if the procedure is unsuccessful before expiry of the timer T304, the WTRU may consider that the conditional reconfiguration has failed);
determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails in response to expiration of the first timer while the conditional handover to the target cell has not succeeded (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0080], validity timer and monitoring for trigger condition may be initiated by the WTRU; paragraph [0110], WTRU may start monitoring the trigger conditions in relation to a conditional reconfiguration when the quality of the serving cell goes below a threshold and WTRU may continue monitoring the trigger conditions associated with the conditional reconfiguration before expiry of a timer; paragraph [0171], when a trigger condition is satisfied, the WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration and start a timer, such as timer T304, and then if the procedure is unsuccessful before expiry of the timer T304, the WTRU may consider that the conditional reconfiguration has failed; paragraph [0178], upon expiry of a guard timer such as timer T304, the WTRU may determine that the conditional reconfiguration has failed);
in response to determining that the conditional handover to the target cell fails, selecting another cell (Deenoo ‘4326, paragraph [0206], when a conditional reconfiguration fails, WTRU may use a conditional reconfiguration associated with the next best target cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Deenoo ‘4326 into the system of Deenoo in order to provide faster reaction time and improved power saving both at the network and the WTRU (Deenoo ‘4326; [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses wherein an offset is added in the channel quality related with the conditional handover message (Deenoo, paragraph [0096], WTRU configured to add a positive offset when evaluating RSRP, RSRQ).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses wherein determining to perform conditional handover further comprises: determining to perform conditional handover to the target cell in response to the target cell being associated with the conditional handover message and the channel quality associated with the target cell meeting a threshold (Deenoo, paragraph [0092], WTRU may perform conditional reconfiguration procedure if the WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration or any target cell and the target cell satisfies a cell selection criteria).
Claims 29-31 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 11-13, respectively. Deenoo further discloses the user equipment comprising a process in (Deenoo, Fig. 1B, processor 118).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Deenoo and Deenoo ‘4326, particularly Deenoo discloses wherein the conditional handover message indicates a threshold target cell quality and determining whether to perform conditional handover to the another cell is further in response to a channel quality associated with the target cell meeting the threshold target cell quality (Deenoo, paragraph [0003], WTRU is configured with a conditional reconfiguration which includes a trigger condition and a configured target cell; paragraph [0091], WTRU may be configured to determine whether to perform a reestablishment procedure or a conditional reconfiguration procedure after detection of an impairment event such as lower layer problems, random access problem, indication that maximum RLC retransmission has been reached, indication that beam recovery is failed, reconfiguration failure, integrity check failure, handover failure; paragraph [0097], trigger condition such as target cells whose RSRP or RSRQ offset/thresholds are smaller compared to the serving cell; paragraph [0098], timers T301, T301, T304, T300; paragraph [0103], CHO triggered before expiry of T310 and new timer may be set to facilitate triggering a handover based on CHO commands; paragraph [0104], triggers conditions associated with a specific measurement quantity).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 201902901 discloses ceasing to initiate a conditional handover when time exceeds a predetermined threshold.
WO 2018175721 discloses that to apply configuration information to begin handover when a trigger condition is met prior to expiration of a timer.
/A.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413