DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 has been amended to include former Claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 12/30/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10-14, 17, 19-22, 24, 25, 26, 28, 29, 31-34 under the Final have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the reference below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 14, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey (GB 2492175) and in view of Ikeda (JP 2020/138183) Chandler (US Pub.: 2018/0021768).
As to Claims 1, 21, 22 and 26, Chiffey describes a catalyst and a method of making the catalyst (abstract). The process combines an aqueous mixture of alumina with a slurry of copper exchanged zeolite and iron oxide (example 1, lines 25-30). The copper and iron modify the zeolite by ion-exchange (page 11, lines 1-5).
As to the milling feature, Chiffey explains that the base metals are milled prior to forming the slurry (page 11, lines 6-15).
As to the size, Chiffey explains that the d90 of the iron precursor is 10 microns (see example 1, lines 25-27).
Chiffey states that the iron is in the form of iron acetate (page 11, lines 1-3) or iron oxide (example 1, line 27), but does not state that iron is in the form of iron carbonate.
Ikeda teaches a catalytic composition (title). The reference explains that for the iron precursor, any form can be used, such as iron acetate, iron carbonate or iron oxide (page 3, lines 4-12) because all of these can be fired into iron (page 3, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an iron carbonate instead of iron acetate as the iron precursor, as taught by Ikeda for use with the catalyst of Chiffey because Ikeda explains that any of these iron salts can be fired to convert the iron into iron.
Chiffey teaches that the catalyst can be combined with alumina (see example 1, para. 2). This can be considered a binder. The binder is combined with the catalyst in a slurry (see example 1). This can be considered an admixture.
The references do not state that the binder has a BET specific surface area of 200-1,000 m2/g.
Chandler describes a catalyst that is washcoated on a substrate (para. 11, 7, abstract). The catalyst includes a zeolite composition (para. 12) that is metal-exchanged with a transition metal (para. 16) and combined with a binder (para. 21). The binder can be alumina has a specific surface area of 100-400 m2/g (para. 21). Chandler explains that use of binders depend upon its intended purposes and should take into account the catalyst surface, the substrate surface, intended reaction conditions of the catalyst (para. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an alumina binder that has a specific surface area of 100-400 m2/g, as taught by Chandler for use with the catalyst of Chiffey and Ikeda because use of these types of binders are known to be effective for use in a catalyst washcoat to produce a supported catalyst with expected and predictable results.
As to Claim 6, Chiffey teaches that the mixture can include stabilizers or promoters or dispersants (page 9, lines 25-26).
As to Claim 7, Chiffey teaches that the zeolite can be a FAU, a ZSM, ferrierite, mordenite, CHA, OFF, ERI, BETA or others (see page 8, lines 5-10).
As to Claims 25 and 33, Chiffey teaches that the catalyst slurry is deposited on a substrate (page 9, lines 27-30). The substrate can have parallel thin-walled channels with an inlet or outlet with a plurality of channels (page 6, lines 18-28). The coated substrate is then dried at 80-150 degrees C and then calcinated at 400-600 degrees C (page 10, lines 5-10).
As to Claim 28, Chiffey teaches that the substrate can be a flow-through filter (page 6, lines 17-20).
As to Claims 31 and 32, although the references cited do not specifically state the characteristics of the zeolite in terms of the tests described in Claims 31 and 32. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same catalyst would have the same characteristics when tested under the same parameters.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bergeal (US Pub.: 2017/0096922).
The references do not describe that the molar ratio of SiO2:Al2O3 is from 1-100.
Bergeal teaches a NOx absorber (title) that includes a molecular sieve modified with a metal (para. 26), such as copper (para. 32). The SAR in the molecular sieve can have a range of 10-200 (para. 50).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a molecular sieve with a SAR range of 10-200, as taught by Bergeal for use with Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler because this range is known to be effective for use in a NOx absorber.
Claim(s) 11, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hepburn (US Pat.: 5727385).
Chiffey teaches that the copper is modified in the zeolite in the form of an ion-exchange.
The references do not teach the amount of copper in the catalyst.
Hepburn describes a lean burn NOx trap (title). The catalyst can include a transition metal, such as copper (col. 3, lines 20-22) that is exchanged into a zeolite (col. 3, lines 23-25) in an amount of 0.1-10wt % (col. 3, lines 30-32).
Since Chiffey does not describe a copper loading amount by weight, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add copper in an amount of 0.1 to 10wt%, as taught by Hepburn for use with Chiffey and Ikeda and Chandler because Hepburn offers guidance into an effective amount of copper to add to the zeolite for effective use in a NOx trap catalyst.
Claim(s) 12, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Punke (CN 107849962).
Chiffey teaches that their d90 is 10 microns.
