DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on February 26, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-7 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-7 are presently pending in this application. Applicant’s amendment are sufficient to overcome the claim objections and §112(b) rejections of the previous action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 2-3 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Piontek does not anticipate claim 1 because Piontek does not read on claim 1 lines 7-8 that recite “…permit fluid to flow from the adapter through the one or more channels and through the feeding tube with the anchor remaining seated within the adapter…”. Applicant describes Piontek including a luer type connector for a syringe on the hub 7 as evidence that Piontek does not anticipate Applicant’s invention. In response, Examiner notes that the claim does not recite use of a syringe and a luer connection. As noted below, the claim limitation remains broad in the sense that the fluid flow doesn’t have to occur within any particular time frame or even in a certain order, and therefore because it is possible for fluid to flow through the feeding tube with the anchor seated in the adapter, and then at a later time to permit fluid to flow from the adapter through the one or more channels in the opposite direction, this claim limitation is met by the cited art. Examiner suggests further defining the flow, such as “to permit a unidirectional flow wherein the fluid enters the adapter, then flows through the one or more channels, and then flows through the feeding tube”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piontek et al. (Piontek) US 5,658,253.
Regarding claim 1, Piontek discloses a feeding tube system comprising: a flexible feeding tube (feeding tube 1, c 3 ln 56) with a distal end and a proximal end (see annotated Fig. 1 below) having an adapter (fitting 3, c 3 ln 57) at the proximal end and a stylet (reinforcement wire 5, c 4 ln 41) with a distal end (distal end opposite proximal end) and a proximal end (proximal end of stylet, see annotated Fig. 1 below) wherein at least a portion of the stylet is positioned within the feeding tube (c 3 ln 5-20) and the stylet having an anchor (hub 7, c 3 ln 59) at the proximal end coupled thereto, wherein the anchor is configured to seat removably within the adapter to prevent the anchor from entering the feeding tube (c 1 ln 63 to c 2 ln 1), and wherein the anchor has one or more channels (channel, see annotated Fig. 4 below) extending through the anchor to permit fluid to flow from the adapter through the one or more channels and through the feeding tube with the anchor remaining seated within the adapter (it is noted that this claim limitation remains broad in the sense that the fluid flow doesn’t have to occur within any particular time frame or even in a certain order, and therefore because it is possible for fluid to flow through the feeding tube with the anchor seated in the adapter, and then at a later time to permit fluid to flow from the adapter through the one or more channels in the opposite direction, this claim limitation is met by the cited art. Examiner suggests further defining the flow, such as “to permit a unidirectional flow wherein the fluid enters the adapter, then flows through the one or more channels, and then flows through the feeding tube”.)
Regarding claim 2, Piontek discloses the feeding tube system of claim 1, wherein the anchor has opposing proximal and distal sides and a perimeter edge therebetween, and wherein the one or more channels extend between the proximal and distal sides (see above annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Piontek discloses the feeding tube system of claim 2, wherein the one or more channels are spaced apart from the perimeter edge (see above annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Piontek discloses the feeding tube system of claim 3, wherein the distal side of the anchor is attached to the proximal end of the stylet (Fig. 4) and has a recess (recess, see annotated Fig. 4 above) formed on the distal side of the anchor in fluid communication with the one or more channels (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Piontek discloses the feeding tube system of claim 4, wherein the feeding tube has an inner diameter and the stylet has an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the feeding tube, thereby providing an annular space surrounding the stylet in the feeding tube (c 1 ln 63 to c 2 ln 1).
Regarding claim 6, Piontek discloses the feeding tube system of claim 5, wherein the adapter has an inlet (inlet, see annotated Fig. 1 above) extending from the proximal end of the feeding tube and defining a shoulder (the inlet defines a shoulder on its distalmost surface) shaped complementary to the anchor to engage with the anchor and prevent it from entering the feeding tube (hub 7 attached to one end of the feeding tube, 1 ln 63 to c 2 ln 1).
Regarding claim 7, Piontek discloses the feeding tube system of claim 6, wherein the anchor is generally disc-shaped (the hub 7 includes flange 11 that is generally disc-shaped, see Fig. 2) and the shoulder is generally annular (the distalmost surface of the inlet to fitting 3 is generally annular, see annotated Fig. 1 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783