DETAILED ACTION
The following Final Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 8/10/2026.
Status of the claims: Claims 11-16 are hereby examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11,13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites “each slat has a consistent cross section along the longitudinal dimension thereof” and “wherein no portion of the top surface of said interior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge”. It is unclear where there is support for these limitations in the specification as filed.
Claim 13 recites “wherein no portion of the top surface of said exterior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge”. It is unclear where there is support for this limitation in the specification as filed.
Claim 15 recites “a longitudinal dimension running along the length thereof and parallel to said interior edge and said exterior edge”. It is unclear where there is support for these limitations in the specification as filed.
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “an interior edge” and “an interior facing edge”. It is unclear what the difference is between the “interior edge” and the “interior facing edge”. Examiner believes they are referring to the same element.
Claim 11 recites “an exterior edge” and “an exterior facing edge”. It is unclear what the difference is between the “exterior edge” and the “exterior facing edge”. Examiner believes they are referring to the same element.
Claim 11 recites “each slat has a consistent cross section along the longitudinal dimension thereof” and “wherein no portion of the top surface of said interior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge”. It is unclear what is meant by “a consistent cross section along the longitudinal dimension” and “wherein no portion of the top surface of said interior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge” as these are not described in the specification.
Claim 12 recites “β3 is greater than β1”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “β1” in this claim and examiner does not know to what it is referring.
Claim 13 recites “wherein no portion of the top surface of said exterior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge”. It is unclear what is meant by this as it is not described in the specification.
Claim 14 recites “β4 is greater than β1”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “β1” in this claim and examiner does not know to what it is referring.
Dependent claims are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claims are being examined as best understood.
Specification
The amendment filed 8/10/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
Claim 11 recites “each slat has a consistent cross section along the longitudinal dimension thereof” and “wherein no portion of the top surface of said interior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge”. It is unclear where there is support for these limitations in the specification as filed.
Claim 13 recites “wherein no portion of the top surface of said exterior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge”. It is unclear where there is support for this limitation in the specification as filed.
Claim 15 recites “a longitudinal dimension running along the length thereof and parallel to said interior edge and said exterior edge”. It is unclear where there is support for these limitations in the specification as filed.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification fails to provide reference signs for many of the claim elements such as “top slats”, “top side”, “bottom side”, “interior edge”, “exterior edge”, “irradiation side”, “shadow side”, etc. Applicant should thoroughly check the specification and drawings to provide appropriate reference signs for the claimed elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include reference signs having lead lines for many of the claimed elements. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
As best understood, claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koester WO2011/064764.
In regard to claim 11, with reference to Figure 7, Koester ‘764 discloses a hanging blind assembly comprising a plurality (abstract discloses the slat is for a venetian blind which includes a plurality of slats) of vertically stackable top slats (50, Fig. 7) , said top slats each having a top side (top) corresponding to an upward pointing face thereof when installed, a bottom side (bottom) corresponding to a downward pointing face thereof when installed, an interior edge (shown below) corresponding to an interior facing edge thereof when installed, an exterior edge (shown below) corresponding to an exterior facing edge thereof when installed, and a longitudinal dimension running along the length thereof and parallel to said interior edge and said exterior edge, wherein: each of said vertically stackable top slats (50)has a consistent cross section along the longitudinal dimension thereof, said cross section being divisible into an exterior edge zone (shown below) corresponding to a portion of said slat adjacent to said exterior edge, and interior edge zone (shown below) corresponding to a portion of said slat adjacent to said interior edge, and a contour zone (shown below) between said exterior edge zone and said interior edge zone; wherein said contour zone is folded along said longitudinal dimension to form a plurality of peaks (shown below), wherein said peaks each have an irradiation side (on the right of peaks) facing towards said exterior edge and a shadow side (on the left of peaks) facing towards said interior edge, and wherein said irradiation side and said shadow side of each said peak form an angle β2; wherein said interior edge zone is folded (where interior edge zone meets contour zone) along said longitudinal dimension, whereby the bottom side of said contour zone and the bottom side of said interior edge zone form an angle β3, wherein β3 is greater than or equal to 120° and wherein no portion of the top surface of said interior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge; and wherein each of said vertically stackable top slats comprises a metallic reflector lustre on the top side thereof (page 4, lines 15 states that the slats are thin aluminum or other metallic material).
In regard to claim 12, Koester ‘764 disclose wherein β3 is greater than β1.
In regard to claim 13, Koester ‘764 discloses wherein said exterior edge zone (shown above) is folded along said longitudinal dimension, whereby the bottom side of said contour zone and the bottom side of said exterior edge zone form an angle β4 (shown above), wherein β4 is greater than or equal to 120° and wherein no portion of the top surface of said exterior edge zone faces away from said exterior edge.
In regard to claim 14, Koester ‘764 disclose wherein β4 is greater than β1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koester WO2011/064764 in view of Koester US 6,240,999.
In regard to claim 15, as shown above, Koester ‘764 discloses the slats each having a top side corresponding to an upward pointing face thereof when installed, a bottom side corresponding to a downward pointing face thereof when installed, an interior edge corresponding to an interior facing edge thereof when installed, an exterior edge corresponding to an exterior facing edge thereof when installed, and a longitudinal dimension running along the length thereof and parallel to said interior edge and said exterior edge, wherein: said bottom slats are folded along said longitudinal dimension to form a plurality of peaks, wherein said lower peaks each have an irradiation side facing towards said exterior edge of said bottom slats and a shadow side facing towards said interior edge of said bottom slats.
Koester ‘764 fails to particularly state that there are top slats and a plurality of bottom slats. With reference to Figure 1, Koester ‘999 discloses a plurality of top slats (10,11 Fig. 1) and a plurality of bottom slats (12,13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Koester ‘764 to be formed of a plurality of top and bottom slats as taught by Koester ‘999 as such is a common construction for blinds.
In regard to claim 16, Koester ‘764 as modified by Koester ‘999 disclose wherein said bottom slats (12,13) are stackable with said contour zone of said top slats (10,11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634