DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 12-13, 23-25, 28 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4 ln 2 “the foot, the calf or the thigh of the leg” should read ---a foot, a calf or a thigh of the leg---
In claim 5 ln 2-3 “the foot, the calf and/or the thigh of the leg” should read ---a foot, a calf and/or a thigh of the leg---
In claim 12 ln 1-2 “the sacral support connects to the hip section” should read ---the sacral support is configured to connect to the hip section---
In claim 13 ln 1-2 “the sacral support connects to the hip section” should read ---the sacral support is configured to connect to the hip section---
In claim 23 ln 2 “the foot, the calf or the thigh of the leg” should read ---a foot, a calf or a thigh of the leg---
In claim 24 ln 1 “the method of claim 20” should read ---the method of claim 22--- as claim 20 does not recite a method, and claim 22 provides the antecedent basis of the leg support
In claim 24 ln 2 “the foot, the calf and/or the thigh of the leg” should read ---a foot, a calf and/or a thigh of the leg---
In claim 25 ln 2 “the hip section” should read ---a hip section---
In claim 25 ln 4 “said tension” should read ---a tension---
In claim 25 ln 4 “between the leg and the hip section” should read ---between the leg support and the hip section---
In claim 28 ln 3 “the hip section” should read ---a hip section---
In claim 30 ln 2 “the hip section” should read ---a hip section---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “elastic mechanism” in claims 16 and 30 and “elastic medium” in claim 18 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 16 recites an elastic mechanism for connecting the leg and hip sections of the exoskeleton/load bearing structure, as the exoskeleton/ load bearing structure is not positively recited in the claim or the claims upon which it depends the elastic mechanism is not required of the claimed support system. As the elastic mechanism is not seen as a component of the support system limitations regarding the elastic mechanism are not seen as further limiting the scope of the claim upon which claim 16 depends. This issue persists in dependent claim 17.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 19-21, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakatani (US 2016/0331486 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakatani discloses a support system (#16 fig 2-4, abstract, #14 fig 2-4) for supporting a body weight of a user configured to be attached to a load bearing structure (#11, 21 12, 22, fig 2-4) worn by the user to assist the user in carrying a load by transferring the load down to the ground (par 0008 discloses the load bearing structure contacting the ground to support the device), the support system being configured to connect the user's body to the load bearing structure (see fig 5 showing support system component 16 connecting the user’s body, see also par 0050 disclosing element 14 as connecting the load bearing structure to the user at points such as the foot and legs of the user) for at least partially supporting the user's body weight (par 0042 “supports the buttocks”) by transferring the user's body weight to the ground through the load bearing structure, wherein when the user is standing up along a vertical direction, the support system connects at least one first point of connection on the user's body (see Nakatani annotated fig 5 below) to at least one second point of connection on the load bearing structure (see Nakatani annotated fig 5 below), with each first point of connection being lower than each second point of connection (see Nakatani annotated fig 5 below) in order to create an upward force along the vertical direction between the user's body and the load bearing structure for reducing an energetic cost of locomotion of the user wearing the load bearing structure (as the support system is disclosed to “support the buttocks” in par 0042 it is seen that an upward force is disclosed between the support components and the load bearing structure in order to provide the disclosed support for achieving the disclosed goal of holding a user’s standing posture for prolonged periods of time in par 0001, as par 0012 discloses the device being used allowing a user to walk it is seen that as the device supports a portion of the users body weight through the support system #16 the energetic cost of locomotion is reduced).
Nakatani annotated fig 5
Regarding claim 19, Nakatani discloses a load bearing structure (#11, 21 12, 22, fig 2-4) configured to be worn by a user to assist the user in carrying a load by transferring the load down to the ground (par 0008 discloses the load bearing structure contacting the ground to support the device), wherein the load bearing structure comprises the support system as defined in claim 1 (see claim 1 above, support system #16 fig 2-4) for connecting the user's body to the load bearing structure (see fig 5) for at least partially supporting the user's body weight by transferring the user's body weight to the ground through the load bearing structure and as such reducing an energetic cost of locomotion of the user wearing the load bearing structure (par 0042 discloses “support the buttocks” thus disclosing supporting the users body weight, as par 0012 discloses the device being used allowing a user to walk it is seen that as the device supports a portion of the users body weight through the support system #16 the energetic cost of locomotion is reduced).
Regarding claim 20, Nakatani discloses the load bearing structure of claim 19. Nakatani further discloses that the load bearing structure is an exoskeleton (see fig 2-5, par 0012).
