Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are pending with claims 1-4 and 6-15 being examined. Claim 5 is canceled.
Response to Amendment
As to the claim amendments and remarks filed on 12/02/2025, the previous
specification objection is moot. Applicant directed Examiner to [0049] of the description to address the issue.
Applicant amended claims 1 and 7 for clarification.
The claim rejections over Sakashita have been modified in accord with the amendment.
As to the remarks, the examiner has found the applicant’s arguments not persuasive and will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita et al. (US 20130125671 A1; hereinafter “Sakashita” previous of record) in view of Oonuma et al. (US 6440369 B1; hereinafter “Oonuma”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakashita teaches an automatic analyzer (Sakashita; Title), comprising:
an aspiration nozzle (Sakashita; fig. 2. 205 and [0040] “suction nozzle”) whose position is fixed and that aspirates reaction liquid or a reagent (Sakashita; [0052] “a fixed, straight pipe is connected between the suction nozzle 205 and the detection container 202); and
a holding unit (Sakashita; [fig. 2. 211) that holds a plurality of containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 304, 305, 307) accommodating the reaction liquid or the reagent (Sakashita; fig. 3. 304, 305 and [0055] “the containers include liquids”), and that rotates and moves up and down (Sakashita; fig. 2. 210 and [0052] “transfer mechanism rotates and vertically drives the container”), wherein
the holding unit holds at least three of the plurality of containers is (Sakashita; fig. 3. 211, 304, 305, 307), an angle between adjacent containers is an integer multiple of a predetermined angle (Sakashita; fig. 3. 304, 305, 307 illustrates at least three containers at an angle between adjacent containers in a circumferential direction around a rotation center and [0053] “The container retaining member 211 may be configured so that individual containers are disposed around a rotation axis”).
Examiner notes that Sakashita’s containers are at an angle that appears to be in the same manner Applicant discloses [0027] “the angle is 45 degrees”, which is an integer of a predetermined angle.
Examiner also notes that Applicant does not provide any integer number values nor a predetermined angle value, therefore Sakashita meets the limitation,
the angle between adjacent containers being an angle between adjacent containers of the plurality of containers in a circumferential direction and an angle around a rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 3. 211, 304, 305, 307 and fig, 4. 304, 305 illustrates at least three containers at an angle between adjacent containers in a circumferential direction around a rotation center and [0053] “The container retaining member 211 may be configured so that individual containers are disposed around a rotation axis”), wherein the holding unit rotates based on the angle between adjacent containers (Sakashita; [0052] “the container retaining member (holding unit) transfer mechanism rotates and vertically drives the container retaining member”, and fig. 2. 205, 211, fig. 3. 211, 305 and [0075] “the container retaining member rotates to move the cleaning liquid container 305 to a location directly below suction nozzle 205.”). Sakashita’s fig. 2. 205, 211 and fig. 3. 211, 305 appears to illustrate the holding unit rotates based on the angle between adjacent containers, and
a reagent nozzle (Sakashita; fig. 3. 303) whose position is fixed and that supplies the reagent, wherein the reagent nozzle is fixed to a housing (Sakashita; [0073] “supply nozzle 303 is fixedly disposed”).
Sakashita fails to teach the reagent nozzle is fixed to a housing of the automatic analyzer, and an inter-nozzle angle is set such that the reagent nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when any one of the plurality of containers accesses to the aspiration nozzle, the inter-nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit.
However, Oonuma reaches the analogous art of an automatic analyzer (Oonuma; Title) that includes a housing (Oonuma; fig. 3. 40) and a reagent nozzle (Oonuma; fig. 3. 23) wherein the reagent nozzle is fixed to the housing of the automatic analyzer (Oonuma; fig. 3. 23, 40 illustrates the reagent nozzle appears to be fixed to the housing of the automatic analyzer), and an inter-nozzle angle is set such that the reagent nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when any one of the plurality of containers accesses to the aspiration nozzle (Oonuma; fig; 2. 22, 23), the inter-nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Oonuma; fig. 1. 13, 23, 45).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Sakashita’s reagent nozzle to be fixed to the housing as taught by Oonuma because Oonuma teaches an automatic analyzer (Oonuma; Title) that includes a housing (Oonuma; fig. 3. 40) and a reagent nozzle (Oonuma; fig. 3. 14) wherein the reagent nozzle is fixed to the housing of the automatic analyzer (Oonuma; fig. 3. 14, 21, 40).
