DETAILED ACTION
This application is a US national phase of PCT/US20/31694, filed May 6, 2020 with a provisional application 62/844045, filed May 6, 2019. Applicant’s amendment filed January 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-4 and 7-17 are canceled, and claim 1 is amended. Currently claims 1, 5-6, and 18 are pending and under examination.
The previous claim objection in Non-Final office action mailed October 31, 2025 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed January 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segal et al. (WO 2016/185469 A1, hereinafter “Segal”) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0209626 A1, cited in PTO-892 mailed 10/31/2025, hereinafter “Li”).
Segal teaches methods of improving the glucose response in subjects by providing probiotic compositions or agents which specifically reduce bacterial species (abstract). Segal teaches the probiotic composition comprises at least one Faecalibacterium prausnitzii L2-6 and Bifidobacterium longum sp. longum F8 (pg. 4, lines 22-32, pg. 5, lines 1-6). Segal teaches according to an aspect of some embodiments, providing a probiotic composition comprising at least two bacteria which is categorized as beneficial according to Table 5 (pg. 4, lines 14-17), which lists Bacteroides ovatus as beneficial (pg. 65, col. 2). Segal teaches the probiotic bacteria may be in any suitable form, such as a powdered dry form (i.e. lyophilized) and encapsulated by standard techniques known in the art (pg. 19, lines 24-30). Segal teaches the composition may be in the form of a food product, and comprise a juice, which meets the limitations of claims 5-6, and 18 (pg. 20, lines 4-7). Segal does not explicitly teach the composition includes Bacteroides ovatus CL03T12C18.
However, Li teaches probiotic compositions comprising at least one bacterium from Bacteroidetes phylum and at least one bacterium from Firmicutes phylum that confer health benefits to the subject (abstract). Li teaches bacteria from Bacteroidetes can be the strain Bacteroides ovatus CL03T12C18 (pg. 6, Table 3, [0060]) and bacteria from Firmicutes can be the species Faecalibacterium prausnitzii, reciting various strains [0051, 0063]. Li teaches the probiotic composition can be formulated for oral administration, such as tablets or capsules [0066].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the strains F. prausnitzii L2-6, B. longum subsp. longum F8, and a Bacteroides ovatus strain, as taught by Segal, and the Bacteroides ovatus CL03T12C18 strain taught by Li, to formulate a nutritional probiotic composition to confer health benefits with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine various well-known probiotic strains in a composition as disclosed by the prior art to formulate the health beneficial composition as claimed, since these strains are known to inherently possess similar functions and attributes, thus are interchangeable in probiotic pharmaceutical compositions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5-6, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/JESSICA EDWARDS/
Examiner
Art Unit 1657