DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/02/2026.
Claims 1- 8, 11- 22, 38- 44, 47, 51, 53, are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 38-44, 47, 51, 53 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and few claims had been canceled previously.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 04/02/2026 , with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See KIM et al. (US 20230284264 A1; hereinafter as “KIM4264”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-17, 38-40, 47, 51, 53, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKKARAKARAN et al. (US 20180110074 A1 ; hereinafter as “AKKARAKARAN”) in view of KIM et al. (US 20230284264 A1; hereinafter as “KIM4264”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to AKKARAKARAN unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 38, AKKARAKARAN teaches, An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see fig. 6: UE 110 with Processor and Memory. Aforesaid UE is in wireless communication with eNB 105 in fig. 7 as shown in Fig.1 ), comprising:
One or more processors (see fig. 6 UE with Processor ),
memory coupled with the One or more processors (see fig. 6 where UE with Memory and processor are connected ); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the One or more processors to cause the apparatus (see fig. 6: UE’s memory and processor are interconnected :” UE 110 may include a variety of components, some of which have already been described above, but including components such as one or more processors 612, memory 616, and transceiver 602 in communication via one or more buses 644, which may operate in conjunction with modem 140 and RACH component 150 to execute a RACH procedure at UE 110. Further, the one or more processors 612, modem 140, memory 616, transceiver 602, RF front end 688 and one or more antennas 665, may be configured to support voice and/or data calls (simultaneously or non-simultaneously) in one or more radio access technologies. ”: [0078]-[0080] ) to:
receive, from a network entity (==eNB), a configuration (==RACH configuration information 172 ) identifying one or more link quality thresholds associated with selection between a two-step random access procedure and a four-step random access procedure, wherein the one or more link quality thresholds correspond to a reference signal received power (RSRP) of one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE in determining a link quality for communication between the UE and the network entity ( UE 110 receive RACH configuration information 172 from base station 105. Aforesaid RACH configuration information 172 indicates to UE 110 the conditions under which UE 110 selects a four-step or a two-step RACH procedure.: [0029], [0062]; aforesaid UE receives “ RACH configuration information 172 via a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) broadcasted from base station 105. The MIB/SIB may indicate conditions under which UE 110 may select a 2-step or a 4-step RACH procedure. That is, the MIB/SIB may indicate conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure. UE 110 needs to receive (e.g., from base station 105) at least the MIB, SIB1, and/or SIB2 prior to initiating the RACH procedure at the UE. For example, the conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure may be based on RSRP values of a synchronization signal or a reference signal received from base station 105.”[0063];” the RACH configuration information 172 may indicate conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure. UE 110 may measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization channel or a reference signal received from base station 105, compare the measured RSRP value with a threshold value, and/or select the two-step or four-step RACH procedure based on whether the RSRP value is above or below the threshold value. ”; [0064]), and
wherein the configuration (==RACH configuration information 172 ) further identifies one or more transmission parameters for a first message of the two-step random access procedure (aforesaid RACH configuration information 172 “ indicates conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure ”: [0062]; “UE 110 may need higher transmit power for the two-step RACH procedure (as compared to the four-step RACH procedure) as higher transmit power is needed to create a link (e.g., UL-SCH) (==a first message) with base station 105 ”: [0065]);
determine the RSRP based at least in part on measurements made of at least one of the one or more reference signals ( “UE may determine RSRP values of a synchronization signal or a reference signal received from the base station and select the two-step RACH procedure if the RSRP value of the synchronization signal or the reference signal is equal to or above a threshold and select the four-step RACH procedure if the RSRP value of the synchronization signal or the reference signal is below the threshold ”; [0024]; “For example, the conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure may be based on RSRP values of a synchronization signal or a reference signal received from base station 105. ”: {0063]);
compare the RSRP to a corresponding at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds (compared RSRP to the threshold value: “UE 110 may measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization channel or a reference signal received from base station 105, compare the measured RSRP value with a threshold value, ”: [0063]) ; and
select, for establishing a connection with the network entity (==eNB), the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on whether the RSRP satisfies the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds (see fig. 5: element 510: select at the UE a two step or a four step RACH procedure, “In an aspect, at block 510, methodology 500 may include selecting, at the UE, a two-step or a four-step RACH procedure, wherein the selecting is based at least on RACH configuration information received from a base station or the RACH configuration information at the UE. For example, in an aspect, UE 110 and/or RACH component 150 may include selecting component 154, such as a specially programmed processor module, or a processor executing specially programmed code stored in a memory, to select the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure based at least on RACH configuration information 172 received from base station 105. The RACH configuration information 172 indicates conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure. ”: [0062]; “UE 110 may select the two-step RACH procedure if UE 110 measures the RSRP of the synchronization or the reference signal and determines that the RSRP value of the synchronization or the reference signal is equal to or above the threshold value. In an additional or optional aspect, UE 110 may select the four-step RACH procedure if the RSRP value of the synchronization signal or the reference signal is below the threshold value. The threshold value, for example, may be configured by base station 105 and indicated to UE 110 via RACH configuration information 172. ”: [0064]; see fig. 520, “In an aspect, at block 520, methodology 500 may include transmitting, from the UE, one or more messages associated with the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure based on the selection. For example, in an aspect, UE 110 and/or RACH component 150 may include transmitting component 156, such as a specially programmed processor module, or a processor executing specially programmed code stored in a memory, to transmit, from UE 110, one or more messages based on the selection. For instance, UE 110 may transmit message 13 (422) if UE 110 selects the two-step RACH procedure and UE 110 may transmit message 1 (312), message 3 (332) if UE 110 selects the four-step RACH procedure, and accordingly receive messages from base station 105. ”: [0067]).