Having the reagent nozzle fixed to the housing allows for structural stability and positional accuracy.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Sakashita’s inter-nozzle angle to be set such that the reagent nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when any one of the plurality of containers accesses to the aspiration nozzle, the inter-nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit as taught by Oonuma because Oonuma teaches an inter-nozzle angle is set such that the reagent nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when any one of the plurality of containers accesses to the aspiration nozzle (Oonuma; fig; 2. 22, 23), the inter-nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Oonuma; fig. 1. 13, 23, 45).
Having an inter-nozzle angle to be set such that the reagent nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when any one of the plurality of containers accesses to the aspiration nozzle, the inter-nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit prevents contact between the reagent nozzle and the container that does not access the reagent nozzle.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising: a plurality of reagent nozzles whose positions are fixed (Sakashita; [0073] “nozzle 303 is fixedly disposed” and [0075] “nozzle 302 is fixedly disposed”) and that respectively supply different types of reagents (Sakashita; [0055] “cleaning liquid supply nozzle 302 and a reaction auxiliary liquid supply nozzle 303”), wherein the plurality of containers include a plurality of reagent containers respectively accommodating different types of reagents (Sakashita; fig. 3. 211).
Examiner notes that Applicant does not provide embodiments nor illustrate a container that includes a plurality of reagent containers. Examiner will interpret Sakashita’s retaining member which includes a plurality of containers as Applicant’s container until further clarification is provided by Applicant, and
an angle between reagent nozzles (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303) is set to simultaneously supply different types of reagents from the reagent nozzles to the reagent containers. Sakashita teaches the reagent nozzles with an angle between the reagent nozzles, what the nozzles are used for is a matter of intended use,
the angle between adjacent reagent nozzles being an angle between adjacent reagent nozzles in the circumferential direction and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 3. 211, 302, 303 illustrates an angle between adjacent reagent nozzles in a circumferential direction around a rotation center of the holding unit).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the angle between the reagent nozzles is set such that, when a certain reagent container overlaps with a certain reagent nozzle, other reagent containers overlap with other reagent nozzles (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303, 304, 305, illustrates a certain reagent container 304 overlaps with reagent nozzle 303 and other reagent container 305 overlap with other reagent nozzle 302).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 3 (see above), wherein the angle between reagent nozzles is equal to the angle between adjacent containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303, 304, 305 illustrates an angle between reagent nozzles is equal to the angle between adjacent containers).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the inter-nozzle angle has a value obtained by multiplying a sum of the integer and a decimal number by the angle between adjacent containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303 illustrates the reagent nozzles circumferentially disposed with an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit).
Examiner notes that Sakashita’s inter-nozzle angles are at an angle that appears to be in the same manner Applicant discloses [0027] “the angle is 45 degrees.”
Examiner also notes that Applicant does not provide embodiments that provide a value obtained by multiplying a sum of an integer and a decimal number.
Examiner further notes that the invention is towards an automatic analyzer and not towards a mathematical concept.
