DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to the Amendment received 7/21/2025.
3. Claims 1-2,4-12 and 14-16 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 12, and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-2,4-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, independent claims 1, 12, and 15 recite “obtain at least one image at least according to the current content of the text document, wherein the at least one image is retrieved from an image database by determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies a similarity measure with the identified current content and, in response. determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, retrieving the at least one candidate image from the image database. However, the specification does not support the cited step of determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, retrieving the at least one candidate image from the image. Applicant stated that Specification support - [0028] “candidate images are scored using a similarity measure between image features and features extracted from the current document content, only images whose similarity score exceeds a threshold are retrieved”, and [0030] “the similarity measure may be cosine similarity in an embedding space output by a neural network”, and Fig. 2 (block 208 “Retrieve image whose similarity score > threshold’)” (see page 8 of remarks). However, these paragraphs or any other paragraph(s) in the specification do not disclose the newly added features, specifically “similarity measure” satisfied or not satisfied as claimed in independent claims 1, 12, and 15 and new claim 16. Rather, the specification, e.g. paragraphs 0030, appears to describe matching the content of a document with images in the database and automatically score or rank candidate images generated from text of the document. Remaining, claims 2, 4-11, 14, and 16 depend on the independent claims cited above and do not remedy the discussed issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaji et al. (USPN 10,713,43, hereinafter Sivaji) in view of Ghoshal et al. (US 20200125574, hereinafter Ghoshal).
In reference to independent claim 1, Sivaji teaches:
detecting, at a document application operating using one or more processors of a computing device, a trigger for providing theme pattern (See Sivaji, Col. 4, lines 47-67 and Col. 5, lines 55-57 and Figure 2, 5) a user enters content into a document application which act as a trigger to perform content analysis on the content entered by the user. The user may also modify current content which also is being as a trigger for the process to begin analyzing and providing theme patters. Figure 2 and 5 illustrate two distinct examples of content input into the document application which caused (i.e. triggered) the analysis by the document application of the input content for providing theme patters.
identifying current content of the text document (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 5-10, Col 6. Lines 1-5 and figures 3, 5) Figures 3 and 5 provide two distinct examples of a user entering text and image content illustrated in figure 3 and solely textual content illustrated in figure 5. The textual and image content of figure 3 and the textual content of figure 5 is analyzed to identify a particular theme of the content.
providing, in a graphical user interface of the document application, the at least one theme pattern (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 1-18, Col. 6, lines 4-7, figure 3 and 5) suggested theme templates are displayed to the user within the graphical user interface for selection by a user. Figure 3 and 5 illustrate to examples of the application for displaying suggested theme templates based on the content input wherein figure 3 displays the layouts as item 304 of figure 3 and item 504 of figure 5.
applying the at least one theme pattern to the text document by modifying visual properties of the current content of the text document and keeping a layout of the current content of the text document (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 29-49; Col. 6, lines 13-15 and lines 53-62; figure 4, 6, and 8) theme templates and objects considered to be recommended objects are displayed and selectable by a user and applied to the current content document. In addition, the layout may be modified in different ways based on applying the selected templates and/or objects. Figures 4, 6, and 8 illustrate different examples where a template/object is applied to the current document to modify visual properties which the examiner is interpreting as using the visual rearrangement of current content modifications of figure 4, 6, and 8 since there is a change in the visual properties of the current content both image and textual based on the applied theme pattern. Figure 8 illustrates a specific example where the visual properties of the current content have been modified based on the addition of an image however the layout of the current content in the document displayed in the upper left corner of the document remains the same thus keeping the layout of the current content of the text document.
Sivaji does not appear to expressly teach obtaining at least one image at least according to the current content of the text document, wherein the at least one image is retrieved from an image database by determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies a similarity measure with the identified current content and, in response determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, retrieving the at least one candidate image from the image database:
generating at least one theme pattern according to the at least one image;
using a pre trained machine learning model to identify labels of images of the at least one theme pattern matching the current content of the text document.
