DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
The Amendment filed 11/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 28 were amended, and claims 8-9 and 31-32 were canceled. Thus, claims 1-7 and 10-30 are pending in the application.
Specification/Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it recites “cannular” in line 2, and is suggested to read --cannula-- in order to correct a spelling error. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 28 recites “a nasal cannula according to claim 1” in line 2, and is suggested to read --the nasal cannula according to claim 1-- in order to provide proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 11-21, 25, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood et al. (US 2015/0209541 A1) in view of Price et al. (US 2009/0032026 A1) and Mraz (see “Fundamentals of Annular Snap-Fit Joints” article attached).
Regarding claim 1, Harwood discloses a nasal cannula configured to deliver airflow to a user (nasal cannula for patient respiratory therapy) (abstract; para. [0072]), comprising:
a manifold (manifold 104; alternatively the manifold 104 in combination with frame 62) (Figs. 21-22; para. [0107]);
a connector for attaching a gas tube to the manifold (end of elbow 160 for connecting the supply tube 90 to the manifold 104) (Figs. 21-22; para. [0107]);
a pair of non-sealing nasal prongs extending from the manifold for delivering a supply of gas to the user via the gas tube (nasal delivery elements 82 can be prongs which do not create a complete seal with the nares of the user; nasal delivery elements 82 extend from manifold 104 to deliver air from the supply tube 90 to the user) (Figs. 21-22; para. [0080]; para. [0107]);
wherein the connector is configured to form a swivel connection with the manifold so as to provide relative rotation between the manifold and the gas tube (elbow 160 end pivots about at least one axis relative to the manifold 104/frame 62 when directly coupled to the frame 62) (Figs. 21-22; para. [0107]).
Harwood does not disclose the manifold having a ridge; the connector forming a one-way snap-fit connection with the manifold, the connector including a tapered lip having an edge that contacts the ridge to form the one-way snap-fit connection with the manifold.
However, Price teaches a mask for delivery of respiratory therapy (Price; abstract) wherein the connector forms a one-way snap-fit connection (swivel coupling 93 permanently attached to the elbow 90 with a snap-fit) (Price; Fig. 7-2; para. [0093]; para. [0097]). Moreover, Mraz teaches annular snap fits (Mraz; page 1 first paragraph) including the manifold having a ridge; the connector forming a one-way snap-fit connection with the manifold, the connector including a tapered lip having an edge that contacts the ridge to form the one-way snap-fit connection with the manifold (female hub has an internal ridge formed by an undercut groove; male plug can form a permanent connection with the female hub when the return angle is 90 degrees; the male plug has a front tapered ridge feature, and a back edge at 90 degrees that contacts the female hub internal ridge formed by the undercut groove when inserted to form the permanent connection) (Mraz; Figures on page 2; page 1 last paragraph; page 2 first five paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Harwood manifold 104/frame 62 and elbow 160 end connector such that the connector forms a one-way snap-fit connection, as taught by Price, for the purpose of preventing separation of the parts (Price; para. [0097]). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Harwood device’s manifold 104/frame 62 and the elbow 160 end connector with the Price permanent snap fit connection, such that the manifold has a ridge; the connector forming a one-way snap-fit connection with the manifold, the connector including a tapered lip having an edge that contacts the ridge to form the one-way snap-fit connection with the manifold, as taught by Mraz, for the purpose of providing a specific suitable structure for the permanent snap-fit with which is easily joined together in the assembly (Mraz; page 1 first paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Harwood teaches further comprising an elbow between the swivel connection and the gas tube (the Mraz internal ridge/tapered ridge feature in the modified Harwood elbow 160 end forms the swivel connection between the Harwood manifold 104/frame 62; the rest of the Harwood elbow 160 is between the Mraz internal ridge/tapered ridge feature and the Harwood supply tube 90) (Harwood, Figs. 21-22, para. [0107]; Mraz, Figures on page 2, page 1 last paragraph, page 2 first five paragraphs).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the swivel connection is configured to allow the gas tube to freely rotate relative to the manifold (elbow 160 end is configured to allow the connected supply tube 90 to pivot relative to the manifold 104/frame 62) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Harwood teaches comprising a pair of opposing straps extending from the manifold (frame 62 has opposing unlabeled arms or straps extending on either side to attach to the headgear 80) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0089]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the connector attaches to the manifold via an aperture formed in the manifold (the Mraz male plug with the tapered ridge feature attaches to the female hub with the internal ridge via an opening in the female hub) (Mraz; Figures on page 2; page 1 last paragraph; page 2 first five paragraphs).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the aperture is located on the manifold between opposing ends of the manifold (in the modified Harwood device, the opening for the swivel elbow end connection would be centrally located between opposing ends of Harwood manifold 104) (Harwood, Figs. 21-22, para. [0107]; Mraz, Figures on page 2, page 1 last paragraph, page 2 first five paragraphs).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the connector is configured to be inserted through the aperture (the Mraz male plug with the tapered ridge feature is inserted through the opening in the female hub) (Mraz; Figures on page 2; page 1 last paragraph; page 2 first five paragraphs).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the manifold comprises a face mount portion configured to be placed proximate the face of the user (Harwood manifold 104 has a portion on which the nasal delivery elements 82 sit which would be placed proximate the user’s face when in use) (Harwood; Figs. 20-22), and the aperture is on an opposite side of the manifold to the face mount portion (the opening for the elbow 160 end is on the opposite side of the manifold 104) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the manifold comprises a rigid manifold structure (manifold 104 is contrasted of relatively rigid material) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0091]) and a flexible manifold cover configured to cover at least a portion of the rigid manifold structure (bridge or frame 62 is somewhat flexible; frame 62 covers at least a portion of the manifold 104) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0116]).