Regarding claim 7, modified Sakashita teaches an automatic analyzer (Sakashita; Title), comprising:
an aspiration nozzle (Sakashita; fig. 2. 205 and [0040] “suction nozzle”) whose position is fixed and that aspirates reaction liquid or a reagent (Sakashita; [0052] “a fixed, straight pipe is connected between the suction nozzle 205 and the detection container 202); and
a holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 2. 211) that holds a plurality of containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 304, 305, 307) accommodating the reaction liquid or the reagent (Sakashita; fig. 3. 304, 305 and [0055] “the containers include liquids”), and that rotates and moves up and down (Sakashita; fig. 2. 210 and [0052] “transfer mechanism rotates and vertically drives the container”), wherein
the holding unit that holds at least three of the plurality of containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 211, 304, 305, 307), an angle between adjacent containers is an integer multiple of a predetermined angle (Sakashita; fig. 3. 304, 305, 307 illustrates at least three containers at an angle between adjacent containers in a circumferential direction around a rotation center and [0053] “The container retaining member 211 may be configured so that individual containers are disposed around a rotation axis”).
Examiner notes that Sakashita’s containers are at an angle that appears to be in the same manner Applicant discloses [0027] “the angle is 45 degrees”, which is an integer of a predetermined angle.
Examiner also notes that Applicant does not provide any integer number values nor a predetermined angle value, therefore Sakashita meets the limitation,
the angle between adjacent containers being an angle between adjacent containers of the plurality of containers in a circumferential direction and an angle around a rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 3. 211, 304, 305, 307 and fig, 4. 304, 305 illustrates at least three containers at an angle between adjacent containers in a circumferential direction around a rotation center and [0053] “The container retaining member 211 may be configured so that individual containers are disposed around a rotation axis”) wherein the holding unit rotates based on the angle between adjacent containers (Sakashita; [0052] “the container retaining member (holding unit) transfer mechanism rotates and vertically drives the container retaining member”, and fig. 2. 205, 211, fig. 3. 211, 305 and [0075] “the container retaining member rotates to move the cleaning liquid container 305 to a location directly below suction nozzle 205.”). Sakashita’s fig. 2. 205, 211 and fig. 3. 211, 305 appears to illustrate the holding unit rotates based on the angle between adjacent containers, and
a reagent nozzle whose position is fixed and that supplies the reagent (Sakashita; [0073] “supply nozzle 303 is fixedly disposed), wherein a container includes a reagent container accommodating the reagent (Sakashita; fig. 3. 211 and [0051] “cleaning liquid container 305 for retaining the cleaning liquid), and
Examiner notes that Applicant does not provide embodiments nor illustrate a container that includes a reagent container. Examiner will interpret Sakashita’s retaining member which includes a plurality of containers as Applicant’s container until further clarification is provided by Applicant.
Sakashita fails to teach the reagent nozzle is fixed to a housing of the automatic analyzer, and an inter-nozzle angle is set such that the aspiration nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when the reagent is supplied from the reagent nozzle to the reagent container, the inter- nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit.
However, Oonuma reaches the analogous art of an automatic analyzer (Oonuma; Title) that includes a housing (Oonuma; fig. 3. 40) and a reagent nozzle (Oonuma; fig. 3. 23) wherein the reagent nozzle is fixed to the housing of the automatic analyzer (Oonuma; fig. 3. 14, 40 illustrates the reagent nozzle appears to be fixed to the housing of the automatic analyzer), and an inter-nozzle angle is set such that the aspiration nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when the reagent is supplied from the reagent nozzle to the reagent container (Oonuma; fig. 2. 13, 23), the inter- nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Oonuma; fig. 1. 13, 23, 45).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Sakashita’s reagent nozzle to be fixed to the housing as taught by Oonuma because Oonuma teaches an automatic analyzer (Oonuma; Title) that includes a housing (Oonuma; fig. 3. 40) and a reagent nozzle (Oonuma; fig. 3. 14) wherein the reagent nozzle is fixed to the housing of the automatic analyzer (Oonuma; fig. 3. 14, 40).
Having the reagent nozzle fixed to the housing allows for structural stability and positional accuracy.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Sakashita’s inter-nozzle angle to be set such that the aspiration nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when the reagent is supplied from the reagent nozzle to the reagent container, the inter- nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit as taught by Oonuma because Oonuma teaches an inter-nozzle angle is set such that the aspiration nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when the reagent is supplied from the reagent nozzle to the reagent container (Oonuma; fig. 2. 13, 23), the inter- nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Oonuma; fig. 1. 13, 23, 45).
