DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on October 14, 2025.
Claim 1 has been amended and is hereby entered.
Claims 12 – 15 and 17 – 20 have been cancelled previously.
Claims 1 – 11 and 16 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed October 14, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 6, 7, 11, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato as set forth in the office action filed July 18, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed October 14, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 2 – 5 and 8 – 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato and further in view of Ito as set forth in the office action filed July 18, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 – 11 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 6, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR20180012193A, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1, 6, 7, and 11, Cha teaches:
An organic light emitting device, comprising an anode, a cathode, and an emitting layer disposed between the anode and the cathode; wherein a hole transport layer and an electron blocking layer are disposed between the anode and the emitting layer ([0007]: “An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode provide opposite the anode, a light-emitting layer provided between the anode and the cathode; a first organic layer provided between the anode and the light-emitting layer; and a second organic layer provided between the first organic layer and the light-emitting layer.” In [0191], Cha teaches that the second organic layer includes a hole transport layer containing a compound represented by Chemical Formula 2. In [0199], Cha teaches that the second organic layer includes an electron suppression layer containing a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3. The electron suppression layer is interpreted as the claimed electron blocking layer.)
Wherein a material of the hole transport layer comprises one or more compounds having the following structural formula
(Cha teaches that the hole transport layer contains a compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 ([0191]). Cha teaches that Formula 2 is
([0014]). A particular compound taught by Cha within the scope of Formula 2 is
on page 9. While this compound contains a biphenylene group linking the two amine groups instead of the claimed phenylene group, Cha teaches that the linking group L5 can be an arylene group ([0098]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the biphenylene group with a phenylene group and arrive at the claimed compound.)
Wherein a material of the electron blocking layer comprises a compound having the following structural formula
(Cha teaches that the electron suppression layer contains a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 ([0199]). Cha teaches that Formula 3 is
([0021]). A particular compound within Formula 3 taught by Cha is
in [0158], which is the same compound as that claimed.)
As per claims 1, 6, 7, and 11, Cha does not specifically teach the HOMO and LUMO values of the hole transport layer and electron blocking layer, the hole mobility of the electron transport layer and the hole mobility of the electron blocking layer, the lowest triplet energy of the electron blocking layer. However, Cha teaches the same structures as disclosed by Applicant, therefore the corresponding properties and relationships are considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
Claims 2 – 5, and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR20180012193A, using the provided machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 6, 7, and 11 above and further in view of Ito (KR20150084562A, using the previously provided machine translation.
As per claims 2 – 5, and 8 – 10, Cha teaches that the emission layer preferably comprises an anthracene derivative as the host material and an aryl amine derivative as the dopant ([0230 – 0231) and that the arylamine derivative is preferably an aryldiamine derivative comprising a pyrene skeleton ([0231]). Cha does not specifically teach:
The dopant material comprises a compound having the following structural formula
The host material comprises a compound having the following structural formula
Ito teaches an OLED with an emission layer that contains a host material comprising an anthracene group represented by Formula 2 and a dopant comprising an aryldiamine pyrene compound represented by Formula 1A ([0005 – 0017]) & [0272 – 0273]). A particular host material within the scope of Formula 2 taught by Ito is
([0167]), which is the same as the host material claimed. Ito also teaches compounds, such as
([0154]), which contain methyl-substituted phenyl groups. Based on the definitions for the variables in Formula 1A, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add methyl groups and remove the phenyl linking group to arrive at the claimed dopant material.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed materials as the emission layer in the device of Cha because Cha teaches that compounds of the claimed structural formulas are predictably suitable for use in the emission layer of the device of Cha and Ito teaches that the combination of materials was known as predictably suitable for use in OLEDs to provide low driving voltage, high luminous efficiency and long life (Abstract).
As per claims 2 – 5, and 8 – 10, Cha is silent with respect to the HOMO levels of the dopant, the LUMO levels of the dopant, the LUMO levels of the host, the hole mobility of the host material, the electron mobility of the host material, and the electron mobility of the dopant material. As shown above, Cha teaches the same compounds as disclosed by Applicant for the electron blocking layer and the hole transport layer and Ito teaches the same compounds disclosed by Applicant as the host material and dopant material. Therefore, the properties of the HOMO levels of the dopant, the HOMO levels of the electron blocking layer, the LUMO levels of the electron blocking layer, the LUMO levels of the dopant, the LUMO levels of the host, the hole mobility of the electron blocking layer, the hole mobility of the host material, the electron mobility of the host material, the electron mobility of the dopant material, the electron mobility of the hole transport layer and the electron mobility of the electron blocking layer and relationships claimed are considered to naturally flow from the product of the prior art (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
As per claim 16, Ito teaches:
A display apparatus comprising the organic light emitting device ([0004] “The organic light emitting device emits blue, green, and red light according to a compound included in the light emitting layer to realize a full-color display.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the OLED of Cha in a display apparatus with the structure claimed because Ito teaches this application and device structure was known as predictably suitable for OLED devices prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789