The references do not teach the D50 and the D90 features of the zeolite.
The catalyst particle size is adjusted so that it has a d90 that is 25% or less the average hole size of the wall substrate it attaches to (page 7, lines 7-14). The specific size of the catalyst, the d90, is from 0.5 to 20 micrometers (page 7, lines 7-14).
Although the references do not state that the zeolite alone has a d90 that is 25% or less than the average hole size of the wall substrate, such that it has a d90 of 0.5 to 20 micrometers, since the zeolite will be deposited on the substrate and the need to have the dimensions of the entire catalyst to fit 25% or less the average hole size of the wall substrate,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zeolite of Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler to within the d90 of 0.5 to 20 micrometers, as taught by Punke because this this size range effectively and predictable supports the catalyst within the pores of the substrate support.
As to Claim 20, Punke teaches that the solids content of the slurry is from about 39wt% (see embodiment 1). Some of the contents of the slurry may be ground (embodiment 1) and then slurry is then used to coat a substrate (embodiment 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a solid content of 39wt%, as taught by Punke, for use with the catalyst composition of Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler because this this size range effectively and predictable supports the catalyst within the pores of the substrate support.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sankar “Alkali Resistant Fe-Zeolite Catalysts for SCR. . “.
The references do not teach the BET surface area of the zeolite.
Sankar explains that the unique properties (high surface area and acidity) of Fe-zeolites could convey a good alkali tolerance in the reduction of NO in exhaust, especially for biomass fired power plants, unlike metal oxides like TiO2 or ZrO2 possessing less surface area (\100 m2 /g) and moderate acidity (250 lmol/g). Acidity and surface area of zeolites are easily tunable with maximum values observed with compositions corresponding to Si/Al ratios of 10–25 [19–21]. High surface area facilitates dispersion of the catalyst (pg. 1287, para. 2). This can be applied to H-ZSM-5 sieves that are ion exchanged with metals, such as Fe (section 2.1, para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the surface area of the ZSM-5 sieve, as taught by Sankar to an effective range for use with the Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler because a high surface area is known to be adjustable to higher ranges since that facilitates catalytic dispersion.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Punke (CN 107849962).
None of the references teach that the binder has a d90 value of 0.5 to 20 micrometers.
Punke describes depositing catalyst on a substrate (page 7, lines 7-9). The catalyst (title) contains a zeolite (page 6, lines 19-23) modified by a metal, such as Cu and/or Fe (page 6, lines 35). The alumina, which can be considered the binder is pre-ground so that it has a particle size 5 microns and there is a d90 of 5 microns (see embodiment 1, para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a binder that has a d90 of 5 micron, as taught by Punke for use with the catalyst of Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler because this binder size would be effectively support the catalyst within the pores of the substrate support.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Kanazawa (US Pub.: 2009/0317307).
Chiffey describes a lean NOx trap catalyst (abstract). The references do not teach adding a copper precursor in the form of those listed in claim 24.
Kanazawa teaches a NOx adsorbent material (abstract) that is modified with a metal, such as Fe/Cu (abstract). The method of making the catalyst includes adding copper nitrate precursor to the zeolite to make a NOx adsorbent (para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add copper to the iron in the form of copper nitrate, as taught by Kanazawa for use with the NOx adsorbent material of Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler because Kanazawa explains that an effective NOx adsorbent can include iron in addition to copper and that the copper can be in the form of copper nitrate for effective use as a NOx adsorbent material.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiffey and Ikeda as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Kanazawa (US Pub.: 2009/0317307) and further in view of Yoon (US Pub.: 2022/0134320).
The references do not teach inclusion of a copper acetate salt in their NOx storage catalyst.
Kanazawa teaches a NOx adsorbent material (abstract) that is modified with a metal, such as Fe/Cu (abstract). The method of making the catalyst includes adding copper nitrate precursor to the zeolite to make a NOx adsorbent (para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add copper to the iron in the form of copper nitrate, as taught by Kanazawa for use with the NOx adsorbent material of Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler because Kanazawa explains that an effective NOx adsorbent can include iron in addition to copper and that the copper can be in the form of copper nitrate for effective use as a NOx adsorbent material.
As to the use of copper in the form of copper acetate, Yoon describes a NOx storage catalyst made up of a zeolite ion-exchanged with a transition metal (abstract). The metal can be a copper metal, which can be in the form of a number copper salts, such as copper acetate (para. 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ copper in the form of copper acetate for use in a NOx storage catalyst, as taught by Yoon for use with the NOx storage catalyst of Chiffey, Ikeda and Chandler because Kanazawa explains that copper can be added to the iron catalyst for use with NOx storage materials.
As to the operation temperature, since this is a catalyst claim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same catalyst would be effective in the same way.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 February 23, 2026