AKKARAKARAN does not expressively disclose:
wherein selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is further based at least in part on UE capabilities corresponding to the one or more transmission parameters.
KIM4264 teaches:
wherein selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is further based at least in part on UE capabilities corresponding to the one or more transmission parameters (see fig. 18 element S1801, S1802, where terminal (==UE in claim ) receives 2-step configuration information and 4-step configuration information from Base Station (==network entity in claim ); Aforesaid terminal selects either 2-step : “terminal may receive one or more of the system information, the 4-step configuration information, and the 2-step configuration information from the base station”… When the 4-step configuration information and the 2-step configuration information are received, the type of the random access procedure performed by the terminal may be determined based on the channel quality (==terminal’s capabilities corresponding to the one or transmission parameters ) between the terminal and the base station (S1803). [0493]-[0495]; NOTE: terminal measure quality or channel quality (ie. RSRP) in received signal. Based on RSRP, terminal performs 2-stepm random access or 4-stepm random access process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of AKKARAKARAN to include the above recited limitations as taught by KIM4264. The suggestion/motivation would be to improving communication performance between terminal device and the base station (KIM4264; [abstract], [0006]).
Regarding claim 1, AKKARAKARAN teaches, A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a configuration identifying one or more link quality thresholds associated with selection between a two-step random access procedure and a four-step random access procedure, wherein the one or more link quality thresholds correspond to a reference signal received power (RSRP) of one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE in determining a link quality for communication between the UE and the network entity, and wherein the configuration further identifies one or more transmission parameters for a first message of the two-step random access procedure; determining the RSRP based at least in part on measurements made of at least one of the one or more reference signals; comparing the RSRP to a corresponding at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds; and selecting, for establishing a connection with the network entity, the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on whether the RSRP satisfies the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds, wherein selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is further based at least in part on UE capabilities corresponding to the one or more transmission parameters (Regarding claim 1, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 38).
Regarding claim 51, AKKARAKARAN teaches, An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: means for receiving, from a network entity, a configuration identifying one or more link quality thresholds associated with selection between a two-step random access procedure and a four-step random access procedure, wherein the one or more link quality thresholds correspond to a reference signal received power (RSRP) of one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE in determining a link quality for communication between the UE and the network entity, and wherein the configuration further identifies one or more transmission parameters for a first message of the two-step random access procedure; means for determining the RSRP based at least in part on measurements made of at least one of the one or more reference signals; means for comparing the RSRP to a corresponding at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds; and means for selecting, for establishing a connection with the network entity, the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on whether the RSRP satisfies the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds, wherein selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is further based at least in part on UE capabilities corresponding to the one or more transmission parameters. (Regarding claim 51, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 38).
Regarding claim 53, AKKARAKARAN teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to: receive, from a network entity, a configuration identifying one or more link quality thresholds associated with selection between a two-step random access procedure and a four-step random access procedure, wherein the one or more link quality thresholds correspond to a reference signal received power (RSRP) of one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE in determining a link quality for communication between the UE and the network entity, and wherein the configuration further identifies one or more transmission parameters for a first message of the two-step random access procedure; determine the RSRP based at least in part on measurements made of at least one of the one or more reference signals; compare the RSRP to a corresponding at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds; and select, for establishing a connection with the network entity, the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on whether the RSRP satisfies the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds, wherein selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is further based at least in part on UE capabilities corresponding to the one or more transmission parameters (Regarding claim 51, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 38).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, AKKARAKARAN teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein receiving, from the network entity (==eNB), the configuration further comprises: receiving the configuration via radio resource control signaling ( core network 115/eNB connects with UE in RRC: “ RRC protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 110 and the base stations 105. The RRC protocol layer may also be used for core network 115 support of radio bearers for the user plane data. At the physical (PHY) layer, the transport channels may be mapped to physical channels.”; [0036] ).