Having an inter-nozzle angle set to be set such that the aspiration nozzle is positioned between the plurality of containers when the reagent is supplied from the reagent nozzle to the reagent container, the inter- nozzle angle being an angle between the reagent nozzle and the aspiration nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit prevents contact between the reagent nozzle and the container that does not access the reagent nozzle.
Regarding claim 8, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the containers are arranged according to an order of accessing to the aspiration nozzle. Sakashita teaches the containers and the aspiration nozzle, how the containers are arranged is a matter of intended use.
Regarding claim 9, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising: a plurality of reagent nozzles (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303) whose positions are fixed (Sakashita; [0073] “nozzle 303 is fixed and [0075] “nozzle 302 is fixed”) and that supply the reagent (Sakashita; [0074] “the nozzle is connected to a liquid supply”),
wherein the plurality of containers include a plurality of detachable containers that accommodate the reagent and are detachable from the holding unit (Sakashita; [0051] teaches the container retaining member has containers 304, 305 and 307 mounted which makes Sakashita’s containers detachable).
Examiner notes that Sakashita’s detachable containers illustrated in Sakashita fig. 3. 304, 305 and 307 are detachable in similar manner as Applicant illustrates in fig. 2. 206, 207 and 208.
Examiner also notes that what the detachable containers accommodate is a matter of intended use. Applicant does not illustrate or disclose a container includes a plurality of detachable container therefore, Sakashita meets the limitation until further clarification is provided by Applicant,
a sum of an angle between end nozzles comprising the aspiration nozzle and the plurality of reagent nozzles (Sakashita; fig. 2. 205 and fig. 3. 302, 303 and fig. 4. 304, 305) and an angle between end containers comprising the plurality of detachable containers is equal to or less than 360 degrees (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303 and fig. 4. 304, 305 illustrates the end nozzle and the end container in what appears to be a “pie section” arrangement and the sum of these angles would be equal or less than 360 degrees).
Examiner notes the limitation “a sum of an angle between end nozzles comprising the aspiration nozzle and the plurality of reagent nozzles” is not disclosed by Applicant.
Examiner notes the limitation “an angle between end containers comprising the plurality of detachable containers” is not disclosed by Applicant.
Examiner notes that Applicant does not provide embodiments that provide a value of 360 degrees obtained by a sum of an angle between end nozzles and an angle between containers,
the angle between end nozzles being an angle from one end nozzle to another end nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303 illustrates an angle between end nozzles being an angle from one end nozzle to another end nozzle and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit).
Examiner notes that Sakashita discloses [0055] that nozzle 302 replenishes, implying nozzle 302 functions as both an aspiration nozzle and a reagent nozzle,
the angle between end containers is an angle from one end detachable container to another end detachable container and an angle round the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 4. 304, 305 illustrates an angle from one end container to another end detachable container and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit).
Examiner notes Sakashita teaches a container retaining member where the containers 304, 304 are mounted at an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita ;fig. 3. 211, 304, 305 and [0051]).
Examiner further notes that the invention is towards an automatic analyzer ant not towards a mathematical concept.
Regarding claim 10, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 7 (see above), further comprising:
a plurality of reagent nozzles (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303) whose positions are fixed (Sakashita; [0073] “nozzle 303 is fixed and [0075] “nozzle 302 is fixed”) and that supply the reagent (Sakashita; [0074] “the nozzle is connected to a liquid supply”), wherein the plurality of containers include a plurality of reagent containers respectively accommodating different types of reagents (Sakashita; fig. 3. 304, 305 illustrates a plurality of reagent containers). Sakashita teaches a plurality of reagent containers, what the reagent containers are used for is a matter of intended use.
