DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed January 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Weber (US 20040060478, hereinafter referred to as “Weber”), Deroover (US20080314285, hereinafter referred to as “Deroover”), and Loccufier et al. (US 20170029637, hereinafter referred to as “Loccufier”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to change the scope of the claims outside the scope of the previous prior art. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Weber, Park et al. (KR20150043763A), and Loccufier.
Applicant has amended claim 13 to no longer recite a compound represented by general formula I. Applicant’s arguments with regard to the rejection in view of Deroover are considered moot as they were related to the compound represented by the previously claimed general formula I. Park et al. teaches a pigment which reads on the claimed compound represented by general formula II as required by the newly amended claims (see below). Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered fully responded to within the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (US 20040060478, hereinafter referred to as “Weber”) in view of Park et al. (KR20150043763A, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Park”) and further in view of Loccufier et al. (US 20170029637, hereinafter referred to as “Loccufier”).
As to Claim 13: Weber teaches pigment preparation comprising functionalized quinacridone and diketopyrrolopyrrole pigment dispersants selected from the group comprising quinacridone and diketopyrrolopyrrole (Abstract) functionalized with carboxylic or sulfonic acids and salts thereof ([0009]-[0011]), and further teaches that such functionalized quinacridones and diketopyrrolopyroles may be used in an aqueous inkjets ([0079]) and may be combined with polyurethane polymers ([0061]) and base pigments including unfunctionalized quinacridones and diketopyrrolopyroles ([0048]-[0049]).
However, Weber is silent towards the substitution pattern of the carboxylic acid or sulfonic acid functionalization.
Park teaches a related inkjet composition ([0001]) which may be dispersed in an aqueous solution ([0043]) (i.e., aqueous inkjet), wherein said inkjet may comprise a diketopyrrolopyrole-based color-producing molecule (i.e., a pigment) represented by formula 1:
wherein R represents succinic acid ([0063]) and wherein the compound represented by formula 1 is formed from the reaction of (3,6-bis(4-chlorophenyl)pyrrolo[3,4-c]pyrrole-1,4(2H,5H)-dione (Pigment Red 254 or Cl-DPP) and chlorosuccinic acid ([0061]), thus reading on the claimed general formula II wherein L2 is a divalent linking group of 2 carbon atoms and A2 represents carboxylic acid functional groups and R6 and R9 are a halogen. Weber and Park are considered analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely inkjet pigments. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the carboxylic acid functionalized diketopyrrolopyrole structure (Formula 1 of Park) taught by Park as the carboxylic acid-functionalized diketopyrrolopyrole taught by Weber based on the teaching Weber discloses that carboxylic acid-functionalized diketopyrrolopyroles are suitable for aqueous inkjets and the motivation would have been that Park teaches that diketopyrrolopyrole structures functionalized with carboxylic acids promote physical/chemical bonds with dispersed particles which may, inter alia, increase dispersibility within inkjets ([0045] and [0063]).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]), which reads on the claimed resin particle selected from the group consisting of a poly(urea) or poly(urethane). Loccufier further teaches that aqueous inkjet inks comprising resin capsules (i.e., resin particles) are known within the art to address issues associated with the properties of aqueous inkjet inks ([0007-0015]). Weber and Loccufier are considered analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely, aqueous inkjet inks comprising a resin. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin capsule/particle for the aqueous inkjet ([0079]) comprising a polyurethane taught by Weber because Loccufier teaches that encapsulation is a known approach within the art for improving the physical properties of aqueous ink jet inks ([0007-0015]).
As to Claim 14: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 13 (supra).
Weber further teaches that the base pigment may be Pigment Red 122, 202, or 209 ([0050]).
As to Claim 15: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 13 (supra).
Weber further teaches that the base pigment may be Pigment Red 254, 264, 270, 272, Pigment Orange 73, and 71 ([0050]).
As to Claims 16 and 17: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 13 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the functionalized quinacridone and diketopyrrolopyrrole pigment dispersants having a linking group with the structure L2.
Park teaches a related inkjet composition ([0001]) which may be dispersed in an aqueous solution ([0043]) (i.e., aqueous inkjet), wherein said inkjet may comprise a diketopyrrolopyrole-based color-producing molecule (i.e., a pigment) represented by formula 1:
wherein R represents succinic acid ([0063]) formed from the reaction of (3,6-bis(4-chlorophenyl)pyrrolo[3,4-c]pyrrole-1,4(2H,5H)-dione (Pigment Red 254, or Cl-DPP) and chlorosuccinic acid ([0061]), thus reading on the claimed general formula II wherein L2 is a divalent linking group of 2 carbon atoms and A2 represents carboxylic acid functional groups and R6 and R9 are a halogen. Weber and Park are considered analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely inkjet pigments. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the carboxylic acid functionalized diketopyrrolopyrole structure (Formula 1 of Park) taught by Park as the carboxylic acid-functionalized diketopyrrolopyrole taught by Weber based on the teaching Weber discloses that carboxylic acid-functionalized diketopyrrolopyroles are suitable for aqueous inkjets and the motivation would have been that Park teaches that diketopyrrolopyrole structures functionalized with carboxylic acids promote physical/chemical bonds with dispersed particles which may, inter alia, increase dispersibility within inkjets ([0045] and [0063]).
As to Claim 18: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 13 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell surrounding a core.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that aqueous inkjet inks comprising resin capsules (i.e., resin particles) are known within the art to address issues associated with the properties of aqueous inks ([0007-0015]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin capsule/particle for the aqueous inkjet ([0079]) taught by Weber because Loccufier teaches that encapsulation is a known approach within the art for improving the physical properties of aqueous ink jet inks ([0007-0015]).