Regarding claim 3, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, AKKARAKARAN teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein receiving, from the network entity, the configuration further comprises: receiving the configuration via system information signaling ( “ UE 110 may receive RACH configuration information 172 via a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) broadcasted from base station 105. ”: [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, AKKARAKARAN teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more reference signals to be measured comprise a synchronization signal block, a channel state information reference signal, a positioning reference signal, a system information block, or a combination thereof ( “ UE 110 may receive RACH configuration information 172 via a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) broadcasted from base station 105 ”: [0063] ; “ UE receives the RACH configuration information from the base station in a master information (MIB) or a system information block (SIB).”: Claim 9).
Regarding claim 13, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 in view of MA teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, AKKARAKARAN teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more transmission parameters comprise a modulation coding scheme, a waveform, a bandwidth, a payload size, a numerology, or a combination thereof ( “UE 110 may be configured to establish one or more wireless communication links 135 with one or more base stations 105. The wireless communication links 135 shown in wireless communication network 100 may carry uplink (UL) transmissions from a UE 110 to a base station 105, or downlink (DL) transmissions, from a base station 105 to a UE 110. The downlink transmissions may also be called forward link transmissions while the uplink transmissions may also be called reverse link transmissions. Each wireless communication link 135 may include one or more carriers, where each carrier may be a signal made up of multiple sub-carriers (e.g., waveform signals of different frequencies) modulated according to the various radio technologies described above ”; [0038]; “Moreover, the waveform selection for the two-step RACH procedure, for example, OFDM and SC-FDM may follow rules that are similar to message 3 (332) of the four-step RACH procedure. For instance, the MIB and/or SIBs may indicate different thresholds for the two-step and four-step RACH procedures based on RSRP values. The thresholds, for example, may be semi-statically configured in MIB/SIBs. The MIB and/or SIBs may also indicate diversity scheme for message 13 (412) data and message 13 (412) may include beam-training signal request. ”: [0072]).
Regarding claim 11, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, KIM4264 teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the UE supports one or more transmission parameters; and establishing the connection via the two-step random access procedure based at least in part on determining that the UE supports the one or more transmission parameters ([0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 12, AKKARAKARAN and KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 11 as set forth above. Further, KIM4264 teaches, The method of claim 11, further comprising: determining that the UE does not support one or more transmission parameters; and establishing the connection via the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on determining that the UE does not support the one or more transmission parameters ( “ The terminal may perform the 2-step random access procedure when a first execution condition is satisfied, and may perform the 4-step random access procedure when a second execution condition is satisfied”: [0040]; “ When an execution condition (e.g., allowance condition) of the 2-step random access procedure is met, the terminal may perform the 2-step random access procedure. For example, if a quality of a radio channel measured by the terminal is equal to or greater than a threshold (e.g., reference value) configured by the base station, the terminal may perform the 2-step random access procedure. When the quality of the radio channel measured by the terminal is less than a threshold configured by the base station, the terminal may perform the 4-step random access procedure. For example, the quality of the radio channel may be measured as a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ). Alternatively, the quality of the radio channel may be measured as other parameters (e.g., a reference parameter for measuring a quality of a radio section between the base station (or, cell or TRP) and the terminal).”: [0287]-[0289]).
Regarding claim 14, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, KIM4264 teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the UE supports one or more transmission parameters, wherein the selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is random based at least in part on determining that the UE supports the one or more transmission parameters (see fig. 18 element S1801, S1802, where terminal (==UE in claim ) receives 2-step configuration information and 4-step configuration information from Base Station (==network entity in claim ); Aforesaid terminal selects either 2-step : “terminal may receive one or more of the system information, the 4-step configuration information, and the 2-step configuration information from the base station”… When the 4-step configuration information and the 2-step configuration information are received, the type of the random access procedure performed by the terminal may be determined based on the channel quality (==terminal’s capabilities corresponding to the one or transmission parameters ) between the terminal and the base station (S1803). [0493]-[0495]; NOTE: terminal measure quality or channel quality (ie. RSRP) in received signal. Based on RSRP, terminal performs 2-stepm random access or 4-stepm random access process).