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the swivel connection has a first connection portion formed in the rigid manifold structure (Mraz undercut groove in the female hub; the modified Harwood manifold 104 of rigid material would thus also have the Mraz undercut groove) (Harwood, Figs. 21-22, para. [0091]; Mraz, Figures on page 2, page 1 last paragraph, page 2 first five paragraphs) and a second connection portion formed in the connector (the Mraz male plug has a straight edge portion between the front tapered ridge feature and the back edge at 90 degrees; the modified Harwood elbow 160 end would thus also have the Mraz male plug has a straight edge portion) (Harwood, Figs. 21-22; Mraz, Figures on page 2, page 1 last paragraph, page 2 first five paragraphs).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the pair of non-sealing nasal prongs are integrally formed with the flexible manifold cover (nasal delivery elements 82 can be permanently secured to the frame 62) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0088]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the manifold comprises a rigid manifold structure (manifold 104 is contrasted of relatively rigid material) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0091]) and a flexible manifold cover configured to cover at least a portion of the rigid manifold structure (bridge or frame 62 is somewhat flexible; frame 62 covers at least a portion of the manifold 104) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0116]), and wherein the straps are integrally formed with the flexible manifold cover (frame 62 integrally formed opposing unlabeled arms or straps extending on either side to attach to the headgear 80) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0089]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the connector comprises a single gas tube port for connecting the manifold to only one gas tube at a time (there is only one supply tube 90 attached to the elbow 160 end, and so there would be one port with which they can fluidly communicate with each other and the manifold 104) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 21,the modified Harwood teaches wherein the manifold comprises a face mount portion configured to be placed proximate the face of the user, the face mount portion being substantially planar (manifold 104 has a portion on which the nasal delivery elements 82 sit which would be placed proximate the user’s face when in use, and which is substantially flat) (Harwood; Figs. 20-22).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Harwood teaches comprising a gas tube connected to the connector (supply tube 90 connected to the elbow 160 end) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Harwood teaches comprising a support attached to the gas tube between opposing ends of the gas tube and configured to support a position of the gas tube when the gas tube is manipulated (hose attachment clip 172 can be attached to supply tube 90 between its ends to support the position of the tube 90, which can be manipulated as it is flexible) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22, 31; para. [0087]; para. [0118]).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Harwood teaches a nasal cannula according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and a gas supply configured to supply gas to the user via the gas tube (flow generator 52 supplies gas to the user via the supply tube 90) (Harwood; Figs. 1, 21-22; para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 29, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the nasal cannula further comprises a pair of opposing straps extending from the manifold and wherein the opposing straps are each releasably attached to a patient head band (frame 62 has opposing unlabeled arms or straps extending on either side to releasably attach to the headgear 80 via clips or a hook-and-loop arrangement) (Harwood; Figs. 21-22; para. [0089]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Price and Mraz as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Allan et al. (US 2011/0146685 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Harwood teaches the invention as previously claimed, but is silent on wherein the elbow is configured to redirect gas flow at an angle greater than 30 degrees.
However, Allan teaches a patient interface (Allan; abstract) wherein the elbow is configured to redirect gas flow at an angle greater than 30 degrees (swivel elbow 313 defines an angle between flow in the conduit and to the mask connection of preferably 45 degrees) (Allan; Figs. 3A-3C, 5B-5C; para. [0433]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Harwood elbow such that the elbow is configured to redirect gas flow at an angle greater than 30 degrees, as taught by Allan, for the purpose of providing the elbow with a specific suitable angle for delivering gas flow to a patient interface.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the swivel connection has an axis of rotation configured to be substantially normal to a face of the user (swiveling elbow can pivot about an axis perpendicular to connection with mask, and thus perpendicular or normal to the patient’s face) (Allan; Figs. 3A-3C, 5B-5C; para. [0407]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Price and Mraz as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Gunaratnam et al. (US 2005/0241644 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Harwood teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not disclose wherein the swivel connection is configured to provide at least 120 degrees relative rotation.
However, Gunaratnam teaches a nasal assembly (Gunaratnam; abstract) wherein the swivel connection is configured to provide at least 120 degrees relative rotation (movement of air delivery tube 606 is confined by swivel stops 631, 632 to allow for between 220-300 degrees of rotation) (Gunaratnam; Figs. 7-8; para. [0064-0065]; para. [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Harwood swivel connection such that the swivel connection is configured to provide at least 120 degrees relative rotation, as taught by Gunaratnam ‘644, for the purpose of ensuring undesirable contact between the air delivery tube and the patient is minimized or avoided (Gunaratnam; para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the swivel connection is configured to limit the relative rotation to an angle range less than 360 degrees (movement of air delivery tube 606 is confined by swivel stops 632 to allow for between 220-300 degrees of rotation) (Gunaratnam; Fig. 8; para. [0065]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Price and Mraz as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Harwood teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the gas tube has a substantially constant internal cross-sectional area.