Regarding claim 21, Nakatani discloses a method for reducing an energetic cost of locomotion of a user wearing a load bearing structure (#11, 21 12, 22, fig 2-4) configured to assist the user in carrying a load by transferring the load down to the ground (par 0042 discloses “support the buttocks” thus disclosing supporting the users body weight, as par 0012 discloses the device being used allowing a user to walk it is seen that as the device supports a portion of the users body weight through the support system #16 the energetic cost of locomotion is reduced, par 0008 discloses the load bearing structure contacting the ground to support the device thus disclosing transferring the load to the ground), the method comprising: further wearing a support system (#16 fig 2-4) configured to connect the user's body to the load bearing structure (see fig 5) for at least partially supporting the user's body weight by transferring the user's body weight to the ground through the load bearing structure (par 0042 discloses “support the buttocks” thus disclosing supporting the users body weight, par 0008 discloses the load bearing structure contacting the ground to support the device thus disclosing transferring the load to the ground); wherein when the user is standing up along a vertical direction, the support system allowing connecting at least one first point of connection on the user's body (see Nakatani annotated fig 5 above) to at least one second point of connection on the load bearing structure (see Nakatani annotated fig 5 above) with each first point of connection being lower than each second point of connection (see Nakatani annotated fig 5 above) in order to create an upward force along the vertical direction between the user's body and the load bearing structure (as the support system is disclosed to “support the buttocks” in par 0042 it is seen that an upward force is disclosed between the support components and the load bearing structure in order to provide the disclosed support for achieving the disclosed goal of holding a user’s standing posture for prolonged periods of time in par 0001).
Regarding claim 28, Nakatani discloses the method of claim 21. Nakatani further discloses providing a sacral support (#16 fig 2-4) configured to be received between the user's legs (see fig 5); and connecting the sacral support between a front portion and a back portion of a hip section (#11, 21 fig 2-4) of the load bearing structure (see Nakatani annotated fig 2 below).
Nakatani annotated fig 2
Regarding claim 29, Nakatani discloses the method of claim 28. Nakatani further discloses the sacral support is connectable to the hip section at two connection locations of the front portion and at two connection locations of the back portion of the hip section (see Nakatani annotated fig 2 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8, 11-13, 15, 18 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatani as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Vitiello (WO 2019/123374 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nakatani discloses the support system of claim 1. Nakatani further discloses the load bearing structure is an exoskeleton (see fig 2-5, par 0012) comprising at least a hip section (#11/21 fig 2-4) operatively connected to a leg section (#12 fig 2-4).
However, Nakatani is silent to at least one leg support configured to connect a leg of the user with the hip section of the load bearing structure. Nakatani instead discloses leg supports configured to connect a user’s leg with the leg section of the load bearing structure (see par 0050) and a support to connect a user’s pelvis/butt with the hip section (#16 fig 2-5).
Vitiello teaches a support system for wearing with an exoskeleton, wherein the support system involves at least one leg support (see #31 fig 4a-4b and wrap around users thigh connected to band 31) configured to connect a leg of the user with a hip section (#3 fig 4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a leg support connected to a hip section as taught by Vitiello on the support system/hip section (Nakatani: #11 fig 2-4) of Nakatani as doing so helps provide additional support to the users legs rather than just the user’s pelvis.
Regarding claim 3, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 2. Vitiello further teaches a pair of said at least one leg support, each leg support connecting one of the legs of the user to the hip section of the load bearing structure (see fig 4a-4b showing the leg supports located on both left and right legs of the user).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 2. Vitiello further teaches each leg support is configured to provide the first point of connection with a foot, a calf or a thigh of the leg (see fig 3-4b showing connection to a user’s thigh).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 2. Vitiello further teaches each leg support is configured to provide a plurality of said first point of connection with a foot, a calf and/or a thigh of the leg (see fig 3 showing two thigh wraps).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 2. Vitiello further teaches each of the leg supports comprises a supporting element (see wrap around users thigh connected to band 31 fig 4a-4b) configured to be connected to the respective user's leg, and a connecting element (#31 fig 4a-4b) extending from the supporting element to connect the supporting element with the load bearing structure (connected to load bearing structure when modified to be incorporated onto the system of Nakatani, connected to similar hip section #11 of Nakatani).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 6. Vitiello further teaches the connecting element comprises a connecting strap having an adjustable length (pg 7 ln 13-16 discloses strap 31 being elastic and deforming along a length direction, thus disclosing the strap being able to stretch and thereby adjust its length).
