DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6-11 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) Park does not teach configuring the single PUCCH resource set for a codebook of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback.
Examiner traverse the argument:
As to point (1), it is known in the art that HARQ-ACK codebook defines the structure and size of the ACK/NACK feedback. Park’s teaching of PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback in paragraph 0091 shows that the configuring of a single PUCCH resource set for a codebook of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback. See also paragraph 0120.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, US 2019/0103947, in view of Kundu et al (Kundu), US 2019/0239216, and further in view of Shen et al (Shen), EP3869880A1, and further in view of Liang et al (Liang), GB2581391A.
Park, Kunda, Shen and Liang were cited in the previous office action.
As per claim 6, Park teaches the invention including a terminal comprising:
A receiver that receives a higher layer parameter to configure a first PUCCH resource set for a first HARQ-ACK codebook and a second PUCCH resource set for a second HARQ-ACK codebook (figures 3B and 4; pp. 0016-0017, 0040, 0091: a BS/network may configure a single PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback or a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, each having one or more PUCCH resources, for each UE, and then transmit the configured one or more PUCCH resource sets to each UE through UE-specific higher layer signaling… Paragraph 0040 states higher layer signaling includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling for transmitting RRC information containing an RRC parameter), and downlink control information to schedule a downlink shared channel (pp. 0016-0017, 0092: the BS may transmit corresponding DL assignment DL control information including PUCCH resource indication information for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback to the UE in response to a corresponding PDSCH reception when transmitting PDSCH scheduling control information for the UE through a PDCCH);
A controller that determines, a PUCCH resource set for a HARQ-ACK for the downlink shared channel from among the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set (Figures 9 and 13; pp. 0145, 0184-0186: when the first PUCCH 420, the second PUCCH 422 and… HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of the first PDSCH transmission 410, the second PDSCH transmission 412 and… through the first DL assignment DL control information, the second DL assignment DL control information, and… the UE may transmit the plurality of HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information for the first to the third PDSCH 410, 412 and 414 through the first to the third PUCCHs 420, 422 and 424, respectively. And Paragraph 0184 states a controller 1320; and the controller 1320 is configured to control overall operations of the UE in order to indicate HARQ information through one or the plurality of the UL control channels by the UL control channel resource indication information); and
A transmitter that transmits the HARQ-ACK based on the determined PUCCH resource set and a sub-slot configuration (Figure 13; pp. 0081, 0099, 0187: for an UL transmission and/or reception, the serving cell activates and uses one UL BWP in any UL subframe/slot/mini-slot of one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE. Paragraph 0099 states configuring one or more PUCCH resource sets for … each UE for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of the UE, one or more separate resource sets may be configured for each UL BWP configured for the UE and the transmitter 1330 transmits UL control information and data, messages through a corresponding channel to the BS),
Wherein the higher layer parameter associated with the determined PUCCH resource set with the sub-slot configuration (pp. 0040, 0081, 0084, 0087, 0090-0092, 0100: higher layer signaling includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling for transmitting RRC information containing an RRC parameter. Paragraph 0091 states a BS/network may configure a single PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback or a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, each having one or more PUCCH resources, for each UE, and then transmit the configured one or more PUCCH resource sets to each UE through UE-specific higher layer signaling).
Park does not teach the controller to determine the PUCCH resource set for a HARQ-ACK for the downlink shared channel from among the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set based on a number of uplink control information (UCI) bits; and wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Kundu taught to determine PUCCH resource set based on the UCI bits (pp. 0034, 0057-0058, 0081, 0096-0097). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Park and Kundu and further utilize UCI payload size to select corresponding PUCCH resource sets.
Park and Kundu do not teach wherein the sub-slot configuration is relative to a first symbol of a PUCCH resource in the determined PUCCH resource set; and wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Shen teaches wherein the sub-slot configuration is relative to a first symbol of a PUCCH resource in the determined PUCCH resource set (pp. 0004-0007, 0060, 0063, 0065, 0073-0076; Tables 2-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Park, Kundu and Shen in order to configure PUCCH resource sets for sub-slot based PUCCH resource allocation using a time-domain offset for a starting symbol.