Regarding claim 15, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Furthermore, KIM4264 teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the
Regarding claim 16, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 15 as set forth above. Furthermore, KIM4264 teaches, The method of claim 15, wherein receiving the indication of system loading information comprises: receiving the indication as an increase or a decrease of the one or more link quality thresholds ( “ Each of the 4-step configuration information and the 2-step configuration information may include configuration information of a PRACH occasion, information of an RA preamble sequence, a channel quality threshold (e.g., RSRP threshold), and the like. When the CFRA scheme is used, each of the 4-step configuration information and the 2-step configuration information may include configuration information of a PRACH occasion, an RA preamble sequence, and the like which are allocated dedicatedly to the terminal. The configuration information of the PRACH occasion may include information of a periodicity, time domain resource information, and frequency domain resource information of the PRACH occasion. The 2-step configuration information for the CFRA scheme may further include configuration information of the RA payload for the RA MSG-A. Here, the configuration information of the RA payload may be determined based on a mapping relationship (e.g., one-to-one mapping relationship) between the transmission resources of the RA preamble and the transmission resources of the RA preamble. The two-step configuration information for the CFRA scheme may include one or more of the information elements #1 to #6 described below. The 4-step configuration information or the 2-step configuration information for the CFRA scheme may be transmitted to the terminal using a dedicated control message.”: [0480]).
Regarding claim 17, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 15 as set forth above. Furthermore, AKKARAKARAN teaches, The method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving the indication of system loading information via radio resource control signaling ( RRC connection setup between termina and base station : [0496], “ he terminal 621 may operate in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. In this case, the terminal 621 may perform a search operation (e.g., monitoring operation) of a downlink channel by using parameter(s) obtained from the system information or the common Resource-Config information. In addition, the terminal 621 operating in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state may attempt to access by using an uplink channel (e.g., a random access channel or a physical layer uplink control channel). Alternatively, the terminal 621 may transmit control information by using an uplink channel.”: [0153]-[0154]).
Regarding claim 47, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 39-40 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 2-3 .
Claims 4-7, 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 and further in view of MA et al. (US 20210352733 A1; hereinafter as “MA”, which is a Foreign Application Priority January 25, 2019).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to AKKARAKARAN unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 4, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above.
AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 does not expressively disclose:
receiving, from the network entity, a second configuration updating the one or more link quality thresholds corresponding to the RSSP of the one or more reference signals,
wherein the selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is based at least in part on whether the link quality satisfies at least one of the one or more updated RSRP thresholds.
MA teaches,
receiving, from the network entity (“receiving, by a terminal, random access configuration information from a network side device ”: [abstract]; [0043]), a second configuration updating the one or more link quality thresholds corresponding to the RSSP of the one or more reference signals ( “after the random access manner for the n.sup.th random access (==second configuration updating) has been executed for a preset time, selecting a random access manner different from that for the n.sup.th random access;”: [0062]; : “The service requirement refers to quality of service (QoS) of an initiated service, and if a short delay is required, a priority of the two-step random access manner is set to be higher. The signal quality refers to a measured quantity such as reference signal received power (RSRP) of a reference signal measured by the terminal. The deployment scenario indicates whether it is a new radio deployment (NR-U) scenario. The cell size indicates whether the cell is a small cell. The channel occupancy information is used to indicate the current busyness of a channel. ”: [0071]; “In this embodiment, the network side device sends the random access configuration information to the terminal, and the terminal selects the random access manner according to the random access configuration information, so that users using the 2-step RACH and the 4-step RACH in a system can be properly distributed in quantity, and a probability of random access collisions is reduced, thereby ensuring communication quality of the terminal. ”: [0070]),
wherein the selection of the two-step random access procedure or the four-step random access procedure is based at least in part on whether the link quality satisfies at least one of the one or more updated RSRP thresholds (selection of 2-steps or four steps process based on priority/threshold: [0077]-[0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 to include the above recited limitations as taught by MA. The suggestion/motivation would be to properly allocate the two access mechanisms and prevent a RACH resource from being restricted (MA; [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above.
AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 does not expressively disclose:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the network entity, a second configuration indicating the selection of the four-step random access procedure; and establishing the connection with the network entity via the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on the second configuration.