Ghoshal teaches obtaining at least one image at least according to the current content of the text document, wherein the at least one image is retrieved from an image database or generated according to text of the current content of the text document; wherein the at least one image is retrieved from an image database by determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies a similarity measure with the identified current content and, in response determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, retrieving the at least one candidate image from the image database (“To perform the vector space comparison in step 1208, the content recommendation engine 425 may calculate the Euclidean distance between the feature vector generated in step 1206, and each of the other feature vectors stored in the vector space/spaces 430….Such techniques may allow the content recommendation engine 425 to determine a set of highest ranking feature vectors within the vector space(s) 430, which are most similar in features/characteristics/etc. to the feature vector generated in step 1206 based on the input received in step 1202. In some cases, a predetermined number (N) of the highest-ranking feature vectors may be selected in step 1208 (e.g., the 5 most similar articles, 10 most similar images, etc.), while in other cases all of the feature vectors satisfying a particular closeness threshold (e.g., distance between vectors<threshold(T)) may be selected.” Paragraph 0074):
generating at least one theme pattern according to the at least one image (“after one or more content resources (e.g., images, articles, etc.) have been identified as potentially related to the content currently being created by the user via the user interface 415, the related content resources are transmitted back to the content recommendation engine 425, where they may be retrieved, modified, and embedded into the user interface 415, for example, by the content retrieval/embedding component 445..” Paragraph 0025);
using a pre trained machine learning model to identify labels of images of the at least one image matching the current content of the text document (“As shown in FIG. 21, the keyword-to-tag vector space analysis performed in FIG. 20 may determine that the image tag “Mountaineer” sufficiently close within the word vector space to the extracted keywords, and thus should be considered as an image tag match for the filtered feature space comparison.” Paragraph 0075, last sentence).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sivaji to comprise obtaining at least one image at least according to the current content of the text document, wherein the at least one image is retrieved from an image database by determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies a similarity measure with the identified current content and, in response determining that at least one candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, retrieving the at least one candidate image from the image database: generating at least one theme pattern according to the at least one image; using a pre trained machine learning model to identify labels of images of the at least one theme pattern matching the current content of the text document. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide an efficient process for the user/author to locate and incorporate any relevant content within their original authored content (Ghoshal [0049]) and generate more appealing or attractive content to users.
In reference to dependent claim 2, Sivaji teaches:
Wherein the theme patterns comprise a combination of: a background of a window of the document; background of a canvas of the document; format of text presented on the canvas; and identification presented on the canvas, wherein the identification is associated with at least one of the current content of the document, a creator of the document, and a receiver of the document (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 29-50, Col. 6, lines 1-32 and figure 4 and 6) figure 4 illustrates in first display area a template under item 402 which includes an ‘about us’ format of the text presented on the canvas, background information as it relates to the image content and identification information as it relates the team members which the examiner is interpreting as the receiver and/or creator of the document.
In reference to dependent claim 4, Sivaji teaches:
Identifying a change of the current document (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 19-22) a user may want to modify the size, position or orientation of any of the objects already in the document.
Wherein the at least one image is obtained further according to the change (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 21-23) the interaction may lead to a modification of the suggested template images.
In reference to dependent claim 5, Sivaji teaches:
Identifying other information related to the document, wherein the other information related to the document includes one or more of a profile of a creator of the document, a history usage record of the creator with respect to theme patterns, a profile of a receiver of the document, and information for target entities of the document determined from other applications, wherein the at least one image is obtained further according to the other information (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 20-29 and figure 3) multiple collaborators may insert objects into the document and lead to a modification of the suggested templates. Further, the examiner is interpreting ‘information for target entities of the document’ is being interpreted using figure 3 which illustrates user content input that relates to information (i.e. team member information) for target entities (i.e. individuals currently on the team). Further, image content is obtained in describing at least one of the current team members.
In reference to dependent claim 6, Sivaji teaches:
Identifying other information related to the document further comprises: determining that there is a plurality of different receives of the document (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 20-29 and figure 3) the document may be shared with multiple collaborators. Further, the examiner is interpreting ‘determining there are a plurality of different receivers of the document’ as the analysis that takes place of team member information input by the user and displayed in figure 3 which is analyzed and thus determined to include information for a different receivers of the document.
Providing the at least one theme pattern further comprises: providing a plurality of theme patterns related to the current content of the document, wherein each of the plurality of theme patterns is associated with a receiver in the plurality of different receivers (See Sivaji, Col. 5, lines 20-29 and figure 4) multiple collaborators may insert objects into the document and lead to a modification of the suggested templates. Figure 4 illustrates a plurality templates that each relate to at least the team members currently input by the user.
In reference to dependent claim 7, Sivaji teaches:
Wherein the at least one image is retrieved from an image database or generated according to text of the current content of the document (See Sivaji, Col. 8, lines 5-10 and lines 15-18) a means of matching detected metadata of the object to the metadata of objects in each document template in order to generate a score for each template and ranking of each template. The specific text ‘CAMP SCHEDULE’ is matched to scored/ranked templates.