Park, Kundu and Shen do not teach wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Liang teaches that in 3GPP Release 16, it has been agreed that a UE is able to simultaneously construct at least two HARQ-ACK codebooks supporting multiple PUCCHs (page 4, lines 11-28, page 13, lines 29-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Park, Kundu, Shen and Liang in order to construct multiple HARQ-ACK codebooks to support multiple PUCCHs and further utilize Release 16 or later UEs to perform simultaneous construction of the codebooks.
As per claim 7, Park, Kundu, Shen and Liang teach the invention as claimed in claim 6. Park further teaches wherein the higher layer (or radio resource control) parameter includes a parameter to set a length of the sub-slot to seven symbols (slot) (pp. 0134: the CORESET allocation information (e.g., frequency resource allocation information) may include 24 PRBs, and the monitoring occasion may be set to monitor the corresponding 24 PRBs “every slot”, “every 2 slots”, or “every 7 symbols” for a UE. To monitor the corresponding 24 PRBs every 7 symbols may mean to configure two monitoring occasions in the one slot).
As per claim 8, Park, Kundu, Shen and Liang teach the invention as claimed in claim 6. Park further teaches wherein the sub-slot (mini slot) configuration is such that, all sub-slots are configured with a common PUCCH resource set (bandwidth part (BWP)) (Figure 3B; pp. 0081: an UL transmission and/or reception, the serving cell activates and uses one UL BWP in any UL subframe/slot/mini-slot of one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE. or an UL transmission and/or reception, the serving cell activates and uses one UL BWP in any UL subframe/slot/mini-slot of one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE. or an UL transmission and/or reception, the serving cell activates and uses one UL BWP in any UL subframe/slot/mini-slot of one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE).
As per claim 9, Park, Kundu, Shen and Liang teach the invention as claimed in claim 6. Park further teaches wherein the downlink control information includes identifying information to specify a PUCCH resource from the determined PUCCH resource set, the identifying information being three bits (pp. 0083, 0091-0092, 0096, 0122: the UE may receive, from the BS, DL control information containing information that indicates one of one or more BWPs contained in the one or more BWP sets configured by the BWP configuration information. The UE may receive the… PUCCH through the one BWP indicated in the DL control information; In the NR, a BS/network may configure a single PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback or a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, each having one or more PUCCH resources, for each UE, and then transmit the configured one or more PUCCH resource sets to each UE through UE-specific higher layer signaling; one or multiple PUCCH resource sets for an UE through the UE-specific higher layer signaling are configured, the BS may transmit corresponding DL assignment DL control information including PUCCH resource indication information; the UE may receive, from the BS, DL control information that includes information indicating one, for the transmission of the UL control information, of UL control channel resources configuring UL control channel resource sets; the UE may transmits the multiplexed ACK/NACK feedback information with N.sub.UCI bit(s) through the slot #(n+k). For example, the UE may transmit 3 bits of the multiplexed ACK/NACK feedback information), and wherein the transmitter transmits the HARQ-ACK using a PUCCH resource specified by the identifying information (pp. 0122: the UE may transmit the multiplexed ACK/NACK feedback information with N.sub.UCI bit(s) through the slot #(n+k). For example, the UE may transmit 3 bits of the multiplexed ACK/NACK feedback information). Kundu also further teaches wherein the downlink control information includes identifying information to specify a PUCCH resource from the determined PUCCH resource set, the identifying information being three bits (pp. 0081), and wherein the transmitter transmits the HARQ-ACK using a PUCCH resource specified by the identifying information (pp. 0081).
