DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections, except for those maintained below, are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment filed on 8/24/2026.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 8/24/2026. In particular, the scope of original Claim 42 has been narrowed from that previously recited, i.e. Compound H-6 has been deleted from the claim. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Pflumm et al (US 2012/0326141).
Regarding claim 42, Pflumm et al discloses the following compound (Page 11):
,
identical to H-5 recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 43, Pflumm et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses an organic light emitting device comprising the disclosed compound (Abstract, [0008], and [0071]).
Regarding claim 44, Pflumm et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the compound (disclosed as HTM-1 – [0071]) is present in the hole transport layer of the device ([0008]).
Regarding claim 45, Pflumm et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the compound (disclosed as HTM-1 – [0071]) is present in the hole transport layer of the device ([0008]).
In light of the above, it is clear that Pflumm et al anticipates the presently recited claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-28, 30, 32, and 34-41 are allowable over the “closest” prior art for the reasons set forth below.
Pflumm et al discloses an organic light emitting device, i.e. an electronic device, where the hole transport layer comprises a mixture of two (2) hole transporting materials (HTM), i.e. HTM-1 and HTM-2. HTM-1 is a triarylamine compound ([0041]-[0042]) with the formula ([0042] – Formula 1):
,
where Ar1, on each occurrence is a monovalent aromatic ring system having 5 to 60 aromatic ring atoms ([0043]). Such ring systems are exemplified as 9,9’-spirobifluorene ([0063]), i.e.
and benzene ([0064]). Compound HTM-2 corresponds to formulas such as.
,
.
However, claim 23 has been amended deleting the groups N(R3)2 and NR3. Thus, the compounds encompassed by the present claims can only have a single amine group, while the HMT-2 compounds disclosed by the reference possess two (2) amine groups. Accordingly, the reference discloses compounds outside the scope of the present claims, and the reference does not disclose or suggest the combination of compounds in the hole transport layer as required by claims 23.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Applicants argue that Pflumm et al does not disclose the compounds as recited in claim 42 as amended. However, as discussed in the rejections set forth above, the reference discloses the following compound:
,
identical to H-5 recited in the present claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786