However, Harwood does suggest wherein the gas tube has a substantially constant internal cross-sectional area (as illustrated in Figs. 15, 18, 21-23, the supply tube 90 appears to have a substantially constant internal cross-section area, as no internal section appears to expand outward or taper inward).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Harwood gas tube such that the gas tube has a substantially constant internal cross-sectional area, as suggested by Harwood, for the purpose of helping to ensure the gas flow is delivered to the patient with minimal changes in flow speed and turbulence along the gas tube length.
Claims 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Price and Mraz as applied to claims 1 and 28 above, and further in view of Lewis et al. (US 2007/0175473 A1).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Harwood teaches the invention as previously claimed, but is silent on being configured to deliver a flow rate of less than 100 Standard litres per minute.
However, Lewis teaches a high flow therapy system with a patient interface (Lewis; abstract) wherein it is configured to deliver a flow rate of less than 100 Standard litres per minute (system is adapted to deliver a gas flow between 40-60 liters per minute) (Lewis; para. [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Harwood device such that it is configured to deliver a flow rate of less than 100 Standard litres per minute, as taught by Lewis, for the purpose of providing the device with a specific flow rate suitable for a patient’s high airflow therapy (Lewis; para. [0104]; claims 12-13).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Harwood teaches wherein the system is configured for high flow oxygen therapy (system is adapted to deliver oxygen with high flow nasal therapy) (Lewis; abstract; para. [0097]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Price and Mraz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Prentice et al. (US 2014/0174446 A1).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Harwood teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does is silent on wherein the swivel connection is non air-tight.
However, Prentice teaches an interface assembly (Prentice; abstract) wherein the swivel connection is non air-tight (swivel 210 has leakage of 0.05-0.4 L/min at 10 cm H2O) (Prentice; para. [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Harwood swivel connection mechanism to be non air-tight, as taught by Prentice, for the purpose of providing the device with a minimized leakage between components (Prentice; para. [0091]; para. [0098]) which one of ordinary skill in the art could feasibly consider suitable for a swivel connection of a patient breathing interface.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Price, Mraz, and Prentice as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Lewis.
Regarding claim 24, the modified Harwood teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not teach wherein the swivel connection is configured to allow gas leakage below 10% at flows of up to 50 Standard litres per minute.
However, Lewis teaches a high flow therapy system with a patient interface (Lewis; abstract) wherein it is configured to deliver flows of up to 50 Standard litres per minute (system is adapted to deliver a gas flow of 40 liters per minute) (Lewis; para. [0104]). Moreover, Prentice already teaches an interface assembly (Prentice; abstract) wherein the swivel connection is configured to allow gas leakage (swivel 210 has leakage of 0.05-0.4 L/min) (Prentice; para. [0098]). The Prentice swivel gas leakage of 0.05-0.4 L/min is below 10% of the Lewis gas flow of 40 L/min.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Harwood swivel connection such that the swivel connection is configured to allow gas leakage below 10% at flows of up to 50 Standard litres per minute, as taught by Prentice and Lewis, for the purpose of ensuring the leakage is reduced (Prentice; para. [0098]) while also providing the device with a specific flow rate suitable for a patient’s high airflow therapy (Lewis; para. [0104]; claims 12-13).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Price and Mraz as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Wondka (US 2005/0066976 A1).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Harwood teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not disclose wherein the gas tube is malleable or comprises a malleable member, such that the gas tube is configured to be deformable and retain a given shape when the gas tube is manipulated.
However, Wondka teaches a nasal ventilation interface (Wondka; abstract) wherein the gas tube is malleable or comprises a malleable member, such that the gas tube is configured to be deformable and retain a given shape when the gas tube is manipulated (interface tubes 32, which deliver ventilation gas to a user, have an integral malleable member; malleable members can be shaped and re-shaped repeatedly by a user) (Wondka; Figs. 5A-5B, 19A-19B; para. [0082]; para. [0103]; para. [0166]; para. [0173]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Harwood gas tube such that the gas tube is malleable or comprises a malleable member, such that the gas tube is configured to be deformable and retain a given shape when the gas tube is manipulated, as taught by Wondka, for the purpose of allowing the gas tube to be curved optimally to fit a patient’s anatomy (Wondka; para. [0103]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 in the “Claim Objections” section of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to overcome one of the claim objections of the previous office action. The Examiner agrees that the one claim objection was addressed, and has thus withdrawn that claim objection. However, the claim objection that was not addressed is being maintained as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-13 of the Applicant’s remarks with respect to the newly amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection with new additional Price and Mraz references being used in the current rejection as discussed above.
Conclusion
/JACQUELINE M PINDERSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785