Regarding claim 8, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 6. Vitiello further teaches each supporting element comprises a flexible material configured for at least partially wrapping the user's leg for supporting the leg (see fig 3-4b showing the material conforming to a wrapping around a user’s leg/thigh).
Regarding claim 11, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 2. Nakatani further discloses a sacral support (#16 fig 2-4) configured to be received between the user's legs (see fig 5) between a front portion and a back portion of the user where the sacral support connects to the load bearing structure (see Nakatani annotated fig 2 reinserted below).
Re-inserted Nakatani annotated fig 2
Regarding claim 12, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 11. Nakatani further discloses the sacral support connects to the hip section at four connection locations of the hip section (see Nakatani annotated fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 13, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 11. Nakatani further discloses the sacral support connects to the hip section at two connection locations of the front portion and at two connection locations of the back portion of the hip section (see Nakatani annotated fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 11. Nakatani further discloses the sacral support comprises a textile material (par 0042 “net like”).
Regarding claim 18, Nakatani discloses the system of claim 1. Nakatani is silent to the support system comprises an elastic medium for storing potential energy during a loading response and a mid-stance of a human gait.
Vitiello teaches a support system for wearing with an exoskeleton, wherein the support system involves an elastic medium for storing potential energy during a loading response and a mid-stance of a human gait (#31 fig 3-4b, pg 7 ln 13-24 discloses 31 as an elastic strap pre-tensioned and being stretched when a user walks thus disclosing storing potential energy during loading and mid stance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the elastic medium and cooresponding leg connection of Vitiello on the system of Nakatani as doing so can help assist the user in walking with less effort.
Regarding claim 22, Nakatani discloses the method of claim 21. Nakatani does not expressly disclose the support system comprises a pair of leg supports, each leg support being configured for being connected to one of the legs of the user, the method comprising: connecting each leg support to each leg; and connecting each leg support to the load bearing structure.
Nakatani instead discloses leg supports configured to connect a user’s leg with the leg section of the load bearing structure (see par 0050) and a support to connect a user’s pelvis/butt with the hip section (#16 fig 2-5).
Vitiello teaches a support system for wearing with an exoskeleton, wherein the support system involves a pair of leg supports (see #31 fig 4a-4b and wrap around users thigh connected to band 31) each leg support being configured for being connected to one of the legs of the user, the method comprising: connecting each leg support to each leg (see fig 3-4b showing band wrapped around a user’s thighs); and connecting each leg support to a hip section (#3 fig 4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a leg support connected to a hip section as taught by Vitiello on the support system/hip section (Nakatani: #11 fig 2-4) of Nakatani as doing so helps provide additional support to the user’s legs rather than just the user’s pelvis.
Regarding claim 23, modified Nakatani discloses the method of claim 22. Vitiello further teaches connecting each leg support to each leg comprises providing the first point of connection with a foot, a calf or a thigh of the leg (see fig 3-4b showing connection to a user’s thigh).
Regarding claim 24, modified Nakatani discloses the method of claim 22. Vitiello further teaches connecting each leg support to each leg comprises providing a plurality of said first point of connection with a foot, a calf and/or a thigh of the leg (see fig 3 showing two thigh wraps).
Regarding claim 25, modified Nakatani discloses the method of claim 22. Vitiello further teaches each leg support is connected to a hip section of the load bearing structure (Vitiello: #3 fig 4a, #11 of Nakatani) with a connecting strap (#31 fig 4a-4b), the method further comprising: adjusting a length of the strap in order to adjust said tension between the leg and the hip section (pg 7 ln 13-24 discloses strap 31 being elastic and deforming along a length direction, thus disclosing the strap being able to stretch and thereby adjust its length, and adjusting the stretch/pull/length of the band adjusts the tension, ln 17 also discloses pre-tensioning the strap/band).
Regarding claim 26, modified Nakatani discloses the method of claim 22. Vitiello further teaches connecting each leg of the user comprises: at least partially wrapping each leg support around one of the user's leg (see fig 3-4b showing band wrapped around a user’s thighs).
Regarding claim 27, Nakatani discloses the method of claim d1. Nakatani is silent to the support system comprises an elastic medium, the method further comprising: storing potential energy during a loading response and a mid-stance of a human gait.