Examiner notes Applicant does not illustrate or disclose a container includes a plurality of detachable container therefore, Sakashita meets the limitation until further clarification is provided, an angle between reagent nozzles is set to simultaneously supply different types of reagents from the reagent nozzles to the reagent containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303, 304, 305 illustrates an angle between reagent nozzles and the reagent containers, Sakashita’s nozzles and reagent containers angles overlap which would allow for simultaneous supply of liquid), what the nozzles are used for is a matter of intended use, the angle between adjacent reagent nozzles being an angle between adjacent reagent nozzles in the circumferential direction and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303 illustrates an angle between end nozzles and the plurality of reagent nozzles around the rotation center of the holding unit).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 10 (see above), wherein the angle between the reagent nozzles is set such that, when a certain reagent container overlaps with a certain reagent nozzle, other reagent containers overlap with other reagent nozzles (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303, 304, 305 illustrates an angle between reagent nozzles and the reagent containers that overlap).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the angle between reagent nozzles is equal to the angle between adjacent containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303, 304, 305 illustrates an angle between reagent nozzles is equal to the angle between adjacent containers).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the inter-nozzle angle has a value obtained by multiplying a sum of an integer and a decimal number by the angle between adjacent containers (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303 illustrates the reagent nozzles circumferentially disposed with an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit).
Examiner notes that Applicant does not provide embodiments that provide a value of 360 degrees obtained by a sum of an angle between end nozzles and an angle between containers.
Regarding claim 14, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the containers are arranged according to an order of accessing to the aspiration nozzle. Sakashita teaches the containers and the aspiration nozzle, how the containers are arranged is a matter of intended use.
Regarding claim 15, modified Sakashita teaches the automatic analyzer according to claim 7 (see above), further comprising:
a plurality of reagent nozzles (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303) whose positions are fixed (Sakashita; [0073] “nozzle 303 is fixed and [0075] “nozzle 302 is fixed”) and that supply the reagent (Sakashita; [0074] “the nozzle is connected to a liquid supply”). Sakashita teaches a plurality of reagent nozzles, what they are used for is a matter of intended use,
wherein the container includes a plurality of detachable containers that accommodate the reagent and are detachable from the holding unit (Sakashita; [0051] teaches the container retaining member has containers 304, 305 and 307 mounted which would enable Sakashita’s containers to be detachable).
Examiner notes that Sakashita’s detachable containers illustrated in Sakashita fig. 3. 304, 305 and 307 are detachable in similar manner as Applicant illustrates in fig. 2. 206, 207 and 208.
Examiner also notes that what the detachable containers accommodate is a matter of intended use, and
a sum of an angle between end nozzles and an angle between end containers is equal to or less than 360 degrees (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303 and fig. 4. 304, 305 illustrates the end nozzle and the end container in what appears to be a “pie section” arrangement and the sum of these angles would be equal or less than 360 degrees).
Examiner notes that Applicant does not provide embodiments that provide a value of 360 degrees obtained by a sum of an angle between end nozzles and an angle between containers,
the angle between end nozzles being an angle from an end nozzle of one of the aspiration nozzle and the plurality of reagent nozzles to an end nozzle of the other one of the aspiration nozzle and the plurality of the reagent nozzles and an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 3. 302, 303 illustrates an angle between end nozzles and the plurality of reagent nozzles around the rotation center of the holding unit).
Examiner notes that Sakashita discloses [0055] that nozzle 302 replenishes, implying nozzle 302 functions as both an aspiration nozzle and a reagent nozzle, the angle between end containers is an angle from an end detachable container of one of the plurality of detachable containers to an end detachable container of other detachable containers of the plurality of detachable containers and an angle round the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita; fig. 4. 304, 305 illustrates an angle between end containers and the plurality of detachable containers around the rotation center of the holding unit).
Examiner notes Sakashita teaches a container retaining member where the containers 304, 304 are mounted at an angle around the rotation center of the holding unit (Sakashita ;fig. 3. 211, 304, 305 and [0051]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798