As to Claim 19: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 14 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell surrounding a core.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that aqueous inkjet inks comprising resin capsules (i.e., resin particles) are known within the art to address issues associated with the properties of aqueous inks ([0007-0015]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin capsule/particle for the aqueous inkjet ([0079]) taught by Weber because Loccufier teaches that encapsulation is a known approach within the art for improving the physical properties of aqueous ink jet inks ([0007-0015]).
As to Claim 20: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 15 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell surrounding a core.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that aqueous inkjet inks comprising resin capsules (i.e., resin particles) are known within the art to address issues associated with the properties of aqueous inks ([0007-0015]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin capsule/particle for the aqueous inkjet ([0079]) taught by Weber because Loccufier teaches that encapsulation is a known approach within the art for improving the physical properties of aqueous ink jet inks ([0007-0015]).
As to Claim 21: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 16 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell surrounding a core.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that aqueous inkjet inks comprising resin capsules (i.e., resin particles) are known within the art to address issues associated with the properties of aqueous inks ([0007-0015]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin capsule/particle for the aqueous inkjet ([0079]) taught by Weber because Loccufier teaches that encapsulation is a known approach within the art for improving the physical properties of aqueous ink jet inks ([0007-0015]).
As to Claims 22-24: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 18 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell surrounding a core.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that the core comprises at least a chemical reactant capable of forming a reaction product upon application of heat and/or light ([0017]) wherein said chemical reactant may be a thermally curable compound including a blocked isocyanate ([0065]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin capsule/particle having a core comprising a chemical reactant capable of forming a reaction product upon application of heat and/or light wherein said chemical reactant may be a blocked isocyanate for the aqueous inkjet comprising a polyurethane taught by Weber ([0079]) because Loccufier teaches that such a core/shell structure comprising a chemical reactant capable of forming a reaction product upon application of heat and/or light wherein said chemical reactant may be a blocked isocyanate is a known approach within the art for improving the physical properties of aqueous ink jet inks ([0007-0015]).
As to Claim 25: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 18 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that the shell comprises a covalently bound dispersing group (Abstract) which may be selected from the group consisting of a carboxylic acid or salt thereof, a sulfonic acid or salt thereof, a phosphoric acid ester or salt thereof, a phosphonic acid or salt thereof, and a polyethylene oxide group ([0041]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a polymeric shell comprising a covalently bonded dispersing group selected from the claimed group within the aqueous inkjet taught by Weber ([0079]) because Loccufier teaches that such a structure provides stable ink jet inks capable exhibiting good physical properties on a wide variety of substrates ([0017]).
As to Claim 26: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 19 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that the shell comprises a covalently bound dispersing group (Abstract) which may be selected from the group consisting of a carboxylic acid or salt thereof, a sulfonic acid or salt thereof, a phosphoric acid ester or salt thereof, a phosphonic acid or salt thereof, and a polyethylene oxide group ([0041]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a polymeric shell comprising a covalently bonded dispersing group selected from the claimed group within the aqueous inkjet taught by Weber ([0079]) because Loccufier teaches that such a structure provides stable ink jet inks capable exhibiting good physical properties on a wide variety of substrates ([0017]).
As to Claim 27: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 20 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that the shell comprises a covalently bound dispersing group (Abstract) which may be selected from the group consisting of a carboxylic acid or salt thereof, a sulfonic acid or salt thereof, a phosphoric acid ester or salt thereof, a phosphonic acid or salt thereof, and a polyethylene oxide group ([0041]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a polymeric shell comprising a covalently bonded dispersing group selected from the claimed group within the aqueous inkjet taught by Weber ([0079]) because Loccufier teaches that such a structure provides stable ink jet inks capable exhibiting good physical properties on a wide variety of substrates ([0017]).
As to Claim 28: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 21 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that the shell comprises a covalently bound dispersing group (Abstract) which may be selected from the group consisting of a carboxylic acid or salt thereof, a sulfonic acid or salt thereof, a phosphoric acid ester or salt thereof, a phosphonic acid or salt thereof, and a polyethylene oxide group ([0041]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a polymeric shell comprising a covalently bonded dispersing group selected from the claimed group within the aqueous inkjet taught by Weber ([0079]) because Loccufier teaches that such a structure provides stable ink jet inks capable exhibiting good physical properties on a wide variety of substrates ([0017]).
As to Claim 29: Weber, Park, and Loccufier teach the aqueous inkjet ink of claim 22 (supra).
Weber is silent towards the composition or inkjet comprising poly(urea) or poly(urethane) resin particles being a capsule comprising a polymeric shell.
Loccufier teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous medium, capsules composed of a polymeric shell surrounding a core (Abstract), wherein said capsule may be a polyurethane or polyurea ([0045]). Loccufier further teaches that the shell comprises a covalently bound dispersing group (Abstract) which may be selected from the group consisting of a carboxylic acid or salt thereof, a sulfonic acid or salt thereof, a phosphoric acid ester or salt thereof, a phosphonic acid or salt thereof, and a polyethylene oxide group ([0041]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a polymeric shell comprising a covalently bonded dispersing group selected from the claimed group within the aqueous inkjet taught by Weber ([0079]) because Loccufier teaches that such a structure provides stable ink jet inks capable exhibiting good physical properties on a wide variety of substrates ([0017]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.L.G.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767