Terminal Disclaimer
The ODP rejections over copending Application Nos. 17611452 , 17056634, 17617579, 17612183 and U.S. Patent No. 11,991,922 have been obviated by terminal disclaimer filed 10/31/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that each of the references does not read on the new formulae of the amended claims. These arguments are not convincing, and the disclosures of the new structures are explained in bold font in the amended rejections below.
In the case of claim 19, however, additional rejections are made in view of references Ye et al (WO 2019218969) and Hong et al (US 20210317147 A1, WO 2020050619 A1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al (US 20210053998 A1, and WO 2020022751).
Kim discloses an OLED with the claimed anode, cathode, and light emission layer [0003] wherein the light emission layer includes an anthracene compound [0014] that is preferably deuterated [0091]
[claim 1, 0014].
Exemplary embodiments include compound 2-11:
[p160] which is the compound of the current claim 14 [clms of 10/31/2025, p11 top row, far right]. Kim teaches that when the anthracene structure is substituted with deuterium as described above, it is possible to increase the lifetime of the organic electroluminescent element [0067]. R5 to R12 may also include C5-C30 aryl groups [0078].
Kim also discloses the light emitting layer including a boron dopant that may be deuterated [claim 1, 0075] having the formula 1:
[claim 1, p122] .
In the Formula 1, R1 to R3 includes a C7-C60 aralkyl group [claim 1], “aralkyl” means an aryl-alkyl group, suitable examples include benzyl and naphthalenylmethyl, and the bond to the parent moiety is through the alkyl [0035]. This substituent reads on the claimed Formula 201, condition (2) in which one of T17 to T19 is an aryl group, and more specifically can be a phenyl or naphthyl group.
This rejection is made under both 35 USC 102 anticipation and 35 USC 103 obviousness. Examiner holds the opinion that the finite number of disclosed anthracene compounds and boron compounds would allow the ordinarily skilled artisan to readily envisage the claimed combination of deuterated anthracene and boron compounds, therefore the claims are anticipated. In the alternative, the claims are certainly obvious over the combination of elements disclosed, and the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of those combinations less obvious. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Do et al (KR 20190127529 A).
Do discloses an OLED having an anode and a cathode and an organic light emitting layer comprising an anthracene-based compound that reads on claimed formula 1 and a boron-based compound that reads on claimed formula 2 [abstract, claim 1] wherein the anthracene compound includes deuterated embodiments such as 2-16 [p13] and 2-51 [p16] and the boron compound includes deuterated embodiments that are deuterated by more than 40% such as compounds 1-58 [p6], 1-200, and 1-202 [p11]:
Do discloses the anthracene compound with the generic formula:
wherein R14 to R21 include deuterium [p4].
Do discloses the generic formula of the boron containing compounds
wherein R1 to R11 a C7-C30 aralkyl group [claim 1], “aralkyl” means an aryl-alkyl group, and Do also teaches that an “aryl” group means an aromatic hydrocarbon having 6 to 60 carbon atoms [p9-10, bridging ¶], so a C7 aralkyl group will be benzyl, which reads on the claimed Formula 201, condition (2) in which one of T17 to T19 is an aryl group, and more specifically can be a phenyl group.
Do further discloses that in both compounds all the hydrogen atoms may be deuterium [claim 1, formula 1 and 2] meaning that all the disclosed embodiments can be fully deuterated.
This rejection is made under both 35 USC 102 anticipation and 35 USC 103 obviousness. Examiner holds the opinion that the finite number of disclosed anthracene compounds and boron compounds would allow the ordinarily skilled artisan to readily envisage the claimed combination of deuterated anthracene and boron compounds, therefore the claims are anticipated. In the alternative, the claims are certainly obvious over the combination of elements disclosed, and the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of those combinations less obvious. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hatakeyama et al (US 20180301629 A1).
Hatakeyama discloses an OLED with an anode and a cathode layer and a light emission layer comprising a boron compound of formula (1) and an anthracene compound of the formula (3) [abstract] wherein at least one hydrogen atom is replaced with deuterium in each compound [0035, 0051] and all the hydrogens may be replaced by deuterium atoms [0096, 0162]. There are several examples of the boron compound that read on the claimed formula 203-3 including
[p17]
Illustrative examples of the anthracene compounds include
[p56]
Which read on the claimed embodiments [see p41 of the claims for comparison], as well as
[p58]
Which read on the claimed embodiments [see p50 of the claims]. Regarding claim 6, Hatakeyama also discloses naphthobenzofuranyl groups [p59].