Vitiello teaches a support system for wearing with an exoskeleton, wherein the support system involves an elastic medium for storing potential energy during a loading response and a mid-stance of a human gait (#31 fig 3-4b, pg 7 ln 13-24 discloses 31 as an elastic strap pre-tensioned and being stretched when a user walks thus disclosing storing potential energy during loading and mid stance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the elastic medium and cooresponding leg connection of Vitiello on the system/method of Nakatani as doing so can help assist the user in walking with less effort.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Nakatani as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Asbeck (CN 104869969 A).
Regarding claim 9, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 6. Modified Nakatani does not expressly disclose each of the leg supports comprises a flexible polymeric material.
Asbeck teaches an exoskeletal support system utilizing leg supports made of flexible polymeric material (pg 22 par 3 discloses the outer layer elements made of for example fabric or mesh such as Kevlar, as Kevlar is a known flexible polymeric material it is seen that Asbeck discloses a flexible polymeric material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize materials such as Kevlar as taught by Asbeck on the leg supports of modified Nakatani as doing so provides a strong durable material for connection with the user.
Regarding claim 10, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 9. Asbeck further teaches each of the leg supports has a mesh structure made of the flexible polymeric material (pg 22 par 3 “fabric or mesh eg Kevlar thus disclosing Kevlar/ flexible polymeric mesh).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Nakatani as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Little (US 2011/0066088 A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 11. Nakatani is silent to the sacral support is removably connected to the load bearing structure.
Little teaches a support system for an exoskeleton with a Sacral support/harness (#96 fig 4) that is removably connected to the loadbearing structure/exoskeleton (see buckles connecting #96 and outer structure #10 fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate buckles as taught by Little on the sacral support of modified Nakatani as doing so allows for the sacral support to be selectively connected to the load bearing structure thus making it easier for a user to get into and out of the support system/loadbearing structure.
Claims 16-17 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Nakatani as applied to claim 2 above and Nakatani as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 108186293 A).
Regarding claim 16, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 2. Nakatani is silent to at least one elastic mechanism, each elastic mechanism being configured for connecting the leg section to the hip section of the exoskeleton in order to store energy during different gait phases of the user.
Zhang teaches an exoskeleton with an elastic mechanism (#310 and 303 fig 4, pg 9 first par “elastic actuator 303” and “latex rubber band 310”) configured for connecting two sections at a joint (#301, 302 at joint 304) in order to store energy during different gait phases of the user (see first paragraph of pg 9 and second paragraph of pg 11 disclosing the elastic mechanisms providing restoring forces after deformation thus disclosing the mechanisms storing energy when deformed/stretched).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate elastic mechanisms on the hip joint of modified Nakatani as taught by Zhang as doing so helps provide restoring forces to the joints thus assisting in walking.
Regarding claim 17, modified Nakatani discloses the system of claim 16. Zhang further teaches each of the elastic mechanisms are formed of an elastic strap (see fig 4 showing 303 as an elastic strap/band, and pg 9 first paragraph “latex rubber band 310”)
Regarding claim 30, Nakatani discloses the method of claim 21. Nakatani further discloses the load bearing structure further comprises a leg section (#12 fig 2-4) operatively connected to the hip section (#11/21 fig 2-4). Nakatani is silent to the method further comprising: connecting the leg section to the hip section of the load bearing structure with at least one elastic mechanism in order to store energy during different gait phases of the user.
Zhang teaches an exoskeleton with an elastic mechanism (#310 and 303 fig 4, pg 9 first par “elastic actuator 303” and “latex rubber band 310”) configured for connecting two sections at a joint (#301, 302 at joint 304) in order to store energy during different gait phases of the user (see first paragraph of pg 9 and second paragraph of pg 11 disclosing the elastic mechanisms providing restoring forces after deformation thus disclosing the mechanisms storing energy when deformed/stretched).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate elastic mechanisms on the hip joint of Nakatani as taught by Zhang as doing so helps provide restoring forces to the joints thus assisting in walking.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mahoney (US 2019/0160652 A1) discloses a load distributing exosuit utilizing elastic elements for storing energy
De Rossi (US 2017/0202724 A1) discloses an assistive flexible suit with connections along the thigh, calf and feet of the user
Johnson (US 2016/0166454 A1) discloses a body lift walker device disclosed to be attachable to an exoskeleton
Kornbluh (US 2014/0277739 A1) discloses an exosuit with mesh attachments to the user’s legs
Albert (US 2008/0070757 A1) discloses a device for lifting a user’s body weight while walking utilizing a sacral component/harness device
Agrawal (US 2006/0241539 A1) discloses an exoskeleton using elastic means for passive gravity balancing
/KIRA B DAHER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785