In reference to dependent claim 8, Sivaji teaches:
Wherein generating the at least one theme pattern further comprises: generating, according to the at least one image, one or more of background of a window of the document, background of a canvas of the document, and format of text of the document (See Sivaji, figure 6) a means of selecting an image from the ‘RoadMap’ section (item 602) and display a similar background of the browser window and background of a specific object within the text content of the document, and specific format of textual content within the document.
In reference to dependent claim 9, Sivaji teaches:
Wherein the trigger comprises one or more of an activation operation to the document, an editing operation to text of the document, and reception of a request for providing theme patterns (See Sivaji, (See Col. 4, lines 56-58; Col. 5, lines 4-6 and Col. 5, lines 55-57) based on the addition of the words ‘Camp Schedule’ in the text box, the layout engine filters the layouts in the predefined layout templates. Further, Sivaji teaches an indication of the analysis of the content added to the document is shown when an assistant button is highlighted in the interface and may be part of a menu. In response to the button being selected, the suggested templates are displayed.
In reference to dependent claim 10, Sivaji teaches:
Wherein the current content of the document includes one or more of: format of the text of the document, keywords in the document, and language used in the document (See Sivaji, Col. 6, lines 3-6) based on the presence of the word ‘SCHEDULE’ in the text box the suggested templates contain templates depicting a timeline or a roadmap.
In reference to dependent claim 11, Sivaji teaches:
Detecting a selection of one of the at least one theme pattern in the graphical user interface and in response to detecting the selection, applying one of the at least one theme pattern to the document (See Sivaji, Col. 6, lines 4-7) suggested theme templates are displayed to the user within the graphical user interface for selection by a user and applying the theme template (See Sivaji, Col. 6, lines 13-15; figure 6) to the presentation document including the application of a selected layout template from one or more suggested layout templates.
In reference to claims 12 and 14, the claims recite a computer-readable storage medium including computer executable instructions for carrying out similar limitations to those found in the method claims, 1 and 4, respectively. Therefore, the claims are rejected under similar rationale.
In reference to independent claim 15, the claim recites an apparatus for carrying out similar limitations for recommending theme patterns to those recited in independent claim 1. Therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale.
6. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivaji et al. in view of Ghoshal et al., and further in view of Malu Srinivasan et al. (US 20190266442 A1, hereinafter Malu Srinivasan).
In reference to dependent claim 16, Sivaji does not appear to expressly teach the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the at least one image further comprises:
determining that no candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content; and
in response determining that no candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, generating the at least one image from text of the current content using a text-to-image generation model that employs a generative adversarial network (GAN).
Ghoshal teaches determining that no candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content (“a predetermined number (N) of the highest-ranking feature vectors may be selected in step 1208 (e.g., the 5 most similar articles, 10 most similar images, etc.), while in other cases all of the feature vectors satisfying a particular closeness threshold (e.g., distance between vectors<threshold(T)) may be selected.” Paragraph 0074, this implies that images that do not satisfy the similarity measure are not selected).
Sivaji and Ghosahl do not appear to expressly teach in response determining that no candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, generating the at least one image from text of the current content using a text-to-image generation model that employs a generative adversarial network (GAN).
Malur Srinivasan teaches generating the at least one image from text of the current content using a text-to-image generation model that employs a generative adversarial network (GAN) (“Further, in response to user input 313, attribute generator 310 is configured to generate image 314,” paragraph 0025).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sivaji to comprise wherein obtaining the at least one image further comprises: determining that no candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content; and in response determining that no candidate image in the image database satisfies the similarity measure with the identified current content, generating the at least one image from text of the current content using a text-to-image generation model that employs a generative adversarial network (GAN). One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve the accuracy of images generated.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's prior art arguments filed 7/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view the rejection presented above.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mei et al. US 20160275067 A1 teaches domain-based generation of communication media content layout.
Jin et al. US 2018/0082156 teaches font replacement based on visual similarity.
He et al. US 10558701 teaches method and system to recommend image in a social application.
Heyward et al. US 2016/0070804 teaches system and method for automatically selecting images to accompany text.
Penta et al. US 20200175061 A1 teaches an image retrieval system to obtain a text descriptor associated with the image descriptor in the descriptor repository. The image retrieval system may generate a document query comprising a search parameter, the search parameter including the text descriptor. The image retrieval system may identify, in a document database, text documents based on the document query.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171