This rejection is made under both 35 USC 102 anticipation and 35 USC 103 obviousness. Examiner holds the opinion that the finite number of disclosed anthracene compounds and boron compounds would allow the ordinarily skilled artisan to readily envisage the claimed combination of deuterated anthracene and boron compounds, therefore the claims are anticipated. In the alternative, the claims are certainly obvious over the combination of elements disclosed, and the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of those combinations less obvious. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Hatakeyama also discloses
[p17]
Which reads on claim 9 formula 2-A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al (KR 20190127529 A).
Regarding claims 14-15: Do discloses various position isomers of structures of claim 14, see for instance compound 2-1, and discloses the core structures of claim 15, and indicates that the structures may have the additional aryl groups having 6 to 30 carbon atoms [see definitions of R14 to R23 for formula 2 in claim 1], and as discussed above, the compounds may be fully deuterated.
Regarding claim 16: Do discloses various position isomers of structures of claim 16, see for instance compound 1-14 compared to p58 second row last compound of the instant claims, and as discussed above, the compounds may be fully deuterated.
If Applicant argues that the claimed embodiments are not disclosed with sufficient specificity and that examiner is picking and choosing with improper hindsight, Examiner notes that the rejection is made under 35 USC 103 obviousness. Examiner holds the opinion that there a finite number of disclosed structures of formula 1 and 2 and the disclosure of the substituents being deuterium would allow the ordinarily skilled artisan to prepare the claimed deuterated structures. The claims are obvious over the combination of elements disclosed, and the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of those combinations less obvious. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al (KR 20190127529 A) in view of Hong et al (US 20210317147 A1, WO 2020050619 A1).
Do, discussed above, does not disclose the specific structures of the Formula 208.
Hong discloses an OLED comprising the compound of the formula:
with specific examples including the structure below left, compare to the claimed structure on the right:
[p12]
[p94 of clms 2/13/2026].
The compounds may be substituted with deuterium and deuterated substituents [0063]. Hong teaches that including a silicon atom (Si) in a core structure of the compound, molecular rigidity increases and, as a result, excellent morphological stability is obtained. An organic light emitting device having high efficiency, low voltage and long lifetime properties can be obtained, and when including the compound of the present disclosure in a light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device, an organic light emitting device having high color gamut can be manufactured [0018].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the silicon bridged boron compounds of the claims as the boron compounds of Do because Hong teaches that including a silicon atom (Si) in a core structure of the compound, molecular rigidity increases and, as a result, excellent morphological stability is obtained. An organic light emitting device having high efficiency, low voltage and long lifetime properties can be obtained, and when including the compound of the present disclosure in a light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device, an organic light emitting device having high color gamut can be manufactured.
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 20180301629 A1) in view of Hong et al (US 20210317147 A1, WO 2020050619 A1).
Hong is combined with Hatakeyama for the same reasons it is combined with Do above.
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20210053998 A1, and WO 2020022751) in view of Hong et al (US 20210317147 A1, WO 2020050619 A1).
Hong is combined with Kim for the same reasons it is combined with Do and Hatakeyama above.
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al (KR 20190127529 A) in view of Ye et al (WO 2019218969).
Do, discussed above, does not disclose the specific structures of the Formula 208.
Ye discloses OLEDs comprising a host and a guest material including a boron compound [clm 1] having the general formula:
Wherein X1 and X3 are independently represented as N(R), C(R)2 or Si(R)2 and others [p3]. Therefore Ye teaches that a silicon bridge in the boron compound is equivalent to the absence of a bridge disclosed in Do
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the silicon bridge of the claims in the boron compound of Do because Ye teaches that the claimed unbrigded compound and the silicon-bridged compound of Do are functionally equivalent and it is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose, see MPEP § 2144.06; In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 20180301629 A1) in view of Ye et al (WO 2019218969).
Ye is combined with Hatakeyama for the same reasons it is combined with Do above.
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20210053998 A1, and WO 2020022751) in view of Ye et al (WO 2019218969).