MA teaches,
receiving, from the network entity, a second configuration indicating the selection of the four-step random access procedure ( “after the random access manner for the n.sup.th random access (==second configuration updating) has been executed for a preset time, selecting a random access manner different from that for the n.sup.th random access;”: [0062]; : “The service requirement refers to quality of service (QoS) of an initiated service, and if a short delay is required, a priority of the two-step random access manner is set to be higher. The signal quality refers to a measured quantity such as reference signal received power (RSRP) of a reference signal measured by the terminal. The deployment scenario indicates whether it is a new radio deployment (NR-U) scenario. The cell size indicates whether the cell is a small cell. The channel occupancy information is used to indicate the current busyness of a channel. ”: [0071] “when the random access parameter is greater than the random access threshold, the four-step random access manner may be selected ”: [0086]; ; and
establishing the connection with the network entity via the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on the second configuration (“when the random access parameter is greater than the random access threshold, the four-step random access manner may be selected”:[0086], connection stablished at the end: [0062], [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 to include the above recited limitations as taught by MA. The suggestion/motivation would be to properly allocate the two access mechanisms and prevent a RACH resource from being restricted (MA; [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above.
AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 does not expressively disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein establishing the connection with the network entity further comprises: establishing the connection via the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on the RSRP not satisfying the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds.
MA teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein establishing the connection with the
establishing the connection via the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on the RSRP not satisfying the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds (“a sending module configured to send random access configuration information to a terminal, where the random access configuration information includes at least a random access threshold.”: [0015], “when the random access parameter is less than the random access threshold (==not satisfying the at least one or the one or more link quality threshold ), the four-step random access manner is selected. ”: [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 to include the above recited limitations as taught by MA. The suggestion/motivation would be to properly allocate the two access mechanisms and prevent a RACH resource from being restricted (MA; [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above.
AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 does not expressively disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein establishing the connection with the network entity further comprises: establishing the connection via the four-step random access procedure based at least in part on the RSRP not satisfying the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds.
MA teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein establishing the connection with the network entity further comprises:
establishing the connection via the two-step random access procedure based at least in part on the RSRP satisfying the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds (“ when the random access parameter is less than the random access threshold, the two-step random access manner is selected; or when the random access parameter is greater than the random access threshold, the two-step random access manner is selected, ”: [0048]; “ after the random access manner for the n.sup.th random access has been executed for a preset time, when both of the two random access manners can meet a preset priority requirement, selecting a random access manner different from that for the n.sup.th random access;”: [0063]; QoS/RSRP is refence signal met before connection : [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of AKKARAKARAN in view of KIM4264 to include the above recited limitations as taught by MA. The suggestion/motivation would be to properly allocate the two access mechanisms and prevent a RACH resource from being restricted (MA; [0004]).
Regarding claim 41-44, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4-7 .
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKKARAKARAN and KIM4264 and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220248475 A1; hereinafter as “Lee”, which is earliest Foreign Application Priority May3, 2019).
Regarding claim 18, AKKARAKARAN and KIM4264 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. AKKARAKARAN and KIM4264 does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying that a random access procedure is to be repeated; determining a quality of service associated with a logical channel for which the random access procedure is to be repeated; and
re-establishing the connection with the network entity via the two- step random access procedure, the four-step random access procedure, or both based at least in part on the determined quality of service associated with the logical channel.
Lee teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying that a random access procedure is to be repeated (UE identify process to be repeated: [0198]);
determining a quality of service associated with a logical channel for which the random access procedure is to be repeated (: [0198]); and
re-establishing the connection with the network entity via the two- step random access procedure, the four-step random access procedure, or both based at least in part on the determined quality of service associated with the logical channel ( “ To this end, before the UE capable of supporting the 2-step RACH procedure and the 4-step RACH procedure decides to which one of RACH procedures will be performed, a reference for determining whether the UE can attempt to perform the 2-step RACH procedure may be established between the UE and the BS. That is, a threshold serving as a reference for performing the 2-step RACH procedure may be established between the UE and the BS. The UE may measure the quality of a channel to be used for transmission of the Msg A. When the measurement quality satisfies the condition of the threshold, the UE may attempt to perform the 2-step RACH procedure. When the measured quality does not satisfy the condition of the threshold, the UE may attempt to perform the 4-step RACH procedure. In this case, the threshold may refer to information included in the RACH configuration (system information or RRC signaling) for the 2-step RACH procedure, and may be transmitted from the BS to the UE.”: [0198]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of AKKARAKARAN and KIM4264 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee. The suggestion/motivation would be for UE in a wireless communication system which can smoothly transmit and receive signals for performing the 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure (Lee : [0017]]).
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411