As per claim 10, Park teaches the invention including a communication method executed by a termina, the method comprising:
Receiving a higher layer parameter to configure a first PUCCH resource set for a first HARQ-ACK codebook and a second PUCCH resource set for a second HARQ-ACK codebook (figures 3B and 4; pp. 0016-0017, 0040, 0091: a BS/network may configure a single PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback or a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, each having one or more PUCCH resources, for each UE, and then transmit the configured one or more PUCCH resource sets to each UE through UE-specific higher layer signaling… Paragraph 0040 states higher layer signaling includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling for transmitting RRC information containing an RRC parameter), and downlink control information to schedule a downlink shared channel (pp. 0016-0017, 0092: the BS may transmit corresponding DL assignment DL control information including PUCCH resource indication information for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback to the UE in response to a corresponding PDSCH reception when transmitting PDSCH scheduling control information for the UE through a PDCCH);
Determining, a PUCCH resource set for a HARQ-ACK for the downlink shared channel from among the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set (Figures 9 and 13; pp. 0145, 0184-0186: when the first PUCCH 420, the second PUCCH 422 and… HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of the first PDSCH transmission 410, the second PDSCH transmission 412 and… through the first DL assignment DL control information, the second DL assignment DL control information, and… the UE may transmit the plurality of HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information for the first to the third PDSCH 410, 412 and 414 through the first to the third PUCCHs 420, 422 and 424, respectively. And Paragraph 0184 states a controller 1320; and the controller 1320 is configured to control overall operations of the UE in order to indicate HARQ information through one or the plurality of the UL control channels by the UL control channel resource indication information); and
Transmitting the HARQ-ACK based on the determined PUCCH resource set and a sub-slot configuration (Figure 13; pp. 0081, 0099, 0187: for an UL transmission and/or reception, the serving cell activates and uses one UL BWP in any UL subframe/slot/mini-slot of one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE. Paragraph 0099 states configuring one or more PUCCH resource sets for … each UE for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of the UE, one or more separate resource sets may be configured for each UL BWP configured for the UE and the transmitter 1330 transmits UL control information and data, messages through a corresponding channel to the BS),
Wherein the higher layer parameter associated with the determined PUCCH resource set with the sub-slot configuration (pp. 0040, 0081, 0084, 0087, 0090-0092, 0100: higher layer signaling includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling for transmitting RRC information containing an RRC parameter. Paragraph 0091 states a BS/network may configure a single PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback or a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, each having one or more PUCCH resources, for each UE, and then transmit the configured one or more PUCCH resource sets to each UE through UE-specific higher layer signaling).
Park does not teach the controller to determine the PUCCH resource set for a HARQ-ACK for the downlink shared channel from among the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set based on a number of uplink control information (UCI) bits; and wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Kundu taught to determine PUCCH resource set based on the UCI bits (pp. 0034, 0057-0058, 0081, 0096-0097). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Park and Kundu and further utilize UCI payload size to select corresponding PUCCH resource sets.
Park and Kundu do not teach wherein the sub-slot configuration is relative to a first symbol of a PUCCH resource in the determined PUCCH resource set; and wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Shen teaches wherein the sub-slot configuration is relative to a first symbol of a PUCCH resource in the determined PUCCH resource set (pp. 0004-0007, 0060, 0063, 0065, 0073-0076; Tables 2-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Park, Kundu and Shen in order to configure PUCCH resource sets for sub-slot based PUCCH resource allocation using a time-domain offset for a starting symbol.
Park, Kundu and Shen do not teach wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Liang teaches that in 3GPP Release 16, it has been agreed that a UE is able to simultaneously construct at least two HARQ-ACK codebooks supporting multiple PUCCHs (page 4, lines 11-28, page 13, lines 29-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Park, Kundu, Shen and Liang in order to construct multiple HARQ-ACK codebooks to support multiple PUCCHs and further utilize Release 16 or later UEs to perform simultaneous construction of the codebooks.