Ye is combined with Kim for the same reasons it is combined with Do and Hatakeyama above.
Claim(s) 11-12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al (KR 20190127529 A) in view of Suh et al (WO 2019164331, English equivalent US 20210184121 A1).
Do, discussed above, does not disclose the specific structures of the claims.
Suh discloses OLED compounds comprising boron containing compounds [0012], similar to Do. Suh disclose that the light emitting layer includes a heterocyclic compound with the generic formula:
wherein W1 and W2 are the same as or different from each other, and each independently is O or S
An exemplified structure:
[0052]
makes obvious claimed formula 206. Many of the disclosed compounds are structurally similar to those of claim 18, for instance compare the disclosed compound below [p3] to the claimed compound [p75 of claims 02/13/2026, first row].
The compounds may be substituted with deuterium [abstract]. Suh teaches that the compounds provide properties of efficiency enhancement and color purity can be obtained in the organic light emitting device [0013].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the structures of claims 11-12 and 18 for the boron containing compounds of Do because Suh teaches that the compounds provide properties of efficiency enhancement and color purity can be obtained in the organic light emitting device.
Claim(s) 11-12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 20180301629 A1) in view of Suh et al (WO 2019164331, English equivalent US 20210184121 A1).
Hatakeyama, discussed above, does not disclose the specific structures of the claims.
Suh discloses OLED compounds comprising boron containing compounds [0012], similar to Hatakeyama. Suh disclose that the light emitting layer includes a heterocyclic compound with the generic formula:
wherein W1 and W2 are the same as or different from each other, and each independently is O or S
An exemplified structure:
[0052]
makes obvious claimed formula 206. Many of the disclosed compounds are structurally similar to those of claim 18, for instance compare the disclosed compound below [p3] to the claimed compound [p75 of claims 02/13/2026, first row].
The compounds may be substituted with deuterium [abstract]. Suh teaches that the compounds provide properties of efficiency enhancement and color purity can be obtained in the organic light emitting device [0013].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the structures of claims 11-12 and 18 for the boron containing compounds of Hatakeyama because Suh teaches that the compounds provide properties of efficiency enhancement and color purity can be obtained in the organic light emitting device.
Claim(s) 11-12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20210053998 A1, and WO 2020022751) in view of Suh et al (WO 2019164331, English equivalent US 20210184121 A1).
Suh is combined with Kim for the same reasons it is combined with Do and Hatekayama above.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al (KR 20190127529 A) in view of view of Dong et al (KR 20180112721).
Do, discussed above, does not disclose the specific structures of the claims.
Dong discloses OLED compounds comprising boron containing compounds [abstract, claim 1, p3], similar to Do. Dong disclose that the light emitting layer includes a heterocyclic compound with an exemplified structure
[0052]
Which reads on claimed formula 201 wherein two of T17 to T19 are aryl (phenyl) groups and are bonded together to form a ring, compare to the claimed compound p87 of the claims 02/13/2025, top row second embodiment.
The compounds may be substituted with deuterium [0133]. Dong teaches that the compounds can improve the efficiency, low driving voltage and/or the lifetime characteristic in the organic light emitting device [abstract].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the structures of claims 13 and 19 for the boron containing compounds of Do because Dong teaches that the compounds can improve the efficiency, low driving voltage and/or the lifetime characteristic in the organic light emitting device.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 20180301629 A1) in view of view of Dong et al (KR 20180112721).
Dong is combined with Hatakeyama for the same reasons it is combined with Do above.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20210053998 A1, and WO 2020022751) in view of view of Dong et al (KR 20180112721).
Dong is combined with Kim for the same reasons it is combined with Do and Hatekayama above.
Other References
He et al (US 20190378982 A1, WO 2018095394 A1) discloses an OLED wherein the composition an organoborane similar to the claimed Formula 208 having the structure:
wherein Z1 to Z3 include N(R) and Si among several others. This compound may be deuterated and is combined with a second compound that may have anthracene as a constituent. However, no specific examples include Si as a Z atom and none include Z1 to Z3 being different. Furthermore, there are 13 different embodiments for Z1 to Z3 [claim 1]. It would require excessive hindsight on the part of the Office to arrive at the claimed composition with the Formula 208.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766