As per claim 11, Park teaches the invention including a base station comprising:
A transmitter that transmits a higher layer parameter to configure a first PUCCH resource set for a first HARQ-ACK codebook and a second PUCCH resource set for a second HARQ-ACK codebook (figures 3B and 4; pp. 0016-0017, 0040, 0091: a BS/network may configure a single PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback or a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, each having one or more PUCCH resources, for each UE, and then transmit the configured one or more PUCCH resource sets to each UE through UE-specific higher layer signaling… Paragraph 0040 states higher layer signaling includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling for transmitting RRC information containing an RRC parameter), and downlink control information to schedule a downlink shared channel (pp. 0016-0017, 0092: the BS may transmit corresponding DL assignment DL control information including PUCCH resource indication information for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback to the UE in response to a corresponding PDSCH reception when transmitting PDSCH scheduling control information for the UE through a PDCCH);
A controller that determines, a PUCCH resource set for a HARQ-ACK for the downlink shared channel from among the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set (Figures 9 and 13; pp. 0145, 0184-0186: when the first PUCCH 420, the second PUCCH 422 and… HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of the first PDSCH transmission 410, the second PDSCH transmission 412 and… through the first DL assignment DL control information, the second DL assignment DL control information, and… the UE may transmit the plurality of HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information for the first to the third PDSCH 410, 412 and 414 through the first to the third PUCCHs 420, 422 and 424, respectively. And Paragraph 0184 states a controller 1320; and the controller 1320 is configured to control overall operations of the UE in order to indicate HARQ information through one or the plurality of the UL control channels by the UL control channel resource indication information); and
A receiver that receives the HARQ-ACK based on the determined PUCCH resource set and a sub-slot configuration (Figure 13; pp. 0081, 0099, 0187: for an UL transmission and/or reception, the serving cell activates and uses one UL BWP in any UL subframe/slot/mini-slot of one or more UL BWPs configured for the UE. Paragraph 0099 states configuring one or more PUCCH resource sets for … each UE for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of the UE, one or more separate resource sets may be configured for each UL BWP configured for the UE and the transmitter 1330 transmits UL control information and data, messages through a corresponding channel to the BS),
Wherein the higher layer parameter associated with the determined PUCCH resource set with the sub-slot configuration (pp. 0040, 0081, 0084, 0087, 0090-0092, 0100: higher layer signaling includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling for transmitting RRC information containing an RRC parameter. Paragraph 0091 states a BS/network may configure a single PUCCH resource set including one or more PUCCH resources for HARQ ACK/NACK feedback or a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, each having one or more PUCCH resources, for each UE, and then transmit the configured one or more PUCCH resource sets to each UE through UE-specific higher layer signaling).
Park does not teach the controller to determine the PUCCH resource set for a HARQ-ACK for the downlink shared channel from among the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set based on a number of uplink control information (UCI) bits; and wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Kundu taught to determine PUCCH resource set based on the UCI bits (pp. 0034, 0057-0058, 0081, 0096-0097). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Park and Kundu and further utilize UCI payload size to select corresponding PUCCH resource sets.
Park and Kundu do not teach wherein the sub-slot configuration is relative to a first symbol of a PUCCH resource in the determined PUCCH resource set; and wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Shen teaches wherein the sub-slot configuration is relative to a first symbol of a PUCCH resource in the determined PUCCH resource set (pp. 0004-0007, 0060, 0063, 0065, 0073-0076; Tables 2-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Park, Kundu and Shen in order to configure PUCCH resource sets for sub-slot based PUCCH resource allocation using a time-domain offset for a starting symbol.
Park, Kundu and Shen do not teach wherein the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook are generated simultaneously. Liang teaches that in 3GPP Release 16, it has been agreed that a UE is able to simultaneously construct at least two HARQ-ACK codebooks supporting multiple PUCCHs (page 4, lines 11-28, page 13, lines 29-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Park, Kundu, Shen and Liang in order to construct multiple HARQ-ACK codebooks to support multiple PUCCHs and further utilize Release 16 or later UEs to perform simultaneous construction of the codebooks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al, CN111278124A
Takeda et al, US 2022/0201735
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
March 4, 2026